DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US PG. Pub. 2023/0273492).
Regarding claim 1 - Yu teaches a connection carrier (fig. 2) comprising at least one contact track (P1 [paragraph 0039] Yu states, "first pattern region P1") which is connected in an electrically conductive manner to a contact surface (111 [paragraph 0041] Yu states, "first pad 111") for electrically contacting an optoelectronic semiconductor component (200 [paragraph 0042] Yu states, "light emitting device 200"), the at least one contact track (P1) having a network structure (network structure comprised of 1121 & 1122 [paragraph 0034] Yu states, "a plurality of first sub-wires 1121 and a plurality of second sub-wires 1122") with a plurality of network tracks (1121 & 1122) in at least some locations, wherein the contact surface (111) has a continuation (portion of rectangle shape of contact surface 111 as shown in annotated figure 2 below) which extends away from the contact surface (see shape of contact surface 111) on a lateral surface of the contact surface (claimed structure shown in annotated figure 2 below), such that an electrically conductive contact (see contact between 1121 & 1122 with 111) exists between the contact surface (111) and the network structure at multiple locations (figure 2 shows a plurality of electrically conductive contacts between the elements 1121 & 1122 and the contact surface 111).
Regarding claim 18 - Yu teaches a method for producing a connection carrier (figs. 1-2) with at least one contact track (P1 [paragraph 0039] Yu states, "first pattern region P1"), comprising the steps of: a) providing a substrate (substrate comprised of layers 600, 500 & 420 shown in figure 1); and b) forming on the substrate the at least one contact track (P1) which is connected in an electrically conductive manner to a contact surface (111 [paragraph 0041] Yu states, "first pad 111") for electrically contacting an optoelectronic semiconductor component (200 [paragraph 0042] Yu states, "light emitting device 200"), the at least one contact track (P1) having a network structure (network structure comprised of 1121 & 1122 [paragraph 0034] Yu states, "a plurality of first sub-wires 1121 and a plurality of second sub-wires 1122") with a plurality of network tracks (1121 & 1122) in at least in some locations, wherein the contact surface (111) has a continuation (portion of rectangle shape of contact surface 111 as shown in annotated figure 2 above) which extends away from the contact surface (see shape of contact surface 111) on a lateral surface of the contact surface (claimed structure shown in annotated figure 2 above), such that an electrically conductive contact (see contact between 1121 & 1122 with 111) exists between the contact surface (111) and the network structure at multiple locations (figure 2 shows a plurality of electrically conductive contacts between the elements 1121 & 1122 and the contact surface 111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-11, 13-16, 18, 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US PG. Pub. 2023/0273492) in view of Kim et al. (US PG. Pub. 2022/0247083).
Regarding claim 1 – Yu teaches a connection carrier (fig. 2) comprising at least one contact track (P1 [paragraph 0039] Yu states, “first pattern region P1”) which is connected in an electrically conductive manner to a contact surface (111 [paragraph 0041] Yu states, “first pad 111”) for electrically contacting an optoelectronic semiconductor component (200 [paragraph 0042] Yu states, “light emitting device 200”), the at least one contact track (P1) having a network structure (network structure comprised of 1121 & 1122 [paragraph 0034] Yu states, “a plurality of first sub-wires 1121 and a plurality of second sub-wires 1122”) with a plurality of network tracks (1121 & 1122) in at least some locations, wherein the contact surface (111) has a continuation (portion of rectangle shape of contact surface 111) which extends away from the contact surface (see shape of contact surface 111), such that an electrically conductive contact (see contact between 1121 & 1122 with 111) exists between the contact surface and the network structure at multiple locations (figure 2 shows a plurality of electrically conductive contacts between the elements 1121 & 1122 and the contact surface 111).
Yu fails to explicitly teach a continuation which extends away from the contact surface on a lateral surface of the contact surface.
Kim explicitly teaches wherein a contact surface (fig. 6, 127 [paragraph 0049] Kim states, “signal pad 127”) has a continuation (combination of elements 1231/1232/1233/1235 as shown in annotated figure 6 below) which extends away from the contact surface (127) on a lateral surface of the contact surface (127; claimed structure shown in figure 6), such that an electrically conductive contact exists between the contact surface (127) and a network structure (1211 [paragraph 0111] Kim states, “radiator 1211 may be a mesh structure”) at multiple locations (see continuation of 1233 and 1235 connected to multiple locations of the network structure 1211).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a connection carrier having a contact surface having a continuation extending away from the contact surface such that an electrically conductive contact exists between the contact surface and the network structure at multiple locations as taught by Yu with the continuation extending away from the contact surface on a lateral surface of the contact surface as taught by Kim because Kim states, “Contact areas between the radiator 1211 and the impedance matching patterns 1233 and 1243 may be increased by the edge pattern 1235. Accordingly, power supplying/signaling efficiencies by the impedance matching patterns 1233 and 1243 may be improved” [paragraph 0116].
