DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 6/22/2026 was received. Claims 1, 15 were amended. Claim 6 was cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of He (CN 107768575 A) and Pare et al. (US 20190393461 A) on claims 1, 2, 3, 7 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 10, 13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of Kong et al. (CN 111244349 A) and Pare et al. (US 20190393461 A). The rejections are restated below to address the amendment.
Regarding to claim 1: Elfering et al. disclose a battery pack and a method of assembling a battery pack (abstract). The battery pack is operable to supply discharge current to at least one of a power tool (par. 15). The battery pack (100) comprising:
a main housing (108) including a bottom portion (112) and a top portion (116) (equivalent to a second gable) (par. 135, fig. 16), wherein the bottom portion (112) comprises side walls (128) (equivalent to a central housing) and a floor (120) (equivalent to a first gable) (par. 135, 136, fig. 17, 20I) (see fig. below), the floor (112) being arranged opposite to the top portion (116) (fig. 20I) and facing in an insertion direction of the battery (fig. 46A) (see fig. below),
wherein the floor (120) and the top portion (116) mate with the side walls (128) along respective gable rims (see fig. above), thereby defining a volume delimited by the floor (120) and the top portion (116) and the side walls (128) (fig. 46A),
the battery pack (100) further comprising a battery cell pack (see fig. below) comprising a plurality of elongated battery cells (10) (par. 135, fig. 16) extending in an elongation direction transverse to the insertion direction (fig. 16, see fig. below),
Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose the battery cell pack is arranged suspended in the volume by at least three resilient members, and each resilient member among the at least three resilient members extends in a direction diagonally away from a mass center of the battery cell pack and transverse to the elongation direction, towards a supporting on one of the respective gable portion rims. However, Kong et al. disclose a battery box (par. 2). The battery box comprises a battery pack (6) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), a lower cover (1), and a upper cover (2) (par. 26, fig. 1, 2). The battery pack (6) is suspended by elastic structures (5) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 29, fig. 2). Each elastic structures (5) extends in a direction diagonally away from a mass center of the battery box (1) (fig. 2), towards a mounting base (10) (equivalent to a supporting location) on an edge line (equivalent to a gable rim) of the cover (par. 31, fig. 3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the elastic structures (5) of Kong et al. to suspend the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach the elastic structures (5) provides more comprehensive shock absorption around the battery and makes it less prone to damage (par. 15).
Elfering et al. and Kong et al. fail to explicitly disclose the at least three resilient members extends in a direction transverse to the elongation direction. However, Pare et al. disclose a battery, a battery container, and a battery pack (abstract). The battery container (14) comprises resiliently-deformable protruding rib members (25) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 107, fig. 2A, 2B). The thickness of the resiliently-deformable protruding rib members (25) extends uniformly radially outwardly from cylindrical periphery (28) (equivalent to extending in a direction transverse to the elongation direction of the battery cell) (par. 107, fig. 2A). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the radial direction (transversal direction) of the cylindrical battery cell of Pare et al. as the suspension direction of the elastic structures (5) of Kong et al. which already incorporated in the battery pack of Elfering et al. because Pare et al. teach that this direction (radial direction) can damp lateral acceleration force and prevents batteries from internal structural failure, electrical short, and explosion (par. 27).
Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose the at least three resilient members are non-fixedly supported on the respective gable rims. However, Kong et al. further disclose the battery pack (6) is suspended by elastic structures (5) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 29, fig. 2). The elastic structure (5) comprises a connecting rod (11). The connecting rod (11) is movably (equivalent to non-fixedly) mounted on a mounting base (10) (par. 29) . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the movable connecting rod (11) of Kong et al. on the rims of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach the movable connecting rod (11) provides more comprehensive shock absorption around the battery and makes it less prone to damage (par. 15).
Regarding to claim 4: Elfering et al. in view of Kong et al. and Pare et al. disclose a battery pack as described above. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose at least one of the at least three resilient members is supported on a respective arm extending from the battery cell pack towards the supporting location. However, Kong et al. disclose a battery box (par. 2). The battery box comprises a rotating seat (17) (equivalent to a respective arm) mounted on a battery pack (6) (par. 29, fig. 1, 4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rotating seat (17) of Kong et al. on the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach the rotating seat (17) provides more comprehensive shock absorption around the battery and makes it less prone to damage (par. 15).
