DETAILED ACTION
No claims have been amended as per Applicant’s amendment filed on May 18, 2026. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-16, and 18-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 19, 20, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhang (CN-105959492-A, Published September 21, 2016 – Translation attached); or under 35 USC 103 as obvious over Zhang (CN-105959492-A, Published September 21, 2016 – Translation attached) in view of Beinschob (US 2020/0256996 A1, Published August 13, 2020).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a proximity sensing device comprising:
a radiation emitter; a radiation sensor configured to sense a reflected radiation from the radiation emitter (Zhang at page 2 discloses “infrared proximity sensor emits infrared ray outwards, then reflected by measured object of infrared intensity to judge the distance between object and sensor, received infrared light intensity is stronger, the smaller it is the distance between the objects. infrared proximity sensor will measure the infrared intensity into proportional relation with the is measurement value, the measurement value can be referred to as proximity (epipositions) value, a proximity value of the infrared proximity sensor, indicating that it is smaller and the distance between objects”);
a memory for storing a plurality of ambient radiation level ranges and a plurality of coefficients that map onto the plurality of ambient radiation level ranges (Zhang at Page 2 discloses “The current ambient light intensity value and the pre-set correcting corresponding relationship close to the current value of the sensor for correcting the infrared, wherein the preset correcting corresponding relation comprises ambient light intensity value and the corresponding relation of the proximity value correcting amplitude.” Page 5 discloses “obtaining the current environment light intensity value, current value according to the current ambient light intensity value and a preset correcting corresponding relation to correct the infrared proximity sensor, large wherein the preset correcting corresponding relation comprises ambient light intensity value and the corresponding relationship of the proximity value correcting amplitude”);1 and
processing circuitry configured to compensate an output from the radiation sensor for crosstalk by subtracting from the output a measured ambient radiation level scaled by either: a coefficient selected from the plurality of coefficients (Zhang at Page 5 discloses “The current ambient light intensity value and the pre-set correction close to the current proximity value corresponding relation to infrared sensor to correct a specific correction method may be present near the infrared proximity sensor value based on subtracting the proximity value correcting amplitude to obtain relatively accurate proximity value. For example, according to the current ambient light intensity value inquiring a preset correcting corresponding relation to obtain the proximity value correcting the amplitude of the current ambient light intensity value corresponding to the infrared proximity sensor of the current proximity value and difference of the proximity value correcting amplitude query to obtain an approach value after correction.”).
Since the remainder of claim 1 recites, “or a value derived from the plurality of coefficients, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to derive the value by performing on the plurality of coefficients at least one of: linear interpolation, second or higher order interpolation, curve fitting, or a machine learning algorithm[,]” Zhang fully contemplates the scope of claim 1.
However, in the event that claim 1 is amended to affirmatively require the claimed aspect of a value derived from the plurality of coefficients, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to derive the value by performing on the plurality of coefficients at least one of: linear interpolation, second or higher order interpolation, curve fitting, or a machine learning algorithm, then Examiner offers Beinschob for its disclosure of a value derived from the plurality of coefficients, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to derive the value by performing on the plurality of coefficients at least one of: linear interpolation, second or higher order interpolation, curve fitting, or a machine learning algorithm (Beinschob at ¶ [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0023], [0028], in particular).2
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing device of claim 1, comprising an ambient radiation sensor for obtaining the measured ambient radiation level (Beinschob at ¶ [0017]).
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 3, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to select the coefficient from the plurality of coefficients using at least one of steps (a)-(c): (a) comparing the measured ambient radiation level to the plurality of ambient radiation level ranges; (b) selecting an ambient radiation level range that the measured ambient radiation level is within or closest to; (c) selecting the coefficient from the plurality of coefficients that maps onto the ambient radiation level range that the measured ambient radiation level is within or closest to (Beinschob at ¶ [0016], in particular).
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing device of claim 1, wherein the radiation is infrared light (Zhang at page 1).
As to claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing device of, claim 3, further comprising an ambient radiation sensor for obtaining the measured ambient radiation level, wherein the measured ambient radiation level is normalized for an integration time of the ambient radiation sensor (Zhang at Page 7 discloses “the fixed infrared proximity sensor parameter value under the condition of, for example, fixed pulse number, a fixed working frequency and integration period under the condition of measuring the proximity value of infrared proximity sensor under ambient light with different intensity values compared to the corresponding table of increment of the approach value under normal light environment”).
