Claims 10-20 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ information disclosure statement filed June 14, 2023 has been received and entered.
Applicants’ drawings filed December 26, 2023 have been received and entered.
Applicants’ election filed May 18, 2026 in response to the restriction requirement of March 19, 2026 has been received and entered. The applicants elected the invention described in claims 10-14 and 17-20 (Group I) without traverse. However, the Examiner will rejoin claims 15 and 16 for examination purposes.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The phrase “antocyanins” is misspelled. The correct phrase is “anthocyanins”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10, 15 and 16 are rendered indefinite by the misspelled phrase “antocyanins”. The correct spelling is “anthocyanin”.
Claims 17-20 are repeating the same steps as set forth in claims 11-14, wherein both these claim sets depend on claim 10.
Claims 10-20 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20180106797 A, hereby known as Lee et al.
Lee et al. teach a food composition for cancer prevention, inhibition of NHE-1 (sodium hydrogen exchanger-1) with one or more active agent selected from the group consisting of curcumin, quercetin, catechin, resveratrol, anthocyanins, isoflavones, or derivative thereof (see page 1, claim 1 and page 2, claims 5 of enclosed translation). Note the reference teaches the active agent(s) can be combined with a low-carbohydrate diet (see page 2, section [0001]).
As to the active agent(s) inhibition of hypoxia-inducible factor-1 alpha and/or suppression of anticancer drug resistance of cancer cells occurred in a low-carbohydrate state, a product of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). In the instant application, the inhibition of hypoxia-inducible factor-1 alpha and/or suppression of anticancer drug resistance of cancer cells occurred in a low-carbohydrate state are anticipated by Lee et al. since the active agent (s) possesses the same identical chemical structure.
Clearly, the cited reference anticipates the applicants’ instant invention; therefore, applicants’ instant invention is unpatentable.
Claims 10, 11 and 14-16 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180106797 A, hereby known as Lee et al. in view of Cleare et al. (4,140,707).
Lee et al. were discussed above supra the use of one or more active agent selected from the group consisting of curcumin, quercetin, catechin, resveratrol, anthocyanins, isoflavones, or derivative thereof for suppression of NHE-1 in cancer patients, formulation into a food composition comprising a low-carbohydrate diet, and suppression of anticancer drug resistance of cancer cells occurred in a low-carbohydrate state.
The invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the addition of anticancer drug with one or more active agents. However, the secondary reference, Cleare et al., teaches malonato platinum anti-tumor compounds such as carboplatin.
Clearly, one skilled in the art would have would have assumed the combination of individual agents, each known to treat very types of cancer, into a single composition will give an additive effect in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 10-16 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629