DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 11/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/3/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa (US 9290834).
With respect to Claim 1, Hasegawa teaches a high strength steel sheet with excellent formability (i.e. workability), the steel having a composition, in weight%, as follows (col. 4, ln. 41-56; col. 8, ln .27 to col. 9, ln. 55; Table 1):
Claim 1
Hasegawa
Hasegawa, Ex. C
C
0.1-0.25
0.05-0.50
0.20
Si
0.01-1.5
0.01-2.5
1.0
Mn
1.0-4.0
0.5-3.5
2.0
Al
0.01-1.5
0.010-0.5
0.40
P
≤ 0.15
0.003-0.10
0.02
S
≤ 0.03
≤ 0.02
0.003
N
≤ 0.03
≤ 0.0125*
0.002
B
0.0005-0.005
0.0002-0.005
0.002
Fe
Balance with unavoidable impurities
Balance with unavoidable impurities
balance
Other
-
Ti: ≤ 0.05*
Ti: 0.02
*Ti>4N
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Thus, Hasegawa teaches a steel sheet with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly claimed ranges and examples, such as Ex. C falling within each of the instantly claimed ranges, and therefore, sufficiently specific to anticipate the claimed ranges under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Hasegawa further teaches and teaches specific examples, such as Ex. 12 (having the corresponding composition Ex. C above), comprising fresh martensite, tempered martensite, retained austenite, and bainite and thus, includes each of the required microstructural phases. (Tables 1, 2, and 4; see also col. 4, ln. 52-61; col. 6, ln. 46 to col. 7, ln. 40).
Hasegawa, therefore, teaches a high strength steel sheet having excellent workability, the steel having a composition with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed ranges and comprising each of the required microstructural phases. Hasegawa is silent as to the “Relational Expression 1,” drawn to a relationship between the boron content in the fresh martensite and tempered martensite; however, as the reference teaches a steel sheet with the same composition (including boron) and microstructure (including fresh martensite and tempered martensite) it would necessarily be expected to result in the same properties, including the claimed Relational Expression 1.
"Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the burden is shifted to the applicant to prove that the product of the prior art does not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics attributed to the claimed product. See In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."); MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the prima facie case can only be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.
With respect to Claim 2, the claim requires only one of the limitations (1) to (8). Hasegawa teaches a content of titanium, including specific examples such as Ex. 3, with a content of 0.02 wt% Ti falling within the instantly claimed range of limitation (1) of claim 2. (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (US 9290834) as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to Claim 3, Hasegawa teaches wherein the steel sheet comprises 60-95% of tempered martensite, 5-20% retained austenite, 10% or less fresh martensite, and 15% or less of bainite and other optional phases, overlapping the instantly claimed ranges. (col. 4, ln. 52-61; col. 6, ln. 46 to col. 7, ln. 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18267082 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the instant and related claims are both drawn to high strength steel sheets having excellent workability, the steels having the same or substantially overlapping compositional ranges, the same microstructure of bainite, tempered martensite, fresh martensite, and retained austenite, and having the same relational expressions 1-4 (where the related application names them relational expression 1, 3, 4, and 5). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18267435 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the instant and related claims are both drawn to high strength steel sheets having excellent workability, the steels having the same or substantially overlapping compositional ranges, the same microstructure of bainite, tempered martensite, fresh martensite, and retained austenite, and having the same relational expressions 1-4 (where the related application names them relational expression 1, 5, 6, and 7). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4of copending Application No. 18267428 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the instant and related claims are both drawn to high strength steel sheets having excellent workability, the steels having the same or substantially overlapping compositional ranges, the same microstructure of bainite, tempered martensite, fresh martensite, and retained austenite, and having the same relational expressions 1-4 (where the related application names them relational expression 1, 3, 4, and 5). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0355559.
/JOHN A HEVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735