DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
1. The proposed examiner’s amendment of rolling up the allowable subject matter of claim 5 could not be timely agreed upon. See interview summary for more details.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. Amendments filed 8/26/2026 have been entered, wherein claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 25-27, 31, 33 and 35-36 are pending. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 25-27, 31, 33 and 35-36 have been examined herein. The previous claim objections have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. The previous 35 USC 112(a) rejections have been withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s arguments. The previous 35 USC 112(f) interpretations have been maintained and updated below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims, 1, 7, 8, 19, 23, 26, 31; “control unit” … generate a control signal, to adjust a normal load, is arranged to control the displacement, arranged to control, arrange to receive, arranged to generate, arranged to perform, arranged to determine. Additionally, proper corresponding structure for the hardware component is provided in the last two pages of the specification. Proper corresponding structure for the sequence of steps of the computer implemented 112(f) limitation is provided throughout the specification regarding the specific performed function.
Claim 33, “a central control unit” … “arranged to control a floor grinding operation”. Additionally, proper corresponding structure for the hardware component is provided in the last two pages of the specification and on page 24 of the specification. Proper corresponding structure for the sequence of steps of the computer implemented 112(f) limitation is provided on page 24 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 11, 14, 19, 25, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real.
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a remotely or autonomously operated (fig. 18, remote transmitter 200) concrete surface processing machine (fig. 18) for processing a concrete surface (page 1 of the attached translation, second paragraph), the machine comprising a control unit (fig. 18, control unit 303) and at least two tool carriers (fig. 18, carriers 5 and 5a) arranged to rotate about respective tool carrier axes (see annotated fig. 18 below, wherein the arrows of fig. 18 indicate the rotation direction of each respective carrier about the respective axis),
each tool carrier axis being independently tiltable in one or two dimensions with respect to a base plane of the machine (via respective swing movement mechanisms 50 and 60, fig. 18) to generate locomotion by the machine relative to the surface (figs. 7-9g),
wherein at least one of the tool carriers is arranged to generate a variable force acting on the machine (page 11 of the attached translation, last three paragraphs; figs. 7-9g), relative to the concrete surface (figs. 7-9g), in response to a control signal generated by the control unit (This element is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as the corresponding structure and equivalents thereof, as detailed above. Control unit 303 generates a correction signal and controls the x pivoting means 50,50a and the y pivoting means 60,60a (page 23 of the attached translation, sixth paragraph from bottom), further wherein:
the control unit is arranged to control a tilt angle and a tilt magnitude of each tool carrier axis by the control signal (Control unit 303 generates a correction signal and controls the x pivoting means 50,50a and the y pivoting means 60,60a (page 23 of the attached translation, sixth paragraph from bottom and page 11 of the attached translation, first paragraph);
the control signal is configured to provide locomotion by the machine relative to the surface (fig. 8a-9g),
the control unit uses one or more sensors to detect a current motion behavior by the machine (page 18 of the attached translation, last two paragraphs) and then control at least one title angle, tilt magnitude, or combination thereof, to obtain a desired motion by the machine (page 18 of the attached translation, last two paragraphs, via control of servomotors 52, 62), the one or more sensors including at least one inertial measurement unit (IMU), electronic compass, radar transceiver, global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, or indoor location system transceiver (Watanabe teaches the direction detection 302 includes a compass, gyro compass, a magnetic direction sensor or a compass with optical fibers, which is interpreted as an electronic compass (last two paragraphs on page 18 and first two paragraphs on page 19 of the attached translation)).
Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the at least two tool carriers are arranged to be driven by respective electric machines.
