DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (JP 2015145456).
In claims 1 and 2, Takeda et al. teaches compositions comprising:
95-99.95 wt.% of a polyamide,
0.05-5 wt.% of a polyamide oligomer, and
0.1-30 wt.% of a layered silicate; whereby the oligomer has a molecular weight of 500-2000 g/mol.
The polyamide in Takeda et al. is based on a diacid and a diamine whereby the diacid is an alicyclic structure comprising for example a tricyclodecane or norbornene group and two alkylene groups attached such as octylene groups which can be further C1-4 branched (claim 1; ¶’s 17-25) and the diamine is an alicyclic diamine such as 1,4-cyclohexanediamine (¶’s 30-34).
The polyamide in Takeda et al. is end-capped via aliphatic monocarboxylic acids such as myristic acid (¶’s 50-53).
Based on the overall molecular weight of the PA oligomers and the molecular weight of the used diamines and diacids, the oligomers comprise necessarily an amount of monomer units identical to the claims.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oya et al. (US 2015/0240079).
In claim 1, Oya et al. teach compositions comprising:
95-99.95 wt.% a polyamide,
0.05-5 wt.% a polyamide oligomer (dispersant), and
an inorganic filler;
whereby the oligomer has a molecular weight of 500-2000 g/mol.
In ¶’s 33-41, Oya et al. teach that the polyamide is based on a diacid which is an alicyclic structure comprising for example a tricyclodecane and two alkylene groups attached such as octylene groups which can be further C1-4 branched and the diamine is an alicyclic diamine such as 1,4-cyclohexanediamine. The polyamide is end-capped via aliphatic monocarboxylic acids such as myristic acid (¶’s 61-64).
The inorganic filler in Oya et al. may constitute 0.1-200 parts by mass of the composition based on 100 parts polyamide (¶ 80).
Based on the overall molecular weight of the PA oligomers and the molecular weight of the used diamines and diacids, the oligomers comprise necessarily an amount of monomer units identical to the claims.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwitter et al. (US).
In claims 1 and 6, Schwitter et al. teaches a composition comprising:
70-99.5 wt.-% of a thermoplastic polyamide plastic material, and
0.5-30 wt.-% of a polyamide oligomer with a branched chain structure having a molecular weight of 800-5000 g/mol formed from a condensation of a diamine and diacid and end capping.
The composition can comprise solid additives such as 3-70 wt.-% graphite/carbon black with a particle size below 1 mm which are dispersed by the PA oligomer. (see ¶’s 60-62)
For the end-capping long alkyl chains are used provided for example by fatty acids such as C18 stearic acid or amine (¶ 39). The diamine comprises 2-44 carbon atoms such as 1,6-diaminohexane or 1,3-BAC (see ¶’s 38-47).
The diacid comprises 2-44 carbon atoms such as dimerized fatty acids (¶ 38) as used in the application (examples). Based on the overall molecular weight of the PA oligomers and the molecular weight of the used diamines and diacids, the oligomers comprise necessarily an amount of monomer units identical to claims 1, 3, 12, 14. The compositions can contain wax and polyolefins (¶ 62).
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)/(a)(2)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Takeda et al., Oya et al. or Schwitter et al.
While Takeda et al., Oya et al. or Schwitter et al. do not expressly teach the disclosed properties of the claimed acid and amide values, it is reasonable that the compositions of Takeda et al., Oya et al. or Schwitter et al. would possess the presently claimed properties since the composition of Takeda et al., Oya et al. or Schwitter et al. is essentially the same as the claimed composition and the USPTO does not have at its disposal the tools or facilities deemed necessary to make physical determinations of the sort. In any event, an otherwise old composition is not patentable regardless of any new or unexpected properties. In re Fitzgerald et al , 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Even if assuming that the prior art references do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 102, it would still have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to arrive at the same inventive composition because the disclosure of the inventive subject matter appears within the generic disclosure of the prior art.
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE