DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42, 44-45, 47-48, 50, 54, and 58-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. 2023/0341745).
Regarding claim 42, Kim discloses an optical zoom module (combination of: 100 and 200, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0035]), comprising:
a module housing (110, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0038]);
a plurality of lens assemblies (60 and 70, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0038]) arranged coaxially along an axis (axis along z, Fig. 2);
at least one straight guiding rod (such as protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8; page 5, para [0082]), which is parallel to the axis and is arranged at a first side of the module housing (such as side of 135, Fig. 8);
a plurality of carriers (120, 130, and carrier for 50, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0041, 0049]), wherein each carrier has a lens assembly (60 and 70, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0041]) mounted therein, and at least two carriers of the plurality of carriers are movable carriers (120 and 130 are both movable, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0041-0042]), and the straight guiding rod (protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8) passes through the at least two movable carriers (protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114 passes through 120 and 130, Figs. 6-8) to enable the at least two movable carriers to move along the straight guiding rod respectively (page 3, para [0041-0042]); and
a first rail (138, Fig. 8; page 5, para [0082]) located on a second side (side of 125, Fig. 8) of the module housing (110, Fig. 8), wherein the second side (side of 125, Fig. 8) is opposite to the first side (side of 135, Fig. 8), wherein the first rail (138, Fig. 8) is parallel to the straight guiding rod (protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8), and at least one first ball (B3, Figs. 7-8; page 4, para [0072]) is supported between an upper surface of the first rail (upper surface 113 of 138, Figs. 7-8) and a lower surface of each of the at least two movable carriers (lower surface of 120 and 130, Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 44, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first rail (138, Fig. 8) has a flat upper surface (113, Fig. 8), and the first rail (138, Fig. 8) is directly formed on an upper surface of a housing bottom plate (bottom plate of housing 110, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 45, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein one the second side of the module housing (side of 125 of housing 110, Fig. 8), the lower surface of each of the at least two movable carriers has a groove with a down-facing opening (lower surface of the at least two movable carriers 120 and 130 has a groove with a down-facing opening, Figs. 6-8), the at least one first ball (B3, Figs. 7-8) is received in the groove and clamped between the groove and the first rail (B3 is received in the groove and clamped between the groove and the first rail (138, Figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 47, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations above and further discloses a light reflecting element (200, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0031]), the light reflecting element is used to reflect an incident light (LIGHT, Fig. 1) from an incident path (Z1, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0031]) to an imaging path (Z, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0031]), wherein an optical center of the incident path (optical center of Z1, Fig. 1) defines an incident light axis, an optical center of the imaging path (optical center of Z, Fig. 1) defines a main optical axis, and the incident light axis is perpendicular to the main optical axis (incident light axis along Z1 is perpendicular to the main optical axis along Z, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 48, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the plurality of carriers (120, 130, and carrier for 50, Fig. 2) comprises a fixed carrier (50, Fig. 2) and two movable carriers (120 and 130, Fig. 2), wherein a fixed lens assembly (50, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0049]) is installed in the fixed carrier, and a zoom lens assembly (such as 60, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0035]) and a compensation lens assembly (such as 70, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0035]) are respectively installed in the two movable carriers, wherein the zoom lens assembly is arranged for adjusting a focal length of an imaging system (zoom lens assembly is able to adjust a focal length, Fig. 2), and the compensation lens assembly is used for realizing focusing of the imaging system (70 is used for focusing, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0035]) to compensate a focus shift caused by motion of the zoom lens assembly (page 2, para [0035]), the fixed lens assembly (50, Fig. 2), the zoom lens assembly (60, Fig. 2) and the compensation lens assembly (70, Fig. 2) are arranged from an object side (front side of 110 along z, Figs. 1-2) to an image side in sequence (rear side of 110 along z, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 50, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first rail (138, Fig. 8) is a guiding groove defined in the housing bottom plate (guiding groove of 138 in the bottom plate of housing 110, Fig. 8), the at least one first ball (B3, Figs. 7-8) is arranged in the guiding groove and adapted for rolling along the guiding groove (Figs. 7-8; page 4, para [0077]), and a guiding direction (along z, Figs. 7-8) of the guiding groove is parallel to the straight guiding rod (such as protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8), and a top surface of the at least one first ball supports the bottom surface of each of the at least two movable carriers (top surface of B3 supports the bottom surface of each of 120 and 130, Figs. 6-8).
