Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 11/06/2025 are entered. Additionally, the claim objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-22, 24, 26-28, 31, 32, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kosaka et al. (US 10323650 B2; hereinafter Kosaka).
Regarding claim 17, Kosaka teaches an air conditioner for a vehicle (“In the above described embodiments, the centrifugal blower 1 is installed in an interior unit of an air conditioning device for a vehicle.”), the air conditioner comprising: an air conditioning unit having a heat exchanger disposed therein (“In the above described embodiments, the centrifugal blower 1 is installed in an interior unit of an air conditioning device for a vehicle.” The air conditioner is a unit and includes heat exchangers to condition the air); and a blower unit (FIG. 2, the assembly of centrifugal blower 1) configured to supply air to the air conditioning unit (“The centrifugal blower 1 of the present embodiment shown in FIG. 1 is used in a blowing unit that blows air to an interior unit of an air conditioning device for a vehicle, for example.”), wherein the blower unit comprises: a blower casing (FIG. 2, the exterior casing of the centrifugal blower 1, including scroll portion 41) having a bottom surface (FIG. 2, the bottom surface of the casing) an inner surface (FIG. 2, the inner surface of the casing); and a blower (FIG. 2, centrifugal blower 1) configured to allow the air to flow toward the inner surface, wherein the blower comprises: a hub (FIG. 2, main panel 33); a plurality of first wheels (FIG. 2, blades 31) disposed on an upper surface of the hub and spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction; a band (FIG. 4, side panel 32) configured to connect upper portions of the plurality of first wheels (“a side panel 32 having an annular shape and linking a part of each blade 31 on one side (first side) in the axial direction AD with each other”); and a drive part (FIG. 2, rotation shaft 20) configured to rotate the hub, wherein the band comprises: a horizontal portion configured to connect upper edges of the plurality of first wheels; an upper sleeve protruding upward from the horizontal portion; and a lower sleeve protruding downward from the horizontal portion, and wherein a radial thickness of the lower sleeve is larger than a radial thickness of the upper sleeve (See FIG. B below, note that the lower sleeve as defined is wider than the upper sleeve); wherein the upper sleeve is disposed to overlap the lower sleeve in an axial direction (FIG. B, the upper and lower sleeves vertically overlap).
FIG. B
Regarding claim 18, Kosaka teaches that the upper surface of the hub is formed as a curved surface and guides air to a boundary region in which the first and second surfaces meet together (FIG. 2, the main panel 33 is curved and directs air radially to where the two surfaces on the right meet).
Regarding claim 19, Kosaka teaches that the curved surface comprises: a first curved surface formed to be convex upward; and a second curved surface formed to be concave downward (FIG. A below, the main panel 33 has upward and downward concave portions).
FIG. A
Regarding claim 20, Kosaka teaches that the boundary region is disposed to have a predetermined offset from an imaginary line that traverses an axial center of the first wheel in a radial direction (FIG. 2, the boundary between the two rightmost surfaces is offset from a vertical axis of the blades 31).
Regarding claim 21, Kosaka teaches that the boundary region is disposed to be lower than an imaginary line that traverses an axial center of the first wheel in a radial direction (FIG. 2, the boundary between the two rightmost surfaces appears to be disposed beneath a horizontal centerline of the blades 31).
Regarding claim 22, Kosaka teaches that a flow of air formed in a radial direction by the blower forms vortices by means of the first and second surfaces, and wherein a direction of the vortex formed by the first surface and a direction of the vortex formed by the second surface are opposite to each other (FIG. 2, air directed to the right becomes turbulent in all directions parallel to the wall. Above, on the diagonal wall, some turbulent flow will be pointed upwards. Below, on the vertical wall, some turbulent flow will be pointed downwards).
Regarding claim 24, Kosaka teaches that an inner peripheral surface of the horizontal portion is formed as an inclined surface inclined outward (FIG. B, the inner surface of the horizontal portion is inclined).
Regarding claim 26, Kosaka teaches that the blower casing further comprises a reverse flow prevention protrusion protruding downward from a ceiling surface, and wherein an end of the reverse flow prevention protrusion disposed outside the band is disposed to overlap the upper sleeve of the band in a radial direction (FIG. 3, the walls that comprise the air intake portion 411 extend downward about the side panel 32 (including its upper sleeve) on both sides to prevent air from escaping).
Regarding claim 27, Kosaka teaches that the blower casing further comprises a reverse flow prevention protrusion protruding downward from a ceiling surface, and wherein an end of the reverse flow prevention protrusion disposed outside the band is disposed to overlap a horizontal portion of the band in a radial direction (FIG. 3, the walls that comprise the air intake portion 411 extend downward about the side panel 32 (including its horizontal portion) on both sides to prevent air from escaping).
Regarding claim 28, Kosaka teaches that the blower further comprises support ribs configured to connect lower portions of the first wheel and the upper surface of the hub (FIG. C, the curved structural portions shown below).
