DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “clock generator”, “first master anchor”, “first slave anchor”, “first multi-slave anchor”, “second master anchor”, “second slave anchor”, “second multi-slave anchor” and “location engine” in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “clock generator”, “first master anchor”, “first slave anchor”, “first multi-slave anchor”, “second master anchor”, “second slave anchor”, “second multi-slave anchor” and “location engine” that invoke 35 USC 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures performs the claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1 recites “a hybrid synchronization apparatus comprising: a clock generator… a first master anchor… a first slave anchor … a first multi-slave anchor… a second master anchor… a second slave anchor… a second multi-slave anchor… and a location engine”. From the claim limitations and applicant’s specification, the examiner concludes that the apparatus (i.e., one device) does not include a first master anchor… a first slave anchor … a first multi-slave anchor… a second master anchor… a second slave anchor… a second multi-slave anchor… and a location engine. Rather the apparatus is in communication through LAN/wired and/or wireless communication with a first master anchor… a first slave anchor … a first multi-slave anchor… a second master anchor… a second slave anchor… a second multi-slave anchor… and a location engine. It is unclear what is the actual structure of the apparatus being claimed in the preamble, rendering the claim indefinite. The examiner suggests clearly reciting the structure of the apparatus being claimed, or rewriting the claim as a system claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of the “clock generator”, “first master anchor”, “first slave anchor”, “first multi-slave anchor”, “second master anchor”, “second slave anchor”, “second multi-slave anchor” and “location engine”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. (FP 7.31.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paek et al. (KR 2009-0093089, hereinafter “Paek”) in view of Dick et al. (US 2003/0147362 A1, hereinafter “Dick”).
As to claim 1:
Paek discloses a hybrid synchronization apparatus (see Figs. 1-3 and 7; master receiver 341 = hybrid synchronization apparatus) comprising:
a clock generator (clock of master receiver 341; see Figs. 1-3 and 7) that generates a clock sync signal at a preset cycle (“As shown in Fig. 1, the master receiver (11) provides a reference time. Here, the reference time refers to the digital clock (i.e., timer value) of the corresponding master receiver. And, the slave receiver (12a, 12b) synchronizes its clock to the time information (clock) received from the master receiver (11)”; pg. 5 “the master receiver periodically sends a time synchronization message containing time information to the slave receiver”; pg. 7 see also figs. 1-3 and 7);
a first master anchor that is connected to the clock generator in a wired manner to receive the clock sync signal, synchronizes clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal, and broadcasts the clock sync signal in a wireless manner to surroundings in a cell unit (“That is, the time measurement unit (150) of the master receiver reads its own (digital) clock value through the local clock (160), includes it in the time synchronization message (300) shown in FIG. 3, and transmits it to the slave receivers existing within the network through a radio frequency”; pg. 5; see also slave receivers of cluster 311 shown in Fig. 7; note master receiver 341 = first master anchor);
a first slave anchor that receives the clock sync signal from the first master anchor, and locally and autonomously synchronizes clock information with the first master anchor on the basis of the clock sync signal (“The processor unit (140) of the slave receiver that has received the time synchronization message (300) measures its own clock through the time measurement unit (150) and synchronizes it with the clock (reference time) in the time synchronization message (300) through the RF control unit (130)”; pg. 6; see also slave receivers of cluster 311 shown in Fig. 7);
a second master anchor broadcasts the clock sync signal in a wireless manner to surroundings in a cell unit (“the master receiver (321a, 321b) of each cluster (310, 312) transmits a time synchronization message to the receivers within its own cluster in the time slot assigned to it, independently of the top-level master receiver (341) (S821). Next, the slave receivers of each cluster synchronize their clocks according to the clock of the time synchronization message (S831)”; see Fig. 7; pg. 12);
a second slave anchor that receives the clock sync signal from the second master anchor, and locally and autonomously synchronizes clock information with the second master anchor on the basis of the clock sync signal (“the master receiver (321a, 321b) of each cluster (310, 312) transmits a time synchronization message to the receivers within its own cluster in the time slot assigned to it, independently of the top-level master receiver (341) (S821). Next, the slave receivers of each cluster synchronize their clocks according to the clock of the time synchronization message (S831)”; see Fig. 7; pg. 12).
Paek does not explicitly disclose a first multi-slave anchor that calculates a first difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the first master anchor and an N-th master anchor for transmission; a second master anchor that is connected to the first master anchor in a wired manner to receive the clock sync signal, synchronizes clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal; a second multi-slave anchor that calculates a second difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the second master anchor and an M-th master anchor for transmission; and a location engine that converts the first difference value and the second difference value into an offset value, and synchronizes the difference values between the master anchors of different cells on the basis of the offset value.
