DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 12-14, and 16-21 have been considered but are moot due to a new basis of rejection necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (‘899) et al. (US 2023/0074899 A1; “Wang (‘899)”) in view of Xu et al. (EP 3637940 A1; cited in Applicant’s IDS submitted 09/24/2024; “Xu”) in view of Paladugu et al. (US 2023/0247513 A1; “Paladugu (‘513)”) in view of Paladugu et al. (US 2023/0180076 A1; “Paladugu (‘076)”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang (‘899) teaches an apparatus, comprising:
At least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus [Wang (‘899) ¶¶ 0227-0228, Fig. 12: at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor 510, causes the at least one processor to implement the path switching method, wherein a computer-readable storage medium, can be used to store at least one program] to:
establish, at a first user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a base station (BS) via a second UE [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0066, Fig. 5: UE1 has established RRC connection with the base station through the relay], wherein a PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE has been established and an RRC connection between the second UE and the BS has been established [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0049: PC5 RRC signaling between UE1 and Relay; ¶ 0059 RRC connection between relay and BS; see also Figs. 3 and 4 showing PC5 connection between UE1 and Relay1, and Uu interface between Relay 1 and BS (i.e. PC5 RRC connection between first UE and second UE, and RRC connection between second UE and BS has been established)]; and
receive an RRC reconfiguration message including a path switch indication from the BS [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0066, Fig. 5: the base station determines whether to perform path switch. In response to performing path switch, path switching configuration information (including switching instruction information) is sent to the UE1 through an RRC reconfiguration message (forwarded through the relay or directly sent through the Uu interface)].
However, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein the path switching indication indicates a switch to a target cell of the BS using a Uu interface; and perform, in response to the path switch indication, a random access (RA) with the BS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu teaches wherein the path switching indication indicates a switch to a target cell of the BS using a Uu interface [Xu ¶ 0097: UE may receive a RRC reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the remote UE to switch to the Uu path; ¶ 0099, Fig. 22: sending the remote UE an RRC reconfiguration message indicating the remote UE is to switch to the Uu path, wherein Fig. 22 shows RRC reconfiguration message sent by source BS through relay to UE and causes switch to target cell over Uu interface]; and
perform, in response to the path switch indication, a random access (RA) with the BS [Xu ¶ 0165: at S404 network device sends a sixth message to the remote terminal, where the sixth message may be used to configure the remote terminal to switch from the indirect connection path to the direct connection path; ¶ 0173: remote terminal performs the random access process on the cell corresponding to the cell identity, and sends an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the network device after completing cell access; as shown in Fig. 12, RA occurs between remote terminal and second network entity, i.e., target cell, therefore, Xu implicitly teaches a cell identity identifying a target cell].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of receiving a path switching indication that indicates a path switch to a target cell and performing a random access procedure with the target cell in response to the indication as taught by Xu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve path switching to allow for expanded relay operation [Xu ¶ 0005].
However, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose transmit, in response to accessing the target cell, an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the BS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Paladugu (‘513) teaches transmit, in response to accessing the target cell, an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the BS [Paladugu (‘513) ¶ 0060, Fig. 5: the UE 104 may transmit the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the source base station 102-a after UE performs handover to the target BS].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to a source BS in response to handover to a target cell as taught by Paladugu (‘513). The motivation to combine these references would be to provide mobility to users in both direct connection/in-coverage scenarios and indirect/out-of-coverage scenarios [Paladugu (‘513) ¶ ¶ 0021-0023].
However, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) does not explicitly disclose transmit, in response to receiving the path switch indication, a PC5 link release indication to the second UE.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Paladugu (‘076) teaches transmit, in response to receiving the path switch indication, a PC5 link release indication to the second UE [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0096, Fig. 19: in response to mobility trigger (see Fig. 19) remote UE may further provide an indication to the relay UE that the remote UE has successfully connected to the network entity via the Uu path, wherein the indication map be a PC5 link release].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of maintaining a PC5 relay connection during a path switch operation, wherein the PC5 relay connection is released following completion of the path switch as taught by Paladugu (‘076). The motivation to combine these references would be to improve capacity, throughput, latency, and reliability through enhanced use of sidelink communication [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0041].
