DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to an application filed April 6th, 2026. Claims 10-13 and 16-39 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 25, and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims are dependent claims that are written in independent form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 28- 31 recite the element of “the calculator equipped with Al (artificial intelligence)” which the examiner cannot reasonably determine what kind of AI is being used in the claims or how it is used to perform the analysis performed by the calculator. The term “artificial intelligence” is vague given that any form of computations performed by a machine would qualify as some form of “artificial intelligence” thus it is unclear if applicant’s invention utilizes rudimentary AI such as simple conditional statements and calculation or something complex such as neural networks to perform the functions of the calculator. The closest the specification has to clarifying this is in pages 41-42 paragraph 0131 which recites “the calculator equipped with Al predicts a landing position through AI machine learning” which is insufficient to describe the scope of “a calculator equipped with Al (artificial intelligence)” as one ordinarily skilled in the art would need to know what kind of machine learning is utilized, how it is trained, the level of accuracy of the AI, or what any other detail required for a skilled artisan to effectively equip and program the mission satellites claimed to perform their functions. For the sake of the prior art rejection below, the examiner interprets that any prior art which teaches some form of machine learning or an equivalently sophisticated type of artificial intelligence is sufficient to render obvious the claimed invention.
Claims 28-31 recites the limitation "the calculator equipped with Al (artificial intelligence)" despite claim 27, which all of these claims depend upon, only reciting a “calculator” with no mention of it being equipped with AI. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of the prior art rejection below, the examiner interprets that the calculators equipped with AI from claims 28-31 are the same calculator from claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13, 16-18, 20-25, 27, and 32-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited of record Liu et al. (US Patent No. 7502382 B10, herein after Liu, in further view of previously cited of record Vaujour et al. (US Pub. No. 20200039665 A1), herein after Vaujour, in further view of previously cited of record Rhodas et al. (US Pub. No. 20220161944 A1), herein after Rhodas, and further in view of Katori; Hidetoshi (US Pub. No. 20150194972 A1), herein after Katori.
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) comprising (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites): a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system); and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, and the hybrid constellation is formed by rebuilding the annular communication network with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
Liu in view of Vaujour are silent to wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an [atomic] master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites to synchronize the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the synchronization of satellites using various clocks such as atomic clocks from Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas to utilize an optical lattice clock instead of conventional atomic clocks, as taught by Katori, for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) comprising (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites): a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network, and a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with left and right satellites on adjacent orbits, form a mesh communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system); and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, and the hybrid constellation is formed by rebuilding the annular communication network and rebuilding the mesh communication network with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
Liu in view of Vaujour are silent to wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an [atomic] master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites to synchronize the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the synchronization of satellites using various clocks such as atomic clocks from Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas to utilize an optical lattice clock instead of conventional atomic clocks, as taught by Katori, for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation forming method comprising: forming a hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites) including a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system), and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, and the annular communication network is rebuilt with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation so as to form the hybrid constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
Liu in view of Vaujour are silent to wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an [atomic] master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites to synchronize the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the synchronization of satellites using various clocks such as atomic clocks from Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas to utilize an optical lattice clock instead of conventional atomic clocks, as taught by Katori, for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation forming method comprising: forming a hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites) including a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network, and a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with left and right satellites on adjacent orbits, form a mesh communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system), and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, and the annular communication network is rebuilt and the mesh communication network is rebuilt with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation so as to form the hybrid constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
Liu in view of Vaujour are silent to wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an [atomic] master clock as the mission device is included, and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites to synchronize the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches wherein a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device is included (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Regarding claim 16, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Vaujour goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein the mission satellite is an information collection satellite that is provided with an information collection device as the mission device, the information collection device collecting information of a ground surface or a flying object launched from the ground surface (Vaujour: Para. 0067, teaching that the satellites can collect information from other satellites which includes information telemetry collected during any suitable time; and Para. 0068, teaching that the information can include information about a geographic location), and satellite information acquired by the information collection device is transmitted across an ocean or a continent (Vaujour: FIG. 1B which shows a constellation of satellites collecting information from around the globe and transmitting it to other parts of the globe).
Regarding claim 17, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein the mission satellite is a positioning signal transmission satellite that is provided with a positioning signal transmission device as the mission device, the positioning signal transmission device transmitting a positioning signal (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which includes GPS satellites), and exchange of a time control signal between satellites is performed via a rebuilt communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 line 62 through page 14 col. 5 line 14, teaching that the satellites transmits packets of information between each other that can be used to synchronize the satellites and control their schedule).