Regarding 54, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein each of the at least two movable carriers (120 and 130, Fig. 2) is driven by a first magnet (combination of: M1 and M2, Fig. 3; page 3, para [0043, 0045]) and a coil (combination of: C1 and C2, Fig. 3; page 3, para [0043, 0045]), the first magnet (combination of: M1 and M2, Fig. 3) is disposed on an inner side surface of the housing (110, Figs. 2-3), and the coil (combination of: C1 and C2, Fig. 3) is disposed on an outer side of each of the at least two movable carriers (120 and 130, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 58, Kim discloses an optical zoom module (combination of: 100 and 200, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0035]), comprising:
a plurality of sub-lenses (lens of 60 and lens of 70, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0038]) arranged coaxially along an axis (axis along z, Fig. 2), each of the sub-lenses comprises a lens assembly (60 and 70, Figs. 2; page 2, para [0038]) and a lens barrel (lens barrel of 60 and 70, Fig. 2) for supporting and assembling the lens assembly therein;
at least one straight guiding rod (such as protruding portions of 110 defined by 111 and 114, and 112 and 113, respectively, Fig. 8; page 5, para [0082]) parallel to the axis (axis along z, Fig. 2);
a plurality of carriers (120, 130, and carrier for 50, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0041, 0049]), wherein each carrier is provided with one of the plurality of sub-lenses (carrier 120 has sub-lens of 60 and carrier 130 has sub-lens of 70, Fig. 2), and at least two carriers of the plurality of carriers are movable carriers (120 and 130 are both movable, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0041-0042]), and the at least one straight guiding rod (protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8) passes through the at least two movable carriers (protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114 passes through 120 and 130, Figs. 6-8) to enable the at least two movable carriers to move along the at least one straight guiding rod respectively (page 3, para [0041-0042]);
a plurality of limiting structures (128, 129, 138, 139, Fig. 8; page 5, para [0082]), relative positions between the at least one straight guiding rod (protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8) and the plurality of limiting structures (128, 129, 138, 139, Fig. 8) are fixed, and the plurality of limiting structures are arranged at both ends of the moving path of each of the at least two movable carriers to limit moving stroke of each of the at least two movable carriers (128, 129, 138, 139 limit the moving stroke of 120 and 130, Figs. 2 and 6-8); and
a buffer layer (rear sidewall plate of 110, Fig. 2) arranged on an end surface of the lens barrel (such as an end surface of lens barrel of 70, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 59, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations of claim 58 above and further discloses a module housing (110, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0038]), and both sides of the module housing are provided with the straight guiding rods, respectively (such as protruding portions of 110 defined by 111 and 114, and 112 and 113, respectively, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 60, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations of claim 58 above and further discloses a light reflecting element (200, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0031]), the light reflecting element is used to reflect an incident light (LIGHT, Fig. 1) from an incident path (Z1, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0031]) to an imaging path (Z, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0031]), wherein an optical center of the incident path (optical center of Z1, Fig. 1) defines an incident light axis, an optical center of the imaging path (optical center of Z, Fig. 1) defines a main optical axis, and the incident light axis is perpendicular to the main optical axis (incident light axis along Z1 is perpendicular to the main optical axis along Z, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 61, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations of claim 58 above and further discloses wherein the plurality of carriers (120, 130, and carrier for 50, Fig. 2) comprises a fixed carrier (50, Fig. 2) and two movable carriers (120 and 130, Fig. 2), wherein a fixed lens assembly (50, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0049]) is installed in the fixed carrier, and a zoom lens assembly (such as 60, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0035]) and a compensation lens assembly (such as 70, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0035]) are respectively installed in the two movable carriers, wherein the zoom lens assembly is arranged for adjusting a focal length of an imaging system (zoom lens assembly is able to adjust a focal length, Fig. 2), and the compensation lens assembly is used for realizing focusing of the imaging system (70 is used for focusing, Fig. 2; page 2, para [0035]) to compensate a focus shift caused by motion of the zoom lens assembly (page 2, para [0035]), the fixed lens assembly (50, Fig. 2), the zoom lens assembly (60, Fig. 2) and the compensation lens assembly (70, Fig. 2) are arranged from an object side (front side of 110 along z, Figs. 1-2) to an image side in sequence (rear side of 110 along z, Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. 2023/0341745).