Regarding claim 2 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of network tracks (Yu; fig. 2, 1122 & 1121) have a width between 2um and 20 um inclusive ([paragraph 0035] Yu states, “the line width of the first electrode pattern 112 may be about 3 μm or less. Line widths of the plurality of first sub-wires 1121 may be the same within the line width range described above. Line widths of the plurality of second sub-wires 1122 may be the same within the line width range described above”).
Regarding claim 4 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, wherein the network structure (Yu; fig. 2, network structure comprised of 1121 & 1122) is formed at least in some locations by first network tracks (1121) running parallel (horizontal tracks) to one another and second network tracks (1122) running parallel (vertical tracks) to one another, wherein the first network tracks (1121) and the second network tracks (1122) run obliquely or perpendicular to each other ([paragraph 0034] Yu states, “The first electrode pattern 112 may have a mesh shape in which the first sub-wires 1121 and the second sub-wires 1122 cross each other”; the “mesh shape” shown in figure 2 shows the perpendicular structure between 1121 and 1122).
Regarding claim 7 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, wherein the contact surface (Yu; fig. 2, 111) is a flat electrically conductive region (claimed structure shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 8 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, wherein the contact surface (Yu; fig. 2, 111) overlaps (“overlaps” in the vertical Y-axis as shown in figure 2) with at least two network tracks (see tracks 1122 extending vertically) of the network structure (network structure comprised of 1121 & 1122).
Regarding claim 10 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 8, wherein a length of the continuation (Yu, fig. 2, see length of contact surface 111) is at least as large as a distance between a first network track (1121) of the at least two network tracks (figure 2 shows the continuation length of the contact surface 111 connected to a plurality of each of the network tracks 1121 and 1122) and/or a distance between a second network track (1122) of the at least two network tracks (1121 & 1122).
Regarding claim 11 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, wherein the network structure (Yu; fig. 2, network structure comprised of 1121 & 1122) along the at least one contact track (P1) forms at least two separate current paths (see mesh pattern) within the at least one contact track (structure shown in figure 2 will have the function claimed).
Regarding claim 13 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one contact track (Yu; fig. 2, P1) provides an electrical contacting of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (200; claimed structure shown in figure 2) and/or wherein the at least one contact track provides a capacitive tactile sensor function, wherein the at least one contact track providing the capacitive tactile sensor function is used for control of the optoelectronic semiconductor component.
Regarding claim 14 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 13, wherein the at least one contact track (Yu; fig. 2, P1) is arranged on a first side (left side) and/or on a second side of the connection carrier facing away from the first side (claimed structure shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 15 – Yu in view of Kim teach an optoelectronic device having the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1 and having the optoelectronic semiconductor component (Yu; fig. 2, 200), wherein the optoelectronic semiconductor component (200) is connected in the electrically conductive manner to at least two contact surfaces (contact surfaces 111 & 121; claimed structure shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 16 – Yu in view of Kim teach the optoelectronic device as claimed in claim 15, wherein electrical connections (Yu; fig. 2, see terminals of optoelectronic semiconductor component 200 connected to contact surfaces 111 & 121) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (200) are arranged on a side facing the connection carrier (claimed structure shown in figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 18 – Yu teaches a method for producing a connection carrier (figs. 1-2) with at least one contact track (P1 [paragraph 0039] Yu states, “first pattern region P1”), comprising the steps of: a) providing a substrate (substrate comprised of layers 600, 500 & 420 shown in figure 1); and b) forming on the substrate the at least one contact track (P1) which is connected in an electrically conductive manner to a contact surface (111 [paragraph 0041] Yu states, “first pad 111”) for electrically contacting an optoelectronic semiconductor component (200 [paragraph 0042] Yu states, “light emitting device 200”), the at least one contact track (P1) having a network structure (network structure comprised of 1121 & 1122 [paragraph 0034] Yu states, “a plurality of first sub-wires 1121 and a plurality of second sub-wires 1122”) with a plurality of network tracks (1121 & 1122) in at least in some locations, wherein the contact surface (111) has a continuation (portion of rectangle shape of contact surface 111) which extends away from the contact surface (see shape of contact surface 111), such that an electrically conductive contact (see contact between 1121 & 1122 with 111) exists between the contact surface (111) and the network structure at multiple locations (figure 2 shows a plurality of electrically conductive contacts between the elements 1121 & 1122 and the contact surface 111).
Yu fails to explicitly teach a continuation which extends away from the contact surface on a lateral surface of the contact surface.