Regarding claim 18, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [a] ground system to operate and control the hybrid constellation according to claim 10 (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 62-65, teaching that the control of the satellites can be accomplished through ground stations).
Regarding claim 20, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein a mission satellite provided with a positioning signal receiver and a positioning signal transmitter as the mission device is included (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which includes GPS satellites), and Rhodas goes on to further teach accurate time is calculated based on a signal received by the positioning signal receiver so as to calibrate a clock of own satellite and a synchronous control signal is exchanged between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites).
Regarding claim 21, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein satellites provided with a ranging device are included and the satellites measure a distance between each other (Liu: Page 14 col. 6 lines 19-35, teaching that the satellites determine the distance of neighboring satellites from each other while in orbit).
Regarding claim 22, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein satellites that form an annular communication network and fly in a same orbital plane perform forward time management for transmitting a time management signal in a satellite traveling direction and reverse time management for transmitting a time management signal in a reverse direction of the satellite traveling direction (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 line 62 through page 14 col. 5 line 14, teaching that the satellites transmits packets of information between each other that can be used to synchronize the satellites and control their schedule).
Regarding claim 23, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein command information for the mission devices that are different from each other, the command information being generated in orbit, is exchanged between a plurality of satellites (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 62-64, teaching that the control of the satellites can be accomplished by employing a constellation of satellites in communication with each other to achieve their tasks).
Regarding claim 24, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein flying object information acquired in orbit is exchanged between a plurality of satellites (Liu: Page 14 col. 6 lines 19-35, teaching that the satellites determine the distance and speed of neighboring satellites from each other while in orbit and communicate the information about the other satellites to satellites in the constellation).
Regarding claim 25, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [a] mission satellite that is provided with a front-rear communication device and a mission device and constitutes the hybrid constellation according to claim 10 (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes that are in communication with each other), wherein any of an optical information collection device, a radio wave information collection device, a laser generation device, a radio wave generation device, an infrared monitoring device, a positioning signal generation device, a radio wave data relay device, and an optical data relay device is included as the mission device (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which includes GPS satellites which are capable of generating positioning signals; and page 13 col. 4 lines 39-43, teaching the uses of radio communication devices).
Regarding claim 27, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Vaujour goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein a calculator and an edge server are provided as the mission satellite and edge computing is performed in orbit (Vaujour: Para. 0036, teaching the use of an edge server to perform the computational requirements of the satellite constellation).
Regarding claim 32, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 27, and Vaujour goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the mission satellite is provided with a synthetic aperture radar and stores acquired information in the edge server (Vaujour: Para. 0020, teaching the use of various imaging sensors which includes synthetic-aperture radar sensors), and the calculator generates an image by synthetic aperture processing in orbit and transmits image data to a ground (Vaujour: Para. 0068, teaching that the generating an image of a ground map by processing the information received by the sensors to transmit to a user on the ground).
Regarding claim 33, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 27, and Vaujour goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the mission satellite is provided with an optical monitoring device and stores acquired information in the edge server (Vaujour: Para. 0020, teaching the use of various imaging sensors which includes cameras), and the calculator generates an image by super-resolution processing in orbit and transmits image data to a ground (Vaujour: Para. 0068, teaching that the generating an image of a ground map by processing the information received by the sensors to transmit to a user on the ground).
Regarding claim 34, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein both or either one of a super computer and a data center are or is provided as the mission satellite (Liu: Page 14 col. 5 lines 28-57, teaching that the satellites are equipped with routers that act as data servers to route communications between the satellites).
Regarding claim 35, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [g]round equipment that is provided with a super computer or a data center…, wherein information is exchanged via the hybrid constellation according to claim 10 (Liu: Page 14 col. 5 lines 28-57, teaching that the ground stations are equipped with routers that act as data servers to route communications between the satellites) while Vaujour goes on to further teach [g]round equipment that... is located in a high latitude region with a latitude of 50 degrees or greater (Vaujour: FIG. 1B which shows a constellation of satellites collecting information from around the globe and transmitting it to other parts of the globe).
