DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by OHASHI (US 20130214593).
Regarding claim 1, Ohashi discloses a terminal block comprising: a first terminal (power output terminal from the inverter, at C.sub.I) electrically connected to an electrical component; and a second terminal (10) electrically connected to the first terminal, wherein a current sensor (30: 31-35) for detecting a current that flows through the first terminal (10) or the second terminal is integrated with the first terminal or the second terminal. Ohashi discloses one of the first terminal and the second terminal (10) includes a clip (31) clip, and another of the first terminal and the second terminal (10) is a bus bar formed as a flat plate that is clamped by the clip (31, see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Ohashi discloses the second terminal includes the clip (31), and the first terminal (at C.sub.I) is a bus bar (i.e. metallic strip or bar).
Regarding claim 4, Ohashi discloses the bus bar (10) including a flat plate portion that is surrounded by the current sensor (30).
Regarding claim 5, Ohashi discloses the second terminal (10) being a bus bar, and the first terminal includes the clip (31, when connected to 10).
Regarding claim 8, Ohashi discloses a plurality of pairs of the first terminal and the second terminal (10), wherein the current sensor includes sensor components (30), which are provided corresponding to the respective first terminals or the respective second terminals, and a base member (30) that incorporates the plurality of sensor components.
Regarding claim 9, Ohashi discloses a first terminal (at C.sub.M) electrically connected to an electrical component; a second terminal (10) electrically connected to the first terminal; and a housing (20) that is made of resin and holds the second terminal (10), wherein a current sensor (30: 31-35) for detecting a current that flows through the second terminal is integrated with the housing. Ohashi discloses one of the first terminal and the second terminal (10) includes a clip (31) clip, and another of the first terminal and the second terminal (10) is a bus bar formed as a flat plate that is clamped by the clip (31, see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 10, Ohashi discloses the current sensor (30: 31-35) being annular in shape and completely surrounding the first or second terminal (10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of Glick et al. (US 9,190,756).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Ohashi discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the first terminal being a clip. Glick teaches a first terminal (10) being a clip, and a second terminal (18) being a busbar. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a clip and busbar arrangement, as taught by Glick, in order to provide a secure and fast connection.
Regarding claim 6, Glick teaches a clip terminal including a flat plate (at 12, 50) extending from the clip. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the current sensor surrounding the flat plate of the clip termina, in order to provide the current sensor in the desired terminal and obtain the desire monitoring.
Regarding claim 7, Glick teaches the clip including a pair of clamps (at 60) for clamping the busbar and a spring (14) for biasing the pair of clamps towards each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the second terminal being a clip) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Please note that the claims only require that the second terminal “includes a clip”.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831