DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2020/071601, as cited on the 9/24/23 IDS), hereinafter Kim in view of Adams et al (US 2008/0035145).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a wearable air purification system (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a wearable support (Figs. 1-33: 20) configured to be supported on or around a head region of a user (Fig. 1: headband 20 is worn around the head);
an air delivery mask connected to the wearable support (Figs. 1-2: air delivery mask 70) which is shaped to bound an air delivery region (Fig. 1: mask 70 covers the nose and mouth) and to deliver a flow of air to the air delivery region; (Page 2 of the translation “purified air is supplied to the inside through the air purification unit”, page 3 “first and second air purification units 31 and 32 respectively suck air from the outside and filter it, and then supply it to the inside of the mask unit 70”)
wherein the air delivery mask (Fig. 1: 70) includes an illumination source (Page 4 of the translation “the mask unit 70 may be driven through a PDLC method in which transmittance is controlled by electricity or a light source”)
Kim dos not teach wherein the air delivery mask comprises an illumination source configured to illuminate the air delivery region, wherein the illumination source is directional and is oriented to target the air delivery region.
However, Adams teaches a communication system with a heads up display for a breathing apparatus (Abstract) comprising one or more light emitting elements to illuminate the air delivery region. (Figs. 23-25, LEDS 850, 852, 854, 856, 860, 862, paragraphs 83, 84, Fig. 23, Fig. 25 LEDS are located on element 24,directed towards the user) wherein the illumination source is directional and is oriented to target the air delivery region. (paragraph 88, directs light into the view of the user which is in the air delivery region. See Fig. 23 where the lights are directed towards the face of the user)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have included the light emitting wherein the illumination source is direction and is oriented to target the air delivery region as taught by Adams in order to provide a heads up display for a user to indicate a status of the mask. (Paragraph 58, paragraph 70, a breathing mask can include a HUD assembly 24 to provide a wearer with a display indicating parameters and conditions associated with the mask)
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, the illumination source is embedded in the air delivery mask. (See Figs. 23-25, LEDS are located in shrouds 970, paragraph 88, one or more windows 916 can include a shroud portion 970, Figs. 29-30 show detailed view of the LED 852 embedded in the mask)
Therefore, the combination of Kim with Adams teaches the illumination source is embedded in the air delivery mask.
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, and Adams further teaches wherein the illumination source is located at a forward portion of the air delivery mask. (See Fig. 23, LEDs are in unit 740 which is located at the forward portion of the mask)
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 3, and Adams further teaches wherein the illumination source is centered around the middle of the length of the air delivery mask. (Figs. 23 and 24, Adams teaches illumination sources in 740 and 742 which are centered around the middle of the mask)
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, and Adams further teaches wherein the illumination source extends along or near to an edge of the air delivery mask. (Figs. 23-25, LEDS 850, 852, 854, 856, 860, 862, paragraphs 83, 84, Fig. 23, Fig. 25 LEDS are located on element 24, along a longitudinal edge of them mask, edge created at bottom of shield opening)
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, and Adams further teaches wherein the illumination source defines one or more light direction axes (XI) which are aligned with the air delivery region. (Paragraph 88, one or more may include light pipes 914, Figs. 29-30, the light pipes can be used to direct light into the view of the user)
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, and Adams further teaches wherein the illumination source comprises a light guide, (paragraph 88, light pipe 914) to carry light within it and direct light to the air delivery region. (paragraph 88, can be used to direct light into the view of the user, see Fig. 23 which shows shrouds 970 which direct light towards the face of the user)
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 9, and Adams further teaches wherein the illumination source comprises one or more light emitting devices (LEDS shown in fig. 25) located in or near the wearable support (The examiner considers since the light emitting devices are located near the face mask, the light emitting devices are near the wearable support), and that are optically coupled to the light guide. (Figs. 29-30, paragraph 88, LEDS light is directed through the light pipes)
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, and Kim further teaches
comprising an audio system (page 4 of the translation, “a pair of earplugs 10 may further include a voice output unit 80 including a speaker) comprising at least one earpiece supported by the wearable support. (Fig. 2: earpieces 11, 13, supported by headband 20, page 3 of the translation: “the earplug connection unit 20 is a band shape connecting a pair of earplugs 10 and is worn on the user’s head”)
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 11, and Kim further teaches wherein the audio system comprising a pair of earpieces (Fig. 2: ear pieces 11, 13) wherein the wearable support extends between and supports each of the pair of earpieces. (Fig. 2: wearable support 20 extends between the earpieces)
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 12, and Kim further teaches wherein the air delivery mask extends between the pair of earpieces. (See Figs. 1, 2: the face mask, 70, extends between earpieces, page 2 of the translation “mask 70 is connected to a pair of earplugs 10 at both ends”)
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1 and Adams further teaches including a control system to control the illumination source. (paragraphs 72-71, controller assembly 28, paragraphs 71, 72: sensor assembly 14, Fig. 3, Fig. 22, paragraph 81, one display provides information from sensor assembly 14, paragraph 84, LEDs provide information regarding status of the device)
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the control system includes a sensing system (paragraphs 71, 72, sensor assembly 14), and wherein the control system is configured to control the illumination source to convey information to a user in response to data received by the sensing system. (Fig. 3, Fig. 22, paragraph 81, one display provides information from sensor assembly 14, paragraph 84, LEDs provide information regarding status of the device)
Claims 5 and 67are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Adams, and further in view of Murphy (US 2007/0115651).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, and Adams teaches that the number of indicators in non-limiting (paragraph 77) but does not specifically state wherein the illumination source extends along more than 50% of the air delivery mask.
However, Murphy teaches an illumination device for a mask (Abstract, Fig. 1) wherein the illumination source extends along more than 50% of the air delivery mask. (Fig. 2: 20)
It would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to have modified the mask of Kim in view of Adams to include an illumination source which extends along more than 50% of the mask in order to increase the number of indicators available.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 6, but does not teach the longitudinal edge is an upper edge of the air delivery mask.
However, Murphy teaches an illumination device for a mask (Abstract, Fig. 1) wherein the illumination device is located on a upper, longitudinal edge of an air delivery mask. (Fig. 2: 20)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Kim in view of Adams so that the location of the illuminating device was along an upper edge of the mask as taught by Murphy since the courts have held that a mere rearrangement of parts would not be patentable since it would not modify the operation of the device.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Adams, and further in view of CN203898976, as cited on Applicant’s IDS), hereinafter Xiao.
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Adams teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the air delivery mask is configured as a rigid bar.
However, Xiao teaches a similar wearable air purifier device (Figs. 1-3) wherein the air delivery mask is configured as a rigid bar. (Figs. 1-3: 3, paragraph 29, flow passage 3 is a C-shaped hollow tube like structure)
It would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to have substituted the mask of Kim with a rigid bar style mask as taught by Xiao in order to provide a less intrusive and more comfortable mask for the user.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/267,400 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant claims are found in the claims of the co-pending application.
Regarding claim 1, App ‘400 teaches a wearable air purification system (Claim 1) comprising: a wearable support configured to be supported on or around a head region of a user (Claim 1);
an air delivery mask connected to the wearable support which is shaped to bound an air delivery region and to deliver a flow of air to the air delivery region (Claim 1);
wherein the air delivery mask comprises an illumination source configured to illuminate the air delivery region (Claim 1), wherein the illumination source is directional and is oriented to target the air delivery region. (Claim 7)
Regarding claim 8, the limitations are taught by claim 8 of application ‘400.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 10 and of copending Application No. 18/267,407 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant claims are found in the claims of the co-pending application.
Regarding claim 1, App ‘407 teaches a wearable air purification system (Claim 1) comprising:
a wearable support configured to be supported on or around a head region of a user (Claim 1);
an air delivery mask connected to the wearable support which is shaped to bound an air delivery region and to deliver a flow of air to the air delivery region (Claim 1);
wherein the air delivery mask comprises an illumination source configured to illuminate the air delivery region (Claim 1), wherein the illumination source is directional and is oriented to target the air delivery region. (Claim9)
Regarding claim 9, the limitations are taught by claim 10 of App ‘407.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785