Regarding claim 36, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) comprising (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites): a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system); and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, the hybrid constellation is formed by rebuilding the annular communication network with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, and the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrates the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
They are silent to the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrates the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with a high-precision master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites), and calibrates the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the high-precision master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the synchronization of satellites using various clocks such as atomic clocks from Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas to utilize an optical lattice clock instead of conventional atomic clocks, as taught by Katori, for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Regarding claim 37, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) comprising (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites): a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network, a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with left and right satellites on adjacent orbits, form a mesh communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system), and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, the hybrid constellation is formed by rebuilding the annular communication network and rebuilding the mesh communication network with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, and the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrates the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
They are silent to the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrates the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an [atomic] master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites), and calibrates the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the [atomic] master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the synchronization of satellites using various clocks such as atomic clocks from Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas to utilize an optical lattice clock instead of conventional atomic clocks, as taught by Katori, for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Regarding claim 38, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation forming method comprising (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites): forming a hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) including a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system), and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, the annular communication network is rebuilt with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation so as to form the hybrid constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrating the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
They are silent to the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrating the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an [atomic] master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites), and calibrating the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the [atomic] master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the synchronization of satellites using various clocks such as atomic clocks from Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas to utilize an optical lattice clock instead of conventional atomic clocks, as taught by Katori, for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Regarding claim 39, Liu teaches [a] hybrid constellation forming method comprising (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites): forming a hybrid constellation formed in a LEO (Low Earth Orbit) including a communication constellation in which a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with satellites in front and behind in a traveling direction on a same orbital plane, form an annular communication network, a plurality of satellites, the plurality of satellites including a communication device that communicates with left and right satellites on adjacent orbits, form a mesh communication network (Liu: Page 13 col. 3 lines 51-56, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes in a combined space/ground system), and the mission satellite flies between a plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation, the annular communication network is rebuilt and the mesh communication network is rebuilt with a use of the mission satellite and the plurality of satellites forming the communication constellation so as to form the hybrid constellation (Liu: Page 13 col. 4 lines 39-61, teaching a constellations of satellites in multiple orbital planes which establish communications with each other to send communication messages from one end of the constellation to the other by relaying the message through the satellites of the constellation).
Liu is silent to a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission, and the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrating the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Vaujour teaches a mission satellite to be provided with a communication device to communicate with satellites in front and behind and a mission device to execute a mission (Vaujour: Para. 0061 and 0062, teaching satellites with specialized payloads for missions are part of a constellation that are controlled to fulfill their mission) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the constellation of satellites in communication with each other and working together to achieve their goals from Liu with satellites with a variety of payloads to perform a variety of mission, as taught by Vaujour, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the satellites in communication and mission completion.
They are silent to the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device, and calibrating the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the optical lattice master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites.
In a similar field, Rhodas teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an [atomic] master clock as the mission device and a mission satellite provided with a standard clock as the mission device (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites), and calibrating the standard clock with reference to a synchronous control signal from the [atomic] master clock while exchanging the synchronous control signal between a plurality of satellites (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including high precision clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites) for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that synchronizes the satellites during missions from Liu in view of Vaujour to utilize high precision atomic clocks and other clocks on board the satellites, as taught by Rhodas, for the benefit of improved synchronization of the satellites during operations.
Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas are silent to the atomic clock being an optical lattice clock.
In a similar field, Katori teaches the hybrid constellation includes a mission satellite provided with an optical lattice master clock as the mission device (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks) for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the synchronization of satellites using various clocks such as atomic clocks from Liu in view of Vaujour in further view of Rhodas to utilize an optical lattice clock instead of conventional atomic clocks, as taught by Katori, for the benefit of improving the precision and reliability of the timing of the satellites.
Claims 28-30 and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Vaujour further in view of Rhodas and in further view of Katori as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Blondel et al. (US Pub. No. 20210011148 A1), herein after Blondel.
Regarding claim 28, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 27, however they are silent to [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the edge server stores orbital information of a satellite group constituting a constellation, and the calculator equipped with artificial intelligence (AI) analyzes a collision risk between satellites constituting the constellation.
In a similar field, Blondel goes on to teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the edge server stores orbital information of a satellite group constituting a constellation, and the calculator equipped with artificial intelligence (AI) analyzes a collision risk between satellites constituting the constellation (Blondel: Para. 0044, teaching the use of artificial intelligence in a satellite to perform calculations required for the satellite's mission; and Para. 0049, teaching the use of artificial intelligence in performing calculations regarding collision of a satellite with other orbiting objects such as space debris) for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori to analyze the risk of collisions between the satellites, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
Regarding claim 29, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 27, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the edge server stores orbital information of a satellite group constituting a constellation and flying object information acquired by a satellite constituting the constellation, and the calculator transmits the flying object information to a satellite constituting the constellation (Liu: Page 14 col. 6 lines 19-35, teaching that the satellites determine the distance and speed of neighboring satellites from each other while in orbit and communicate the information about the other satellites to satellites in the constellation).