FIG. C
Regarding claims 31 and 35, Kosaka teaches that the blower casing comprises a groove formed on the bottom surface (FIG. 2, the groove of the bottom surface of the casing surrounding the motor)
Regarding claim 32, Kosaka teaches an air conditioner for a vehicle (“In the above described embodiments, the centrifugal blower 1 is installed in an interior unit of an air conditioning device for a vehicle.”), the air conditioner comprising: an air conditioning unit having a heat exchanger disposed therein (“In the above described embodiments, the centrifugal blower 1 is installed in an interior unit of an air conditioning device for a vehicle.” The air conditioner is a unit and includes heat exchangers to condition the air); and a blower unit (FIG. 2, the assembly of centrifugal blower 1) configured to supply air to the air conditioning unit (“The centrifugal blower 1 of the present embodiment shown in FIG. 1 is used in a blowing unit that blows air to an interior unit of an air conditioning device for a vehicle, for example.”), wherein the blower unit comprises: a blower casing (FIG. 2, the exterior casing of the centrifugal blower 1, including scroll portion 41); and a blower configured to allow air to flow in the blower casing, wherein the blower comprises: a hub (FIG. 2, main panel 33); a plurality of wheels (FIG. 2, blades 31) disposed on the hub and spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction; a band (FIG. 4, side panel 32) configured to connect upper portions of the plurality of wheels; and a drive part (FIG. 2, rotation shaft 20) configured to rotate the hub, wherein the band comprises: a horizontal portion configured to connect upper edges of the plurality of wheels; and an upper sleeve protruding upward from the horizontal portion (See FIG. B below, note that the lower sleeve as defined is wider than the upper sleeve), wherein the blower casing comprises a reverse flow prevention protrusion protruding downward from a ceiling surface, and wherein an end of the reverse flow prevention protrusion disposed outside the band is disposed to overlap an upper sleeve of the band in a radial direction (FIG. 3, the walls that comprise the air intake portion 411 extend downward about the side panel 32 (including its upper sleeve) on both sides to prevent air from escaping); wherein the band further comprises a lower sleeve protruding downward from the horizontal portion, and wherein a radial thickness of the lower sleeve is larger than a radial thickness of the upper sleeve (See FIG. B below, note that the lower sleeve as defined is wider than the upper sleeve); and wherein the upper sleeve is disposed to overlap the lower sleeve in an axial direction (FIG. B, the upper and lower sleeves vertically overlap).
Regarding claim 34, Kosaka teaches that the blower casing comprises a bottom surface (FIG. 2, the bottom surface of the casing) an inner surface (FIG. 2, the inner surface of the casing), wherein the inner surface comprises a first surface (FIG. 2, the vertical wall at the far right of the casing beneath the scroll portion 41) and a second surface (FIG. 2, the rightmost diagonal wall of the scroll portion 41) disposed on the first surface and inclined, and wherein the first and second surfaces divide a direction of the air, which is allowed to flow by the blower, into at least two directions (FIG. 2, air hitting the rightmost wall would be directed in upward and downward directions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka as applied to claims 17-22, 24, 26-28, 31, 32, 34, and 35 above, and further in view of Schrand (CN 106438490 B).
Regarding claim 29, Kosaka fails to teach that an upper surface of the support rib is formed as a curved surface formed to be concave downward.
However, Schrand teaches that an upper surface of the support rib is formed as a curved surface formed to be concave downward (FIG. 7, ribs 706).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Kosaka by replacing the concave upward ribs of FIG. C with concave down ribs, as taught by Schrand, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kosaka with these aforementioned teachings of Schrand with the motivation of making the ribs a bit more rigid to add strength.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka as applied to claims 17-22, 24, 26-28, 31, 32, 34, and 35 above, and further in view of Eguchi (JP 2008261274 A).
Regarding claim 30, Kosaka fails to teach that the blower further comprises a plurality of second wheels disposed on a lower surface of the hub and spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction.
However, Eguchi teaches that the blower further comprises a plurality of second wheels disposed on a lower surface of the hub and spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction (FIG. 2, a portion of the vanes 9 are positioned beneath the bottom plate 8).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Kosaka by including blades beneath the main panels 33, as taught by Eguchi, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kosaka with these aforementioned teachings of Eguchi with the motivation of ensuring no air gets caught beneath the main panel 33 and grows stagnant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 8-10 the Applicant asserts that Kosaka does not teach feature one, arguing that the sleeves of Kosaka do not overlap in an axial direction. While the Examiner acknowledges that this axial overlap is different than in the figures cited by the Applicant, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, Kosaka reads on this limitation.
On page 10, the Examiner argues that Kosaka does not teach that the lower sleeve has a greater thickness than the upper sleeve. Cambridge Dictionary defines thickness as “the distance between opposite sides of something” (https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/thickness). By this definition, the lower sleeve of Kosaka has a greater thickness than the upper sleeve, as shown in FIG. B and as detailed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C WEINERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762