Regarding to claim 8: Elfering et al. in view of Kong et al. and Pare et al. disclose a battery pack as described above. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose at least one of the at least three resilient members is pivotably attached to a respective trunnion on the battery cell pack. However, Kong et al. disclose a battery box (par. 2). The battery box comprises a battery pack (6) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), a lower cover (1), and a upper cover (2) (par. 26, fig. 1, 2). The battery pack (6) is suspended by elastic structures (5) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 29, fig. 2). The elastic structure (5) is mounted on a rotating seat (17) on the battery pack (6) (the center pin of the rotating seat (17) is equivalent to a respective trunnion). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rotating seat (17) (including the center pin) of Kong et al. on the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach the rotating seat (17) provides more comprehensive shock absorption around the battery and makes it less prone to damage (par. 15).
Regarding to claim 9: Elfering et al. in view of Kong et al. and Pare et al. disclose a battery pack as described above. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly at least one of the at least three resilient members is formed by a rectangular base and a triangular section, wherein the rectangular base faces the respective gable portion rims (325, 335). However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding to claim 10: Elfering et al. in view of Kong et al and Pare et al. disclose a battery pack as described above. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose at least one of the at least three resilient members comprises one or more cavities. However, Kong et al. disclose a battery box (par. 2). The battery box comprises a battery pack (6) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), a lower cover (1), and a upper cover (2) (par. 26, fig. 1, 2). The battery pack (6) is suspended by elastic structures (5) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 29, fig. 2). The elastic structure (5) includes a sliding cylinder (13) and a sliding rod (14). The sliding rod (14) is slidably mounted on one side of the sliding cylinder (13) (par. 29, fig. 4) (the sliding cylinder (13) has a cavity to accommodate the sliding rod (14)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the elastic structure (5) (including a cavity in the sliding cylinder (13)) of Kong et al. to suspend the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach the elastic structures (5) provides more comprehensive shock absorption around the battery and makes it less prone to damage (par. 15).
Regarding to claim 13: Elfering et al. in view of Kong et al. and Pare et al. disclose a battery pack as described above. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose the first gable and the second gable are attached to the central housing by releasable fastening members. However, Kong et al. disclose a battery box (par. 2). The battery box comprises a battery pack (6) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), a lower cover (1) (equivalent to the first gable), and a upper cover (2) (equivalent to the second gable) (par. 26, fig. 1, 2). The upper cover (2) and the lower cover (1) are fixed by bolts (8) and nuts (9) (equivalent to releasable fastening members) (par. 27, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the bolts (8) and the nuts (9) of Kong et al. to fasten the top portion and the floor to the side walls of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach using bolts and nuts can quickly disassemble the battery box and make maintenance and installation easy (par. 27).
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of He (CN 107768575 A), Pare et al. (US 20190393461 A), and Kong et al. (CN 111244349 A).
Regarding to claim 1: Elfering et al. disclose a battery pack and a method of assembling a battery pack (abstract). The battery pack is operable to supply discharge current to at least one of a power tool (par. 15). The battery pack (100) comprising:
a main housing (108) including a bottom portion (112) and a top portion (116) (equivalent to a second gable) (par. 135, fig. 16), wherein the bottom portion (112) comprises side walls (128) (equivalent to a central housing) and a floor (120) (equivalent to a first gable) (par. 135, 136, fig. 17, 20I) (see fig. above), the floor (112) being arranged opposite to the top portion (116) (fig. 20I) and facing in an insertion direction of the battery (fig. 46A) (see fig. above), wherein the floor (120) and the top portion (116) mate with the side walls (128) along respective gable rims (see fig. above), thereby defining a volume delimited by the floor (120) and the top portion (116) and the side walls (128) (fig. 46A),
the battery pack (100) further comprising a battery cell pack (see fig. above) comprising a plurality of elongated battery cells (10) (par. 135, fig. 16) extending in an elongation direction transverse to the insertion direction (fig. 16, see fig. above),
Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose the battery cell pack is arranged suspended in the volume by at least three resilient members, and each resilient member among the at least three resilient members extends in a direction diagonally away from a mass center of the battery cell pack, towards a supporting location on one of the respective gable portion rims. However, He discloses a battery housing structure (pg. 1). The battery housing structure comprises a battery housing (100), a battery module (200) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), tension elastic members (430) (par. 31, fig. 1). The battery module (200) is suspended by tension elastic members (430) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 30, 31, fig. 1). Each tension elastic member (430) extends in a direction diagonally away from a mass center of the battery module (200) (fig. 1) towards a fixing block (410, 420) (equivalent to a supporting location) on a peripheral edge (equivalent to a rim) (par. 30, 31, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the battery house structure (suspending the battery cell pack diagonally) of He to suspend the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because He teaches the battery housing structure can buffer the battery module and protect the battery from damage (par. 7).
