Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the excitation wavelength at which the Raman spectrum was taken at, it is known in the art that changing the excitation wavelength greatly affects the graphical output and therefore the G/D ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita et al. (US 20220376262 A1) in view of Yushin et al. (US 20200083542 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morita teaches a Carbon nanotube dispersion liquid for an electrode slurry (0001) alongside a dispersant and a solvent (0043, the solvent can be called a dispersion medium, 0071, the dispersant can be carboxymethyl cellulose). Morita further teaches that the average diameter of the carbon nanotubes are between 3 and 25 nanometers with a standard deviation of 1 to 5 nanometers (0047, 0048). What this means is that that if the average diameter is 3-25 nm and the standard deviation is 1-5 nm then the range of values is 0-30 nm which has significant overlap with the instant application. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. It should further be noted that in table 1-continued the TUBALL SWCNT 93% has an outer diameter of 1.2-2 nm which also overlaps with the instant application.
Morita is silent in respect to a G/D ratio of between 50 and 200 in a Raman spectrum. It should be noted, however, that the G/D ratio of the same material can significantly change depending on the excitation wavelength used which is not disclosed in the instant application.
Yushin teaches that a Raman spectrum of carbon nanotubes in a slurry (0079) with a diameter of between 0.3 nm and 5 micrometers (0071) can result in a G band and a D band where the G band is significantly higher than the D band (fig. 6, 0095). The peak intensity of the bands is at 1580 cm-1- for the G band and 1360 cm-1 for the D band. While the G band is a point within the range described in the instant application and therefore rendered obvious, the D band is merely close, but similarly to overlapping ranges, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, see MPEP 2144.05, it is also clear by the use of the word typically that Yushin knows and expects there to be a range of valid values and the resulting material is expected to behave the same regardless of slight differences in the wavenumber peak (0093). While the exact data numbers are not given, by looking at the graph of fig. 6 it is apparent that carbon nanotubes can form a G/D value that is well within the range of 50 to 200 described by the instant application.
Regarding the volume-based particle size distribution, While the prior art does not explicitly teach carbon nanotubes having 3-5 peaks with a center peak being the highest, these properties are considered inherent in the prior art barring any differences shown by objective evidence between carbon nanotubes disclosed in the prior art and the applicant. As carbon nanotubes taught by the prior art and the applicant are identical within the scope of claim 1, Morita in view of Yushin inherently teaches that the carbon nanotubes of the same size range will have the same properties and same data resulting from them. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) MPEP 2112.01. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to take the carbon nanotubes and the resulting Raman spectrum of Yushin and be able to apply that Raman spectrum to the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of Morita as the Raman spectrum is inherent to the carbon nanotubes themselves and can vary based off of the excitation wavelength used. Further, as the size distribution has been established to be inherent to the carbon nanotubes, it would be obvious to form the distribution as claimed by the instant application.
Regarding claim 2, Morita in view of Yushin teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of claim 1 and further teaches the dispersion liquid is .5 to 3 parts by mass where 100 parts by mass is the total carbon nanotube dispersion liquid (Morita, 0031). In this case the parts by mass can be directly converted into percentages and overlaps with the limitation’s range of .1 to 1.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Morita in view of Yushin teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of claim 1 and further teaches that the dispersant can be 20 and 100 parts by mass where 100 parts by mass is the amount of carbon nanotubes (Morita, 0029). In this case there is an overlap with the limitation’s range of 50 to 250 parts by mass. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Morita in view of Yushin teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of claim 1 and further teaches the dispersant can be carboxymethyl cellulose (Morita, 0071).
Regarding claim 5, Morita in view of Yushin teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of claim 4 and further teaches the viscosity of a .5 to 3 parts by mass mixture of carbon nanotubes can result in a viscosity between 10 mPas and 2000 mPas (Morita, 0031). In this case there is substantial overlap with the limitation’s range of 2 mPas to 200 mPas. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Morita in view of Yushin teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of claim 1 and further teaches the dispersion liquid is for use in a mixture slurry (Morita, 0001) which can be applied to a negative electrode containing graphite and silicon (Morita, 0004, adds carbon nanotubes to the negative electrode).
Regarding claim 7, Morita in view of Yushin teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of claim 6 and further teaches that the resulting negative electrode is for use in a secondary battery (Morita, 0004, improves cycle life of lithium secondary batteries).
Regarding claim 8, Morita teaches a method for manufacturing a Carbon nanotube dispersion liquid for an electrode slurry (0001) via mixing carbon nanotubes alongside a dispersant and a solvent (0043, the solvent can be called a dispersion medium, 0071, the dispersant can be carboxymethyl cellulose). Morita further teaches that the average diameter of the carbon nanotubes are between 3 and 25 nanometers with a standard deviation of 1 to 5 nanometers (0047, 0048). What this means is that that if the average diameter is 3-25 nm and the standard deviation is 1-5 nm then the range of values is 0-30 nm which has significant overlap with the instant application and It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. It should further be noted that in table 1-continued the TUBALL SWCNT 93% has an outer diameter of 1.2-2 nm which also overlaps with the instant application.
Morita is silent in respect to a G/D ratio of between 50 and 200 in a Raman spectrum. It should be noted, however, that the G/D ratio of the same material can significantly change depending on the excitation wavelength used which is not disclosed in the instant application.
Yushin teaches that a Raman spectrum of carbon nanotubes in a slurry (0079) with a diameter of between 0.3 nm and 5 micrometers (0071) can result in a G band and a D band where the G band is significantly higher than the D band (fig. 6, 0095). The peak intensity of the bands is at 1580 cm-1- for the G band and 1360 cm-1 for the D band. While the G band is a point within the range described in the instant application and therefore rendered obvious, the D band is merely close, but similarly to overlapping ranges, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, see MPEP 2144.05, it is also clear by the use of the word typically that Yushin knows and expects there to be a range of valid values and the resulting material is expected to behave the same regardless of slight differences in the wavenumber peak (0093). While the exact data numbers are not given, by looking at the graph of fig. 6 it is apparent that carbon nanotubes can form a G/D value that is well within the range of 50 to 200 described by the instant application.
Regarding the volume-based particle size distribution, While the prior art does not explicitly teach carbon nanotubes having 3-5 peaks with a center peak being the highest, these properties are considered inherent in the prior art barring any differences shown by objective evidence between carbon nanotubes disclosed in the prior art and the applicant. As carbon nanotubes taught by the prior art and the applicant are identical within the scope of claim 1, Morita in view of Yushin inherently teaches that the carbon nanotubes of the same size range will have the same properties and same data resulting from them. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) MPEP 2112.01. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to take the carbon nanotubes and the resulting Raman spectrum of Yushin and be able to apply that Raman spectrum to the carbon nanotube dispersion liquid of Morita as the Raman spectrum is inherent to the carbon nanotubes themselves and can vary based off of the excitation wavelength used. Further, as the size distribution has been established to be inherent to the carbon nanotubes, it would be obvious to form the distribution as claimed by the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of Fukumoto et al. U.S. Patent No. 12374693 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant invention and Fukumoto both claim a carbon nanotube dispersion liquid for an electrode slurry that identifies a content percentage of the carbon nanotubes and a dispersant where the dispersant is carboxymethyl cellulose which has a defined viscosity. Further, both claim sets claim a method of manufacture for the electrode slurry as well as use of the slurry in a secondary battery where the electrode has a carbon and silicon based active material. Regarding the instant application’s claim of G/D peaks and the size distribution, as both are simply results of data testing, if the materials and all other components as claimed are the same then a prima facia case of obviousness is present. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728