DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 09/02/26.
Response to Amendment
The objection to the Specification as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/03/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/03/26 is herein withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s arguments.
The rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 10-2020-0100972) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/03/26 is overcome by the cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of Claims 1 and 3-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 10-2020-0100972) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/03/26 is NOT withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 10-2020-0100972).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2020-0100972 (herein referred to as “Hyun et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Lee et al. discloses a host material composition comprising a plurality of host materials (“at least two compounds”) comprising the light-emitting layer (interposed between a pair of electrodes) of an organic electroluminescent (EL) device; one host material is of formula I and another host material is of formula II ([5], [29]-[30], [146]). The host composition further comprises “an amine-based compound” ([149]). Lee et al. discloses the following embodiment for the host material of formula II:
(page 27) such that L = unsubstituted C10 arylene (naphthylene), Ar1-2 = unsubstituted C6 or C10 aryl (phenyl or naphthyl), n = 0, and Ar3 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1-1; corresponds to compound on page 56 of Claim 6. However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose the presence of a further compound of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2.
Hyun et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 23 of Hyun et al.) such that n’ = 0, A’2 = hydrogen, and A1’ = Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-a (with R’1 = Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-b (with L’ = phenylene and Ar’2-3 = biphenyl or 9,9’-dimethylfluorenyl)) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 2 and 2-3. Hyun et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material (for use in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device) and/or as hole-transporting, electron-transporting, and/or electron-blocking material, the use of which results in a device with improved light-emitting and quantum efficiencies ([0001], [0194]). It would have been obvious to incorporate 67 as disclosed by Hyun et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer (as further host material) of the organic EL device as disclosed by Lee et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Hyun et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with improved light-emitting and quantum efficiencies.
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693 A1) in view of Kim et al. (WO 2022/131757 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2020-0100972 (herein referred to as “Hyun et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2023/0363266 A1 as the English equivalent of foreign document publication WO 2022/131757 A1 (herein referred to as “Kim et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
Lee et al. discloses a host material composition comprising a plurality of host materials (“at least two compounds”) comprising the light-emitting layer (interposed between a pair of electrodes) of an organic electroluminescent (EL) device; one host material is of formula I and another host material is of formula II ([5], [29]-[30], [146]). The host composition further comprises “an amine-based compound” ([149]). Lee et al. discloses the following embodiment for the host material of formula II:
(page 27) such that L = unsubstituted C10 arylene (naphthylene), Ar1-2 = unsubstituted C6 or C10 aryl (phenyl or naphthyl), n = 0, and Ar3 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1-1; corresponds to compound on page 56 of Claim 6. However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose the presence of a further compound of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2.
Kim et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 41) such that n’ = 0, A’2 = hydrogen, and A1’ = Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-a (with R’1 = Ar’1 = unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl)), and A’2 = Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-b (with L’ = single bond and Ar’2-3 = biphenyl or substituted phenyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 2 and 2-2; corresponds to compound on pages 116 of Claim 11. Hyun et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material (for use in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device) as well as material for hole injection, hole transport, light emission, electron transport, and electron injection, the use of which results in a device with improved efficiency and lifetime characteristics ([0019], [0084]). It would have been obvious to incorporate the compound as disclosed by Kim et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer (as further host material) of the organic EL device as disclosed by Lee et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Kim et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with improved efficiency and lifetime characteristics.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant has argued for unexpected results (pages 207-208) as shown on Tables 1-3 of the present Specification. However, the Office finds the data unpersuasive as it is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Notice the rather broad scope of Formulae 1-1 and 2 as recited in Claim 1, each of which recites chemical groups which can be “substituted”; substituents remain undefined and thus can include a nearly infinite number and kind of chemical groups, resulting in the production of compounds and thus devices with properties which cannot be reasonably extrapolated from the Applicant’s data. Furthermore, it should also be noted that the relative ratios of compounds of Formula 1-1 to Formula 2 used in the Examples are highly limited (i.e., only a weight ratio of 1:1 has been used).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786