DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/7/2026 has been entered into the prosecution for the application. Currently claims 1-10 are pending with claims 4-10 withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-3 are pending examination.
The 112(b) rejection to claims 1-3 are withdrawn due to the amendment to the claims.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The amendment filed on 8/7/2026 states that the originally filed “water absorption element” is from a translation for “wasseraufnahmeelement” that can be translated as both “water absorption element” or “water receiving element.”
Throughout the specification the term water absorption element is used. This needs to be changed to water receiving element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0193001 of Field et al.
As to claims 1 and 2, Field teaches of a system, comprising:
a water receiving element (Field, [0086] – [0088], [0101] and Figs. 1 and 8); and
an electrochemical cell comprising an anode in an anode chamber, a cathode in a cathode chamber and an ion exchange membrane disposed between the anode chamber and the cathode chamber (Field, [0021] – [0033] and Fig. 1).
Field states that a salt solution or solution containing a detergent (i.e. a conductivity transmitter-containing medium) is fed into the electrochemical cell (Field, [0095] – [0097] and Fig. 8).
Field additionally teaches that the system can be selectively operated with DC voltage or AC voltage. The voltage application generates an alkaline solution in the cathode chamber and an acidic solution in the anode chamber. The voltage application also heats the fluid in the anode and cathode chambers (Field, [0033] – [0034], [0043] and [0053] – [0054]).
Field specifically states that the electrochemical cell can be configured to separately dispense at different times the alkaline solution from the cathode space and the acidic solution from the anode space (Field, [0055], [0087] – [0089]).
As seen in Fig. 1, there is a liquid source that supplies water (containing salt or other additives) into an electrochemical cell. The electrochemical cell includes an anode chamber (38) containing an anode (44) and cathode chamber (40) containing a cathode (46) which are separated by a membrane (42). Field states that the DC voltage can be applied to generate the desired solutions (alkaline and acidic) and that AC voltage can also be applied. It is noted that the application of any electrical current generates heat in the solution.
As to the receiving element, Field teaches a system includes a caustic container (Fig. 8, element 196) which holds the alkaline solution connected to the cathode chamber.
As to claim 3, Field also teaches a chamber to store the acidic solution (Field, [0100] – [0101] and Fig. 8) as per reservoir 196 connected to the anode chamber.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Field does not teach that the electrochemical cell is configured to dispense at separate times the alkaline and acidic solutions from the electrochemical cell.
This is not persuasive as Field states that cell can be operated in sequential cleaning and disinfecting modes such that first the catholyte (alkaline solution) can be applied to the surface to be cleaned and then the anolyte (acidic solution) can be applied to the surface to be disinfected, thus disclosing the cell being configured to separately dispense the solutions at different times.
Additionally Field states the cleaner can be configured to apply intermittently catholyte water (alkaline) for a short period of time followed by application of anolyte water (acidic), thus also disclosing dispensing from the cell the solutions at different times.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN W. COHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759