Regarding claim 43, Kim discloses an optical zoom module with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first rail (138, Fig. 8) has a flat upper surface (113, Fig. 8; page 5, para [0082]), the first rail is a strip-shaped (strip-shape of 113, Fig. 8), and the at least one first ball (B3, Figs. 7-8) is supported between the upper surface of the first rail (upper surface 113 of 138, Figs. 7-8) and a lower surface of each of the at least two movable carriers (lower surface of 120 and 130, Figs. 6-8).
Kim does not expressly disclose that the strip-shaped (strip-shape of 113, Fig. 8) first rail (138, Fig. 8) is a strip-shaped metal sheet. However, the official notice taken in the previous office action that it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention that a rail for an optical zoom module can be formed of a metal sheet material in order to provide support for components of the optical zoom module is now being considered as admitted prior art. Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the strip-shaped (strip-shape of 113, Fig. 8) first rail (138, Fig. 8) to be a strip-shaped metal sheet in order to obtain the benefits of using a metal sheet material to provide support for components of the optical zoom module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 46, 49, 51-53, and 55-57 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art as presently searched does not disclose the optical zoom module of claim 46 (wherein each of the at least two movable carriers has a straight guiding rod matching through hole at the first side of the module housing, and the straight guiding rod passes through the straight guiding rod matching through hole of each of the at least two movable carriers in sequence, at least one annular accommodating cavity is formed between an inner side surface of the straight guiding rod matching through hole and the at least one straight guiding rod, and a plurality of second balls are provided in the annular accommodating cavity, and the plurality of second balls are provided to surround the at least one straight guiding rod), does not disclose the optical zoom module of claim 49 (a photosensitive assembly, wherein the photosensitive assembly comprises a first circuit board and a photosensitive chip provided on a surface of the first circuit board, wherein a flexible connecting belt is provided at the side of the first circuit board, wherein the flexible connecting belt is bent to the first side or the second side of the module housing, a second circuit board is provided at the first side or the second side of the module housing, wherein the second circuit board is electrically communicated with the first circuit board through the flexible connecting belt), does not disclose the optical zoom module of claim 51 (wherein each of the at least two movable carrier comprises a first sliding mounting member located at the first side, a first sliding portion located at the second side, and a carrier bottom plate provided to connect the first sliding mounting member and the first sliding portion, wherein the first sliding mounting member, the first sliding portion and the carrier bottom plate define a U- shaped groove, and at least lens assembly is installed in the corresponding U-shaped groove, the lens assemblies are assembled through a lens barrel, and an outer side surface of the lens barrel is fixed on an inner side surface of the U-shaped groove), and does not disclose the optical zoom module of claim 55 (wherein each of the at least two movable carriers comprises a first sliding mounting member, a first sliding portion and a carrier bottom plate provided to connect the first sliding mounting member with the first sliding portion, wherein the first sliding mounting member is located at the first side of the module housing, the first sliding portion is located at the second side of the module housing, wherein the first sliding mounting member, the first sliding portion and the carrier bottom plate define a U-shaped groove, the lens assemblies are installed in the U-shaped groove, wherein the first magnet is disposed on an inner side surface of the housing sidewall at the first side, and the coil is disposed on an outer side surface of the first sliding mounting member of each of the at least two movable carriers). Claims 56-57 are objected to as being dependent on claim 51.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 42 and 58, Applicant argues that Kim fails to anticipate that the straight guiding rod passes through the at least two movable carriers to enable the at least two movable carriers to move along the straight guiding rod respectively. Applicant notes that the straight guiding rod of Applicant’s invention passes through the at least two movable carriers to thereby provide an axial guidance and radial rigid constraint for the two movable carriers. Applicant further argues that the first guide rail 111 and the second guide rail 114 of Kim are formed integrally on the housing 110, and therefore, merely provide surface support for the balls B1-B4, not rigid constraint for the carriers 120 and 130 themselves.