Regarding claim 3, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to receiving the path switch indication, the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to at least one of: release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE; retain at least one of a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration, and an RRC configuration at the first UE; continue to transmit data, signaling, or both terminated at the second UE to the second UE; and continue to receive data, signaling, or both originated from either the BS or the second UE from the second UE.
However, Xu teaches wherein in response to receiving the path switch indication, the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to at least one of:
release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE;
retain at least one of a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration, and an RRC configuration at the first UE;
continue to transmit data, signaling, or both terminated at the second UE to the second UE; and
continue to receive data, signaling, or both originated from either the BS or the second UE from the second UE [Xu ¶ 107: in response to receiving switch message, remote terminal may continue to maintain a connection to the relay terminal, that is, continue to use the relay terminal to perform data communication with the network device, and after completing the downlink synchronization with the cell corresponding to the cell identity, the remote terminal may disconnect from the relay terminal, terminate the data communication with the network device by using the relay terminal, and switch to the direct connection path to send/receive data to/from the network device (i.e. UE may transmit/receive with BS through second UE); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 3, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein to continue to receive data, signaling, or both comprises one or more of to: receive an end-mark indication indicating a last downlink (DL) data associated with the first UE; receive one of an RRC message, a control protocol data unit (PDU) on an adaptation layer and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) which indicates a completion of DL data forwarding; or receive a PC5 link release indication from the second UE in response to the completion of DL data forwarding.
However, Paladugu (‘076) teaches wherein to continue to receive data, signaling, or both comprises one or more of to:
receive an end-mark indication indicating a last downlink (DL) data associated with the first UE;
receive one of an RRC message, a control protocol data unit (PDU) on an adaptation layer and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) which indicates a completion of DL data forwarding; or
receive a PC5 link release indication from the second UE in response to the completion of DL data forwarding [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0103, Fig. 23: PC5 Relay connection is maintained during path switch and then released (see step 12) through signaling between Relay UE and Remote UE; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 4, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to at least one of: the end-mark indication; in response to one or more of the completion of DL data forwarding indicated by the RRC message, the control PDU on the adaptation layer or the MAC CE; or in response to the PC5 link release indication.
However, Paladugu (‘076) teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to:
release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to at least one of:
the end-mark indication;
in response to one or more of the completion of DL data forwarding indicated by the RRC message, the control PDU on the adaptation layer or the MAC CE; or
in response to the PC5 link release indication [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0103, Fig. 23: PC5 Relay connection is maintained during path switch and then released (see step 12) through signaling between Relay UE and Remote UE; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17, Wang (‘899) teaches a method, comprising:
establishing, at a first user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a base station (BS) via a second UE [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0066, Fig. 5: UE1 has established RRC connection with the base station through the relay],
a PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE being established and an RRC connection between the second UE and the BS being established [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0049: PC5 RRC signaling between UE1 and Relay; ¶ 0059 RRC connection between relay and BS; see also Figs. 3 and 4 showing PC5 connection between UE1 and Relay1, and Uu interface between Relay 1 and BS (i.e. PC5 RRC connection between first UE and second UE, and RRC connection between second UE and BS has been established)];
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message including a path switching indication from the BS [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0066, Fig. 5: the base station determines whether to perform path switch. In response to performing path switch, path switching configuration information (including switching instruction information) is sent to the UE1 through an RRC reconfiguration message (forwarded through the relay or directly sent through the Uu interface)].
However, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose the path switching indication indicating a switch to a target cell of the BS using a Uu interface; and performing, in response to the path switch indication, a random access (RA) with the BS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu teaches the path switching indication indicating a switch to a target cell of the BS using a Uu interface [Xu ¶ 0097: UE may receive a RRC reconfiguration signaling from the network entity instructing the remote UE to switch to the Uu path; ¶ 0099, Fig. 22: sending the remote UE an RRC reconfiguration message indicating the remote UE is to switch to the Uu path, wherein Fig. 22 shows RRC reconfiguration message sent by source BS through relay to UE and causes switch to target cell over Uu interface]; and
performing, in response to the path switch indication, a random access (RA) with the BS [Xu ¶ 0165: at S404 network device sends a sixth message to the remote terminal, where the sixth message may be used to configure the remote terminal to switch from the indirect connection path to the direct connection path; ¶ 0173: remote terminal performs the random access process on the cell corresponding to the cell identity, and sends an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the network device after completing cell access; as shown in Fig. 12, RA occurs between remote terminal and second network entity, i.e., target cell, therefore, Xu implicitly teaches a cell identity identifying a target cell].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of receiving a path switching indication that indicates a path switch to a target cell and performing a random access procedure with the target cell in response to the indication as taught by Xu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve path switching to allow for expanded relay operation [Xu ¶ 0005].
However, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose transmitting, in response to accessing the target cell, an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the BS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Paladugu (513) teaches transmitting, in response to accessing the target cell, an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the BS [Paladugu (‘513) ¶ 0060, Fig. 5: the UE 104 may transmit the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the source base station 102-a after UE performs handover to the target BS].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to a source BS in response to handover to a target cell as taught by Paladugu (‘513). The motivation to combine these references would be to provide mobility to users in both direct connection/in-coverage scenarios and indirect/out-of-coverage scenarios [Paladugu (‘513) ¶ ¶ 0021-0023].
However, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) does not explicitly disclose transmit, in response to receiving the path switch indication, a PC5 link release indication to the second UE.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Paladugu (‘076) teaches transmit, in response to receiving the path switch indication, a PC5 link release indication to the second UE [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0096, Fig. 19: in response to mobility trigger (see Fig. 19) remote UE may further provide an indication to the relay UE that the remote UE has successfully connected to the network entity via the Uu path, wherein the indication map be a PC5 link release].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of maintaining a PC5 relay connection during a path switch operation, wherein the PC5 relay connection is released following completion of the path switch as taught by Paladugu (‘076). The motivation to combine these references would be to improve capacity, throughput, latency, and reliability through enhanced use of sidelink communication [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0041].
Regarding claim 19, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the method of claim 17, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose further comprising: in response to receiving the path switch indication, at least one of: releasing the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE; retaining at least one of a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration, or an RRCconfiguration at the first UE; continuing to transmit data, signaling, or both terminated at the second UE to the second UE; or continuing to receive data, signaling, or both originated from either the BS or the second UE from the second UE.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu teaches in response to receiving the path switch indication, at least one of:
releasing the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE;
retaining at least one of a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration, or an RRCconfiguration at the first UE;
continuing to transmit data, signaling, or both terminated at the second UE to the second UE; or
continuing to receive data, signaling, or both originated from either the BS or the second UE from the second UE [Xu ¶ 107: in response to receiving switch message, remote terminal may continue to maintain a connection to the relay terminal, that is, continue to use the relay terminal to perform data communication with the network device, and after completing the downlink synchronization with the cell corresponding to the cell identity, the remote terminal may disconnect from the relay terminal, terminate the data communication with the network device by using the relay terminal, and switch to the direct connection path to send/receive data to/from the network device (i.e. UE may transmit/receive with BS through second UE); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 20, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the method of claim 19, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein continuing to receive data, signaling, or both comprises at least one of: receiving an end-mark indication indicating a last downlink (DL) data associated with the first UE; receiving one of an RRC message, a control protocol data unit (PDU) on an adaptation layer and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) which indicates a completion of DL data forwarding; or receiving a PC5 link release indication from the second UE in response to the completion of DL data forwarding.