They are silent to the calculator being equipped with artificial intelligence (AI).
In a similar field, Blondel teaches the calculator equipped with artificial intelligence (AI) transmits the flying object information to a satellite constituting the constellation (Blondel: Para. 0044, teaching the use of artificial intelligence in a satellite to perform calculations required for the satellite's mission) for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori with the artificial intelligence in the calculators, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
Regarding claim 30, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 27, however they are silent to [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the calculator equipped with artificial intelligence (AI) analyzes a flight path based on flying object information acquired from a plurality of monitoring satellites and foresight information stored in the edge server and transmits the flying object information to a monitoring satellite that can track a predicted flight path.
In a similar field, Blondel goes on to teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the calculator equipped with artificial intelligence (AI) analyzes a flight path based on flying object information acquired from a plurality of monitoring satellites and foresight information stored in the edge server and transmits the flying object information to a monitoring satellite that can track a predicted flight path (Blondel: Para. 0049, teaching the use of artificial intelligence in performing calculations regarding the flight path of the satellite and flying objects that are of interest to the flight path of the satellite) for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori to analyze and predict the path of flying objects around the satellite, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
Regarding claim 40, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 10, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 10, wherein the mission satellite includes a first mission satellite and a second mission satellite (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites), Katori goes on to further teach the first mission satellite is provided with the optical lattice master clock (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks), and Rhodas goes on to further teach the second mission satellite is provided with a standard clock without being provided with the optical lattice master clock (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including disciplined clocks and atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites).
They are silent to the first mission satellite transmits the synchronous control signal, and the second mission satellite calibrates the standard clock with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and functions as a positioning satellite.
In a similar field, Blondel goes on to further teach the first mission satellite transmits the synchronous control signal, and the second mission satellite calibrates the standard clock with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and functions as a positioning satellite (Blondel: Para. 0050, teaching that each satellite in a constellation may be equipped with atomic clocks that are used to synchronize the operations of each satellite; and Para. 0051, teaching that the satellites are transmitting and receiving synchronization signals to and from other satellites so that the clocks on each satellite are synchronized) for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori to continuously monitor and synchronize the clocks of satellites in the constellation using more accurate clocks, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
Regarding claim 41, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 11, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 11, wherein the mission satellite includes a first mission satellite and a second mission satellite (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites), Katori goes on to further teach the first mission satellite is provided with the optical lattice master clock (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks), and Rhodas goes on to further teach the second mission satellite is provided with a standard clock without being provided with the optical lattice master clock (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including disciplined clocks and atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites).
They are silent to the first mission satellite transmits the synchronous control signal, and the second mission satellite calibrates the standard clock with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and functions as a positioning satellite.
In a similar field, Blondel goes on to further teach the first mission satellite transmits the synchronous control signal, and the second mission satellite calibrates the standard clock with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and functions as a positioning satellite (Blondel: Para. 0050, teaching that each satellite in a constellation may be equipped with atomic clocks that are used to synchronize the operations of each satellite; and Para. 0051, teaching that the satellites are transmitting and receiving synchronization signals to and from other satellites so that the clocks on each satellite are synchronized) for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori to continuously monitor and synchronize the clocks of satellites in the constellation using more accurate clocks, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
Regarding claim 42, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 12, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation forming method according to claim 12, wherein the mission satellite includes a first mission satellite and a second mission satellite (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites), Katori goes on to further teach the first mission satellite is provided with the optical lattice master clock (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks), and Rhodas goes on to further teach the second mission satellite is provided with a standard clock without being provided with the optical lattice master clock (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including disciplined clocks and atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites).
They are silent to the method further comprising: transmitting the synchronous control signal from the first mission satellite; and calibrating the standard clock of the second mission satellite with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and function as a positioning satellite.