However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that the claimed limitation of the “at least one straight guiding rod” was interpreted as the “protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8; page 5, para [0082])” of Kim and not the first guide rail 111 or the second guide rail 114 of Kim identified by Applicant. Furthermore, the “protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8) of Kim necessarily has a guiding function for the plurality of carriers (120, 130, Figs. 2, 6-8) since the protruding portion is part of the structural design of the first and second guide rails (111 and 114, Figs. 7-8) that guide the plurality of carriers. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Kim fails to disclose that the straight guiding rod is “providing an axial guidance and radial or [rigid] constraint for the two movable carriers,” Examiner notes that Applicant is arguing limitations that are not recited in the claim, and therefore, Applicant’s arguments are considered to be moot.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that “neither the first guide rail 111 nor the second guide rail 114 passes through the first carrier 120 and the second carrier 130,” Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Examiner notes that “the at least one straight guiding rod,” interpreted as the “protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114” of Kim (Figs. 7-8), does indeed “pass through the first carrier 120 and the second carrier 130”as shown in annotated Fig. 7 of Kim below where the protruding portion “passes through” a recess portion of the carrier 120 that accommodates the “protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114” (interpreted as the straight guiding rod). Examiner notes that the recitation of “passes through” is a broadly recited limitation because the straight guiding rod can “pass through” the at least two movable carriers by passing through a recess portion of the at least two movable carriers similar to passing through an archway or a doorway as broadly interpreted. Thus, the broadly recited limitation of “passes through” does not preclude one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to broadly interpret the limitation of “passes through” to include passing through a recess portion of the at least two movable carriers similar to passing through an archway or a doorway as noted. The claimed limitations do not limit the interpretation of “passes through” to require the straight guiding rod to “pass through a through hole” of the at least two movable carriers. Therefore, it would have been reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed to recognize that an object can “pass through a recess, archway, or a doorway.” Thus, “the at least one straight guiding rod,” interpreted as the “protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114” of Kim (Figs. 7-8), does indeed “pass through the first carrier 120 and the second carrier 130”as broadly interpreted as shown in annotated Fig. 7 of Kim below. Therefore, Kim discloses all the recited limitations as presented in the grounds of rejection above and the rejection is maintained.
