DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/15/2023, 09/05/2024, and 01/13/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasui (US 20120021260 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
A heat dissipation member comprising: (Heat transferring member 63 and heat sink 70 combine to form a heat dissipation member that meets all the limitations of claim 1. See below for comparison of Yasui figure 8 to instant figure 1)
a heat dispersion member including a first heat dispersion part and a second heat dispersion part; (base portion 61 functions as the first and second heat dispersion part, as it extends in opposite directions from rod-like metal member 60)
and a heat insulating member disposed on an outer surface of the heat dispersion member. (heat sink 70 comprising plate like portion 71 as well as heat dissipating fins 72 on its outer surface function as the heat insulating member, as the heat sink 70 is disposed on the heat transferring member 73 to form a structure analogous to that of the instant drawings. Rod-like metal member 60 can also be considered part of the insulating member, in a similar way that heat insulation member 130 extends down the shaft of the instant heat dissipating member.)
Regarding claim 2, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The heat dissipation member according to claim 1 wherein: the first heat dispersion part and the second heat dispersion part are integrally formed to be partially spaced apart from each other (See comparison of Yasui figure 8 to instant figure 1, the base portion 61 of Yasui functions as the first and second heat dispersion part, which are integrally formed and spaced from each other in the same way as that in the instant figure. )
Regarding claim 3, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The heat dissipation member according to claim 1 wherein: the first heat dispersion part and the second heat dispersion part are both bent and extended, such that the first heat dispersion part extends in an opposite direction relative to the second heat dispersion part. (As can be seen in Yasui figure 8, plate-like portion 71 is formed by bending rod-like metal member 60 such that it extends in opposite directions, forming a structure analogous to that shown in the instant figures. Additionally, resin member 64 is bent and extended to form base portion 61. Either of base portion 61 or plate-like portion 71 can be considered the first and second heat dispersion parts.)
Regarding claim 4, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The heat dissipation member according to claim 1, further comprising: a first depressed part formed in the first heat dispersion part, and a second depressed part formed in the second heat dispersion part. (By comparing Yasui figure 8 with instant figure 4, one can see that the space in between heat dissipating fins 72 in Yasui teaches a depressed part in each of the two heat dispersion parts. This would meet the limitations of claim 4.)
Regarding claim 5, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The heat dissipation member according to claim 4, further comprising: a cooling member formed in the first depressed part and the second depressed part. (“A fin cover 80 is disposed under the temperature regulating main body portion 50. Air blown by the fan 29 passes through space between the fin cover 80 and the heat sink 70, thereby taking heat from the heat dissipating fins 72. That is, the air serves as coolant.” Yasui [0080]. In this case, the heat dissipating fins 72, more specifically the fin covers 80, formed on the heat dispersion parts, would function as a cooling member, as it is used to cool the overall structure with the inclusion of a fan/airflow through the heat dissipating member. If applicant were to specify that the cooling member is specifically a cooling pad or something that actively cools without any outside influence, it is possible this would overcome the current rejection and require further search and consideration.)
Regarding claim 7, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
A battery pack comprising: a plurality of battery modules; (“For example, the battery module 202 of the present variation may be used such that multiple ones of the battery module 202 are aligned with their side surfaces facing each other and the heat dissipating fins of the heat sinks 73 extending in the same direction to obtain a battery pack,” Yasui [0104])
and a heat dissipation member located between adjacent battery modules of the plurality of battery modules, (“For example, the battery module 202 of the present variation may be used such that multiple ones of the battery module 202 are aligned with their side surfaces facing each other and the heat dissipating fins of the heat sinks 73 extending in the same direction to obtain a battery pack,” Yasui [0104]. Yasui figure 17 depicts two battery modules being combined to form a pack, and the heat dissipating members being between adjacent battery modules.)
wherein the heat dissipation member comprises; a heat dispersion member including a first heat dispersion part and a second heat dispersion part; (base portion 61 functions as the first and second heat dispersion part, as it extends in opposite directions from rod-like metal member 60)
a heat insulation member disposed on an outer surface of the heat dispersion member. (heat sink 70 comprising plate like portion 71 as well as heat dissipating fins 72 on its outer surface function as the heat insulating member, as the heat sink 70 is disposed on the heat transferring member 73 to form a structure analogous to that of the instant drawings.)
Regarding claim 8, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The battery pack according to claim 7 wherein:
the heat insulation member is disposed between the heat dispersion member and the battery module. (Yasui figure 17 depicts the heat insulation member comprising heat transferring member 63 and heat sink 70 being in contact with battery modules 203. In this case, if the base portion 61 is considered the dispersion member and the heat sink/plate like portion 71 is considered the insulation member, this limitation would be met.)
Regarding claim 9, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The battery pack according to claim 7 wherein:
the heat insulation member contacts the battery module. (“As schematically illustrated in FIG. 8, a heat transferring member 63 includes insertion portions 62 inserted between the side surfaces of the adjacent cells 100, and a base portion 61 facing the bottom surfaces (lower surfaces) of the cells 100.” Yasui [0091]. Figure 9 additionally depicts the heat insulation member—which comprises the heat transferring member, insertion portions, plate portions, being in contact with the outside of battery module 200. Additionally, the entire structure is considered the battery module, and thus the limitations of claim 9 are vague—by contacting cells or inner surfaces of the module, this limitation is considered to be met.)
Regarding claim 10, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The battery pack according to claim 7 wherein: the first heat dispersion part and the second heat dispersion part are integrally formed to be partially spaced apart from each other (See comparison of Yasui figure 8 to instant figure 1, the base portion 61 of Yasui functions as the first and second heat dispersion part, which are integrally formed and spaced from each other in the same way as that in the instant figure. )
Regarding claim 11, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The battery pack according to claim 7 wherein: the first heat dispersion part and the second heat dispersion part are both bent and extended, such that the first heat dispersion part extends in an opposite direction relative to the second heat dispersion part. (As can be seen in Yasui figure 8, plate-like portion 71 is formed by bending rod-like metal member 60 such that it extends in opposite directions, forming a structure analogous to that shown in the instant figures. Additionally, resin member 64 is bent and extended to form base portion 61. Either of base portion 61 or plate-like portion 71 can be considered the first and second heat dispersion parts.)
Regarding claim 13, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The battery pack according to claim 7, further comprising: a first depressed part formed in the first heat dispersion part, and a second depressed part formed in the second heat dispersion part. (By comparing Yasui figure 8 with instant figure 4, one can see that the space in between heat dissipating fins 72 in Yasui teaches a depressed part in each of the two heat dispersion parts. This would meet the limitations of claim 4.)
Regarding claim 14, Yasui teaches all of the following elements:
The battery pack according to claim 13, further comprising: a cooling member formed in the first depressed part and the second depressed part. (“A fin cover 80 is disposed under the temperature regulating main body portion 50. Air blown by the fan 29 passes through space between the fin cover 80 and the heat sink 70, thereby taking heat from the heat dissipating fins 72. That is, the air serves as coolant.” Yasui [0080]. In this case, the heat dissipating fins 72, more specifically the fin covers 80, formed on the heat dispersion parts, would function as a cooling member, as it is used to cool the overall structure with the inclusion of a fan/airflow through the heat dissipating member. If applicant were to specify that the cooling member is specifically a cooling pad or something that actively cools without any outside influence, it is possible this would overcome the current rejection and require further search and consideration.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20120021260 A1) in view of Kim (US 20120088135 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yasui teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Yasui is silent on the following elements of claim 6:
The heat dissipation member according to claim 1, further comprising: a first indented part formed in the first heat dispersion part; and a second indented part formed in the second heat dispersion part,
wherein the first indented part contacts the second indented part.
However, Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 6 that are not found in Yasui. Specifically, Kim teaches a groove in the heat dissipation member that forms an indent. If this groove were formed in the structure of Yasui, all of the limitations would be met, as the structure that forms the first and second heat dispersion parts of Yasui is connected in the rod-like metal member:
The heat dissipation member according to claim 1, further comprising: a first indented part formed in the first heat dispersion part; and a second indented part formed in the second heat dispersion part, wherein the first indented part contacts the second indented part. (Kim figure 11 depicts grooves formed in both sides of a heat dissipating member. While the indented parts of Kim are not explicitly in contact with one another, if identical grooves were formed in the rod-like metal portion 60 of Yasui, the indented parts would be in contact with each other as both the first and second heat dispersion members are formed from the rod-like metal portion 60, which is bent outwards in both directions to form the T-like structure.)
Kim and Yasui are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of heat dissipation members used in battery devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat dissipation member of Yasui to include grooves/indents in order to provide the ability to either add something into the extra space gained (for example, a temperature sensor, as taught in Kim), or to reduce the amount of material needed to form the member, thus lowering manufacturing costs and improving efficiency.
By meeting the limitations of claim 6, the limitations of claim 12 would be met as well, without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 12, Yasui teaches all of the elements of claim 7, as shown above. Yasui is silent on the following elements of claim 12:
The battery pack according to claim 7, further comprising:
a first indented part formed in the first heat dispersion part;
and a second indented part formed in the second heat dispersion part, wherein the first indented part contacts the second indented part
However, Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 6 that are not found in Yasui. Specifically, Kim teaches a groove in the heat dissipation member that forms an indent. If this groove were formed in the structure of Yasui, all of the limitations would be met, as the structure that forms the first and second heat dispersion parts of Yasui is connected in the rod-like metal member:
The battery pack according to claim 7, further comprising: a first indented part formed in the first heat dispersion part; and a second indented part formed in the second heat dispersion part, wherein the first indented part contacts the second indented part (Kim figure 11 depicts grooves formed in both sides of a heat dissipating member. While the indented parts of Kim are not explicitly in contact with one another, if identical grooves were formed in the rod-like metal portion 60 of Yasui, the indented parts would be in contact with each other as both the first and second heat dispersion members are formed from the rod-like metal portion 60, which is bent outwards in both directions to form the T-like structure.)
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20120021260 A1) in view of Seo (US 20190267682 A1)
Regarding claims 15-18—If the heat dissipation member of Yasui were used to separate two or more modules to form a pack in the same manner taught by Seo, it would meet all of the limitations of the remaining claims. Specifically, by incorporating the heat dissipating member of Yasui including all of the limitations of 1 and/or 7, and, additionally including a cooling member, resin layer, and heat sink (shown below) into the battery pack of Seo, the modified invention would comprise a cooling member contacting an upper inner surface of the frame, a thermal conductive resin layer between the lower part of the module and the frame, and a heat sink disposed between the resin layer and the bottom part of the pack frame. Thus, by using the heat dissipating member of Yasui in the battery pack of Seo, all of the additional limitations of claims 15-18 would be met.
Regarding claim 15, Yasui teaches all of the elements of claim 14, as shown above. Yasui is silent on the following elements of claim 15:
The battery pack according to claim 14, further comprising a pack frame that houses the plurality of battery modules, wherein the cooling member contacts an upper part of the pack frame. (See Seo figures 2 and 4, which teach the use of a heat dissipation member separating two battery modules in a battery pack, which has a pack frame which houses the plurality of battery modules. If the heat dissipation member of Yasui, having a cooler member on the upper part, were used within the frame of Seo, then this limitation would be met.)
Seo and Yasui are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of battery packs containing a plurality of battery modules and using a similar heat dissipation member. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Yasui to include a pack frame surrounding its battery modules and heat dissipation members. This would be obvious because a battery pack generally contains a frame, and because Seo shows that it is known in the art to structure a battery pack in a way in which each battery module is separated by a heat dissipation member, which is in contact with both the top and bottom of the pack frame.
By combining the heat dissipation member of Yasui with the pack frame of Seo, all of the additional limitations of claims 16-18 would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 16, modified Yasui teaches all of the elements of claim 15, as shown above. Yasui is silent on the following elements of claim 16:
The battery pack according to claim 15 wherein: the cooling member contacts an upper inner surface of the pack frame. (See Seo figures 2 and 4, which teach the use of a heat dissipation member separating two battery modules in a battery pack, which has a pack frame which houses the plurality of battery modules. If the heat dissipation member of Yasui, having a cooler member on the upper part, were used within the frame of Seo, then this limitation would be met.)
Regarding claim 17, modified Yasui teaches all of the elements of claim 15, as shown above. Yasui teaches the additional elements of claim 17. Specifically, if the heat dissipation member of Yasui were used in the pack of Seo, the limitations would be met:
The battery pack according to claim 15, further comprising: a thermal conductive resin layer disposed between a lower part of the battery module and a bottom part of the pack frame. (As depicted in figure 9, the heat dissipation member of Yasui comprises a resin member and a heat sink located on the bottom portion of the battery module. If there were a pack frame underneath this, as would be the case in the structure of Seo, then the limitation would be met.)
Regarding claim 18, modified Yasui teaches all of the elements of claim 17, as shown above. Yasui teaches the additional elements of claim 18. Specifically, if the heat dissipation member of Yasui were used in the pack of Seo, the limitations would be met:
The battery pack according to claim 17, further comprising: a heat sink disposed between a lower part of the thermal conductive resin layer and a bottom part of the pack frame. (As depicted in figure 9, the heat dissipation member of Yasui comprises a resin member and a heat sink located on the bottom portion of the battery module. If there were a pack frame underneath this, as would be the case in the structure of Seo, then the limitation would be met.)
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752