As to claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing device of, claim 3.
The combination does not expressly disclose an ambient radiation sensor for obtaining the measured ambient radiation level, wherein the measured ambient radiation level is normalized for an analogue gain of the ambient radiation sensor.
However, Examiner takes an official notice that normalizing the gain of ambient light amplifiers is well-known in the art. In view of the officially noticed facts, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to normalize the gain for the well-known purpose removing noise allowing for accurate detection.
As to claim 9, Zhang discloses a proximity sensing method comprising:
receiving an output of a radiation sensor, wherein the radiation sensor is configured to sense a reflected radiation from a radiation emitter; receiving a measured ambient radiation level (Zhang at page 2 discloses “infrared proximity sensor emits infrared ray outwards, then reflected by measured object of infrared intensity to judge the distance between object and sensor, received infrared light intensity is stronger, the smaller it is the distance between the objects. infrared proximity sensor will measure the infrared intensity into proportional relation with the is measurement value, the measurement value can be referred to as proximity (epipositions) value, a proximity value of the infrared proximity sensor, indicating that it is smaller and the distance between objects”);
retrieving, based on the measured ambient radiation level, from a memory containing a plurality of ambient radiation level ranges (Zhang at Page 2 discloses “The current ambient light intensity value and the pre-set correcting corresponding relationship close to the current value of the sensor for correcting the infrared, wherein the preset correcting corresponding relation comprises ambient light intensity value and the corresponding relation of the proximity value correcting amplitude.” Page 5 discloses “obtaining the current environment light intensity value, current value according to the current ambient light intensity value and a preset correcting corresponding relation to correct the infrared proximity sensor, large wherein the preset correcting corresponding relation comprises ambient light intensity value and the corresponding relationship of the proximity value correcting amplitude”);3 and
a plurality of coefficients that map onto the plurality of ambient radiation level ranges; a coefficient selected from the plurality of coefficients (Zhang at Page 5 discloses “The current ambient light intensity value and the pre-set correction close to the current proximity value corresponding relation to infrared sensor to correct a specific correction method may be present near the infrared proximity sensor value based on subtracting the proximity value correcting amplitude to obtain relatively accurate proximity value. For example, according to the current ambient light intensity value inquiring a preset correcting corresponding relation to obtain the proximity value correcting the amplitude of the current ambient light intensity value corresponding to the infrared proximity sensor of the current proximity value and difference of the proximity value correcting amplitude query to obtain an approach value after correction.”) or … and
compensating the output for crosstalk by subtracting from the output the measured ambient radiation level scaled by either: the coefficient selected from the plurality of coefficients; or the value derived from the plurality of coefficients (Zhang at Page 5 discloses “The current ambient light intensity value and the pre-set correction close to the current proximity value corresponding relation to infrared sensor to correct a specific correction method may be present near the infrared proximity sensor value based on subtracting the proximity value correcting amplitude to obtain relatively accurate proximity value. For example, according to the current ambient light intensity value inquiring a preset correcting corresponding relation to obtain the proximity value correcting the amplitude of the current ambient light intensity value corresponding to the infrared proximity sensor of the current proximity value and difference of the proximity value correcting amplitude query to obtain an approach value after correction.”).
Since the remainder of claim 1 recites, “or a value derived from the plurality of coefficients by performing on the plurality of coefficients at least one of: linear interpolation, second or higher order interpolation, curve fitting, or a machine learning algorithm[,]” Zhang fully contemplates the scope of claim 9.
However, in the event that claim 9 is amended to affirmatively require the claimed aspect of a value derived from the plurality of coefficients by performing on the plurality of coefficients at least one of: linear interpolation, second or higher order interpolation, curve fitting, or a machine learning algorithm, then Examiner offers Beinschob for its disclosure of a value derived from the plurality of coefficients by performing on the plurality of coefficients at least one of: linear interpolation, second or higher order interpolation, curve fitting, or a machine learning algorithm (Beinschob at ¶ [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0023], [0028], in particular).
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 10, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing method of claim 9, comprising obtaining the measured ambient radiation level using an ambient radiation sensor (Beinschob at ¶ [0017]).
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing method of claim 9, comprising selecting the coefficient from the plurality of coefficients using at least one of steps (a)-(c): (a) comparing the measured ambient radiation level to the plurality of ambient radiation level ranges; (b) selecting an ambient radiation level range that the measured ambient radiation level is within or closest to; (c) selecting the coefficient from the plurality of coefficients that maps onto the ambient radiation level range that the measured ambient radiation level is within or closest to (Beinschob at ¶ [0016], in particular).
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing method of claim 9, wherein the radiation is infrared light (Zhang at page 1).
As to claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing method of claim 11, further comprising obtaining the measured ambient radiation level using an ambient radiation sensor, and normalizing the measured ambient radiation level for an integration time of the ambient radiation sensor (Zhang at Page 7 discloses “the fixed infrared proximity sensor parameter value under the condition of, for example, fixed pulse number, a fixed working frequency and integration period under the condition of measuring the proximity value of infrared proximity sensor under ambient light with different intensity values compared to the corresponding table of increment of the approach value under normal light environment”).
As to claim 15, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing method of claim 11.
The combination does not expressly disclose further comprising obtaining the measured ambient radiation level using an ambient radiation sensor, and normalizing the measured ambient radiation level for an analogue gain of the ambient radiation sensor.
However, Examiner takes an official notice that normalizing the gain of ambient light amplifiers is well-known in the art. In view of the officially noticed facts, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to normalize the gain for the well-known purpose removing noise allowing for accurate detection.
As to claim 19, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing method of claim 9, further comprising updating the plurality of coefficients by performing a proximity sensing calibration method including: receiving a plurality of outputs from the radiation sensor; receiving a plurality of ambient radiation levels, each of which is measured at a time that substantially corresponds to a time of measurement of each of the plurality of outputs; and determining a relationship between the plurality of outputs and the corresponding plurality of ambient radiation levels and deriving the plurality of coefficients based on the relationship (Zhang at Figs. 3-4, in particular; Pages 7-8),
wherein the relationship is determined using any one of: a linear fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; a second or higher order fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; a curve fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; or a second machine learning algorithm.
As to claim 20, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to perform the method (Zhang at page 3 discloses “FIG. 1 is an embodiment of the present invention provides a control method for infrared proximity sensor of the flow diagram, the method may by infrared proximity sensor control device, wherein the device can be operated by a software and/or hardware implementation, can be integrated in the mobile terminal.” Page 9) of claim 9 (See rejection of claim 9 above).
As to claim 21, Zhang disclose a device comprising the apparatus of claim 1 incorporated beneath a display screen (Zhang at Page 9).4
As to claim 22, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses processing circuitry configured to carry out the method (Zhang at Pages 3, 9) of claim 9 (See rejection of claim 9 above).
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng and Beinschob as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dyer (US 2013/0120761 A1, Published May 16, 2013).
As to claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing device of claim 2.
The combination does not expressly disclose that the ambient radiation sensor includes an optical filter configured to only transmit a wavelength of the reflected radiation into the ambient radiation sensor.
However, Dyer does disclose that the ambient radiation sensor includes an optical filter configured to only transmit a wavelength of the reflected radiation into the ambient radiation sensor (Dyer at Fig. 1; ¶ [0064] discloses “To reject ambient light, additionally, or alternatively, an optical IR rejection filter can be placed over the light detector 114.”).
The combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses a base optical proximity sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Dyer discloses a comparable optical proximity sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Zhang and Beinschob the teachings of Dyer for the predictable result of rejecting ambient light (Dyer at ¶ [0064]).
Claims 16, 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as obvious over Zhang (CN-105959492-A, Published September 21, 2016 – Translation attached) in view of Beinschob (US 2020/0256996 A1, Published August 13, 2020).
