DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The previous 112(d) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments to the merit with respect to claim 1 have been considered, but are moot for not considering the present references.
Applicant’s arguments on the merits with respect to claim 15 have bene considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the motivation is not sufficient to justify the combination. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination merely adds the multiplier output stage to an individual output of stage of Chen, which increases the output voltage. Applicant might have meant something else, but it is unclear why a higher output voltage would be an unexpected advantage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20110103102) in view of Zhou (US 20210315080)
As to claim 1, Chang discloses (an image showing item matching is below) A step-up converter with a plurality of levels for use in an implantable medical device, the step-up converter comprising: a transformer comprising a single primary winding and a single secondary winding; a primary circuit comprising the single primary winding, a primary power source connected in series with the single primary winding, and a switching device connected in series with the single primary winding; and a secondary circuit comprising the single secondary winding and a plurality of step-up levels, ,wherein each step-up level comprises a first diode, a second diode, a first capacitor, and a second capacitor interconnected such that: an anode of the first diode is connected to a terminal of the first capacitor and to a cathode of the second diode the second capacitor is connected between a cathode of the first diode and an anode of the second diode: and the second capacitors of the plurality of step-up levels are connected in series
Chang does not disclose wherein the primary circuit additional comprises an inductor connected in series with the single primary winding and switching device.
Zhou teaches wherein the primary circuit additional comprises an inductor (Fig. 1, 109) connected in series with the single primary winding (104 primary) and switching device(100) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use double flyback topology to reduce primary switch stress.
As to claim 4, Chang in view of Zhou teaches further comprising an additional step-up level that consists of only one capacitor and only one diode, the capacitor having a first terminal directly connected to a first terminal of the single secondary winding and the diode linking a second terminal of the capacitor to a second terminal of the single secondary winding (Chang shows D1 and C1 in the structure which appear to be similar in function and form to applicants 3E and 4E. Because of the N stages of Chang, the first level can be selected as only having D1 and C1, and then another set of levels show the claimed anode and cathode connections of claim 1).
As to claim 7, Chang in view of Zhou teaches wherein the step- up converter with a plurality of levels is configured to step up a voltage of the primary power source
He does not explicitly teach in the range of 1 V to 9 V or in the range of 10 V to 100Vor in the range 100 V to 2000 V. However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 8, Chang in view of Zhou does not explicitly teach a turn ratio of the first single primary winding to the single secondary winding is >2. Though strongly implied given there is a multiplier on the output, the turns ratio is not explicitly stated. However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 10, Chang in view of Zhou teaches discloses wherein the switching device comprises a transistor device (Chang shows a mosfet).
As to claim 14, Chang in view of Zhou teaches discloses wherein the first capacitor sof the step-up levels of the secondary circuit are connected in parallel with each other.
As to claim 21, Chang discloses a method for operating transformer having a single primary winding and a single secondary winding;a primary circuit including the single primary winding, a primary power source connected in series with the single primary winding, and a switching device connected in series with the single primary winding; anda secondary circuit comprising the single secondary winding and a plurality of step-up levels, each step-up level comprising a first diode, a second diode, a first capacitor, and a second capacitor interconnected such that (i) an anode of the firstdiode is connected to a terminal of the first capacitor and to a cathode of the second diode, (ii) a terminal of the second capacitor is connected to a cathode of the first diode, and (iii) another terminal of the second capacitor is connected to an anode of the second diode; and wherein second capacitors of the plurality of step-up levels are connected in series, the method comprising the steps of:a) closing [[of]] the switching device during a first period such that the single primary winding stores energy according to a peak value of current in the primary circuit and the first capacitors are charged to voltages of the respective second capacitorsb) opening the switching device during a second period immediately after the first period such that energy is transferred from the first capacitors and the single secondary windings to the second capacitors; and (c) repeat steps a) and b) until a predefined output voltage is provided by the series-connected second capacitors (Chang teaches an oscillating flyback. When the primary switch isclsoed corresponds to part A and when it opens corresponds to part B. These conduction times and openined times of the switch circuit vary until steady state is reached at which point the system is cyclical)
Chang does not disclose wherein the primary circuit additional comprises an inductor connected in series with the single primary winding and switching device.