However, Dick discloses a first multi-slave anchor that calculates a first difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the first master anchor and an N-th master anchor for transmission (“The UE measures the TDOA of each base station (step 507b) and sends the difference of these measurements to the RNC 36 (step 507c)”; [0042]; [0030] see also Figs. 1 and 5; note: UE 20 = first multi-slave anchor);
a second master anchor (out-of-sync base station; see Figs. 1 and 5; [0043]; [0040]) that is connected to the first master anchor in a wired manner (“A Group of Node Bs 26, 32, 34 is connected to a radio network controller (RNC) 36 by the Iub interface”; see Figs. 1 and 5; [0015]; [0043] “synchronizing base stations employing an independent synchronizing source or identifying a base station as a master source. An RNC (C-RNC) or a base station may designate one base station or a UE to acquire measurements derived from base stations to achieve synchronization”; [0006] note: RNC or a base station = first master anchor) to receive the clock sync signal (“the RNC 36 sends a message to the "out-of-sync" base station to adjust its time base or its reference frequency (step 510) in accordance with this difference”; [0043]; “synchronizing base stations employing an independent synchronizing source or identifying a base station as a master source. An RNC (C-RNC) or a base station may designate one base station or a UE to acquire measurements derived from base stations to achieve synchronization”; [0006]), synchronizes clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal (“The "out-of-sync" base station conducts the requested adjustment (step 511)”; [0043]);
a second multi-slave anchor that calculates a second difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the second master anchor and an M-th master anchor for transmission (“The UE measures the TDOA of each base station (step 507b) and sends the difference of these measurements to the RNC 36 (step 507c)”; [0042]; [0040]; [0030] see also Figs. 1 and 5; note: UE 22 = second multi-slave anchor); and
a location engine that converts the first difference value and the second difference value into an offset value, and synchronizes the difference values between the master anchors of different cells on the basis of the offset value (“Upon receipt by the RNC 36 of the appropriate measurements (step 508), the RNC 36 compares the measurement to the value stored in the RNC database 59 (step 509). If the difference is beyond a certain threshold, the RNC 36 sends a message to the "out-of-sync" base station to adjust its time base or its reference frequency (step 510) in accordance with this difference. The "out-of-sync" base station conducts the requested adjustment (step 511) and reports it back to the RNC 36 (step 512)”; [0043] note: adjustment/synchronization is performed based on the measurements performed by UE 20 and measurements performed by UE 22 of their respective base stations (i.e., master anchors)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dick into Paek’s system/method as it would allow a first multi-slave anchor that calculates a first difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the first master anchor and an N-th master anchor for transmission; a second master anchor that is connected to the first master anchor in a wired manner to receive the clock sync signal, synchronizes clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal; a second multi-slave anchor that calculates a second difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the second master anchor and an M-th master anchor for transmission; and a location engine that converts the first difference value and the second difference value into an offset value, and synchronizes the difference values between the master anchors of different cells on the basis of the offset value. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to allows fast, efficient, and less expensive synchronization between operational base stations without consuming additional physical resources, providing accurate synchronization using a minimum number of interruptions of normal service, as well as reduced message traffic between the Node B and the radio network controller (RNC) (Dick; [0004]-[0005]).
As to claim 16:
Paek discloses a hybrid synchronization method (see Figs. 1-3 and 7; Abstract; master receiver 341 = hybrid synchronization apparatus) comprising:
generating a clock sync signal at a preset cycle (“As shown in Fig. 1, the master receiver (11) provides a reference time. Here, the reference time refers to the digital clock (i.e., timer value) of the corresponding master receiver. And, the slave receiver (12a, 12b) synchronizes its clock to the time information (clock) received from the master receiver (11)”; pg. 5 “the master receiver periodically sends a time synchronization message containing time information to the slave receiver”; pg. 7 see also figs. 1-3 and 7), by a clock generator (clock of master receiver 341; see Figs. 1-3 and 7);
receiving the clock sync signal from the clock generator that is connected in a wired manner, synchronizing clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal, and broadcasting the clock sync signal in a wireless manner to surroundings in a cell unit, by a first master anchor (“That is, the time measurement unit (150) of the master receiver reads its own (digital) clock value through the local clock (160), includes it in the time synchronization message (300) shown in FIG. 3, and transmits it to the slave receivers existing within the network through a radio frequency”; pg. 5; see also slave receivers of cluster 311 shown in Fig. 7; note master receiver 341 = first master anchor);
receiving the clock sync signal from the first master anchor, and locally and autonomously synchronizing clock information with the first master anchor on the basis of the clock sync signal, by a first slave anchor (“The processor unit (140) of the slave receiver that has received the time synchronization message (300) measures its own clock through the time measurement unit (150) and synchronizes it with the clock (reference time) in the time synchronization message (300) through the RF control unit (130)”; pg. 6; see also slave receivers of cluster 311 shown in Fig. 7);
broadcasting the clock sync signal in a wireless manner to surroundings in a cell unit, by a second master anchor (“the master receiver (321a, 321b) of each cluster (310, 312) transmits a time synchronization message to the receivers within its own cluster in the time slot assigned to it, independently of the top-level master receiver (341) (S821). Next, the slave receivers of each cluster synchronize their clocks according to the clock of the time synchronization message (S831)”; see Fig. 7; pg. 12);
receiving the clock sync signal from the second master anchor, and locally and autonomously synchronizing clock information with the second master anchor on the basis of the clock sync signal, by a second slave anchor (“the master receiver (321a, 321b) of each cluster (310, 312) transmits a time synchronization message to the receivers within its own cluster in the time slot assigned to it, independently of the top-level master receiver (341) (S821). Next, the slave receivers of each cluster synchronize their clocks according to the clock of the time synchronization message (S831)”; see Fig. 7; pg. 12).