Elfering et al. and He fail to explicitly disclose the at least three resilient members extends in a direction transverse to the elongation direction. However, Pare et al. disclose a battery, a battery container, and a battery pack (abstract). The battery container (14) comprises resiliently-deformable protruding rib members (25) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 107, fig. 2A, 2B). The thickness of the resiliently-deformable protruding rib members (25) extends uniformly radially outwardly from cylindrical periphery (28) (equivalent to extending in a direction transverse to the elongation direction of the battery cell) (par. 107, fig. 2A). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the radial direction (transversal direction) of the cylindrical battery cell of Pare et al. as the suspension direction of the tension elastic members (430) of He which is already incorporated in the battery pack of Elfering et al. because Pare et al. teach that this direction (radial direction) can damp lateral acceleration force and prevents batteries from internal structural failure, electrical short, and explosion (par. 27).
Elfering et al., He, and Pare et al. fail to explicitly disclose at least three resilient members are non-fixedly supported on the respective gable rims. However, Kong et al. disclose a battery box (par. 2). The battery box comprises a battery pack (6) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), a lower cover (1), and a upper cover (2) (par. 26, fig. 1, 2). the battery pack (6) is suspended by elastic structures (5) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 29, fig. 2). The elastic structure (5) comprises a connecting rod (11). The connecting rod (11) is movably (equivalent to non-fixedly) mounted on a mounting base (10) (par. 29) . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the movable connecting rod (11) of Kong et al. on the respective gable rims of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach the movable connecting rod (11) provides more comprehensive shock absorption around the battery and makes it less prone to damage (par. 15).
Regarding to claim 2: Elfering et al. in view of He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. disclose a battery pack as described above. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose the elongated battery cells extend between a first supporting planar structure and a second supporting planar structure, wherein the at least three resilient members are attached to the first and second supporting planar structures. However, He discloses a battery housing structure (pg. 1). The battery housing structure comprises a battery module (200) (equivalent to a battery cell pack) (par. 31, fig. 1). (The front planar structure of the battery module is equivalent to a first supporting planar structure. The back planar structure of the battery module is equivalent to a second supporting planar structure (see fig. below). Thus, the battery module (200) is between the first and the second supporting planar structures). The tension elastic members (430) (equivalent to resilient members) are buckled to the battery module (equivalent to attached to the first and second supporting planar structures) (par. 31, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the planar structures of He into the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because He teaches the battery housing structure can prevent the battery module from colliding and protect the battery from damage (par. 7, 34).
Regarding to claim 3: Elfering et al. in view of He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. disclose a battery pack as described above. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose the first and second supporting planar structures extend in respective planes, wherein the at least three resilient members extend between the respective planes. However, He discloses a battery housing structure (pg. 1). The battery housing structure comprises a battery module (200) (equivalent to a battery cell pack) (par. 31, fig. 1). (The front planar structure of the battery module is equivalent to a first supporting planar structure. The back planar structure of the battery module is equivalent to a second supporting planar structure (see fig. above)). The tension elastic members (430) extend between the respective planes (fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the tension elastic members (430) between the planar structures of He into the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because He teaches the battery housing structure can prevent the battery module from colliding, buffer the battery module, and protect the battery from damage (par. 7, 34).