Kim explicitly teaches wherein a contact surface (fig. 6, 127 [paragraph 0049] Kim states, “signal pad 127”) has a continuation (combination of elements 1231/1232/1233/1235 as shown in annotated figure 6 above) which extends away from the contact surface (127) on a lateral surface of the contact surface (127; claimed structure shown in figure 6), such that an electrically conductive contact exists between the contact surface (127) and a network structure (1211 [paragraph 0111] Kim states, “radiator 1211 may be a mesh structure”) at multiple locations (see continuation of 1233 and 1235 connected to multiple locations of the network structure 1211).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a connection carrier having a contact surface having a continuation extending away from the contact surface such that an electrically conductive contact exists between the contact surface and the network structure at multiple locations as taught by Yu with the continuation extending away from the contact surface on a lateral surface of the contact surface as taught by Kim because Kim states, “Contact areas between the radiator 1211 and the impedance matching patterns 1233 and 1243 may be increased by the edge pattern 1235. Accordingly, power supplying/signaling efficiencies by the impedance matching patterns 1233 and 1243 may be improved” [paragraph 0116].
Regarding claim 21 – Yu in view of Kim teach the method as claimed in claim 18, forming contact surfaces (Yu; fig. 2, 111 & 121), which are connected in the electrically conductive manner to a contact track (right and left mesh wiring of P1) in each case (claimed structure shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 24 – Yu in view of Kim teach toe connection carrier as claimed in claim 4, wherein the continuation (Kim, fig. 6 1231/1233/1233/1235) extends obliquely (see diagonal extension of continuation 1233) to the first network tracks (horizontal tracks parallel to each other) and obliquely to the second network tracks (vertical tracks parallel to each other; figure 6 shows the continuation feature 1233 being arranged “obliquely” to that of the first and second network tracks of element 1211).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maki (US PG. Pub. 2016/0276322).
Regarding claim 3 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the plurality of network tracks have a height between 1 um and 8 um inclusive.
Maki teaches wherein the plurality of network tracks (fig. 7, 23a [paragraph 0078] Maki states, “conductor patterns 23a, 23b”) have a height between 1 um and 8 um inclusive ([paragraph 0070] Maki states, “A conductor layer 23 of the thickness of about 0.05 μm to 2 μm”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the connection carrier having network tracks as taught by Yu in view of Kim with the plurality of network tracks having a height/thickness between 1um and 8um as taught by Maki because this height will provide effective conductivity while maintaining a thin profile.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US Patent 11765822).
Regarding claim 5 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein a longitudinal extension axis of the at least one contact track runs obliquely to the first network tracks and obliquely to the second network tracks, at least in some various locations.
Huang teaches wherein a longitudinal extension axis of the at least one contact track (fig. 3E, 68 [column 4 lines 46-47] Huang states, “conductive mesh patterns, 60, 62, 64, 66, 68, 70 and 72”) runs obliquely to the first network tracks (see tracks extending from left to right) and obliquely to the second network tracks (see tracks extending from right to left), at least in some various locations (see figure 3E).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection carrier having a contact track formed of a first and second network tracks as taught by Yu in view of Kim with the first network tracks run obliquely to that of the second network tracks as taught by Huang because Huang states, “Such irregular patterns are useful in avoiding resonances that could otherwise give rise to high-frequency emissions. The optimal pattern may be chosen for each mesh that is to be formed a PCB on the basis of considerations including minimizing signal losses and minimizing electromagnetic emissions.” [column 4 lines 52-56].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US PG. Pub. 2001/0010270).
Regarding claim 6 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, wherein in a peripheral region of the network structure and in a direction away from a center of the network structure, a center distance between adjacent first network tracks and/or between adjacent second network tracks is gradually increased and/or a width of the plurality of network tracks is gradually reduced.
Lin teaches wherein in a peripheral region (figs. 14-15, see far right peripheral region) of the network structure (see mesh 320) and in a direction away from a center of the network structure (see center of network structure shown in figure 14), a center distance between adjacent first network tracks and/or between adjacent second network tracks is gradually increased and/or a width of the plurality of network tracks is gradually reduced (figure 15 shows the width of the of the network tracks 320 being gradually reduced as they extend to the periphery).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection carrier having a contact track having a network structure as taught by Yu in view of Kim with the network structure gradually reduced away from the center and towards the peripheral region as taught by Lin because Lin states, “Varied void opening square patterns 354, 356, 358 induce slow wave effects to compensate for timing effect with less undesired electromagnetic radiation as compared with the addition of the extra equivalent lengths” [paragraph 0067].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Byung (US PG. Pub. 2016/0245491).
Regarding claim 8 – Yu teaches the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the contact surface overlaps with at least two network tracks of the network structure.