However, Paladugu (‘076) teaches wherein continuing to receive data, signaling, or both comprises at least one of:
receiving an end-mark indication indicating a last downlink (DL) data associated with the first UE;
receiving one of an RRC message, a control protocol data unit (PDU) on an adaptation layer and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) which indicates a completion of DL data forwarding; or
receiving a PC5 link release indication from the second UE in response to the completion of DL data forwarding [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0103, Fig. 23: PC5 Relay connection is maintained during path switch and then released (see step 12) through signaling between Relay UE and Remote UE; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Regarding claim 21, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the method of claim 20, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose further comprising: releasing the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to at least one of: the end-mark indication; the completion of DL data forwarding indicated by one or more of the RRC message, the control PDU on the adaptation layer or the MAC CE; or the PC5 link release indication.
However, Paladugu (‘076) teaches releasing the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to at least one of:
the end-mark indication;
the completion of DL data forwarding indicated by one or more of the RRC message, the control PDU on the adaptation layer or the MAC CE; or
the PC5 link release indication [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0103, Fig. 23: PC5 Relay connection is maintained during path switch and then released (see step 12) through signaling between Relay UE and Remote UE; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) in view of Hori et al. (US 2023/0030653 A1; “Hori”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the path switch indication is indicated by a reconfiguration with sync information element (IE).
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hori teaches wherein the path switch indication is indicated by a reconfiguration with sync information element (IE) [Hori ¶ 0264: terminal apparatus receiving the first RRC reconfiguration message which may include a Reconfiguration With Sync (reconfigurationWithSync) information element, and further includes parameters related to reconfigurationWithSync with the target SpCell].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of utilizing a RRC Reconfiguration message including a reconfiguration sync IE when performing handover to a target cell. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce user interruption during a handover procedure [Hori ¶ 0026].
Regarding claim 18, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the method of claim 17, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the path switch indication is indicated by a reconfiguration with sync information element (IE).
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hori teaches wherein the path switch indication is indicated by a reconfiguration with sync information element (IE) [Hori ¶ 0264: terminal apparatus receiving the first RRC reconfiguration message which may include a Reconfiguration With Sync (reconfigurationWithSync) information element, and further includes parameters related to reconfigurationWithSync with the target SpCell].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of utilizing a RRC Reconfiguration message including a reconfiguration sync IE when performing handover to a target cell. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce user interruption during a handover procedure [Hori ¶ 0026].
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) in view of Wang et al. (WO 2018/028694 A1; cited portions reference the attached machine translation retrieved from ip.com; “Wang (‘694)”).
Regarding claim 6, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC reconfiguration complete message indicates at least one of: whether the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE is released; a radio link failure (RLF) indication for a PC5 link in response to an RLF on the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE is detected; or whether downlink (DL) data forwarding is completed.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Wang (‘694) teaches wherein the RRC reconfiguration complete message indicates at least one of:
whether the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE is released;
a radio link failure (RLF) indication for a PC5 link in response to an RLF on the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE is detected; or
whether downlink (DL) data forwarding is completed [Wang (‘694) p. 19, ¶ 2: after receiving the PC5 bearer release indication, the w-UE sends a PC5 bearer release message to the relay UE, carrying the PC5 bearer identifier/logical channel identifier to be released. After the PC5 bearer release is completed, the w-UE informs the eNB PC5 that the bearer release is completed through the RRC reconfiguration message; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of indicating to a BS that a PC5 bearer has been released in response to a release command as taught by Wang (‘694). The motivation to combine these references would be provide bearer management and configuration in support of relayed PC5 communications [Wang (‘694) p. 5, ¶ 7].