Regarding to claim 7: Elfering et al. disclose the respective rims are rectangular or rounded rectangular in shape (fig. 20I), wherein the side walls (128) has eight corners (fig. 20I). Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose each corner of the eight corners is associated with a respective one of the at least three resilient member. However, He discloses a battery housing structure (pg. 1). The battery housing structure comprises a battery housing (100), a battery module (200) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), tension elastic members (430), and fixing blocks (410, 420) (par. 31, fig. 1). The battery module (200) is suspended from the respective fixing block (410, 420) by the tension elastic member (430) (par. 30, 31, fig. 1) (equivalent to each corner of the eight corners is associated with a respective one of the at least three resilient member as the fixing block is associated to two corners of the battery housing (100)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the battery house structure (the tension elastic members associated with each corner of the battery house) of He to suspend the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because He teaches the battery housing structure can buffer the battery module and protect the battery from damage (par. 7).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of He (CN 107768575 A), Pare et al. (US 20190393461 A), and Kong et al. (CN 111244349 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Pellenc et al. (US 20190267585 A1).
Regarding to claim 5: Elfering et al. in view of He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. disclose a battery pack as described above in paragraph 4. Elfering et al., He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. fail to explicitly disclose the volume extends in fluid connection to all sides of the battery cell pack. However, Pellenc et al. disclose a portable battery device (abstract). The portable battery device (1) comprises a casing (2) and a battery unit (3) (equivalent to the battery cell pack) (par. 38, par. 6, 7). The casing (2) has perforated wall portions (6) comprising structures (6′) to promote the circulation of passing air (equivalent to fluid) (par. 46, 66). The structures (6′) are on all sides of the casing (2) (fig. 6, 7) (equivalent to fluid connection to all sides of the battery cell pack). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add air (fluid) connection of Pellenc et al. on all side of the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because Pellenc et al. teaches the circulation of air accelerates the cooling of the battery elements (par. 66).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of He (CN 107768575 A), Pare et al. (US 20190393461 A), and Kong et al. (CN 111244349 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hamazaki (JP 2000260401 A).
Regarding to claim 11: Elfering et al. in view of He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. disclose a battery pack as described above in paragraph 4. Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose at least one of the at least three resilient members is associated with a Shore durometer value, or Shore hardness, between 60-100 measured with durometer type A according to DIN ISO 7619-1. However, He discloses a battery housing structure (pg. 1). The battery housing structure comprises tension elastic elements (430) and limiting and fixing plates (310, 320, 330, 340) (par. 31, fig. 1). The tension elastic elements (430) are springs and the limiting and fixing plates (310, 320, 330, 340) are elastic soft rubber plate (par. 32). He further discloses both the elastic soft rubber and the tension elastic elements can limit the range of movement of the battery and both have buffering effect to protects the battery from damage (par. 34). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute springs with elastic rubbers because it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent elastic parts to buffer collision impact as shown by He. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Furthermore, Hamazaki discloses a battery pack (par. 1) The power pack comprises silicone rubber (3) around batteries (1) (par. 17, fig. 1). Hamazaki further recognizes if Shore hardness of the silicon rubber is 70 or more, the shape of the silicone rubber can be stabilized. If the Shore hardness is set to 95 or less, the elasticity of the silicone rubber will improve vibration resistance and impact resistance (par. 14). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention can adjust the Shore hardness of the silicon rubber to yield more or less elasticity of the silicone rubber for vibration and impact protection. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of He (CN 107768575 A), Pare et al. (US 20190393461 A), and Kong et al. (CN 111244349 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ro Kamp et al. (US 20100221594 A1).
Regarding to claim 12: Elfering et al. in view of He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. disclose a battery pack as described above in paragraph 4. Elfering et al., He, and Pare et al. and Kong et al. fail to explicitly disclose the battery having a weight between 2500g and 5500g. However, Ro Kamp et al. disclose a hand-held electric device has a device housing with a battery pack compartment (abstract). Ro Kamp et al. further recognize when it is necessary to provide greater voltage and greater power, the battery packs requires more battery cells which can increase the weight of the battery pack (par. 3, 30). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention can adjust the weight of the battery cells (10) of Elfering et al. to yield a desired voltage for a power tool. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of He (CN 107768575 A), Pare et al. (US 20190393461 A), and Kong et al. (CN 111244349 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Martinsson et al. (US 20110308831).
