DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specification filed 06/13/23 recites synthetic schemes on the following pages: 228, 229, 231-235, 237 (Synthetic Example 1-9 only), 239-242, 244, 245, 249-252, 254-256, 258, 259, 261-263, 265, 266, 268, 270 (Synthetic Example 1-38 only), 272-274, 280-283, 285-288, 290, 291, 293, 295, 297, 302 (Synthetic Example 1-66 only), 304-306, 317 (Synthetic Example 2-1 only), 318, 320, 324, 330-332, 334, 341, 342, 344, 347-348, 350, and 352 which are all graphically unclear due to their low resolutions and small sizes and fonts. They need to be replaced by graphics which are clearly legible and of sufficient size and font, with all bonds and atoms that are clearly drawn (i.e., with solid lines).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claim, which is dependent on Claim 1, recites “m’ is an integer of 0 to 6” which is beyond the scope of Chemical Formula 2 as n’ (and thus m’) is limited to an integer of 0 to 5 only.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 10-2020-0100972).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2020-0100972 (herein referred to as “Hyun et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Lee et al. discloses a host material composition comprising a plurality of host materials (“at least two compounds”) comprising the light-emitting layer (interposed between a pair of electrodes) of an organic electroluminescent (EL) device; one host material is of formula I and another host material is of formula II ([5], [29]-[30], [146]). The host composition further comprises “an amine-based compound” ([149]). Lee et al. discloses the following embodiment for the host material of formula II:
(page 27) such that L = unsubstituted C10 arylene (naphthylene), Ar1-2 = unsubstituted C6 or C10 aryl (phenyl or naphthyl), n = 0, and Ar3 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae I and 1-1. However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose the presence of a further compound of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2.
Hyun et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 23 of Hyun et al.) such that n’ = 0, A’2 = hydrogen, and A1’ = Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-a (with R’1 = Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-b (with L’ = phenylene and Ar’2-3 = biphenyl or 9,9’-dimethylfluorenyl)) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 2 and 2-3. Hyun et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material (for use in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device) and/or as hole-transporting, electron-transporting, and/or electron-blocking material, the use of which results in a device with improved light-emitting and quantum efficiencies ([0001], [0194]). It would have been obvious to incorporate 67 as disclosed by Hyun et al. (above) into the light-emitting layer (as further host material) of the organic EL device as disclosed by Lee et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Hyun et al. which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with improved light-emitting and quantum efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2020-0100972 (herein referred to as “Hyun et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
The closest prior art is provided by Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 10-2020-0100972). Lee et al. discloses a host material composition comprising a plurality of host materials (“at least two compounds”) comprising the light-emitting layer (interposed between a pair of electrodes) of an organic electroluminescent (EL) device; one host material is of formula I and another host material is of formula II ([5], [29]-[30], [146]). The host composition further comprises “an amine-based compound” ([149]). Lee et al. discloses the following embodiment for the host material of formula II:
(page 27). However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose the presence of a further compound of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2.
Hyun et al. discloses compounds of the following form:
([0016] of Hyun et al.); embodiments are disclosed such as the following:
(page 23 of Hyun et al.). Hyun et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material (for use in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device) and/or as hole-transporting, electron-transporting, and/or electron-blocking material, the use of which results in a device with improved light-emitting and quantum efficiencies ([0001], [0194]). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Lee et al. in view of Hyun et al. together nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses any of the compounds of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2 as recited in the claim, particularly in regards to the nature of the substituents attached to the core dibenzofuran derivative.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786