DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 6/18/2026 was received. Claim 1 was amended. Claim 7 was newly added.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding to claim 7: Examiner interprets “a periphery” as “the external boundary or surface of a body” based on the definition of “periphery” from Merriam-Webster dictionary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muro (JP 2013251241 A), hereinafter Muro 241, in view of Muro et al. (JP 2015159068 A), hereinafter Muro 068. The rejections are restated below to address the amendment.
Regarding to claim 1: Muro 241 discloses a secondary battery device (equivalent to an energy storage apparatus) (par. 1) comprising a plurality of batteries (12) (a plurality of batteries is equivalent to an energy storage unit, and two of the batteries are equivalent to a first energy storage device and a second energy storage) (par. 10, fig. 2). The batteries (12) are arranged in a length direction (equivalent to a first direction) of a case (10) (fig. 2). The battery (12) further includes:
an adhesive tape (110) (equivalent to a first adhesive body) (par. 48, fig. 9) that is disposed in a center of a main surface (350β) of the battery (12) (fig. 9) and adheres to the adjacent batteries (12) (par. 48, 49, fig. 10) (equivalent to adhering to first energy storage device and the second energy storage device); and
engagement grooves (38, 54) (equivalent to a spacer) that are disposed between the batteries (12) (par. 37, fig. 2, 10), the engagement groove (38, 54) being disposed at a position different from position of the adhesive tape (110) in a height direction (equivalent to a second direction) of the case (10) (fig. 10).
Muro 241 fails to explicitly disclose the first energy storage device includes: a concave part in which a surface of the first energy storage device, that is the surface opposite to the second energy storage device is recessed, and the second energy storage device includes: the concave part in which a surface of the second energy storage device, that is the surface opposite to the first energy storage device is recessed. However, Muro 068 discloses a battery module and a battery cell (par. 1). The battery cell (2) (equivalent to the first energy storage device) includes a recess (40) (equivalent to a concave part) in which a surface (20a) of the battery cell (2), that is the surface (20a) opposite to an adjacent battery cell (2) (equivalent to the second energy storage device) is recessed (par. 25-27, fig. 2, 4). The adjacent battery cell (2) includes a recess (40) (equivalent to the concave part) in which a surface (20c) of the battery cell (2), that is the surface (20c) opposite to the battery cell (2) (equivalent to the first energy storage device) is recessed (par. 25-27, fig. 2, 4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the recess (40) of Muro 068 in the center of the main surface (350β) of the battery (12) of Muro 241 because Muro 068 teaches that the recess (40) provides extra space for adhesive (50) while maintaining the battery module (1) miniaturized (par. 28).
Muro 241 fails to explicitly disclose a first adhesive body that is disposed in a space formed by the concave part of the first energy storage device and the concave part of the second energy storage device. However, Muro 068 further discloses an adhesive (50) is poured around the battery cells (2) (par. 23). The combination of the adhesive (50) between the surface (20a) of the first battery cell (2) and the inner surface (3i) and the adhesive (50) between the surface (20c) of the second battery cell (2) and the inner surface (3i) is disposed in a space formed by the recess (40) of the first battery cell (2) and the recess (40) of the second battery cell (2) (the combination of the adhesive (50) between the surface (20a) of the first battery cell (2) and the inner surface (3i) and the adhesive (50) between the surface (20c) of the second battery cell (2) and the inner surface (3i) is equivalent to a first adhesive body) (fig. 2, 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the space formed by the recesses (40) of the two adjacent battery cells (2) of Muro 068 to dispose the adhesive tape (110) of Muro 241 because Muro 068 teaches that the recess (40) provides extra space for the thicker adhesive (50), and the thicker adhesive (50) increases the tensile load (par. 24, 28).
Regarding to claim 2: Muro 241 discloses the engagement grooves (38, 54) (equivalent to spacer) includes adhesives (100, 110) (equivalent to adhesive layers) that are adhered to each battery (12) on both sides in the length direction (equivalent to the first direction) of the case (10) (par. 37, fig. 10).
Regarding to claim 3: Muro 241 discloses the secondary battery device as described above. Muro 241 fails to explicitly disclose the concave part is formed such that a middle portion in the second direction of the surface of the first energy storage device is recessed. However, Muro 068 discloses a battery module and a battery cell (par. 1). The battery cell (2) includes a recess (40) (equivalent to a concave part), wherein the recess (40) is formed such that a middle portion in the Z-direction (equivalent to the second direction) of the surface of the battery cell (2) is recessed (fig. 4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the recess (40) of Muro 068 in the center of the main surface (350β) of the battery (12) of Muro 241 because Muro 068 teaches that the recess (40) provides an extra space for adhesive (50) while maintaining the battery module (1) miniaturized (par. 28).
Regarding to claim 5: Muro 241 discloses the secondary battery device (equivalent to the energy storage apparatus) (par. 1) further comprising:
a case (10) (equivalent to an outer case) accommodating the plurality of batteries (12) (par. 10, 11, fig. 1); and
an adhesive tape (110), on a terminal surface (320) of the battery 1(2) (the adhesive tape (110) on the terminal surface (320) is equivalent to a fixing member), bonding the battery (12) and an upper case (18) of the case (10) (par. 19, 25, fig. 10).
