Detailed Action
Amendment
1. This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments dated 5-28-26 and this office action is a final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-14, 17, 20-24, 26-27, 29 and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,837,782 to Hetterscheid et al.
Referring to claims 1 and 27, Hetterscheid et al. discloses a poultry conveying system and method including an endless conveyor – at 200,202 or 380,382, including a connection block – at 11, a mandrel – at 402, configured for supporting a poultry carcass or a part thereof – see figures 31a-31c, an intermediate section – at 390 and/or gusset of 390, having a first end and a second end – see at each end of 390 in figures 31a-31c, the first end connecting to the mandrel – at 402, and the second end connecting to the connection block – at 11 – see figures 31a-31c, wherein the mandrel – at 402, is configured to rotate around a first mandrel rotation axis – see at 394 and arrow above 394 in figure 31a, and rotate around a second mandrel rotation axis – at 396 or 406, at a substantially non-zero angle relative to the first mandrel axis – see figure 31a, and a first actuator – at portion of the conveyor that engages 392 not shown and – at 392 – see figures 31a-31c, arranged for actuating the rotation of the mandrel around the first mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31c, and rotating the first actuator about the first actuation axis rotates the mandrel about the first mandrel rotation axis – see 402 rotatable about the axis through 394 as seen in figures 31a-31c, and a second actuator – at the toothed structure engaging 404 as detailed in column 20 lines 44-67 or 404 or 406, arranged for actuating the rotation of the mandrel around the second mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31c, and rotating the second actuator about the second actuation axis rotates the mandrel about the second mandrel rotation axis – see 402 rotatable about the axes through items 396 and 406 in figures 31a-31c, wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are located adjacent to the second end of the intermediate section – see figures 31a-31c where item 392 is at the second end of 390 and is proximate the gusset of 390, item 400 is proximate 392 in the orientation of 31c and is proximate the gusset in each orientation shown in figures 31a-31c, and item 404 is proximate top end of 390 in that item 390 is of substantial length and item 404 is proximate the gusset of 390. Hetterscheid e al. further discloses the first actuation axis – through 394, is substantially parallel to or coincides with the second actuation axis – through 406 – see parallel axes in figures 31a-31b. Specific to claim 27, the first mandrel rotation axis can be either at 394 or 406 and the second mandrel rotation axis can be the other of either 394 or 406 and the first actuator can be either of the conveyor portion engaging 392 or 404 and the second actuator can be the other of either the conveyor portion engaging 392 or 404.
Referring to claims 4 and 29, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the intermediate section includes a first relay element – at 394, and a second relay element – at 404 or 406, wherein movement of the first relay element results in rotation of the mandrel – at 402, around the first mandrel rotation axis – see figure 31a, and wherein movement of the second relay element results in rotation of the mandrel – at 402, around the second mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31b.
Referring to claim 5, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the first relay element includes a first shaft – at 394, and the second relay element includes a second shaft – at 406, wherein movement of the first shaft results in the rotation of the mandrel – at 402, around the first mandrel rotation axis – see figure 31a,and wherein movement of the second shaft results in the rotation of the mandrel – at 402, around the second mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31b.
Referring to claim 8, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the second mandrel rotation axis – at 396, is substantially perpendicular to the first mandrel rotation axis – at 394 – see figure 31a.
Referring to claim 9, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the second mandrel rotation axis – at 396 or 406, forms a virtual axis of rotation – see figures 31a-31c.
Referring to claim 10, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the first shaft – at 394, is connected to the mandrel – at 402, via a rigid connection – see at connection of 11,394,390 to 402 in figures 31a-31c, the rigid connection is configured to transfer rotation of the first shaft – at 394, to the mandrel – at 402, to cause the rotation of the mandrel – at 402, around the first mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31c.
Referring to claim 11, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the first shaft – at 394, is connected to the mandrel – at 402, through a transmission – see component between items 11 and 390 as seen in figures 31a-31c, the transmission is configured to transfer rotation of the first shaft – at 394, to the mandrel – at 402, to cause the rotation of the mandrel – at 402, around the first mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31c.
Referring to claim 12, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the second shaft – at 396 or 406, is connected to the mandrel – at 402, through a transmission – at 398, wherein the transmission – at 398, is configured to transfer rotation of the second shaft – at 396 or 406, to the mandrel – at 402, to cause the rotation of the mandrel – at 402, around the second mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31c.
Referring to claim 13, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses of the first mandrel rotation axis – at 396, and the second mandrel rotation axis – at 406, is substantially perpendicular to the endless conveyor – see figures 31a-31c.
Referring to claim 14, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses at least one of the first actuator – at 392, and the second actuator includes a Geneva drive wheel – see at 392 in figure 31a.
