DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (GB 2524621 A, attached) in view of McGinniss (US 4607082).
Regarding claims 1, 3-4, and 6, Nakamura teaches a composition having 100 parts by mass of ethylene-based polymer, which may be EPDM and/or EPM (p. 5), and may further be crosslinked with organic peroxide (p. 6).
However, Nakamura is silent as to the reducing agent and amount of organic peroxide that may be used. In the same field of endeavor, McGinniss teaches a combination of peroxide, an activator, and a reducing agent which is preferably ascorbic acid (Abstract; col. 3, lines 55-66). The system can be used to cure ethylenically unsaturated polymers that are peroxide-curable, including polybutadiene-based materials (col. 9, lines 62-68). The peroxide may be present in amounts ranging from 0.1-5% by weight of the composition (col. 11, lines 8-10). The ascorbic acid may be present in amounts ranging from 0.1-5% by weight of the composition (col. 5, lines 55-61). Ascorbic acid corresponds to the claimed formula (1) where all R groups independently represent hydrogen. These prior art ranges overlap the claimed ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Nakamura with the peroxide and reducing agent of McGinniss, in the amounts taught by McGinniss, to arrive at the claimed invention, and to enhance the performance and properties of the composition, as taught by McGinniss (col. 2, line 62).
Claims 2, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of McGinniss as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Odagawa (US 7232862 B2).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Nakamura in view of McGinniss remains as applied to claim 1 above. Nakamura and Quanzhou are silent as to use of a vulcanization accelerator. In the same field of endeavor, Odagawa teaches use of a vulcanization agent, which may be dialkyl peroxide, alongside a vulcanization accelerator (col. 7, lines 28-29, 38; col. 8, lines 47-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Nakamura in view of McGinniss with the dialkyl peroxide and vulcanization accelerator of Odagawa to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve a composition with good vulcanizing density and oil resistance without sacrificing fatigue resistance, as taught by Odagawa (col. 8, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura in view of McGinniss remains as applied to claim 1 above. Nakamura further teaches preparation of the crosslinked composition in saturated vapor at about 200*C (p. 13). However, Nakamura and McGinniss are silent as to heating of the composition under air. In the same field of endeavor, Odagawa teaches that vapor heating and hot-air heating may be used interchangeably for rubber vulcanization (crosslinking with dialkyl peroxide) (col. 9, lines 10-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the hot-air heating of Odagawa for use in the method of Nakamura in view of McGinniss to arrive at the claimed invention, and because of the art-recognized suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762