DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 03/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Dupont (US 20210273132) did not disclose the limitation “the array forming a photonic crystal configuring to form a resonance peak amplifying the intensity of said electromagnetic radiation at at least one second wavelength different from the first wavelength” shared by claims 1 and 15, based on that Fig. 8 of Dupont is used to select one of the resonance peaks of the photonic crystals and an optimization is then made to select the value of λ and the dimensions of the LED to obtain maximum emission/directivity at a wavelength λ. This is not found persuasive. Fig. 8 of Dupont shows variation of the intensity (Power) of the radiation emitted by the array, i.e. the photonic crystal, according to a first quotient a/λ, where λ is the wavelength of the radiation emitted by the photonic crystal, with curves corresponding to a different value of a second quotient 2πR/λ ([0109] of Dupont). For a photonic crystal with a fixed “a” and “R”, Fig. 8 shows the variation of intensity due to variation of the wavelength of the emitted radiation. Fig. 8 of Dupont clearly shows that that the photic crystal has multiple resonance peaks at different wavelengths ([0111] of Dupont). No matter how the value of λ was optimized to match one of the resonance peaks, λ would be different from the wavelength of other resonance peaks. Thus, Dupont teaches this shared limitation of claims 1 and 15.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/16/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2023, 06/13/2023 and 06/09/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18267071 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the current application is anticipated by claim 11 of copending Application No. 18267071.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the intensity" in the 5th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the intensity" in the 2nd line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the intensity" in the 2nd line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "each light-emitting diode" in the 2nd and 3rd lines of the claim. It is unclear whether it refers to “the light-emitting diodes” in the 2nd line of the claim. It is recommended to replace the limitation with “each of the light-emitting diodes.”
Claims 2-14 are rejected because they depend on the rejected clam 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dupont et al. (US 2021/0273132 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dupont et al. teach in Figs. 1-2, 8 and 9A and paragraphs [0044, 0109, 0111, 0065], can optoelectronic device (200; Fig. 2, [0059]) comprising an array of axial light-emitting diodes (100; Fig. 2, [0059]), the light-emitting diodes (100) each comprising an active area (104; Fig. 1, [0044]) configured to emit an electromagnetic radiation ([0055]) having an emission spectrum (802; Fig. 9C; [0120]) comprising a maximum at a first wavelength (the wavelength of the maximum of 802; Fig. 9C), the array (the array of 100) forming a photonic crystal ([0065]) configured to form a resonance peak (the maximum of 804; Fig. 9C, [0120]) amplifying the intensity of said electromagnetic radiation (802; see Fig. 9C) at at least one second wavelength (the wavelength of the maximum of 804; Fig. 9C, [0120]) different from the first wavelength (the wavelength of the maximum of 802; the wavelength of the maximum of 804 is slightly smaller than the wavelength of the maximum of 802; see Fig. 9C below).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Maximum of 802)][AltContent: textbox (Maximum of 804)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 9C of Dupont et al.
Regarding claim 3, Dupont et al. teach the device according to claim 1, wherein the emission spectrum of the active area (802) has energy at the second wavelength (the wavelength of the maximum of 802 (see Fig. 9C).
Regarding claim 4, Dupont et al. teach the device according to claim 1, wherein the photonic crystal (100) is configured to form a resonance peak (multiple resonance peaks in the areas 702 or 704 shown in Fig. 8) amplifying the intensity of said electromagnetic radiation (see Fig. 8) at at least one third wavelength (the wavelength of one of the resonance peaks that is farther away from the peak of 802 and the peak of 804) different from the first and second wavelengths (the wavelengths of the peak of 802 and the peak of 804).
Regarding claim 7, Dupont et al. teach the device according to anyone of claim 4, wherein the photonic crystal (100) is configured to form a resonance peak (multiple resonance peaks in the area between 0.4-0.6 a/λ shown in Fig. 8) amplifying the intensity of said electromagnetic radiation (see Fig. 8) at at least one fourth wavelength (the wavelength of resonance peaks in the area between 0.4-0.6 a/λ) different from the first, second, and third wavelengths (the two resonance peaks in areas 702 and 704 and the wavelength of the maximum of 802).
Regarding claim 10, Dupont et al. teach the device according to claim l, comprising a support (105; Fig. 1, [0046]) having the light-emitting diodes (100) resting thereon, each light-emitting diode (100) comprising a stack of a first semiconductor portion (102; Fig. 1, [0046]) resting on the support (105), of the active area (104) in contact with the first semiconductor portion (102), and of a second semiconductor portion (106; Fig. 1, [0047]) in contact with the active area (104).
Regarding claim 11, Dupont et al. teach the device according to claim 10, comprising a reflective layer (107 made of aluminum, while aluminum is reflective; Fig. 1, [0046]) between the support (105) and the first semiconductor portions (102) of the light-emitting diodes (100).
Regarding claim 12, Dupont et al. teach the device according to claim 11, wherein the reflective layer (107) is made of metal ([0046]).
Regarding claim 13, Dupont et al. teach the device according to claim 10, wherein the second semiconductor portions (106) of the light-emitting diodes (100) are covered with an electrically conductive layer (TCO; [0047]) at least partly transparent to the radiation emitted by the light-emitting diodes (100; transparent; [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Dupont et al. teach the device according to anyone of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting diodes (100) are separated by an electrically-insulting material (202; Fig. 2, [0060]).
Conclusion
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 8/8/2026