Paek does not explicitly disclose calculating a first difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the first master anchor and an N-th master anchor for transmission, by a first multi-slave anchor; receiving the clock sync signal from the first master anchor that is connected in a wired manner, synchronizing clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal, by a second master anchor; calculating a second difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the second master anchor and an M-th master anchor for transmission, by a second multi-slave anchor; and converting the first difference value and the second difference value into an offset value, and synchronizing the difference values between the master anchors of different cells on the basis of the offset value, by a location engine.
However, Dick discloses calculating a first difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the first master anchor and an N-th master anchor for transmission, by a first multi-slave anchor (“The UE measures the TDOA of each base station (step 507b) and sends the difference of these measurements to the RNC 36 (step 507c)”; [0042]; [0030] see also Figs. 1 and 5; note: UE 20 = first multi-slave anchor);
receiving the clock sync signal from the first master anchor(“the RNC 36 sends a message to the "out-of-sync" base station to adjust its time base or its reference frequency (step 510) in accordance with this difference”; [0043] “synchronizing base stations employing an independent synchronizing source or identifying a base station as a master source. An RNC (C-RNC) or a base station may designate one base station or a UE to acquire measurements derived from base stations to achieve synchronization”; [0006] note: RNC or a base station = first master anchor) that is connected in a wired manner (“A Group of Node Bs 26, 32, 34 is connected to a radio network controller (RNC) 36 by the Iub interface”; see Figs. 1 and 5; [0015]; [0043]; [0006]), synchronizing clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal (“The "out-of-sync" base station conducts the requested adjustment (step 511)”; [0043]), by a second master anchor (out-of-sync base station; see Figs. 1 and 5; [0043]; [0040]);
calculating a second difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the second master anchor and an M-th master anchor for transmission, by a second multi-slave anchor (“The UE measures the TDOA of each base station (step 507b) and sends the difference of these measurements to the RNC 36 (step 507c)”; [0042]; [0040]; [0030] see also Figs. 1 and 5; note: UE 22 = second multi-slave anchor); and
converting the first difference value and the second difference value into an offset value, and synchronizing the difference values between the master anchors of different cells on the basis of the offset value, by a location engine (“Upon receipt by the RNC 36 of the appropriate measurements (step 508), the RNC 36 compares the measurement to the value stored in the RNC database 59 (step 509). If the difference is beyond a certain threshold, the RNC 36 sends a message to the "out-of-sync" base station to adjust its time base or its reference frequency (step 510) in accordance with this difference. The "out-of-sync" base station conducts the requested adjustment (step 511) and reports it back to the RNC 36 (step 512)”; [0043] note: adjustment/synchronization is performed based on the measurements performed by UE 20 and measurements performed by UE 22 of their respective base stations (i.e., master anchors)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dick into Paek’s system/method as it would allow calculating a first difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the first master anchor and an N-th master anchor for transmission, by a first multi-slave anchor; receiving the clock sync signal from the first master anchor that is connected in a wired manner, synchronizing clock information on the basis of the clock sync signal, by a second master anchor; calculating a second difference value between reception times of the clock sync signals that are respectively received from the second master anchor and an M-th master anchor for transmission, by a second multi-slave anchor; and converting the first difference value and the second difference value into an offset value, and synchronizing the difference values between the master anchors of different cells on the basis of the offset value, by a location engine. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to allows fast, efficient, and less expensive synchronization between operational base stations without consuming additional physical resources, providing accurate synchronization using a minimum number of interruptions of normal service, as well as reduced message traffic between the Node B and the radio network controller (RNC) (Dick; [0004]-[0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476