Zhou teaches wherein the primary circuit additional comprises an inductor (Fig. 1, 109) connected in series with the single primary winding (104 primary) and switching device(100) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use double flyback topology to reduce primary switch stress.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chang (US 20110103102) in view of Zhou (US 20210315080) and Walz (US 3928793).
As to claim 9, Chang in view of Zhou not explicitly disclose wherein the primary circuit and the secondary circuit are galvanically isolated from each other.
Walz teaches wherein the primary circuit and the secondary circuit are galvanically isolated from each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to isolate primary and secondary sides to reduce secondary side noise.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chang (US 20110103102) in view of Zhou (US 20210315080) and Basso (US 20210099092)
Chang in view of Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the primary circuit comprises a first sensing means (13) for sensing a current flowing in the first winding and a second means for sensing oscillations at the terminals of the switching device.
Basso teaches wherein the primary circuit (6) comprises a first sensing means (124) for sensing a current flowing in the first winding and a second means (114, 134) for sensing oscillations at the terminals of the switching device (112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use current and voltage sensing to improve operating range (¶2)
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20110103102) in view of Zhou (US 20210315080) in view of Pan (US 8971058)
As to claim 13, Chang in view of Zhou does not disclose comprising another transformer comprising another primary winding, in particular, another single primary winding, and another secondary winding, in particular, another single secondary winding.
Pan teaches comprising another transformer comprising another primary winding, in particular, another single primary winding, and another secondary winding, in particular, another single secondary winding (transformer 220, 221 shown in series).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to have multiple stages in series to increase output voltage.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 5521807) in view of Chang (US 20110103102 )
As to claim 15, Chen teaches a step-up converter with a plurality of levels for use in an implantable medical device, the step-up converter comprising: a transformer (Np, Ns1, Ns2) comprising a single primary winding (NP) and at least two secondary windings (Ns1, Ns2); a primary circuit comprising the single primary winding and a switching device (Q1), and a secondary circuit comprising the secondary windings and a plurality of step-up levels, each of the step-up levels being associated in a bijective manner with a respective one of the secondary windings and comprising a first diode (D1), a second diode (D2),
Chen does not disclose interconnected such that: an anode of the first diode is connected to a terminal of the first capacitor and to a cathode of the second diode; a terminal of the second capacitor is connected to a cathode of the first diode; and another terminal of the second capacitor is connected to an anode of the second diode; and wherein second capacitors of the plurality of step-up levels are connected in series.
Chang teaches interconnected such that: an anode of the first diode is connected to a terminal of the first capacitor and to a cathode of the second diode; a terminal of the second capacitor is connected to a cathode of the first diode; and another terminal of the second capacitor is connected to an anode of the second diode; and wherein second capacitors of the plurality of step-up levels are connected in series (see image above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to have a multiplier output stage to increase voltage output.
As to claim 18, Chen in view of Chang teaches further comprising an additional step-up level that consists of only one capacitor and only one diode, the capacitor having a first terminal directly connected to a first terminal of the single secondary winding and the diode linking a second terminal of the capacitor to a second terminal of the single secondary winding (Chang shows D1 and C1 in the structure which appear to be similar in function and form to applicants 3E and 4E. Because of the N stages of Chang, the first level can be selected as only having D1 and C1, and then another set of levels show the claimed anode and cathode connections of claim 1).
As to claim 19, Chen in view of Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the step-up converter is part of a subcutaneous implantable defibrillator. However, using power supplies for implantable defribilators is old and well known and therefore not patentable (See MPEP 2144.03 and US 5818703 abstract, US 5745350 abstract, US 20170149327 ¶12 )
Claims 22 and 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20110103102) in view of Zhou (US 20210315080) and Lin (US 20030048643)
As to claim 22, Chang in view of Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the duration of the first period increases, in particular in a progressive manner, over all or part of the iterations of steps a) and b).
Lin teaches wherein the duration of the first period increases, in a progressive manner, over all or part of the iterations of steps a) and b) (Lin, Claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to have a soft-start circuit to reduce stress upon startup.
As to claim 23, Chang in view of Zhou does not disclose wherein the maximum of the current (Ip) in the primary circuit increases, in a progressive manner, over all or part of the iterations of steps a) and b).
Lin teaches wherein the maximum of the current (Ip) in the primary circuit increases, in a progressive manner, over all or part of the iterations of steps a) and b) (Lin, Claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to have a soft-start circuit to reduce stress upon startup.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839