However, Del Real teaches a trowel for finishing a concrete surface (abs), wherein the trowel includes two tool carriers (fig. 1), wherein the tool carriers are arranged to be driven by respective electric machines (AC motors 14,15 of fig. 1, [0048]), and a set of actuators 17 configured for tilting the rotor assemblies including the respective electric machines [0046, fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe to incorporate the teachings of Del Real to provide wherein the tool carriers are arranged to be driven by respective electric machines, wherein the respective electric machines tilt with the respective carrier axis. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate additional driving means to provide wherein the respective carrier is driven by a respective electric motor, wherein the respective electric motor is configured such that the respective electric motor tilts with the respective carrier axis. Doing so would provide additional control parameters including different speeds of each tool, thereby providing increased utility by providing increased maneuverability. Additionally, doing so can promote longevity of the central motor by decreasing workload of the central motor.
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches
wherein respective locomotion forces generated by at least two corresponding tool carriers are configured to generate a desired torque about a mass center of the machine, a desired speed in a forward direction by the machine, or a combination thereof (fig. 9a-9g of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein at least one tool carrier axis is arranged tiltable by a servomechanism connected to an excentre based actuator (fig. 18 of Watanabe, the carrier is tiltable by the servomotor 52a connected to excentre based actuator structures 56a and 54a), at least one tool carrier axis is supported by a cup spring, at least one tool carrier comprises an electric motor and/or a transmission arranged tiltable with respect to the base plane, or a combination thereof (the prior art is not required to teach the additional limitations because the language recites the term “or”).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein at least one of the tool carriers is configured displaceable along a respective tool carrier axis by the control unit to adjust a normal load associated with the respective tool carrier, wherein the control unit is arranged to control the displacement of the tool carrier by the control signal to provide locomotion by the machine relative to the surface (third paragraph on page 10 of the attached translation and first paragraph on page 8 of the attached translation of Watanabe; figs. 8a-9g of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein a first tool carrier is arranged to rotate with a rotational velocity in a different rotation direction compared to a second tool carrier (fig. 18, showing the two different rotation directions which teaches a first tool carrier arranged to rotate with a velocity in a different rotation direction compared to a second tool carrier).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein the tool carriers are arranged to be driven by a central electric machine or a central combustion engine (fig. 18, combustion drive machine 3) comprising a belt, chain, or gear drive arrangement (fig. 18, belts 7 and 7a).
Regarding claim 19, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein the control unit is arranged to receive the control signal at least in part from an external remote control device (fig. 18 of Watanabe, external remote 200), or
wherein the control unit is arranged to generate the control signal at least in part as an autonomous drive control signal, or wherein the machine is arranged to receive the control signal at least in part from an external system for autonomous drive (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”).
Regarding claim 25, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein the at least two tool carriers are arranged for holding a tool configured for any of: smoothing the concrete surface (fig. 18 of Watanabe), troweling the concrete surface (fig. 18 of Watanabe), grinding the concrete surface (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”), polishing the concrete surface (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”), grinding a wooden surface (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”), polishing a floor (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”), or transporting the machine across the concrete surface, wooden surface or floor with minimum damage (fig. 18 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 26, Watanabe teaches a remotely or autonomously operated (fig. 18, remote transmitter 200) concrete surface processing machine (fig. 18) for processing a concrete surface (page 1 of the attached translation, second paragraph), the machine comprising a control unit (fig. 18, control unit 303) and at least two tool carriers (fig. 18, carriers 5 and 5a) arranged to rotate about respective tool carrier axes (see annotated fig. 18 below, wherein the arrows of fig. 18 indicate the rotation direction of each respective carrier about the respective axis),
each tool carrier axis being independently tiltable in one or two dimensions with respect to a base plane of the machine (via respective swing movement mechanisms 50 and 60, fig. 18) to generate locomotion by the machine relative to the surface (figs. 7-9g),
wherein at least one of the tool carriers is arranged to generate a variable force acting on the machine (page 11 of the attached translation, last three paragraphs; figs. 7-9g), relative to the concrete surface (figs. 7-9g), in response to a control signal generated by the control unit (This element is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as the corresponding structure and equivalents thereof, as detailed above. Control unit 303 generates a correction signal and controls the x pivoting means 50,50a and the y pivoting means 60,60a (page 23 of the attached translation, sixth paragraph from bottom), further wherein:
the control unit is arranged to control each tool carrier axis by the control signal (Control unit 303 generates a correction signal and controls the x pivoting means 50,50a and the y pivoting means 60,60a (page 23 of the attached translation, sixth paragraph from bottom and page 11 of the attached translation, first paragraph);
the control signal is configured to provide locomotion by the machine relative to the surface (fig. 8a-9g),
the at least two tool carriers comprise a first tool carrier holding a first tool and a second tool carrier holding a second tool (Fig. 18, wherein each tool carrier includes a separate and different set of blades 12) different from the first tool (The first set of blades are a different physical item than the second set of blades. Therefore, the second tool is different from the first tool), the first tool or the second tool including at least one diamond tool, abrasive tool, course grit tool, fine grit tool, leveling tool, polishing tool, grinding tool, grinding head (the prior art is not required to teach these limitations because the language recites the term “or”), troweling tool (fig. 18, troweling blades 12), troweling blade (fig. 18, troweling blades 12), or soft tool head (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”).
Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the at least two tool carriers are arranged to be driven by respective electric machines.
However, Del Real teaches a trowel for finishing a concrete surface (abs), wherein the trowel includes two tool carriers (fig. 1), wherein the tool carriers are arranged to be driven by respective electric machines (AC motors 14,15 of fig. 1, [0048]), and a set of actuators 17 configured for tilting the rotor assemblies including the respective electric machines [0046, fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe to incorporate the teachings of Del Real to provide wherein the tool carriers are arranged to be driven by respective electric machines, wherein the respective electric machines tilt with the respective carrier axis. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate additional driving means to provide wherein the respective carrier is driven by a respective electric motor, wherein the respective electric motor is configured such that the respective electric motor tilts with the respective carrier axis. Doing so would provide additional control parameters including different speeds of each tool, thereby providing increased utility by providing increased maneuverability. Additionally, doing so can promote longevity of the central motor by decreasing workload of the central motor.
Regarding claim 27, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 26. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein one or more of the tool carriers hold respective troweling tools, wherein each troweling tool comprises a carrier structure arranged to carry trowel blades (fig. 18 of Watanabe) and
wherein the carrier structure and the trowel blades are symmetric (fig. 18 of Watanabe) such that the carrier structure can be rotated in both clock-wise and counter-clockwise directions (the carrier structures are capable of being rotated in both clock-wise and counter-clockwise directions).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (CN 110725521), hereinafter Hu.
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the at least two tool carriers comprises four tool carriers arranged in a square configuration about a machine centroid.
However, Hu teaches a concrete robot, wherein the concrete robot includes four carriers arranged in a square configuration (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Hu to provide wherein the machine includes four carriers arranged in a square configuration about a machine centroid. Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify the arrangement of Watanabe to include four carriers arranged in a square configuration. Doing so would provide increased balance and stability. Additionally, doing so would promote increased surface finish by providing more tool carriers to process the surface.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110181349), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the tool carriers is arranged to rotate with a variable rotational velocity, wherein the control unit is arranged to control the variable rotational velocity of the respective tool carrier by the control signal to provide locomotion by the machine relative to the surface, and wherein the variable rotational velocity is configured as a variable electric motor axle speed and/or a variable transmission gear ratio.
However, Zhang teaches a ground leveling device wherein at least one of the tool carriers is arranged to rotate with a variable rotational velocity (fig. 16-19, last paragraph on page 15 of the attached translation), controlling the variable rotational velocity of the tool carrier by the control signal to provide locomotion by the machine relative to the surface (fig. 16-19 wherein the arrow shows the resulting locomotion direction), and wherein the variable rotational velocity is configured as a variable electric motor axle speed (fig. 6, axle speed of speed reducer 304 is interpreted as the variable electric motor axle speed) and/or a variable transmission gear ratio (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “and/or”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to provide wherein at least one of the tool carriers is arranged to rotate with a variable rotational velocity, wherein the control unit is arranged to control the variable rotational velocity of the respective tool carrier by the control signal to provide locomotion by the machine relative to the surface, and wherein the variable rotational velocity is configured as a variable electric motor axle speed and/or a variable transmission gear ratio. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the variable rotational velocity teachings of Zhang into the device of Watanabe, as modified, wherein the control unit of Watanabe is arranged to control the variable rotational velocity in order to control the direction of movement, wherein the electric motors (of Watanabe, as modified) are configured as variable electric motor axles speeds (as taught by Zhang) in order to allow variable rotational velocity of the carriers. Doing so would provide an additional degree of control to navigate the machine over the surface to be processed which promotes increased handling of the machine. Additionally, doing so promotes increased surface finishing by allowing the operator more customized settings for processing a specific surface.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hiroshi et al. (JP 2020060021), hereinafter Hiroshi.