Regarding claim 7, Wang (‘899) in view of Xu in view of Paladugu (‘513) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a PC5 link release indication from the BS; and release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to receiving the PC5 link release indication.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Wang (‘694) teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a PC5 link release indication from the BS; and release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to receiving the PC5 link release indication [Wang (‘694) p. 19, ¶ 2: after receiving the PC5 bearer release indication, the w-UE sends a PC5 bearer release message to the relay UE, carrying the PC5 bearer identifier/logical channel identifier to be released. After the PC5 bearer release is completed, the w-UE informs the eNB PC5 that the bearer release is completed through the RRC reconfiguration message].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of indicating to a BS that a PC5 bearer has been released in response to a release command as taught by Wang (‘694). The motivation to combine these references would be provide bearer management and configuration in support of relayed PC5 communications [Wang (‘694) p. 5, ¶ 7].
Claim(s) 8, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) in view of Paladugu (‘076).
Regarding claim 8, Wang (‘899) teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause the apparatus [Wang (‘899) ¶¶ 0227-0228, Fig. 12: at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor 510, causes the at least one processor to implement the path switching method, wherein a computer-readable storage medium, can be used to store at least one program] to:
establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection between a second user equipment (UE) and a base station (BS); establish a PC5 RRC connection between a first UE and the second UE [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0066, Fig. 5: UE1 has established RRC connection with the base station through the relay; ¶ 0049: PC5 RRC signaling between UE1 and Relay; ¶ 0059 RRC connection between relay and BS; see also Figs. 3 and 4 showing PC5 connection between UE1 and Relay1, and Uu interface between Relay 1 and BS (i.e. PC5 RRC connection between first UE and second UE, and RRC connection between second UE and BS has been established)]; and
receive, at the second UE from the BS, an RRC reconfiguration message [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0066, Fig. 5: the base station determines whether to perform path switch. In response to performing path switch, path switching configuration information (including switching instruction information) is sent to the UE1 through an RRC reconfiguration message (forwarded through the relay or directly sent through the Uu interface)].
However, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose the RRC reconfiguration message that indicates a release of the first UE.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Wang (‘694) teaches the RRC reconfiguration message that indicates a release of the first UE [Wang (‘694) p. 19, ¶ 2: after receiving the PC5 bearer release indication, the w-UE sends a PC5 bearer release message to the relay UE, carrying the PC5 bearer identifier/logical channel identifier to be released. After the PC5 bearer release is completed, the w-UE informs the eNB PC5 that the bearer release is completed through the RRC reconfiguration message].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of indicating to a BS that a PC5 bearer has been released in response to a release command as taught by Wang (‘694). The motivation to combine these references would be provide bearer management and configuration in support of relayed PC5 communications [Wang (‘694) p. 5, ¶ 7].
However, Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) does not explicitly disclose receive a PC5 link release indication from the first UE.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Paladugu (‘076) teaches receive a PC5 link release indication from the first UE [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0096, Fig. 19: in response to mobility trigger (see Fig. 19) remote UE may further provide an indication to the relay UE that the remote UE has successfully connected to the network entity via the Uu path, wherein the indication map be a PC5 link release].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of maintaining a PC5 relay connection during a path switch operation, wherein the PC5 relay connection is released following completion of the path switch as taught by Paladugu (‘076). The motivation to combine these references would be to improve capacity, throughput, latency, and reliability through enhanced use of sidelink communication [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0041].
Regarding claim 13, Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 8, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to, in response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, at least one of: release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE; transmit a PC5 link release indication to the first UE; or clear a downlink (DL) buffer associated with the first UE.
However, Wang (‘694) teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to, in response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, at least one of: release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE;
transmit a PC5 link release indication to the first UE; or
clear a downlink (DL) buffer associated with the first UE [Wang (‘694) p. 19, ¶ 2: after receiving the PC5 bearer release indication, the w-UE sends a PC5 bearer release message to the relay UE, carrying the PC5 bearer identifier/logical channel identifier to be released. After the PC5 bearer release is completed, the w-UE informs the eNB PC5 that the bearer release is completed through the RRC reconfiguration message; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 14, Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 8, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to receiving the PC5 link release indication.
