DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application has claimed priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 from Chinese Patent Application No. CN202111504046.3 filed 12/10/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed on 6/16/2023, 11/4/2024, 1/15/2025, 5/9/2025, 10/9/2025, and 1/5/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings filed 6/14/2023 were accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Edition module configured for…” in claim(s) 5.
“software platform kernel module is configured for…” in claim(s) 6-7;
“derived software management module” in claims 6 and 8;
“derived software interface display module” in claim(s) 6. (note: the “derived software management module” and the “derived software interface display module” are both “controlled” to edit or generate, so they are interpreted as a placeholder coupled with functional language)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al (US20090327926A1; filed 6/23/2009; hereinafter Sun).
With regards to claim 1, Sun et al discloses a method for constructing a derived software based on a native system comprising (Sun et al, abstract: “system for fulfilling software customization modules is also provided herein, wherein function modules of the system may be added or deleted without modifying the codes”):
editing a user interface of the derived software and saving the user interface of the derived software as a derived software interface configuration file (Sun et al, abstract: “configuring a Graphic User Interface (GUI) view and an event processing class based on the function module customization request, modifying an interface configuration file based on the function module customization request, and determining an implementation class of the event processing class based on the modified interface configuration file;” paragraph 31: “For example, as regards a “save” menu, the function of saving may be available in the menu, toolbar, and shortcut menu”); and
generating a user-designed interface according to the derived software interface configuration file (Sun et al, paragraph 18: “The system includes a receiving unit, adapted to receive a function module customization request; a first configuring unit, adapted to configure a Graphic User Interface (GUI) view and event processing class based on the function module customization request, and modify an interface configuration file based on the function module customization request; a second configuring unit, adapted to determine an implementation class of the event processing class based on the modified interface configuration file”). Also see the rest of the abstract, paragraphs 16-19, 27-29, figs. 2, 3, 5.
With regards to claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Sun et al discloses wherein a step of editing the user interface of the derived software and saving the user interface of the derived software as the derived software interface configuration file comprises: editing the user interface of the derived software and saving the user interface of the derived software as the derived software interface configuration file through a derived software interface editor of a software platform (Sun et al, abstract: “receiving a function module customization request, configuring a Graphic User Interface (GUI) view and an event processing class based on the function module customization request, modifying an interface configuration file based on the function module customization request”); and
operating the software platform and the derived software through a software platform kernel module of the software platform (Sun et al, paragraph 8: “(1) Kernel function: The kernel function of the platform is an important function of the whole software. A majority of the functions of the software are undertaken by the kernel function;” paragraph 14: “Most functions of the software are undertaken by the kernel function. Therefore, if the requirements have changed substantially, the kernel codes must be modified, and it is not practicable to add or delete function modules of a platform flexibly”).
Claim 5 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 and is thus rejected along the same rationale.
With regards to claim 6, Sun et al discloses A derived software device comprising: a software platform kernel module, a derived software management module, and a derived software interface display module (Note: these modules aren’t defined in the claims or the specification, so they can be interpreted as any of the modules or units disclosed by Sun in abstract, Fig. 6, or paragraphs 16-19);
wherein the software platform kernel module is configured for controlling the derived software management module to edit a user interface of a derived software and save the user interface of the derived software as a derived software interface configuration file (Sun et al, abstract: “configuring a Graphic User Interface (GUI) view and an event processing class based on the function module customization request, modifying an interface configuration file based on the function module customization request, and determining an implementation class of the event processing class based on the modified interface configuration file”); and
the software platform kernel module is configured for controlling the derived software interface display module to generate a user-designed interface according to the derived software interface configuration file (Sun et al, paragraph 18: “The system includes a receiving unit, adapted to receive a function module customization request; a first configuring unit, adapted to configure a Graphic User Interface (GUI) view and event processing class based on the function module customization request, and modify an interface configuration file based on the function module customization request; a second configuring unit, adapted to determine an implementation class of the event processing class based on the modified interface configuration file”). Also see the rest of the abstract, paragraphs 16-19, 27-29, figs. 2, 3, 5.
With regards to claim 7, which depends on claim 6, Sun discloses wherein the derived software device further comprises other software modules of a software platform; wherein the other software modules of the software platform are configured for operating depending on the software platform kernel module (Sun et al, paragraph 8: “(1) Kernel function: The kernel function of the platform is an important function of the whole software. A majority of the functions of the software are undertaken by the kernel function;” the wording “configured for operating depending on the … kernel module” is very broad, and could describe any software running on a device).
With regards to claim 8, which depends on claim 7, Sun discloses wherein the derived software management module comprises a derived software interface editor; wherein the derived software interface editor is configured for editing the user interface of the derived software and saving the user interface of the derived software as the derived software interface configuration file (Sun et al, abstract: “receiving a function module customization request, configuring a Graphic User Interface (GUI) view and an event processing class based on the function module customization request, modifying an interface configuration file based on the function module customization request;” paragraph 31: “For example, as regards a “save” menu, the function of saving may be available in the menu, toolbar, and shortcut menu”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Winter et al (US20090217259A1; filed 2/26/2008; hereinafter Winter).
With regards to claim 3, which depends on claim 2, Sun et al discloses first reading, by the software platform, the derived software interface configuration file under a user module-operating state (Sun et al, paragraph 18: “A system for implementing a software customization module is also provided.”).
However, Sun et al does not disclose obtaining a kernel module from the derived software interface configuration file, wherein a current user module depends on the kernel module; loading, by the software platform, only the kernel module and a derived software interface display module.
Winter teaches obtaining a kernel module from the derived software interface configuration file, wherein a current user module depends on the kernel module (Winter, paragraphs 13-14: “FIG. 1 shows an example system 100 used to build a customized operating system image on an embedded device. The example system 100 includes an operating system base module… The operating system base is a shell of the full operating system that contains basic functions such as a kernel, a file system, core components, etc.”); loading, by the software platform, only the kernel module and a derived software interface display module (Winter, Fig. 1: the systems 100 is interpreted as including both the kernel (in the base module) and the derived software interface display module (104-112)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Sun and Winter such that the software depends on a kernel module. This would have enabled the invention to include all required dependencies for the software (Winter, paragraph 15: “The software application module 104 may require support in the operating system from one or more system components. Such requirements are called dependencies.”).
With regards to claim 4, which depends on claim 3, Sun discloses reading, by the derived software interface display module in the software platform, the derived software interface configuration file, and generating the user-designed interface according to information in the derived software interface configuration file (Sun, abstract: “modifying an interface configuration file based on the function module customization request, and determining an implementation class of the event processing class based on the modified interface configuration file. A system for fulfilling software customization modules…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Albrecht (US5950011A): teaches changing configuration capabilities of editors.
Millward et al (US 20040003221 A1): Teaches tuning multiple instances of kernel modules.
/B.C.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178