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein a total weight of the machine is less than 30kg_or
wherein the machine footprint is comprised in a square of dimensions 100cm by 100cm.
However, Hiroshi teaches an automatic leveling work robot with tool carriers (fig. 1), wherein the robot has excellent portability, is lightweight and has a small size (third paragraph on page 3 of the attached translation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the device of Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Hiroshi to provide wherein the machine of Watanabe, as modified, has excellent portability, is lightweight and has a small size. Doing so would allow the machine to process soft concrete after it is placed (page 3 of the attached translation, third paragraph of Hiroshi). Additionally, doing so would promote decreased burden on the operator during transporting of the machine.
As such, Watanabe, as modified, and the instant claimed invention both provide a concrete surface processing machine wherein the only difference between Watanabe, as modified, and the instant claimed invention is a recitation of relative dimensions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Watanabe, as modified, to include wherein a total weight of the machine is less than 30kg_and wherein the machine footprint is comprised in a square of dimensions 100cm by 100cm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Watanabe, as modified, would not operate differently with the claimed weight and machine footprint since the concrete surface processing machine would continue to be capable of processing the concrete surface. Further, it appears the applicant places no criticality on the claimed range, indicating the discussed techniques are also applicable with advantage in larger floor grinders and power trowels (first paragraph on page 11 of the instant specification).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ebrahimi et al. (US PGPUB 20200225673), hereinafter Ebrahimi.
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach comprising one or more rechargeable batteries configured to power one or more electric machines on the machine, and
comprising an inductive charging circuit arranged to interface with an external power source and to recharge the one or more rechargeable batteries.
However, Del Real additionally teaches the power source may be a battery and a battery charger configured to interface with an external power source (fig. 6). Overall, Del Real teaches comprising one or more rechargeable batteries configured to power one or more electric machines on the machine [0047 and fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Del Real to provide wherein the device includes one or more rechargeable batteries configured to power one or more electric machines on the machine. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the power supply of Del Real, which includes a battery and a battery charger configured to interface with an external power source. Doing so would promote increased mobility by allowing the machine to operate off of battery power and not having to be plugged in. Additionally, doing so would allow the machine to operate at locations with no external power source.
Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach
comprising an inductive charging circuit arranged to interface with an external power source and to recharge the one or more rechargeable batteries.
However, Ebrahimi teaches an obstacle recognition method for autonomous robots, wherein the robot comprises an over-the-air inductive charging mechanism [0649].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Ebrahimi to provide wherein the battery charger of Watanabe, as modified, is an over the air inductive charging mechanism. Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify the battery charger of Watanabe, as modified, to be an inductive battery charger. Doing so would promote time savings by preventing the operator from having to plug in the machine to charge. Additionally, doing so would promote increased convenience for the operator.
In summary, Watanabe, as modified, teaches comprising an inductive charging circuit (as incorporated from Ebrahimi) arranged to interface with an external power source and to recharge the one or more rechargeable batteries (as incorporated from Del Real).
Claims 23, 31 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real, as applied to claims 1 and 26 above, and further in view of Schwartz (WO 2020102458).
Regarding claim 23, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach
comprising a cover body with one or more proximity sensors and/or impact sensors configured to detect when the cover body approaches and/or comes into contact with an obstacle, the machine further comprising the control unit arranged to perform a situation avoidance maneuver in response to the one or more sensors detecting proximity and/or contact with the obstacle, or
comprising an emergency stop control input device arranged accessible on an exterior surface of the machine when the machine is in use.
