DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s priority claim to US Provisional Application 63/125,918 filed December 15, 2020 is acknowledged. A copy of WO 2022/132883, the WIPO publication of PCT/US 21/63487 filed December 15, 2021 is attached.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claim Amendments and Remarks filed April 15, 2026.
Claims Filing Date
April 15, 2026
Amended
1, 21, 22, 26, 56, 67, 69, 71-73
Cancelled
2-20, 23-25, 27-55, 58-64, 66, 70
Pending
1, 21, 22, 26, 56, 57, 65, 67-69, 71-73
Withdrawn
56, 57, 65
Under Examination
1, 21, 22, 26, 67-69, 71-73
The applicant argues amended claim 1 recites each MEI nanoparticle comprises at least five different metal elements in a single phase as supported by 3:13-14 and 15:5-7 of the originally filed application (Remarks p. 8 para. 2).
Withdrawn Abstract Objection
The following objection is withdrawn due to amendment:
Legal phraseology “comprise” in line 1.
Withdrawn Specification Objection
The following objection is withdrawn due to specification amendment:
15:9 “(e.g., HEA nanoparticle 200_”.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following 112(b) rejections are withdrawn due to claim amendment:
Claim 21 lines 5-6 “the first sub-lattice has a random distribution of noble metal atoms, and the second sub-lattice has a random distribution of non-noble metal atoms”.
Claim 73 lines 1-2 “the structure is constructed for use as a catalyst…”.
Response to Remarks filed April 15, 2026
Abstract Objection
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 with respect to the Abstract Objection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues revision of the Abstract to address informalities (Remarks p. 7 para. 4).
The revised April 15, 2026 Abstract does not overcome the objection because line 2 uses legal phraseology “comprising”.
Zhu (Zhu et al. Copper-Induced Formation of Structurally Ordered Pt-Fe-Cu Ternary Intermetallic Electrocatalysts with Tunable Phase Structure and Improved Stability. Chemistry of Materials, 2018, 30, 5987-5995.)
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 8 paras. 2-3, filed April 15, 2026, with respect to Zhu have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102/103 rejection of Zhu has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues amended claim 1 recites each MEI nanoparticle comprises at least five different metal elements in a single phase (Remarks p. 8 para. 2), whereas Zhu discloses a ternary (3-element) ordered intermetallic nanoparticle (e.g. Pt-Fe-Cu) (Remarks p. 8 para. 3).
Zhu in view of Tsai (Tsai et al. Sputter Deposition of Multi-Element Nanoparticles as Electrocatalysts for Methanol Oxidation. Japanese Journal of Applied Physics, Vol. 47. No. 7, 2008, pp. 5755-5761.)
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 with respect to Zhu in view of Tsai have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues Tsai modifies Zhu to have more than five elements, however Tsai is directed to forming multi-element nanoparticles with a random mixture of elements and not an ordered intermetallic, where Tsai references Vegard’s law, which describes the lattice parameter of a continuous solid solution formed by a random mixture of elements (Tsai col. 2 p. 5757) (Remarks p. 8 para. 4) and Tsai largely subdues the formation of complex intermetallic compounds, teaching against the formation of intermetallics (Remarks p. 9 para. 1).
The pending rejection modifies the MEI nanoparticle of Zhu (Abstract, Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, conclusions) to comprise more than five metal elements (Tsai Abstract, 2, Experimental Procedure, Fig. 3, 4. Conclusions) for improved electrochemical performance (Tsai 1. Introduction) in direct methanol fuel cells (DMFC) (Zhu Introduction; Tsai 1. Introduction). The structure of the MEI nanoparticles of Zhu are combined with the nanoparticle composition of Tsai.
Both Zhu and Tsai manufacture nanoparticles on carbon (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation; Tsai Experimental Procedure) with an fcc structure (Zhu Results and Discussion paras. 1-3; Tsai 3.1 Electrocatalyst preparations para. 2, Fig. 2). Further the combination recognizes that annealing the nanoparticles (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) forms the ordered intermetallic bct-type phase (Zhu Results and Discussion paras. 1-3) that enhances catalytic activity, durability, and stability as an electro-catalyst in fuel cell applications (Zhu Introduction, Conclusions).
Similarly, applicant’s specification discloses converting a multi-metal disordered (MMD) nanoparticle into a multi-element intermetallic (MEI) nanoparticle having long-range order (LRO) by annealing (applicant’s specification 14:13-14, 20-21, 15:1-3, 16:12-13, 17:4-9). “Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention.” MPEP 716.02(c)(II).
Therefore, Zhu in view of Tsai renders obvious the claimed intermetallic (MEI) nanoparticles comprising at least five different metal elements in a single phase.
Zhu in view of Yao (Yao et al. Carbothermal shock synthesis of high-entropy-alloy nanoparticles. Science 359. 1489-1494 (2018) 30 March 2018.)
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 with respect to Zhu in view of Yao have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues Yao modifies Zhu to have more than five elements, however Yao is directed to forming multi-element nanoparticles with a random mixture of elements and not an ordered intermetallic, where Yao forms high-entropy alloy (HEA) nanoparticles with a high degree of mixing (Yao Abstract, col. 3 p. 1) (Remarks p. 8 para. 4).
The pending rejection modifies the MEI nanoparticle of Zhu (Abstract, Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, conclusions) to comprise more than five metal elements (Yao p. 3 col. 2, Table S3) for more catalytically active metal combinations (Yao p. 4 cols. 2-3) with usefulness in catalysis (Yao p. 5 cols. 2-3) without comprising stability, such that they form active, durable, cost-effective catalysts (Yao p. 6 col. 1; Zhu Introduction). The structure of the MEI nanoparticles of Zhu are combined with the nanoparticle composition of Yao.
Both Zhu and Yao manufacture nanoparticles on carbon (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation; Yao p. 2 col. 2, Supplement p. 2) with an fcc structure (Zhu Results and Discussion paras. 1-3; Yao p. 2 col. 3, Figs. 1, 2). Further the combination recognizes that annealing the nanoparticles (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) forms the ordered intermetallic bct-type phase (Zhu Results and Discussion paras. 1-3) enhances catalytic activity, durability, and stability as an electro-catalyst in fuel cell applications (Zhu Introduction, Conclusions).
Similarly, applicant’s specification discloses converting a multi-metal disordered (MMD) nanoparticle into a multi-element intermetallic (MEI) nanoparticle having long-range order (LRO) by annealing (applicant’s specification 14:13-14, 20-21, 15:1-3, 16:12-13, 17:4-9). “Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention.” MPEP 716.02(c)(II).
Therefore, Zhu in view of Yao renders obvious the claimed intermetallic (MEI) nanoparticles comprising at least five different metal elements in a single phase.
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 with respect to Double Patenting have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues claims 29-32 are no longer pending in the ‘558 application (Remarks p. 9 para. 7).
In light of claim amendment in the ‘558 application, the double patenting rejection has been modified.
The applicant argues Zhu does not suggest the ‘784 application converting to MEI nanoparticles with at least five elements (Remarks para. spanning pp. 9-10).
App ‘784 in view of Zhu discloses nanoparticles comprising at least five different metal elements (app ‘784 claim 36) subject to annealing (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase (Zhu Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Figs. 1-3) with enhanced catalytic activity, durability, and stability as an electro-catalyst in fuel cell applications (Zhu Introduction, Conclusions).
Abstract Objection
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
It uses legal phraseology “comprising” in line 2.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21, 22, 26, 67-69, 72, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Zhu et al. Copper-Induced Formation of Structurally Ordered Pt-Fe-Cu Ternary Intermetallic Electrocatalysts with Tunable Phase Structure and Improved Stability. Chemistry of Materials, 2018, 30, 5987-5995.) in view of Tsai (Tsai et al. Sputter Deposition of Multi-Element Nanoparticles as Electrocatalysts for Methanol Oxidation. Japanese Journal of Applied Physics, Vol. 47. No. 7, 2008, pp. 5755-5761.).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a structure (carbon-supported PtFexCu1-x/C nanoparticles) (Abstract, Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation, Fig. S5) comprising:
one or more multi-element intermetallic (MEI) nanoparticles, each MEI nanoparticle having a plurality of lattice sites and first and second sub-lattices, each MEI nanoparticle comprising different metal elements in a single phase, at least one metal element at each lattice site forming a compound bond with at least one metal element at another lattice site of the MEI nanoparticle(Pt-Fe-Cu/C samples annealed to obtain an ordered bct (body centered tetragonal)-type PtFe phase) (Abstract, results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Conclusions, Fig. 1),
wherein one or more of the compound bonds comprises a covalent bond, an ionic bond, a metallic bond, or any combination of the foregoing (metallic bond) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Conclusions, Fig. 1).
Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle comprises three different metal elements in a single phase (PtFexCu1-x/Cu) (Abstract, Experimental Sections: Catalyst Preparation, Results and Discussion paras. 1-2).
Zhu is silent to each nanoparticle comprising at least five different metal elements.
Tsai discloses each nanoparticle comprising at least five different metal elements (Pt50Fe11Co10Ni11Cu10Ag8) (Abstract, 2. Experimental Procedure, Fig. 3, 4. Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the nanoparticles of Zhu to be Pt50Fe11Co10Ni11Cu10Ag8 for improved electrochemical performance in fuel cell applications (Tsai 1. Introduction). Both the nanoparticles of Zhu and Tsai are for use in direct methanol fuel cells (DMFC) (Zhu Introduction; Tsai 1. Introduction).
Furthermore, Zhu discloses manufacturing nanoparticles on carbon (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) with an fcc structure (Zhu Results and Discussion paras. 1-3). Similarly, Tsai also discloses manufacturing nanoparticles on carbon (Tsai Experimental Procedure) with an fcc structure (Tsai 3.1 Electrocatalyst preparations para. 2, Fig. 2).
Zhu also discloses annealing the nanoparticles (Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase (Results and Discussion paras. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to anneal the nanoparticles of Tsai to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase to enhance catalytic activity, durability, and stability as an electro-catalyst in fuel cell applications (Zhu Introduction, Conclusions).
Regarding claim 21, Zhu discloses noble metal atoms are distributed among the lattice sites of the first sub-lattice (Pt fcc structure), and non-noble metal atoms are distributed among the lattice sites of the second sub-lattice (incorporate smaller Fe and Cu atoms into the Pt fcc structure) (Abstract, results and Discussion paras. 2, Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle has a geometrically closed-packed phase or a topologically closed-packed phase (bct, body-centered tetragonal, is a geometrically closed-packed phase) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-5, Figs. 1, 3), and
the geometrically closed-packed phase comprises a lattice structure of Ll0, L11, L12, or B2 (bct, body-centered tetragonal, has a lattice structure of L10), and the topologically closed-packed phase comprises a Laves phase, a sigma phase, or a mu phase (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-5, Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 26, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle exhibits a long-range ordering (LRO) (ordered phase, where annealing promotes phase transformation to an ordered phase) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Figs. 1-3)
With respect to a long-range ordering (LRO) of at least 90%, Zhu discloses that annealing temperature is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result) because higher annealing temperature improves the level of ordering (Results and Discussion para. 3). The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable is characterized by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding claim 67, Zhu in view of Tsai discloses a substrate (carbon support) (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation; Tsai Experimental Procedure),
wherein (i) the one or more MEI nanoparticles are formed on one or more surfaces of the substrate, (ii) the one or more MEI nanoparticles are coupled to one or more surfaces of the substrate, or (iii) both (i) and (ii) (carbon-supported PtFexCu1-x/C nanoparticles) (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) (Tsai Experimental Procedure).
Regarding claim 68, Zhu in view of Tsai discloses the substrate comprises carbon (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation; Tsai Experimental Procedure).
Regarding claim 69, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle has a maximum cross-sectional dimension of about 3-6 nm ( up to 4.9 nm) (Results and Discussion para. 4, Fig. S5).
Regarding claim 72, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle exhibits a long-range ordering (LRO) (ordered phase, where annealing promotes phase transformation to an ordered phase) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Figs. 1-3)
With respect to a long-range ordering (LRO) of about 100%, Zhu discloses that annealing temperature is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result) because higher annealing temperature improves the level of ordering (Results and Discussion para. 3). The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable is characterized by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding claim 73, Zhu in view of Tsai discloses the structure is a catalyst in a thermochemical reaction or electrochemical reaction (for use in polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells) (Zhu Introduction) (Tsai 1. Introduction).
Claims 1, 21, 22, 26, 67-69, and 71-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Zhu et al. Copper-Induced Formation of Structurally Ordered Pt-Fe-Cu Ternary Intermetallic Electrocatalysts with Tunable Phase Structure and Improved Stability. Chemistry of Materials, 2018, 30, 5987-5995.) in view of Yao (Yao et al. Carbothermal shock synthesis of high-entropy-alloy nanoparticles. Science 359. 1489-1494 (2018) 30 March 2018.).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a structure (carbon-supported PtFexCu1-x/C nanoparticles) (Abstract, Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation, Fig. S5) comprising:
one or more multi-element intermetallic (MEI) nanoparticles, each MEI nanoparticle having a plurality of lattice sites and first and second sub-lattices, each MEI nanoparticle comprising different metal elements in a single phase, at least one metal element at each lattice site forming a compound bond with at least one metal element at another lattice site of the MEI nanoparticle(Pt-Fe-Cu/C samples annealed to obtain an ordered bct (body centered tetragonal)-type PtFe phase) (Abstract, results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Conclusions, Fig. 1),
wherein one or more of the compound bonds comprises a covalent bond, an ionic bond, a metallic bond, or any combination of the foregoing (metallic bond) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Conclusions, Fig. 1).
Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle comprises three different metal elements in a single phase (PtFexCu1-x/Cu) (Abstract, Experimental Sections: Catalyst Preparation, Results and Discussion paras. 1-2).
Zhu is silent to each nanoparticle comprising at least five different metal elements.
Yao discloses nanoparticles comprising more than five metal elements (senary (PtCoNiFeCuAu), septenary (PtPdCoNiFeCuAuSn), and octonary (PtPdCoNiFeCuAuSn)) (p. 3 col. 2, Table S3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the nanoparticles of Zhu to be senary (PtCoNiFeCuAu), septenary (PtPdCoNiFeCuAuSn), or octonary (PtPdCoNiFeCuAuSn) for more catalytically active metal combinations (Yao p. 4 cols. 2-3) with usefulness in catalysis (Yao p. 5 cols. 2-3) without compromising stability, such that they form active, durable, cost-effective catalysts (Yao p. 6 col. 1). Similarly, the nanoparticles of Zhu are also for use in catalysis (Zhu Introduction).
Furthermore, Zhu discloses manufacturing nanoparticles on carbon (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) with an fcc structure (Zhu Results and Discussion paras. 1-3). Similarly, Yao also discloses manufacturing nanoparticles on carbon (Yao p. 2 col. 2, Supplement p. 2) with an fcc structure (Yao p. 2 col. 3, Figs. 1, 2).
Zhu also discloses annealing the nanoparticles (Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase (Results and Discussion paras. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to anneal the nanoparticles of Yao to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase to enhance catalytic activity, durability, and stability as an electro-catalyst in fuel cell applications (Zhu Introduction, Conclusions).
Regarding claim 21, Zhu discloses noble metal atoms are distributed among the lattice sites of the first sub-lattice (Pt fcc structure), and non-noble metal atoms are distributed among the lattice sites of the second sub-lattice (incorporate smaller Fe and Cu atoms into the Pt fcc structure) (Abstract, results and Discussion paras. 2, Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle has a geometrically closed-packed phase or a topologically closed-packed phase (bct, body-centered tetragonal, is a geometrically closed-packed phase) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-5, Figs. 1, 3), and
the geometrically closed-packed phase comprises a lattice structure of Ll0, L11, L12, or B2 (bct, body-centered tetragonal, has a lattice structure of L10), and the topologically closed-packed phase comprises a Laves phase, a sigma phase, or a mu phase (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-5, Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 26, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle exhibits a long-range ordering (LRO) (ordered phase, where annealing promotes phase transformation to an ordered phase) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Figs. 1-3)
With respect to a long-range ordering (LRO) of at least 90%, Zhu discloses that annealing temperature is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result) because higher annealing temperature improves the level of ordering (Results and Discussion para. 3). The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable is characterized by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding claim 67, Zhu in view of Yao discloses a substrate (carbon support) (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation; Yao p. 2 col. 2, Supplement p. 2),
wherein (i) the one or more MEI nanoparticles are formed on one or more surfaces of the substrate, (ii) the one or more MEI nanoparticles are coupled to one or more surfaces of the substrate, or (iii) both (i) and (ii) (carbon-supported PtFexCu1-x/C nanoparticles) (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) (Yao p. 2 col. 2, Supplement p. 2).
Regarding claim 68, Zhu in view of Yao discloses the substrate comprises carbon (Zhu Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation; Yao p. 2 col. 2, Supplement p. 2).
Regarding claim 69, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle has a maximum cross-sectional dimension of about 3-6 nm ( up to 4.9 nm) (Results and Discussion para. 4, Fig. S5).
Regarding claim 71, Zhu in view of Yao discloses at least one of the one or more MEI nanoparticles is an octonary nanoparticle having a formula of (Pt0.8Pd0.1Au0.1)(Fe0.6Co0.1Ni0.1Cu0.1Sn0.1) (PtPdCoNiFeCuAuSn) (Yao p. 4 cols. 2-3; Supplement: p. 12, para. spanning pp. 13-14). With respect to a formula of (Pt0.8Pd0.1Au0.1)(Fe0.6Co0.1Ni0.1Cu0.1Sn0.1), generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 72, Zhu discloses each MEI nanoparticle exhibits a long-range ordering (LRO) (ordered phase, where annealing promotes phase transformation to an ordered phase) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Figs. 1-3)
With respect to a long-range ordering (LRO) of about 100%, Zhu discloses that annealing temperature is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result) because higher annealing temperature improves the level of ordering (Results and Discussion para. 3). The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable is characterized by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding claim 73, Zhu in view of Yao discloses the structure is a catalyst in a thermochemical reaction or electrochemical reaction (for use in polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells) (Zhu Introduction) (Yao p. 5 cols. 2-3, p. 6 col. 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 21, 22, 26, 67-69, and 71-73 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30-37 of copending Application No. 18/405,784 (App ‘784) in view of Zhu (Zhu et al. Copper-Induced Formation of Structurally Ordered Pt-Fe-Cu Ternary Intermetallic Electrocatalysts with Tunable Phase Structure and Improved Stability. Chemistry of Materials, 2018, 30, 5987-5995.).
App ‘784 discloses PtPdCoNiFeCuAuSn nanoparticles (claim 36) on a carbon-based support (claim 37) in a single-phase (claims 32-33) to form a (catalytic) structure (claim 30).
App ‘784 is silent to the nanoparticle being multielement intermetallic (MEI) with the claimed structure.
Zhu also discloses annealing the nanoparticles (Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase (structure that reads on the claims) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to anneal the nanoparticles of App ‘784 to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase to enhance catalytic activity, durability, and stability as an electro-catalyst in fuel cell applications (Zhu Introduction, Conclusions). Therefore, App ‘784 in view of Zhu renders obvious the claimed structure, nanoparticle composition, and nanoparticle structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 21-22, 26, 67-69, and 71-73 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 40, 45, 46-48, 51-57 of copending Application No. 18/783,558 (App ‘558) in view of Zhu (Zhu et al. Copper-Induced Formation of Structurally Ordered Pt-Fe-Cu Ternary Intermetallic Electrocatalysts with Tunable Phase Structure and Improved Stability. Chemistry of Materials, 2018, 30, 5987-5995.).
App ‘558 discloses nanoparticles comprising a mixture of at least Pd, Co, Fe, Ni, and Cu (claims 46, 55) on an electrically conductive carbon nanofiber substrate (claims 47, 48, 52, 53, 56, 57).
App ‘558 is silent to the nanoparticle being multielement intermetallic (MEI) with the claimed structure.
Zhu also discloses annealing the nanoparticles (Experimental Sections: Catalysts Preparation) to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase (structure that reads on the claims) (Abstract, Results and Discussion paras. 1-6, Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to anneal the nanoparticles of App ‘558 to form an ordered intermetallic bct-type phase to enhance catalytic activity, durability, and stability as an electro-catalyst in fuel cell applications (Zhu Introduction, Conclusions). Therefore, App ‘784 in view of Zhu renders obvious the claimed structure, nanoparticle composition, and nanoparticle structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Related Art
Jana (Jana et al. Facile solvothermal synthesis of highly active and robust Pd1.87Cu0.11Sn electrocatalyst towards direct ethanol fuel cell applications. Materials Research Express 3 (2016) 084001)
Jana discloses ordered intermetallic Pd1.87Cu0.11Cn ternary nanoparticles (Abstract) with an interconnected network type morphology to form a larger network type structure with an average particle size of about 9 nm and (2Ī0), (202), (300), and (2Ī4) crystallographic planes (3.1. Structural characterization).
Nguyen (Nguyen et al. Synthesis of carbon supported ordered tetragonal pseudo-ternary Pt2M’M’’ (M=Fe, Co, Ni) nanoparticles and their activity for oxygen reduction reaction. Journal of Power Sources 280 (2015) 459-466.)
Nguyen discloses ternary Pt-base transition metal intermetallics with particle sizes of 3-5 nm having compositions of Pt2FeCo, Pt2FeNi, and Pt2CoNi prepared by dispersing on a carbon support (Abstract, 1. Introduction para. 4, Scheme 1, 4. Conclusions) in which an ordered tetragonal structure forms upon annealing (3.1. Synthesis and crystal structure analysis).
Chih-Fang Tsai (Tsai et al. Effect of platinum present in multi-element nanoparticles on methanol oxidation. Journal of Alloys and Compounds 478 (2009) 868-871.)
Chih-Fang Tsai discloses Pt-Fe-Co-Ni-Cu-Ag nanoparticles (Abstract) such as for use in direct methanol fuel cells (1. Introduction) fabricated on carbon cloth (2.1. Preparation of the multi-element nanoparticles).
Soltani (Soltani et al. Towards multi-component intermetallic nanoparticles as efficient and low-cost catalysts. Journal of Alloys and Compounds 956 (2023) 170254)
Soltani, available online 23 April 2023, discloses multicomponent intermetallic compounds of (NiCoFeCu)1-xSbx with a hexagonal structure (Abstract) with a single phase (3. Results and discussion para. 1).
Nakanishi (Nakanishi et al. In-situ HREM Observation of Phase Transformation Process in FePt and FePtCu Nanoparticles. Mater. Res. Soc. Symp. Proc. Vol. 907E © 2006 Materials Research Society. 0907-MM05-04.1-6)
Nakanishi discloses FePtCu nanoparticles heated to form a chemically ordered face-centered tetragonal phase (L10) (Abstract, HREM observation of FePtCu nanoparticles) with an average diameter of 6 nm dispersed on a carbon film (Experimental Details paras. 3-4).
Wang (CN 107511487 machine translation)
Wang discloses multi-principal-element alloy nanoparticles ([0002], [0007]) composed of five or more elements ([0004]) such as NiCoCrFePt ([0015]) with diameters of about 10 nm and elements evenly distributed ([0044]) for use in catalysis ([0018]).
Hagedorn (US 2013/0150231)
Hagedorn discloses intermetallic nanoparticles of two or more metals exhibiting long range superlattice crystal ordering ([0006], [0025], [0048]) in which elements occupy separate sub-lattices ([0026]) made smaller than 10 nm, including smaller than 5 nm ([0010], [0021]). In Hagedorn the nanoparticles are in a colloidal suspension with electrostatic repulsion ([0022]) that is stable ([0024]) and can be coated on carbon nanotubes ([0043]).
Hsieh (Hsieh et al. Journal of Alloys and Compounds 486 (2009) 738-742.)
Hsieh disclose a Pt35Fe12Co12Ni20Cu12Ag9 multi-element nanoparticles deposited on carbon clothes (Abstract, 2.1. Deposition of the multi-element nanoparticles, 3.1. Characterizations of multi-element nanoparticles, Figs. 2-3).
Nelayah (Nelayah et al. Long-range chemical orders in Au-Pd nanoparticles revealed by aberration-corrected electron microscopy. Nanoscale. Royal Society of Chemistry. 2014, 6, 10423.)
Nelayah discloses Au-Pd nanoparticles (NPs) processed by annealing to achieve a high degree of chemical ordering with both L10 and L12 orders (Abstract, 2. Experimental conditions, 3.2 Atomic ordering observed by selected area electron diffraction and ultra high resolution transmission electron microscopy imaging, 4 Discussions, 5 Conclusions).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735