Byung teaches explicitly wherein the contact surface (fig. 3a-5, 41 [paragraph 0062] Byung states, “electrodes 41”) overlaps with at least two network tracks (fig. 3A & 5, M of wiring electrode 50 [paragraph 0071 & 0053] Byung states, “metal mesh M…wiring electrodes 50 may be one of conducting wires and metal mesh”) of the network structure (figures 3A and figure 5 show the contact surface of 41 overlapping the network tracks of the mesh network structure M/50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the connection carrier having a contact surface connected to at least two network tracks of the network structure as taught by Yu in view of Kim with the contact surface overlaps with at least two network tracks as taught by Byung because this overlap structure increases surface area between the elements and improves the conductivity and reduce resistance therebetween.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al. (US PG. Pub. 2020/0144455).
Regarding claim 12 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the at least one contact track at least in some locations has a reflection-reducing coating comprising palladium or molybdenum or copper nitride.
Son teaches wherein the at least one contact track (fig. 4C, mesh tracks show in figure 4C) at least in some locations has a reflection-reducing coating comprising palladium or molybdenum ([paragraph 0066] Son states, “The metal mesh pattern can comprise gold, silver, aluminum, copper, neodymium, molybdenum, nickel, or an alloy thereof, but is not limited thereto”) or copper nitride.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection carrier having a contact track as taught by Yu in view of Kim with the contact tracks comprise molybdenum as taught by Son because molybdenum wirings are known to have excellent conductivity, high mechanical strength and resistance to corrosion.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied in claim 15 above, and further in view of Tomoda (US PG. Pub. 2011/0266039).
Regarding claim 17 – Yu in view of Kim teach the optoelectronic device as claimed in claim 15, but fails to teach wherein at least one electrical connection of the optoelectronic semiconductor component is arranged on a side facing away from the connection carrier and connected to the at least two contact surfaces in the electrically conductive manner via a contact conductor.
Tomoda teaches wherein at least one electrical connection (fig. 4B, 22 [paragraph 0107] Tomoda states, “electrolytic plating layer 22”) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (3 [paragraph 0058] Tomoda states, “LED chip 3”) is arranged on a side (top side) facing away from the connection carrier (20 [paragraph 0101] Tomoda states, “panel substrate 20”) and connected to the at least two contact surfaces (contact surfaces of 3N & 3P) in the electrically conductive manner via a contact conductor (3N [paragraph 0058] Tomoda states, “N-electrode 3N”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection carrier having a optoelectronic semiconductor component as taught by Yu in view of Kim with an electrical connection of the optoelectronic semiconductor component being arranged on a side facing away from the carrier as taught by Tomoda because Tomoda states, “Even when the electrode is arranged in other portions than the rear surface of the device in this way, it is possible to obtain excellent robust electrical connection if the electrode is positioned in the upward direction from the seed metal (metal wiring layer 4)” [paragraph 0110].
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keiichi (US PG. Pub. 2018/0049318).
Regarding claim 23 – Yu in view of Kim teach the connection carrier as claimed in claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one contact track is subdivided into two subregions at a virtual intersection point with a further contact track, wherein the two subregions are connected to each other via an electrically conductive bridge, which is electrically insulated from the further contact track.
Keiichi teaches wherein the at least one contact track (fig. 22B, LX/LY [paragraph 0072] Keiichi states, “the mesh patterns 23a and 23b are constituted of a plurality of line patterns LX parallel to the X-axis and a plurality of line patterns LY parallel to the Y-axis”) is subdivided into two subregions (left and right subregions as shown in annotated figure 22B below) at a virtual intersection point with a further contact track (lower contact track), wherein the two subregions are connected to each other via an electrically conductive bridge (see bridge formed by LX as shown in annotated figure 22B below), which is electrically insulated from the further contact track (figure 22B shows the further contact track being electrically isolated from the two subregions).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection carrier having a contact track as taught by Yu in view of Kim with the contact track is subdivided into two subregions with a further contact track and connecting the two subdivided regions by a conductive bridge and being insulated from the further contact track as taught by Keiichi because Keiichi states, “even if any of the plurality of line patterns LX and LY is disconnected, the electric power can be continuously supplied to the light-emitting element 30 implemented to the connecting pad P via a good line pattern. Thus, the additional line pattern LP can be disposed as a reinforcing pattern.” [paragraph 0134]. Different connections between different contact tracks will add resiliency to the connection carrier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US PG. Pub. 2022/0140482) discloses an antenna element having a pad with continuation connected to a mesh.
Ryu et al. (US PG. Pub. 2020/0243959) discloses an antenna structure having a pad with continuation connected to a mesh.
Lee et al. (US PG. Pub. 2020/0350475) discloses an electrode substrate for transparent LED display device having a pad with continuation connected to a mesh.
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847