Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: On the last line of claim 3, the full meaning for the abbreviation “DIPEA” should be recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
On line 5 of claim 6, the phrase “the resulting reaction mixture” lacks antecedent basis.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (article from ACS Omega, vol. 5, pages 32507-32514, December 9, 2020, submitted in the IDS filed on June 13, 2023).
With regards to claim 1, Lee et al teach of a probe known as KF-DNBS for the detection of hydrogen sulfide in a serum sample. The probe has the formula depicted in Scheme 1 b) on page 32508 of Lee et al, which is:
This formula is the same as chemical formula 1 for KF-DNBS recited in instant claim 1. Lee et al teach that the probe KF-DNBS serves to detect hydrogen sulfide in a serum sample since hydrogen sulfide causes the 2,4-dinitrobenzene sulfonyl (DNBS) group in the probe to be cleaved from the probe by thiolysis followed by the formation of a fluorescent fluorophore KF-albumin complex. See the abstract and Scheme 1(b) on pages 32507-32508 of Lee et al.
With regards to claim 2, Lee et al teach of a method for manufacturing the probe for hydrogen sulfide detection using the same steps as recited in claim 2. See “Scheme 2. Synthetic Route for KF-DNBS” on page 32508 of Lee et al, which depicts the same manufacturing steps for the probe for hydrogen sulfide detection as set forth in paragraph 44 in the instant specification. Specifically, Lee et al teach that the method for manufacturing the probe for hydrogen sulfide detection comprises the steps of: preparing a first intermediate (5-(4-(diethylamino) phenyl) -N-methylthiophen-3-amine); obtaining a second intermediate (2-(4- (diethylamino) phenyl)-7- (4-methoxyphenyl)-4-methyl-6, 7-dihydrothieno [3,2-b]pyridin-5(4H) -one) by quenching the first intermediate with water and extraction; obtaining a third intermediate (6-bromo-2- (4-(diethylamino)phenyl)-7-(4-methoxypheny-4-methylthieno[3,2-b]pyridin- 5(4H)-one) by quenching the second intermediate with water and extraction; obtaining a fourth intermediate (2-(4-(Diethylamino)phenyl)-7-(4-methoxypheny1)-4-methylthieno[3, 2-b] pyridin-5 (4H)-one) by quenching the third intermediate with water and extraction; obtaining KF (2-(4- (diethylamino) phenyl)-7-(4- hydroxyphenyl)-4-methylthieno [3,2-b]pyridin-5(4H)-one) by quenching the fourth intermediate with water and extraction; and obtaining KF-DNBS (4-(2-(4-diethylamino) phenyl)-4-methyl-5-oxo-4,5-dihydrothieno[3,2-b]pyridin-7-yl)phenyl 2, 4-dinitrobenzenesulfonate) by quenching the KF with water and extraction. See “Scheme 2. Synthetic Route for KF-DNBS” on page 32508 of Lee et al. Also, see the right-hand column on page 32511 and the left-hand column on page 32512 of Lee et al under the heading “Synthesis of the Probe”.
With regards to claim 3, Lee et al teach that the step of obtaining the second intermediate comprises reacting the first intermediate with 4-methoxycinnamic acid, benzotriazol-1-yloxy) tris (dimethylamino) phosphonium hexafluorophosphate (BOP) and DIPEA. See the paragraph in the right-hand column of page 32511 of Lee et al where it states:
With regards to claim 4, Lee et al teach that the step of obtaining the third intermediate comprises the step of mixing and reacting the second intermediate with N-bromosuccinimide. See the paragraph in the right-hand column of page 32511 of Lee et al where it states:
With regards to claim 5, Lee et al teach that the step of obtaining the fourth intermediate comprises the step of quenching the third intermediate, followed by reaction with n-butyllithium solution. See the paragraph in the left-hand column of page 32512 of Lee et al where it states:
With regards to claim 6, Lee et al teach that the step of obtaining KF comprises quenching the fourth intermediate followed by reaction with boron tribromide to form a reaction mixture; and quenching the reaction mixture with water followed by neutralization. See the paragraph in the left-hand column of page 32512 of Lee et al where it states:
With regards to claim 7, Lee et al teach that the step of obtaining KF-DNBS comprising mixing and reacting KF with 2,4-dinitrobenzenesulfonyl chloride and triethylamine. See the paragraph in the left-hand column of page 32512 of Lee et al where it states:
With regards to claim 8, Lee et al teach of a composition for detecting hydrogen sulfide in a serum sample comprising a probe known as KF-DNBS having the formula depicted in Scheme 1 b) on page 32508 of Lee et al, which is:
and 2-formyl benzene boronic acid (2-FBBA) as a masking agent for masking the reactivity of Cys and Hcy in a serum sample to the dinitrobenzenesulfonyl (DNBS) portion of the KF-DNBS probe. See the abstract and the following paragraph in the right-hand column on page 32509 of Lee et al where it states:
It is noted that the article to Lee et al qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) against the instant claims since it was published on December 9, 2020, which is prior to both the filing date of the PCT application (PCT/KR2021/016446, filed on November 11, 2021) and the foreign application (KR 10-2020-0175242, filed on December 15, 2020) upon which the instant application claims priority to. It is noted that a translation of the foreign priority document has also not been filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please make note of: Ahn et al (US 2016/0274123) who teach of a fluorescent probe for sensing hydrogen sulfide, and a manufacturing method thereof; Xian et al (US 2018/0074068) who teach of fluorescent probes for detecting hydrogen sulfide; Wang et al (CN112745340A) who teach of a fluorescent probe for selectively detecting hydrogen sulfide based on a BODIPY dye; and Tong et al (article from RSC Advances, vol. 12, June 16, 2022, pages 17846-17852) who teach of a fluorescent probe for visualizing hydrogen sulfide in living cells.
/MAUREEN WALLENHORST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797 July 21, 2026