However, Schwartz teaches an autonomous power trowel which includes an inspection camera 90 (fig. 4) and an array of cameras 130,132 (fig. 4), wherein the camera 90 allows the controller to detect surface blemishes and take corrective action [0044], and wherein the array of cameras 130,132 are connected to the controller to allow the power trowel to stay within an internal boundary [0048]. The autonomous power trowel also includes a plurality of sensors 88 for sensing external boundaries 94 and any obstacles 92, wherein the controller is configured to avoid the obstacles [0035]. Overall, Schwartz teaches comprising a cover body (fig. 4) with one or more proximity sensors and/or impact sensors (cameras 90, 130, 132 and sensors 88) configured to detect when the cover body approaches and/or comes into contact with an obstacle, the machine further comprising the control unit arranged to perform a situation avoidance maneuver in response to the one or more sensors detecting proximity and/or contact with the obstacle [0035], or
comprising an emergency stop control input device arranged accessible on an exterior surface of the machine when the machine is in use (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the cameras 90, 130 and 132 and sensors 88 of Schwartz, wherein the controller is configured to detect an obstacle and avoid the obstacle. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the cameras and sensors of Schwartz into the machine of Watanabe, wherein the control unit of Watanabe is configured to detect obstacles and avoid obstacles. Doing so would prevent damage to the machine. Additionally, doing so would promote increased surface finish of the concrete due to the incorporated inspection systems.
Regarding claim 31, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 26. Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the machine comprises one or more sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the concrete surface, and further wherein either:
the one or more sensors comprise any of: a radar sensor, a vision-based sensor, and/or a lidar sensor configured to detect any of: scratch marks, uneven surface segments, discoloration, or cracking or other damage in the concrete surface
the one or more sensors comprise a surface temperature sensor and/or a moisture sensor, where the control unit is arranged to determine a degree of concrete maturity associated with a segment of the concrete surface; or
the one or more sensors comprises any of the radar sensor, the vision-based sensor, the lidar sensor, the surface temperature sensor, and/or the moisture sensor.
However, Schwartz teaches an autonomous power trowel which includes an inspection camera 90 (fig. 4) and an array of cameras 130,132 (fig. 4), wherein the camera 90 allows the controller to detect surface blemishes and take corrective action [0044], and wherein the array of cameras 130,132 are connected to the controller to allow the power trowel to stay within an internal boundary [0048]. The autonomous power trowel also includes a plurality of sensors 88 for sensing external boundaries 94 and any obstacles 92, wherein the controller is configured to avoid the obstacles [0035]. Overall, Schwartz teaches wherein the machine comprises one or more sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the concrete surface (cameras and sensors of Schwartz measuring physical boundary properties of the concrete surface), and
wherein the one or more sensors comprise any of: a radar sensor, a vision-based sensor (camera 90), and/or a lidar sensor configured to detect any of: scratch marks, uneven surface segments, discoloration, or cracking or other damage in the concrete surface (Schwartz teaches detecting surface blemishes and taking corrective action [0044]), or
wherein the one or more sensors comprise a surface temperature sensor and/or a moisture sensor, where the control unit is arranged to determine a degree of concrete maturity associated with a segment of the concrete surface (The prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”), or
the one or more sensors comprises any of the radar sensor, the vision-based sensor (camera 90), the lidar sensor, the surface temperature sensor, and/or the moisture sensor (the prior art is only required to teach a single sensor because the language recites the term and/or).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the cameras 90, 130 and 132 and sensors 88 of Schwartz, wherein the controller is configured to detect an obstacle and avoid the obstacle, wherein the controller is configured to detect a surface blemish and take corrective action, and wherein the controller is configured to remain within the designated boundaries. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the cameras and sensors of Schwartz into the machine of Watanabe, wherein the control unit of Watanabe is configured to detect obstacles and avoid obstacles, detect a surface blemish and take corrective action, and remain within the designated boundaries. Doing so would prevent damage to the machine. Additionally, doing so would promote increased surface finish of the concrete due to the incorporated inspection systems.
