DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 are currently pending in the application, of which claim 1 is amended and claim 19 is newly added.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot as the rejections are not maintained in light of the amendments.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 19 is not persuasive because claim 19 merely presents as a broader version of previous claim 15, prior to the current amendments to the claim. It is believed that the rejection to previous claim 15 is still valid as newly added claim 19 does not include the limitations for which the previous rejection was withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “item of equipment” in claim 1-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US20200346255A1) in view of Trevett (US20160137167A1) and Abbott (US20210111689A1).
As to claim 19, Robertson discloses a device comprising: an optical surface (ref 34); a unit for cleaning the optical surface (refs 38) including at least one transducer [0037]; the optical surface having at least one region of optical interest not superimposed with the at least one transducer [0037]; and an item of equipment (see Figs.2-4 & 6 ref 36) configured to detect radiation through the at least one region of optical interest [0029, 0032, & 0040]. Robertson does not detail the structure of the transducer having a piezoelectric layer and electrodes of opposite polarity in contact with the piezoelectric layer or generating a Rayleigh wave. However, the use of transducers having a piezoelectric layer and electrodes of opposite polarity are known in the art as seen by Trevett. Robertson does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the piezoelectric layer with respect to the wavelength. However, providing a piezoelectric layer thickness based on the wavelength supplied is known, as seen by Abbott.
Trevett discloses an art related vehicle element cleaning system (abstract), wherein surface waves from a transducers (e.g. Fig.1 refs 1-8) are utilized for cleaning a transparent element via the use of Rayleigh waves [0038, 0042, 0058-0059, & 0061]. Trevett further indicates that such transducers are formed via a piezoelectric layer (e.g., Figs.9A-9B ref 90, see also [0033]) with electrodes of opposite polarity contacting the piezoelectric layer (e.g., Fig.9B refs 92 & 96). The use of Rayleigh waves allows for removal of droplets from the transparent optical surface [0054].
Abbott discloses an acoustic surface wave device (abstract), wherein it is known that a thickness of a piezoelectric layer is in a range from 0.1λ to 1λ to provide a high quality factor while avoiding frequency variation [0109]. Abbott and Robertson are related in the field of acoustic wave generating devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Robertson to utilize a transducer with a piezoelectric element and electrodes of opposite polarity to produce Rayleigh waves to remove droplets (Trevett [0054]) from the sensor window. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known transducer structure when one is not explicitly disclosed, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide the piezoelectric layer with a thickness between 0.1-1 λ, including equal to or less than 0.5 λ, in order to achieve a high quality factor without significant frequency variation (Abbott [0109]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 allowed over prior art.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is that recited in the previous action, while the closest prior art to the amendment limitation is Hozumi (US20070247543A1), applicant cited art Saitou (JPH09323621A) and previously cited Trevett as follows:
Trevett indicates the presence of interdigital electrodes with fingers (i.e., electrode combs with a plurality of fingers [0056]) where the spacing of the fingers is based on matching the wavelength of the wave to be exited. Through such a disclosure, a skilled artisan would glean that the spacing of the electrodes will be dependent upon the wave to be excited and their distance can be configured as needed. However, Trevett also indicates that the electrode spacing is double that of the Lamb wave [0058] for a 3mm thick glass, which is significantly greater than a fourth of a fundamental wavelength of the surface wave or Lamb wave.
Saitou indicates that a distance from one electrode ridge to another should be half a wavelength as one wavelength provides for best efficiency (pages 3-5).
Hozumi (US20070247543A1) showcases a comb type electrode with fingers (Figs.8-10), and indicates that dust to be removed is a wavelength propagation or greater [0080]. Hozumi also states that thickness of a piezoelectric member should be double the wavelength or more to prevent detachment [0092], while indicating that a distance between subsequent fingers is one wavelength of the surface wave [0099].
Thus, although tuning of finger distance is a known concept in the art, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest tuning to a fourth of the fundamental wavelength. Rather, the prior art of record appears to suggest that the distance is beneficially maintained at or above a fundamental wavelength of the surface wave. Thus, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the invention of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 1 and its dependents are considered allowable.
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Examiner, Art Unit 1711