Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Restriction Requirement Response filed on 05/08/2026; and IDS filed on 11/18/2025 and 06/04/2023.
Claims 1-16 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 10-16) and specie elections of “flavor agent” in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claim 10-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/875,144 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-application recites a first component including a pH sensitive rheology modifying polymer, a calcium ion source, and an acidifying agent, and wherein the first component has a pH in the range of about 2.0 to about 6.5; a second component including a phosphate ion source, a positively charged basic amino acid and/or a cationic peptide, and an alkalizing agent, and wherein the second component has a pH in the range of about 9.5 to about 14.0; and wherein the first component and the second component are combined into a mixture, wherein a cationic amorphous calcium phosphate gel composition is created instantly when the pH of the mixture reaches a pH range of about 7.0 to about 9.5 (see claim 1), wherein the first component and the second component are combined into a mixture via a mixing tip or a mixing chamber (see claim 2), wherein viscosity of the instantly formed cationic amorphous calcium phosphate gel is larger than about 5,000 cP (see claim 10).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 1st paragraph
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The term “variations thereof” does not meet the written description provision of 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, due to lacking chemical structural information for what they are and chemical structures are highly variant and encompass a myriad of possibilities. The specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus of “variations thereof” encompassed by the claim, since there is no description of the structural relationship of these “variations thereof” provided in the specification and Applicant has not provided a description as to how the base molecule may be changed while remaining a “variation thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ANDINA et al (US 2018/0185493).
Regarding claim 10, ANDINA teaches a two-component system kit (see abstract) comprised of: first component, such as a pH sensitive gelling agent (see [0035]), such as Carbopol polymer (see [0026], which is the same polymer disclosed by Applicant; in water solvent (see [0027] and [0057]) at a pH value of less than 7 (see claim 1), which reads on acidic pH.
Carbopol is the tradename of a high molecular weight polymer of a crosslinked polyacrylic acid which is available from Lubrizol Corporation and is a preferred pH-sensitive gelling agent. At acidic pH the polymer is uncharged whereas at neutral pH the acid groups are deprotonated and result in a negatively charged polymer. The anionic form of the polymer has the ability to absorb and retain water and swell to many times of their original volume thereby forming a hydrogel (see [0026]).
ANDINA further teaches the second component is sodium hypochlorite (NaOCl) solution in the range of 10 to 13 (see claim 1), which reads on alkaline pH, wherein after mixing the two components, the pH has a range of 6.5 to 7.5 optimal to provide good viscosity (see [0018]) and antimicrobial activity (see [0031]). Additional disclosures include: the system of the two-component system is a dual cartridge or a dual syringe (see [0031]), which reads on mixing tip or chamber, wherein mixing arrangements in which the components which are contained in two syringes are discharged together through a mixer and mixed in the process. Furthermore, it is known to connect two syringes to one another at their ends so that the components which are contained in the syringes can be thoroughly mixed by backward and forward transfer (see [0031]); treating periodontal disease, such as gingivitis (see [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, ANDINA teaches humectant such as glycerin and other polyols can be avoided. Therefore, it is possible to obtain a glycerin-free hydrogel Since there is a significant number of patients who do not want to be treated with a product containing glycerin derived from animal (see [0035]). Thus, glycerin is not excluded for people that does not mind animal product and would read on a co-solvent.
Regrading claim 16, ANDINA does not teach a preservative is required.
Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HARIHARAN (US 2017/0151260).
HARIHARAN teaches “a kit for oromucosally administering a metastable supersaturated solution of a pharmaceutical active agent to a human patient includes a first compartment comprising a first composition comprising a pharmaceutical active agent in solution at or below equilibrium solubility, and a second composition comprising an acidic buffer. The first and second compartments maintain separation of the first and second compositions during storage, and allow for mixing of the first and second compositions to form a supersaturated solution above equilibrium solubility of the pharmaceutical active agent for immediate oromucosal administration to a human patient. In one embodiment, the second composition comprises an acidic buffer and the supersaturated solution has an acidic pH. Alternatively, the second composition comprises a basic buffer and the supersaturated solution has a basic pH” (see abstract), such as a first compartment at a pH≦6 (see [0082]), which reads on acidic pH, and a second liquid at pH≧6 containing a buffer or alkaline components (see [0082]), which reads on alkaline pH, such as NaOH (see [0167] at Table 4 and 6), wherein the pH of the resultant composition is 7.5 (see [0082]).
Additional disclosures include: polymers for imparting viscosity to the liquid and/or forming a gel (see [0130]), such as Carbopols (see [0130]); co-solvents, such as propylene glycol (see [0132]) and flavors (see [0122]), which reads on flavoring agents, such as menthol (see [0121]). In FIG. 5, the syringe is a double barrel syringe wherein the two barrels are conjoined and each contains the two liquids of the invention separated from one another during storage (see [0038] and Fig. 5).
Note, HARIHARAN teaches the composition may contain methylparaben and propylparaben as preservatives. Thus, the composition may NOT contain preservatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDINA et al (US 2018/0185493) in view of HARIHARAN (US 2017/0151260).
As discussed above, ANDINA teaches Applicant’s invention.
ANDINA does not teach flavoring agents, such as menthol.
HARIHARAN (US 2017/0151260) teaches the prior art had known of using flavors (see [0122]), which reads on flavoring agents, such as menthol (see [0121]) in two component kits for r gingival areas of the oral cavity (see [0084]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate flavoring agents, such as menthol. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the flavoring agent would improve flavor while in the mouth area, and reasonably would have expected success because both references dealt in the same area of endeavor.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618