Regarding to claim 7: Muro 241 discloses the engagement grooves (38, 54) are disposed to surround a periphery of the adhesive tape (110) (fig. 10).
Claim 4 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muro (JP 2013251241 A), hereinafter Muro 241, in view of Muro et al. (JP 2015159068 A), hereinafter Muro 068, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 20160268564 A1).
Regarding to claim 4: Muro 241 et al. disclose a secondary battery device as described in paragraph 3 above. Muro 241 and Muro 068 fail to explicitly disclose an end member disposed at a position where the first energy storage device is sandwiched between the end member and the second energy storage device in the first direction; and a second adhesive body that is disposed between the end member and the first energy storage device and adheres to the end member and the first energy storage device. However, Cho et al. discloses a battery module includes a plurality of battery cells (abstract). The battery module (100) (equivalent to the energy storage apparatus) (par. 32, fig. 2) includes:
an end plate (110a) (equivalent to an end member) disposed at a position where a battery cell (10a) (equivalent to the first energy storage device) is sandwiched between the end plate (110a) and battery cell (10b) (equivalent to the second energy storage device) in a length direction (equivalent to the first direction) of the battery module (100) (par. 45, fig. 4); and
a second adhesive members (240) (equivalent to a second adhesive body) that is disposed between the end plate (110a) and the battery cell (10a) and adheres to the end plate (110a) and the battery cell (10a) (par. 45, fig. 4A). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the end plate (110a) and the second adhesive members (240) of Cho et al. in the secondary battery device of Muro 241 because Cho et al. teach that fixing the first and n-the battery cells (10a and 10n) on the end plates (110a, 110b) via the second adhesive members (240) can improve stability of the battery module (100) (par. 45).
Claim 6 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muro (JP 2013251241 A), hereinafter Muro 241, in view of Muro et al. (JP 2015159068 A), hereinafter Muro 068, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kogami et al. (US 20220359945 A1).
Regarding to claim 6: Muro 241 et al. disclose a secondary battery device as described in paragraph 3 above. Muro 241 and Muro 068 fail to explicitly disclose the first adhesive body includes a heat insulating material inside. However, Kogami et al. discloses a power supply device including a battery block formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells (abstract). The power supply device (equivalent to the energy storage apparatus) (par. 9, fig. 1) includes separator (2) (equivalent to the first adhesive body) that are disposed between adjacent battery cells (1) (par. 8, fig. 2). The separator (2) includes heat-insulating sheet (5) and elastic layer (6) (par. 8, fig. 4, 5). The heat-insulating sheet (5) composed of the fiber sheet and the silica aerogel (equivalent to heat insulating material) is thin and exhibits excellent heat insulation characteristics (par. 61). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the fiber sheet and the silica aerogel (equivalent to heat insulating material) of Kogami et al. inside the adhesive tape (110) of Muro 241 because Kogami et al. teach that the separator insulates heat conduction between battery cells and suppresses induction of thermal runaway of the battery cell (par. 2).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Muro 241 does not mention any space formed by two concave parts opposite to each other, and does not mention the space is filled with an adhesive body.
Muro 068 teaches the partition wall (3g) must be disposed between two adjacent battery cells (2), and the adhesive (50) is disposed in a space formed by a flat surface of the partition wall (3g) and a concave surface of the battery cell (2), which is different from the technical feature recited in claim 1.
Muro 068 teaches the adhesive (50) is disposed in a gap between the battery cell (2) and the housing (3), which is different from the technical feature recited in claim 1.
If the battery cells (2) of Muro 068 are applied to the configuration of Muro 241, there is a high possibility that the battery cells (12) will come into contact with each other when adhered together, which may prevent them from being housed in the lower case (16).
Since the purpose of the adhesive tape (110) of Muro 241 is to ensure that the height of the terminal surfaces (320) of multiple battery cell (12) is the same, there is no need to make the adhesive tape thicker.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are moot. Muro 068 reference teaches two concave parts opposite to each other, and the adhesive (50) is filled the space between the battery cell (2) and the housing sections (6) (fig. 6). However, the claim does not clearly define that the first adhesive body needs to be one single physical item. Thus, the combination of the adhesive (50) between the surface (20a) of the first battery cell (2) and the inner surface (3i) and the adhesive (50) between the surface (20c) of the second battery cell (2) and the inner surface (3i) is equivalent to the first adhesive body which is disposed in the space between two recesses (40).
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Please see the response above. In addition, Muro 241 teaches the engagement groove may be replaced by a flat surface, or conversely, a case having a protruding shape may be used instead (par. 55 in Muro 241). Thus, the partition walls (3g) (equivalent to the spacer) of Muro 068 can be modify to be like the engagement grooves (38, 54) of Muro 241. In this case, the adhesive (50) is disposed in the space formed by two recesses (40) in Muro 068.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Please see the response above.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The battery cells (12) are fixed by two engagement grooves (38, 54) from the lower case (16) and the upper case (18) (par. 26, 36, 37, fig. 2). Thus, the battery cells (12) will not come into contact with each other.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Muro 068 teaches the benefits of the recesses (40). The extra space created by the recesses (40) can make a thicker adhesive (50) which can improve the tensile load (par. 24) while maintaining the battery module (1) miniaturized (par. 28).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717