In a similar field, Blondel goes on to further teach the method further comprising: transmitting the synchronous control signal from the first mission satellite; and calibrating the standard clock of the second mission satellite with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and function as a positioning satellite (Blondel: Para. 0050, teaching that each satellite in a constellation may be equipped with atomic clocks that are used to synchronize the operations of each satellite; and Para. 0051, teaching that the satellites are transmitting and receiving synchronization signals to and from other satellites so that the clocks on each satellite are synchronized) for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori to continuously monitor and synchronize the clocks of satellites in the constellation using more accurate clocks, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
Regarding claim 42, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 13, and Liu goes on to further teach [t]he hybrid constellation forming method according to claim 13, wherein the mission satellite includes a first mission satellite and a second mission satellite (Liu: Page 19 col. 15 lines 38-41, teaching a constellation of satellites which may include LEO satellites), Katori goes on to further teach the first mission satellite is provided with the optical lattice master clock (Katori: Para. 0002, teaching that highly precise atomic clocks are used in satellites; and Para. 0005, teaching the use of optical lattice atomic clocks instead of regular atomic clocks), and Rhodas goes on to further teach the second mission satellite is provided with a standard clock without being provided with the optical lattice master clock (Rhodas: Para. 0052, teaching that satellites can be equipped with a variety types of clocks including disciplined clocks and atomic clocks that can be used to synchronize the operations of the constellation of satellites).
They are silent to the method further comprising: transmitting the synchronous control signal from the first mission satellite; and calibrating the standard clock of the second mission satellite with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and function as a positioning satellite.
In a similar field, Blondel goes on to further teach the method further comprising: transmitting the synchronous control signal from the first mission satellite; and calibrating the standard clock of the second mission satellite with reference to the synchronous control signal to maintain accurate time and function as a positioning satellite (Blondel: Para. 0050, teaching that each satellite in a constellation may be equipped with atomic clocks that are used to synchronize the operations of each satellite; and Para. 0051, teaching that the satellites are transmitting and receiving synchronization signals to and from other satellites so that the clocks on each satellite are synchronized) for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori to continuously monitor and synchronize the clocks of satellites in the constellation using more accurate clocks, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of correcting any drift in the satellites’ clocks.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori as applied to claim 27 above, in view of previously cited of record Ealy et al. (US Pub. No. 20210061497 A1), herein after Ealy, and further in view of Blondel.
Regarding claim 31, Liu, Vaujour, Rhodas, and Katori remain as applied as in claim 27, however they are silent to [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the calculator equipped with artificial intelligence (AI) performs flying object landing prediction based on flying object information acquired from a plurality of monitoring satellites and foresight information stored in the edge server and selects a satellite that can transmit the flying object information to a ground asset, the ground asset enabling handling, so as to transmit a flying object information transmission command.
In a similar field, Ealy teaches [t]he hybrid constellation according to claim 27, wherein the calculator performs flying object landing prediction based on flying object information acquired from a plurality of monitoring satellites and foresight information stored in the edge server and selects a satellite that can transmit the flying object information to a ground asset, the ground asset enabling handling, so as to transmit a flying object information transmission command (Ealy: Para. 0083, teaching a machine learning model that is used to analyze the flight path of flying objects to assist with the flying object deorbits) for the benefit of improved landing of a flying object.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the satellite constellation system that analyzes the paths of flying objects in space from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in further view of Katori to assist in operations involving a flying object deorbiting, as taught by Ealy, for the benefit of improved landing of a flying object.
They are silent to the calculator being equipped with artificial intelligence (AI).
In a similar field, Blondel teaches the calculator equipped with artificial intelligence (AI) performs flying object landing prediction based on flying object information (Blondel: Para. 0044, teaching the use of artificial intelligence in a satellite to perform calculations required for the satellite's mission) for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the calculations used to control of the satellite constellation from Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in view of Katori in further view of Ealy with the artificial intelligence in the calculators, as taught by Blondel, for the benefit of improved debris analysis and path prediction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 6th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed April 6th, 2026 with respect to the 103 rejections of record have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments filed April 6th, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim(s) 10-13, 16-18, 20-25, 27, and 32-35 under 103 in view of Liu in further view of Vaujour have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu in view of Vaujour in view of Rhodas in view of Katori.
Applicant contends (see page 17 line 15 through page 19 line 6, filed April 6th, 2026) that independent claims 10-13 and 36-39 are allowable as the previous prior art of record is deficient in teaching a mission satellite that is equipped with an optical lattice master clock. The examiner respectfully agrees. The examiner notes, however, that as Rhodas does disclose in paragraph 0052 “In some implementations the clock may be a global positioning system (GPS) disciplined clock or an atomic clock that provides a high accuracy and high precision time source” and as optical lattice clocks are a type of atomic clocks that “provides a high accuracy and high precision time source” one ordinarily skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the prior art of Rhodas with another prior art that teaches the use of optical lattice master clocks, such as the newly presented prior art of Katori, to render obvious the claimed invention. The prior arts of Rhodas and Katori have been integrated into the rejections of these claims.
Conclusion
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663