Annotated Fig. 7 of Kim
[AltContent: textbox (“the at least one straight guiding rod” (interpreted as the protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114) passes through the first carrier 120 and the second carrier 130”)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (recess portion of the plurality of movable carriers where the straight guiding rod “passes through”)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the motion guide mechanism of the instant invention, comprising the straight guiding rod passing through the movable carriers, providing:
(a) Superior rigid linear position constraint
(b) Anti-disengagement security
(c) Combined shaft-sleeve/ball mechanism;
Examiner notes that Applicant is arguing limitations not recited in the claim and therefore, Applicant’s arguments are considered to be moot. Therefore, Kim discloses all the recited limitations as presented in the grounds of rejection above, and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 44, Applicant argues that Kim fails to anticipate that the first rail is formed on an upper surface of a housing bottom plate. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that Kim discloses all the recited limitations as presented above. In particular, Kim discloses “wherein the first rail (138, Fig. 8) has a flat upper surface (113, Fig. 8), and the first rail (138, Fig. 8) is directly formed on an upper surface of a housing bottom plate (bottom plate of housing 110, Fig. 8).” Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 45, Applicant argues that Kim fails to anticipate that the lower surface of each of the at least two movable carriers has a groove with a down-facing opening, the at least one first ball is received in the groove and clamped between the groove and the rail. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that Kim discloses all the recited limitations as presented above. In particular, Kim discloses “the lower surface of each of the at least two movable carriers has a groove with a down-facing opening (lower surface of the at least two movable carriers 120 and 130 has a groove with a down-facing opening, Figs. 6-8), the at least one first ball (B3, Figs. 7-8) is received in the groove and clamped between the groove and the first rail (B3 is received in the groove and clamped between the groove and the first rail (138, Figs. 7-8).” Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 50, Applicant argues that Kim fails to anticipate that the first rail is a guiding groove defined in the housing bottom plate, the at least one first ball is arranged on the guiding groove and adapted for rolling along the guiding groove, and a guiding direction of the guiding groove is parallel to the straight guiding rod, and a top surface of the at least one first ball supports the bottom surface of each of the at least two movable carriers. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that Kim discloses all the recited limitations as presented above. In particular, Kim discloses that “the first rail (138, Fig. 8) is a guiding groove defined in the housing bottom plate (guiding groove of 138 in the bottom plate of housing 110, Fig. 8), the at least one first ball (B3, Figs. 7-8) is arranged in the guiding groove and adapted for rolling along the guiding groove (Figs. 7-8; page 4, para [0077]), and a guiding direction (along z, Figs. 7-8) of the guiding groove is parallel to the straight guiding rod (such as protruding portion of 110 defined by 111 and 114, Fig. 8), and a top surface of the at least one first ball supports the bottom surface of each of the at least two movable carriers (top surface of B3 supports the bottom surface of each of 120 and 130, Figs. 6-8).” Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 59, Applicant argues that Kim fails to anticipate that both sides of the module housing are provided with the straight guiding rods, respectively. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes Kim discloses all the recited limitations as presented above. In particular, Kim that “both sides of the module housing are provided with the straight guiding rods, respectively (such as protruding portions of 110 defined by 111 and 114, and 112 and 113, respectively, Fig. 8).” Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 43, Applicant argues the following:
a) Primary Distinction-Motion Guide Mechanism: Kim fails to teach the motion guide mechanism including the straight guiding rode passing through the first carrier 120 and the second carrier 130 to provide a precise axial guidance and radial rigid constraint for the carriers. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments as addressed above. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
b) Unexpected Technical Effect: the use of the first ball disposed at an opposite side of the module housing, in combination with the straight guiding rod passing through the carriers, provides an unexpected synergistic effect, an effect not obtainable by merely substituting materials in Kim’s structure. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to recognize that using a metal material to form a rail would provide improved support and reliability since it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a metal material can be used to form a stable support structure. Thus, using metal materials to form a support structure such as a rail to support the plurality of carriers of Kim would not result in an unexpected technical effect as Applicant argues. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
c) Teaching Away: Kim teaches a motion guide mechanism relying solely on surface-to-ball support, and integrating a shaft-sleeve guiding mechanism (via the straight guiding rod) with metal sheet rail would require significant structural redesign, including modifying the carriers to accommodate through-holes and reconfiguring the housing to support the guiding rods. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that using a metal material to form the structure of Kim would not require significant structural redesign or require the modification of carriers to accommodate through-holes or reconfiguring the housing to support the guiding rods since the only modification is to use a metal material that can easily be used by one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the first rail to be a strip-shaped metal sheet of Kim. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
d) Lack of Suggestion or Motivation: Kim provides no suggestion or motivation whatsoever to modify its surface-to-ball support structure to incorporate the shaft-sleeve guiding mechanism of the instant invention. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that the only modification is to use a metal material that can easily be used by one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the first rail to be a strip-shaped metal sheet of Kim. Furthermore, as noted in the grounds of rejection above, it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention that a rail for an optical zoom module can be formed of a metal sheet material in order to provide support for components of the optical zoom module. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871