Referring to claims 17 and 33, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses a first holding system – see conveyor such as at 200,202 or 382, and controls for the conveyor, connected to the first actuator – see figures 29-31c, and a second holding system – see other components of the conveyor – at 200,202 or 382 as seen in figures 29-31c, connected to the second actuator – see figures 29-31c, wherein each of the first and second holding systems are configured to be selectively moveable between a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode, the first holding system is configured to substantially prevent first actuator from actuating and the second holding system is configured to substantially prevent the second actuator from actuating – see figures 29-31c, and wherein in the second mode, the first and second holding systems are configured to allow the first actuator and the second actuator to actuate respectively – see on/off operation of the conveyor would allow for movement of the conveyors and operation of the actuators to be allowed and prevented.
Referring to claims 20 and 34, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses each holding system is configured to be locked in the first mode by application of a locking force, and unlocked from the first mode by application of an unlocking force – see operation of the conveyor and the forces applied to the conveyor via the conveyors drive mechanism would provide locking and unlocking forces during on/off operation of the conveyor.
Referring to claim 21, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses a first guiding rail arranged configured to apply the unlocking force and a second guiding rail arranged configured to apply the locking force – see rails on each side of the conveyor in figures 29-31c.
Referring to claim 22, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses one or more rotation pins arranged configured to actuate the first and second actuators from a first predetermined position to a second predetermined position – pins engaging items 392 and 404 – see for example figures 31a-31c.
Referring to claim 23, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses each holding system is biased toward the first mode – conveyor configured to be in off mode until device is used.
Referring to claim 24, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses the mandrel – at 402, includes a carcass retainer – see free end of 402, arranged configured to keep substantially maintain the poultry carcass or a part on the mandrel – at 402 – see figures 31a-31c.
Referring to claims 26 and 35, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses one or more processing stations arranged adjacent to the poultry conveying system and configured for cutting, skinning, deboning, harvesting, or a combination thereof, the poultry carcass or part thereof – see skinning in figure 28 and cutting in figure 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hetterscheid et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Referring to claim 15, Hetterscheid et al. further discloses a gear – at 404, is placed positioned between the first actuator – at 392, and the mandrel – at 402, and/or between the second actuator and the mandrel – see figures 31a-31c, but does not disclose a reducing transmission. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hetterscheid et al. and add the reducing transmission claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring accurate movement of the mandrel during operation.
Referring to claim 16, Hetterscheid et al. does not disclose at least one of the first actuator and the second actuator includes an electric motor. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hetterscheid et al. and add the first or second actuator being an electric motor as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing of automatic control of the mandrel during operation.
Referring to claim 25, Hetterscheid et al. does not disclose the endless conveyor comprises an articulated endless conveyor. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Hetterscheid et al. and add the endless conveyor being any suitable conveyor including the claimed articulated conveyor, so as to yield the predictable result of automatically moving and controlling the device during use.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 5-28-26 obviates the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1 and 8 detailed in the last office action dated 11-28-25.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1 and 27, applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 5-28-26 obviates the prior art rejections when item 400 of the Hetterscheid et al. reference US 6837782 is used as the second actuator. However, as seen in the last office action dated 11-28-25 and as detailed earlier in paragraph 2 of this office action the second actuator can also be the toothed structure engaging 404 as detailed in column 20 lines 44-67 or 404 or 406 and when using this component of Hetterscheid et al. as the second actuator, the claim limitations of claims 1 and 27 are disclosed by Hetterscheid et al. in that Hetterscheid et al. discloses the second actuator – at the toothed structure engaging 404 as detailed in column 20 lines 44-67 or 404 or 406, arranged for actuating the rotation of the mandrel around the second mandrel rotation axis – see figures 31a-31c, and rotating the second actuator about the second actuation axis rotates the mandrel about the second mandrel rotation axis – see 402 rotatable about the axes through items 396 and 406 in figures 31a-31c, wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are located adjacent to the second end of the intermediate section – see figures 31a-31c where item 392 is at the second end of 390 and is proximate the gusset of 390, item 400 is proximate 392 in the orientation of 31c and is proximate the gusset in each orientation shown in figures 31a-31c, and item 404 is proximate top end of 390 in that item 390 is of substantial length and item 404 is proximate the gusset of 390. Hetterscheid e al. further discloses the first actuation axis – through 394, is substantially parallel to or coincides with the second actuation axis – through 406 – see parallel axes in figures 31a-31b.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 4-5, 8-17, 20-26, 29 and 33-35, applicant relies upon the same arguments with respect to parent claims 1 and 27 discussed earlier.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643