However, Wang (‘694) teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE in response to receiving the PC5 link release indication [Wang (‘694) p. 19, ¶ 2: after receiving the PC5 bearer release indication, the w-UE sends a PC5 bearer release message to the relay UE, carrying the PC5 bearer identifier/logical channel identifier to be released. After the PC5 bearer release is completed, the w-UE informs the eNB PC5 that the bearer release is completed through the RRC reconfiguration message].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 16, Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 8, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to, in response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, cause the second UE to release one or more of the first UE, a configuration associated with the first UE, or a bearer mapping associated with the first UE.
However, Wang (‘694) teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to, in response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, cause the second UE to release one or more of the first UE, a configuration associated with the first UE, or a bearer mapping associated with the first UE [Wang (‘694) p. 19, ¶ 2: after receiving the PC5 bearer release indication, the w-UE sends a PC5 bearer release message to the relay UE, carrying the PC5 bearer identifier/logical channel identifier to be released. After the PC5 bearer release is completed, the w-UE informs the eNB PC5 that the bearer release is completed through the RRC reconfiguration message; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) in view of Paladugu (‘076) in view of Xu.
Regarding claim 9, Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) in view of Paladugu (‘076) teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message indicates at least one of:
a list of the first UE; whether uplink (UL) data from the first UE to the BS buffered at the second UE is transmitted to the BS or not; or whether downlink (DL) data to the first UE buffered at the second UE is transmitted to the first UE or not [Wang (‘899) ¶ 0091: switch request message (see ¶ 0066: RRC reconfiguration message) includes at least one of: a first UE identifier; a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) for the first UE (i.e. list of the first UE), QoS flow to DRB mapping, and quality of service parameters for QoS flow; or a relay identifier; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
However, Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) does not explicitly disclose the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to, after the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message, at least one of: continue to transmit UL data from the first UE to the BS buffered at the second UE to the BS; and continue to transmit DL data, DL signaling, or both originated from either the BS or the second UE to the first UE.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu teaches the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to, after the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message, at least one of:
continue to transmit UL data from the first UE to the BS buffered at the second UE to the BS; and
continue to transmit DL data, DL signaling, or both originated from either the BS or the second UE to the first UE [Xu ¶ 107: in response to receiving switch message, remote terminal may continue to maintain a connection to the relay terminal, that is, continue to use the relay terminal to perform data communication with the network device, and after completing the downlink synchronization with the cell corresponding to the cell identity, the remote terminal may disconnect from the relay terminal, terminate the data communication with the network device by using the relay terminal, and switch to the direct connection path to send/receive data to/from the network device (i.e. UE may transmit/receive with BS through second UE); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of establishing an indirect connection between a UE and BS through a PC5 connection between the UE and relay and a Uu connection between the relay and BS, wherein a path switch command may be received from the BS as taught by Wang (‘899), with the method of receiving a path switching indication that indicates a path switch to a target cell and performing a random access procedure with the target cell in response to the indication as taught by Xu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve path switching to allow for expanded relay operation [Xu ¶ 0005].
Regarding claim 12, Wang (‘899) in view of Wang (‘694) in view of Paladugu (‘076) in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 9, however, Wang (‘899) does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to at least one of: release, in response to a completion of UL data forwarding, Uu configuration associated with the first UE; or in response to a completion of DL data forwarding, at least one of: transmit a PC5 link release indication to the first UE; or release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE.
However, Paladugu (‘076) teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to at least one of:
release, in response to a completion of UL data forwarding, Uu configuration associated with the first UE; or
in response to a completion of DL data forwarding, at least one of:
transmit a PC5 link release indication to the first UE; or
release the PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE [Paladugu (‘076) ¶ 0103, Fig. 23: PC5 Relay connection is maintained during path switch and then released (see step 12) through signaling between Relay UE and Remote UE; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474