Regarding claim 35, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches a method for processing a concrete surface, the method comprising: configuring the machine according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1 for details).
Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach configuring two or more machines,
deploying the plurality of machines over the concrete surface, and processing the concrete surface by the plurality of machines.
However, Schwartz teaches an autonomous power trowel which includes an inspection camera 90 (fig. 4) and an array of cameras 130,132 (fig. 4), wherein the camera 90 allows the controller to detect surface blemishes and take corrective action [0044], and wherein the array of cameras 130,132 are connected to the controller to allow the power trowel to stay within an internal boundary [0048]. The autonomous power trowel also includes a plurality of sensors 88 for sensing external boundaries 94 and any obstacles 92, wherein the controller is configured to avoid the obstacles [0035]. Overall, Schwartz teaches
configuring two or more machines (fig. 8, plurality of machines 11),
deploying the plurality of machines over the concrete surface, and processing the concrete surface by the plurality of machines (fig. 8, plurality of machines 11, [0049]). Additionally, Schwartz teaches the power trowels are autonomous power trowels with cameras and inspection systems (fig. 4) to allow the controller to autonomously control the power trowels [0035].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Schwartz to provide configuring two or more machines,
deploying the plurality of machines over the concrete surface, and processing the concrete surface by the plurality of machines, wherein the plurality of power trowels are autonomously controlled via the respective controller. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide a plurality of the machines of Watanabe, as modified, to process a concrete surface, wherein the concrete surface is processed by the plurality of machines, wherein the plurality of machines are autonomously controlled by the respective controllers. Doing so would promote time savings by reducing the amount of surface each machine processes. Additionally, doing so would provide increased utility by allowing the system to process larger surface areas.
Regarding claim 36, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 35. Additionally, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein the processing comprises controlling the two or more machines by remote control (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”), or
autonomously controlling each of the two or more machines (see above rejection of claim 35, wherein Watanabe, as modified, teaches autonomously controlling each of the machines).
Claims 18 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schwartz (WO 2020102458) and Kessler et al. (US PGPUB 20200050215), hereinafter Kessler.
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit comprises a radio transceiver arranged to establish a communication link to at least one other machine.
However, Schwartz teaches an autonomous power trowel system which includes a plurality of concrete surface processing machines (fig. 8, machines 11).
Kessler teaches a method for controlling a plurality of robotic devices, wherein a central processing unit 2b (fig. 1) receives position information regarding each robotic system and then can determine control information. Specifically, the different machines 4a-4c may be designed to receive certain control information. Accordingly, control information output from the central processing unit 2b can be received by the respective machine and the respective machine may carry out the action [101-102]. The communication interface may be designed to be a mobile radio standard [0022].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Schwartz and Kessler to provide wherein the control unit comprises a radio transceiver arranged to establish a communication link to at least one other machine. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate a plurality of instances of concrete surface processing machines (as taught by Schwartz, wherein a plurality of the concrete surface processing machines of Watanabe, as modified, are provided), wherein the system includes a central control unit (as taught by Kessler) communicatively coupled to the plurality of machine controllers (as taught by Kessler) via mobile radio standard (as taught by Kessler), wherein the central control unit (of Kessler) is arranged to control a processing operation of the plurality of machines (as incorporated from Schwartz). Doing so would promote time savings by reducing the amount of surface each machine processes. Additionally, doing so would provide increased utility by allowing the system to process larger surface areas. Doing so would also promote increased convenience of the operator by providing the capability of controlling the plurality of devices from a single controller.
In summary, Watanabe, as modified, teaches wherein the control unit comprises a radio transceiver (each control unit of each machine receives instructions from a central controller via radio transmission) arranged to establish a communication link to at least one other machine (the central controller is connected to plurality of machines. Therefore, the control unit of one machine is connected to at least one other machine through the central controller).
Regarding claim 33, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1 wherein Watanabe in view of Del Real teaches the concrete surface processing machine according to claim 1).
Watanabe, as modified, does not explicitly teach a concrete surface processing system comprising a plurality of instances of the concrete surface processing machines, the system comprising a central control unit communicatively coupled to the plurality of machines and arranged to control a floor grinding operation over the concrete surface.
However, Schwartz teaches an autonomous power trowel system which includes a plurality of concrete surface processing machines (fig. 8, machines 11).
Kessler teaches a method for controlling a plurality of robotic devices, wherein a central processing unit 2b (fig. 1) receives position information regarding each robotic system and then can determine control information. Specifically, the different machines 4a-4c may be designed to receive certain control information. Accordingly, control information output from the central processing unit 2b can be received by the respective machine and the respective machine may carry out the action [101-102].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Watanabe, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Schwartz and Kessler to provide a concrete surface processing system comprising a plurality of instances of the concrete surface processing machines, the system comprising a central control unit communicatively coupled to the plurality of machines and arranged to control a floor grinding operation over the concrete surface. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate a plurality of instances of concrete surface processing machines (as taught by Schwartz, wherein a plurality of the concrete surface processing machines of Watanabe, as modified, are provided), wherein the system includes a central control unit (as taught by Kessler, wherein this term is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as indicated above) communicatively coupled to the plurality of machines (as taught by Kessler), wherein the central control unit (of Kessler) is arranged to control a processing operation of the plurality of machines (as incorporated from Schwartz). Doing so would promote time savings by reducing the amount of surface each machine processes. Additionally, doing so would provide increased utility by allowing the system to process larger surface areas. Doing so would also promote increased convenience of the operator by providing the capability of controlling the plurality of devices from a single controller.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe et al (DE 19542728), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Del Real et al (US PGPUB 20200263443), hereinafter Del Real, is the closest prior art to the claimed invention but fails to teach or make obvious in combination with the additionally cited prior art the features of the track, the first excentre wheel, the first servomechanism, the second excentre wheel and the second servomechanism as particularly claimed in combination with all other elements of claims 1 and 5.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 8/26/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claim 14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art fails to teach the amendments which now require a feedback system, different tool types and detailed structure of the tilting arrangement. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Watanabe was relied upon to teach
the control unit uses one or more sensors to detect a current motion behavior by the machine (page 18 of the attached translation, last two paragraphs) and then control at least one title angle, tilt magnitude, or combination thereof, to obtain a desired motion by the machine (page 18 of the attached translation, last two paragraphs, via control of servomotors 52, 62), the one or more sensors including at least one inertial measurement unit (IMU), electronic compass, radar transceiver, global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, or indoor location system transceiver (Watanabe teaches the direction detection 302 includes a compass, gyro compass, a magnetic direction sensor or a compass with optical fibers, which is interpreted as an electronic compass (last two paragraphs on page 18 and first two paragraphs on page 19 of the attached translation)).
Additionally, Watanabe was relied upon to teach
the at least two tool carriers comprise a first tool carrier holding a first tool and a second tool carrier holding a second tool (Fig. 18, wherein each tool carrier includes a separate and different set of blades 12) different from the first tool (The first set of blades are a different physical item than the second set of blades. Therefore, the second tool is different from the first tool), the first tool or the second tool including at least one diamond tool, abrasive tool, course grit tool, fine grit tool, leveling tool, polishing tool, grinding tool, grinding head (the prior art is not required to teach these limitations because the language recites the term “or”), troweling tool (fig. 18, troweling blades 12), troweling blade (fig. 18, troweling blades 12), or soft tool head (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the term “or”).
Overall, Watanabe was relied upon to teach the amended language of claims 1 and 26.
Claim 5 has been indicated as allowable above. See above for more details.
Applicant argues the remaining dependent claims are allowable by virtue of dependency. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Independent claims 1 and 26 have been rejected above. The dependent claims have been rejected accordingly. See above rejections for more details.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A GUMP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723