DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 1, Lee 1 is no longer applied in the rejection and Inoue (JP-2005210930-A) is newly applied as the primary reference.
Regarding new claim 7, Lee B. (US-20190386270-A1) and Brechling (US-20180138464-A1) are newly combined to teach claim 7.
Regarding new claim 8, Lee B. (US-20190386270-A1) and Martinson (US-20060228620-A1) are newly combined to teach claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (JP-2005210930-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses a sealed battery (see e.g., Inoue; [0001]), comprising: a bottomed tubular exterior can that houses an electrode assembly (see e.g., Inoue; [0006], [0029], regarding metal case 8 having bottomed dish shape, [0069], regarding wherein the battery shape may be cylindrical); and a sealing assembly that closes an opening of the exterior can (see e.g., Inoue; fig. 1), wherein at the exterior can, a crimped portion is formed by folding an end of the opening inward in a radial direction for crimping and fixing the sealing assembly (see e.g., Inoue; fig. 1, wherein the peripheral of the case 8 is crimped inwards to hold the sealing assembly), the sealing assembly has: a rupture disc (see e.g., Inoue; fig. 1, [0029], regarding metal foil 1 and 2); a positive electrode cap having a flange (see e.g., Inoue; fig. 1, [0034], [0029], regarding conductive metal cap 7 and the flange portion within the crimp); and
a metal-made height adjusting portion for adjusting a height of the crimped portion (see e.g., Inoue; fig. 1, [0011], [0029], regarding spacer 4, [0016]-[0021], regarding tin and copper material of the spacer), and the height adjusting portion is a metal-made spacer formed as a separate component from the rupture disc and the positive electrode cap (see e.g., Inoue; fig. 1), the height adjusting portion being arranged between an upper surface of the flange of the positive electrode cap and the rupture disc (see e.g., Inoue; fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP-2005210930-A) (see translation), and in further view of Ligeois (US-20010023038-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue discloses the sealed battery according to claim 1. Inoue discloses wherein the spacer is welded to the metal foil (see e.g., Inoue; [0013]). Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein the metal-made spacer is welded or adhesively bonded to the flange. However, Ligeois discloses a similar cylindrical battery comprising a sealing assembly, wherein a washer 12 corresponding to a spacer is welded to the terminal 3 comprising a flange (see e.g., Ligeois; fig. 2, abstract, [0071], regarding transparent laser welding terminal 3 with washer 12). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing assembly disclosed by Inoue by providing a welded connection between the spacer and the flange of the positive electrode cap as disclosed by Ligeois in order to provide a firm and reliable mechanical connection (see e.g., Ligeois; [0071]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee B. (US-20190386270-A1), and in further view of Brechling (US-20180138464-A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee B. discloses a sealed battery, comprising:
a bottomed tubular exterior can that houses an electrode assembly (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, [0032], regarding cylindrical can 20); and
a sealing assembly that closes an opening of the exterior can (see e.g., Lee B.; figs. 1-3, regarding assembly at opening of can), wherein
at the exterior can, a crimped portion is formed by folding an end of the opening inward in a radial direction for crimping and fixing the sealing assembly (see e.g., Lee B.; figs. 1-3, [0013], [0023], regarding crimping area, annotated fig. 2), and
the sealing assembly has: a rupture disc (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, [0038], regarding safety vent 36 that ruptures); a positive electrode cap having a flange (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, regarding electrode cap 30 with flange that extends into the crimp portion); and a metal-made height adjusting portion for adjusting a height of the crimped portion (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, [0037], regarding bent portion of safety vent 36, [0038] regarding metal-made safety vent).
Lee B. does not explicitly disclose the height adjusting portion is formed by folding a peripheral edge of the flange of the positive electrode cap inward in the radial direction. However, Brechling discloses a cylindrical battery wherein the peripheral edges of the battery cap folds inwards in the radial direction with the case of the battery (see e.g., Brechling; figs. 2, 9, abstract, [0008]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positive electrode cap of Lee B. such that the peripheral edge of the flange of the positive electrode cap folds inward in a radial direction as disclosed by Brechling in order to maximize the available interior space for the core material and ensure a small design having a simple production (see e.g., Brechling; [0007]), and also having a tight connection that is produced in a simple manner (see e.g., Brechling; [0029]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee B. (US-20190386270-A1), and in further view of Martinson (US-20060228620-A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee B. discloses a sealed battery, comprising:
a bottomed tubular exterior can that houses an electrode assembly (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, [0032], regarding cylindrical can 20); and
a sealing assembly that closes an opening of the exterior can (see e.g., Lee B.; figs. 1-3, regarding assembly at opening of can), wherein
at the exterior can, a crimped portion is formed by folding an end of the opening inward in a radial direction for crimping and fixing the sealing assembly (see e.g., Lee B.; figs. 1-3, [0013], [0023], regarding crimping area, annotated fig. 2),
the sealing assembly has: a rupture disc (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, [0038], regarding safety vent 36 that ruptures); a positive electrode cap having a flange (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, regarding electrode cap 30 with flange that extends into the crimp portion); and a metal-made height adjusting portion for adjusting a height of the crimped portion (see e.g., Lee B.; fig. 2, [0037], regarding bent portion of safety vent 36, [0038] regarding metal-made safety vent), and
Lee B. does not explicitly disclose the height adjusting portion is formed by folding a peripheral edge of the rupture disc inward in the radial direction at least twice (see e.g., Lee B.; annotated fig. 2). However, Martinson discloses a sealing assembly comprising a vent seal wherein the vent seal comprises a plurality of inward radial direction folds (see e.g., Martinson; abstract, fig. 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the height adjusting portion disclosed by Lee B. to comprise a plurality of inward radial folds as disclosed by Martinson in order to prevent overlap and wrinkles which ensures proper sealing (see e.g., Martinson; abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728