As to claim 16, Zhang discloses a proximity sensing calibration method for determining a plurality of coefficients for use in compensating an output from a radiation sensor for crosstalk (Zhang at Figs. 3-4; Pages 7-8, in particular), the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of outputs from the radiation sensor, wherein the radiation sensor is configured to sense a reflected radiation from a radiation emitter (Zhang at page 2 discloses “infrared proximity sensor emits infrared ray outwards, then reflected by measured object of infrared intensity to judge the distance between object and sensor, received infrared light intensity is stronger, the smaller it is the distance between the objects. infrared proximity sensor will measure the infrared intensity into proportional relation with the is measurement value, the measurement value can be referred to as proximity (epipositions) value, a proximity value of the infrared proximity sensor, indicating that it is smaller and the distance between objects” Page 7 discloses “step 301, obtaining the infrared proximity sensor under different ambient light intensity corresponding to the proximity value.”);
receiving a plurality of ambient radiation levels, each of which is measured at a time that substantially corresponds to a time of measurement of each of the plurality of outputs (Zhang at Page 2 discloses “The current ambient light intensity value and the pre-set correcting corresponding relationship close to the current value of the sensor for correcting the infrared, wherein the preset correcting corresponding relation comprises ambient light intensity value and the corresponding relation of the proximity value correcting amplitude.” Page 5 discloses “obtaining the current environment light intensity value, current value according to the current ambient light intensity value and a preset correcting corresponding relation to correct the infrared proximity sensor, large wherein the preset correcting corresponding relation comprises ambient light intensity value and the corresponding relationship of the proximity value correcting amplitude” Page 7 discloses “step 301, obtaining the infrared proximity sensor under different ambient light intensity corresponding to the proximity value. step 302, for each of the acquired proximity value, calculating a difference value of the proximity value close to the reference value, the difference is recorded as proximity value correcting amplitude of the proximity value. wherein the reference value is preset standard environment light intensity value corresponding to the proximity value. An exemplary, predetermined standard environment light intensity value corresponding to the intensity value of the ambient light in the normal light environment, such as 500lux. step 303, establishing an environment light intensity value and the corresponding relationship proximity value correcting amplitude, obtaining the corresponding relation of the preset correction.”);5; and
determining a relationship between the plurality of outputs and the corresponding plurality of ambient radiation levels and deriving the plurality of coefficients based on the relationship (Zhang at Page 7 discloses “step 301, obtaining the infrared proximity sensor under different ambient light intensity corresponding to the proximity value. step 302, for each of the acquired proximity value, calculating a difference value of the proximity value close to the reference value, the difference is recorded as proximity value correcting amplitude of the proximity value. wherein the reference value is preset standard environment light intensity value corresponding to the proximity value. An exemplary, predetermined standard environment light intensity value corresponding to the intensity value of the ambient light in the normal light environment, such as 500lux. step 303, establishing an environment light intensity value and the corresponding relationship proximity value correcting amplitude, obtaining the corresponding relation of the preset correction).
Zhang does not expressly disclose that the relationship is determined using any one of: a linear fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; a second or higher order fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; a curve fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; or a machine learning algorithm.
However, Beinschob discloses that the relationship is determined using any one of: a linear fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; a second or higher order fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; a curve fit of the plurality of outputs at the corresponding ambient radiation levels; or a machine learning algorithm (Beinschob at ¶ [0015]-[0016], [0021], [0023], [0028], in particular).
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 18, the combination of Zhang and Beinschob discloses the proximity sensing calibration method of claim 16, wherein the plurality of coefficients are gradients based on the relationship of the plurality of outputs and the corresponding plurality of ambient radiation levels (Beinschob at ¶ [0028]-[0029], in particular).
Zhang discloses a base optical distance sensor upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Beinschob discloses a comparable optical distance sensor which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Zhang the teachings of Beinschob for the predictable result of providing an environmental sensor system such that position can be determined as fast and exactly as possible (Beinschob at ¶ [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-16, and 18-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant essentially contends that there is no motivation to combine the Zhang and Beinschob references (Applicant’s Response (AR) at pages 7-9. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed with the Applicant during the interview held on May 21, 2026 and in the substantive rejection of the claims above, the Zhang reference fully contemplates Applicant’s claimed invention. To the extent that Applicant’s invention differs from the prior art, if any, such differences are not manifested in the claim scope as presently recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sagi (US 2022/0350010 A1, Filed on May 21, 2020) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1, 9, and 16 by its disclosure of a proximity detector (Fig. 2) disclosing the following at ¶ [0037, in particular:
“[0037]… As discussed in more detail below, because the distance between taps may be large relative to a range for which proximity detection is desired interpolation techniques may be used to help determine the distance of an object with more precision. In some embodiments, for example, the distance between taps may exceed 4 cm. Although this resolution may be sufficient for certain applications, interpolation techniques can be used to increase the resolution to less than 1 cm”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
05/27/2026
1 See also Beinschob at ¶ [0009]-[0010].
2 See also Sagi in Conclusion section below.
3 See also Beinschob at ¶ [0009]-[0010].
4 See also Sagi in Conclusion section below at Fig. 2.
5 See also Beinschob at ¶ [0009]-[0010].