DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 5 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-4 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1 lines 19-26 and page 1-30, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and in view of amendments are persuasive in traversing Banet. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Banet, Morita and Tryphonopoulos and further in view of Kuhn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banet (previously presented) in view of Morita (previously presented) further in view of Tryphonopoulos et al. (US 20220296146 A1) herein refered to a “Tryphonopoulos”.
Regarding claim 1, Banet discloses: A biological signal detection electrode ([0003]; “The present invention relates to electrodes and sensors that use them to measure physiological signals from patients.”) used by being adhered to a skin surface of a living body ([0057]; Electrodes adhering to a patients skin) to detect an electrocardiographic signal, which is a biological signal ([0018]; The electrode described as processing ECG and TBI waveforms), comprising: an insulating base material having electrical insulation ([0059]; Banet teaches electrode spacer (12), which is seen as a base material, made from electrically insulating material); an electrode terminal buried in the insulating base material ([Figure 6]; Benet teaches electrical traces 21a-c, that are seen as electrode terminals, that are in the electrode holder (12), which is seen as electrode terminal buried in the insulating base material because the electrode traces and implanted in the electrode holder), the electrode terminal including a signal detection surface on a lower surface of the electrode terminal which is in contact with the skin surface of the insulating base material ([Figure 4]; Banet teaches electrode (13) which lower surface facing skin surface (14) is seen as a signal detection surface); a conductive gel film having adhesiveness provided on the lower surface of the insulating base material to cover the signal detection surface ([Figure 7B]; Banet teaches conductive gel (22a-c) on the lower surface of electrode (13), which is seen as the lower surface signal detection surface of electrode spacer (12), [0057]; The conductive gel is described as having adhesive properies); an extraction electrode ([Figure 4] Banet teaches electrode (13)) which is connected to the electrode terminal and has a terminal unit exposed on an upper surface of the insulating base material ([Figure 6]; Banet teaches electrode (13), which is seen as an extraction electrode. Banet further teaches Electrode (13) connected to electrical traces (21a-c) and bulkhead connector (33), which is seen as a terminal unit); and a magnetic body disposed below the terminal unit in the insulating base material ([Figure 7a-b]; Banet teaches magnetics (17a-c), which are seen as magnetic bodies that are found within the insulating base material), the electrode terminal is made of a corrosion-resistant material selected from Ag-AgCl, Ag paste, AU, Pt, or carbon that are not corroded by the conductive gel film ([Figure 7B]; Banet teaches film (18a-c) [0060]; Banet further teaches the film being made of AG/GCL which is seen as a corrosion-resistant material); and the magnetic body is buried in a portion between the terminal unit and an adhesive layer in the insulating base material as a magnetic attraction counterpart of a conductive magnet of a sensor substrate. ([Figure 4]; Magnet bodies 17a-c arranged between terminal layer 12 and adhesive layer 22 and stated to be a counterpart to magnets 15a-c). Banet does not explicitly disclose: the extraction electrode is made of Ag paste; a pressure sensitive adhesive layer is provided on a portion of the lower surface of the insulating base material other than the conductive gel film.
However, Morita discloses: the extraction electrode is made of Ag paste ([Column 4 lines 42-45]; Morita discloses electrode (11), which is seen as an extraction electrode, with Ag paste layer (11a), which is seen as being made of Ag paste)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the biological signal detection electrode as disclosed by Banet with the electrode made of Ag paste as disclose Marita the motivation being the simple substitution of a conductive element with an electrode, which is also a conductive element, with the expected outcome of transmission of electrical current.
However, Tryphonopoulos discloses: a pressure sensitive adhesive layer is provided on a portion of the lower surface of the insulating base material other than the conductive gel film. ([Figure 3]; Pressure sensitive adhesive 130 on a base material 106 which is not the conductive gel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the biological signal detection electrode as disclosed by Banet with the pressure sensitive adhesive as disclosed by Tryphonopoulos. The motivation being to hold components and create a cavity for the conductive gel ([0005]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banet, Morita and Tryphonopoulos further in view of Kuhn (previously presented).
Regarding claim 5, Banet in view of Morita discloses: The biological signal detection electrode according to Claim 1. Banet in view of Morita does not explicitly disclose: wherein the electrode terminal is made of Ag paste in the same manner as the extraction electrode.
However, Kuhn discloses: wherein the electrode terminal is made of Ag paste in the same manner as the extraction electrode. ([Figure 2]; Kuhn discloses substrate (16) which is seen as an electrode terminal [column 2 lines 44-48]; Kuhn further discloses the substrate may be rendered conductive with the use of Ag paste, which is seen as being made of Ag paste)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the biological signal detection electrode according as disclosed by Banet in view of Marita with the electrode terminal as disclosed by Kuhn the motivation being the simple substitution of an electrode terminal with an electrode to obtain the predictable result of recording biological signals.
Conclusion
/CASEY GEORGE CHA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794