DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Inoue (US 2016/0177080).
Inoue discloses a resin pellet (paragraphs [0046]) group, comprising: a pellet (A1) containing an ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a1); and a pellet (A2) containing an ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a2), wherein the pellet (A1) has a melt flow rate of 2 g/10 min or more and less than 11 g/10 min at 210°C under a load of 2160 g, as measured in accordance with JIS K 7210:2014, and the pellet (A2) has a melt flow rate of 11 g/10 min or more and 40 g/10 min or less at 210°C under a load of 2160 g, as measured in accordance with JIS K 7210:2014 (paragraphs [0033], [0036]), an ethylene unit content (ECa1) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a1) is different from an ethylene unit content (ECa2) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a2) (paragraphs [0029], [0031], [0034]), and a mass ratio (A1/A2) of the pellet (A1) to the pellet (A2) is 20/80 or more and 99/1 or less (paragraph [0040]). Inoue discloses a difference (A2-A1) between the MFR at 210°C under a load of 2160 g of the pellet (A2) as measured in accordance with JIS K 7210:2014 and the MFR at 210°C under a load of 2160 g of the
pellet (A1) as measured in accordance with JIS K 7210:2014 is 7 or more, or 10 or more, or between 7 and 20, or between 12.5 and 20 g/10 min or more before mixing (paragraphs [0033], [0036]).
Inoue discloses wherein an absolute value of a difference between the ethylene unit content (EC,1) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a1) and the ethylene unit content (EC,2) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a2) is 4 mol% or more, wherein the ethylene unit content (ECa2) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a2) is larger than the ethylene unit content (ECai) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a1), wherein the ethylene unit content (ECai) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a1) is 20 mol% or more and 50 mol% or less, and the ethylene unit content (EC,2) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a2) is 30 mol% or more and 60 mol% or less (paragraphs [0029-0040]). Inoue also discloses wherein the absolute value of a difference between the ethylene unit content (ECa1) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a1) and the ethylene unit content (ECa₂) of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (a2) is 7 mol% or more and 18 mol% or less, wherein the mass ratio (A1/A2) of the pellet (A1) to the pellet (A2) is 50/50 or more and 93/7 or less (paragraphs [0029-0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2016/0177080) in view of Kawai (US 2016/0244601).
Inoue does not disclose wherein a difference between a melting point of the pellet (A1) and a melting point of the pellet (A2) is 8°C or more and 35°C or less.
Kawai discloses wherein a difference between a melting point of the pellet (A1) and a melting point of the pellet (A2) is 8°C or more and 35°C or less in an EVOH composition for the purpose of providing improved heat stretching properties (paragraphs [0012], [0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein a difference between a melting point of the pellet (A1) and a melting point of the pellet (A2) is 8°C or more and 35°C or less in Kawai in order to provide improved heat stretching properties as taught or suggested by Kawai.
Kawai discloses wherein the pellet (A1) and/or the pellet (A2) further comprises a boron compound, wherein a content of the boron compound is 50 ppm or more and 1000 ppm or less (paragraphs [0045-0051]).
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 2/24/26 have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive.
Inoue discloses a difference (A2-A1) between the MFR at 210°C under a load of 2160 g of the pellet (A2) as measured in accordance with JIS K 7210:2014 and the MFR at 210°C under a load of 2160 g of the pellet (A1) as measured in accordance with JIS K 7210:2014 is 7 or more, or 10 or more, or between 7 and 20, or between 12.5 and 20 g/10 min or more before mixing (paragraphs [0033], [0036]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
April 21, 2026