Regarding to claim 14: Elfering et al. in view of He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. disclose a battery pack as described above in paragraph 4. Elfering et al., He, Pare et al., and Kong et al. fail to explicitly disclose the battery adapted to be inserted into a through-hole battery compartment in a power tool. However, Martinsson et al. disclose a battery pack for powering a battery powered tool (abstract). The battery pack (320) is placed in a through aperture (310) (equivalent to a through-hole battery compartment) to power the corresponding power tool (par. 39, fig. 3A, 3B). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the through aperture (310) of Martinsson et al. to place the battery pack (100) of Elfering et al. because Martinsson et al. teach that the operating life of the powered tools and their batteries can be increased and the overall performance can be improved (par. 5).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfering et al. (US 20180366697 A1) in view of He (CN 107768575 A), Chellew (US 20140154532), and Kong et al. (CN 111244349 A).
Regarding to claim 15: Elfering et al. disclose a battery pack and a method of assembling a battery pack (abstract). The battery pack (100) comprising:
a main housing (108) including a bottom portion (112) and a top portion (116) (equivalent to a second gable) (par. 135, fig. 16), wherein the bottom portion (112) comprises side walls (128) (equivalent to a central housing) and a floor (120) (equivalent to a first gable) (par. 135, 136, fig. 17, 20I) (see fig. above), the floor (112) being arranged opposite to the top portion (116) (fig. 20I) and facing in an insertion direction of the battery (fig. 46A) (see fig. above), wherein the floor (120) and the top portion (116) mate with the side walls (128) along respective gable rims (see fig. above), thereby defining a volume delimited by the floor (120) and the top portion (116) and the side walls (128) (fig. 46A), wherein each of the top portion (116) and the floor (120) defines a respective top portion and floor volume.
Elfering et al. fail to explicitly disclose a battery cell pack arranged suspended in the volume by at least three resilient members, wherein the at least three resilient members extend in a direction diagonally away from a mass center of the battery cell pack towards a supporting location on one of the respective gable portion rims. However, He discloses a battery housing structure (pg. 1). The battery housing structure comprises a battery housing (100), a battery module (200) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), tension elastic members (430) (par. 31, fig. 1). The battery module (200) is suspended by tension elastic members (430) (equivalent to at least three resilient members) (par. 30, 31, fig. 1). Each tension elastic member (430) extends in a direction diagonally away from a mass center of the battery module (200) (fig. 1) towards a fixing block (410, 420) (equivalent to a supporting location) on a peripheral edge (equivalent to a rim) (par. 30, 31, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the battery house structure (suspending the battery cell pack diagonally) of He to suspend the battery cell pack of Elfering et al. because He teaches the battery housing structure can buffer the battery module and protect the battery from damage (par. 7).
Elfering et al. and He fail to explicitly disclose the central housing is the same for each battery type in the plurality of battery types, and the first and/or second gable volume differs between a first battery type and a second battery type in the plurality of battery types. However, Chellew discloses battery cell carriers (abstract). The cell carrier (10) can accommodate different battery types (par. 53, 58, fig. 1, 2). Different volumes of lower bodies (17b) (equivalent to different first gable volumes) of battery packs (17) are used to accommodate the different battery types (par. 78, 82, fig. 9B, 9C,12, 13). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the different volumes of the lower bodies (17b) of Chellew as the volumes of the floor (120) of Elfering et al. because Chellew teaches different volumes can accommodate different rows of batter cells for different configuration applications (par. 69).
Elfering et al., He, and Chellew fail to explicitly disclose at least three resilient members are non-fixedly supported on the respective gable rims. However, Kong et al. disclose a battery box (par. 2). The battery box comprises a battery pack (6) (equivalent to a battery cell pack), a lower cover (1), and a upper cover (2) (par. 26, fig. 1, 2). the battery pack (6) is suspended by elastic structures (5) (equivalent to resilient members) (par. 29, fig. 2). The elastic structure (5) comprises a connecting rod (11). The connecting rod (11) is movably (equivalent to non-fixedly) mounted on a mounting base (10) (par. 29) . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the movable connecting rod (11) of Kong et al. on the peripheral edge (equivalent to the rim) of He which is already incorporated in the battery pack of Elfering et al. because Kong et al. teach the movable connecting rod (11) provides more comprehensive shock absorption around the battery and makes it less prone to damage (par. 15).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
The elastic member in Kong is only flexible in between 2 endpoints and is thus decidedly fixed at the location of said endpoints, not non-fixedly supported to the cover.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Examiner interprets “fixed” as “immobile” as defined by Merriam-Webster dictionary. Since the connecting rod (11) is rotatable (movable), the limitation of the instant claim is met.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717