DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I (Claims 1, 9-11, 13, and newly added claims 18-22), compound 316 as the species of Formula I, and difenoconazole as the single species of the additional fungicide in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 14-15 and newly added claim 23 (depending from the method of claim 15) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 9, 11, and 19 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claims 1, 10, 13, 18, and 20-22 are currently under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 13, 18, and 20-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“Claim #” should be lowercase in each instance it appears. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 13, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Pasteris et al. (WO 2018/187553 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pasteris discloses compounds of Formula 1 (claim 1)
and specifically, Cmpd No. 316 (pg. 150-151), which reads on the instant compound of Formula I of claim 1.
Pasteris discloses that of particular note are combinations of compounds of Formula I with fungicides such as difenoconazole (pg. 133, lines 21-24).
Pasteris is not believed to be anticipatory because Pasteris could be construed as not clearly and unequivocally disclosing the claimed invention or directing those skilled in the art to the claimed invention without any need for picking, choosing and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference. While Pasteris discloses compounds of Formula I with fungicides such as difenoconazole (pg. 133, lines 21-24), one would need to choose Cmpd No. 316 taught at pg. 150-151 to be used as the compound of Formula I and difenoconazole from the disclosed list of fungicides taught at pg. 133.
Nevertheless, claim 1 is rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Pasteris, because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, to yield predictable results. In the instant case, all the claimed elements (e.g., Cmpd. No. 316 and difenoconazole) were known in the prior art (e.g., Pasteris) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., a fungicidal composition) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A.
Claims 10 and 18 are rendered prima facie obvious because Pasteris discloses combinations of compounds of Formula I with difenoconazole (pg. 133, lines 21-24).
Claim 13 is rendered prima facie obvious because Pasteris discloses the compositions of the disclosure further include at least one additional component selected form surfactants, solid dilutants, and liquid dilutants (claim 8).
Claims 20-22 are rendered prima facie obvious because Pasteris discloses the weight ratio of the various mixing partners (i.e., difenoconazole; pg. 133, lines 21-24) to the compound of Formula I is between about 1:30 and 30:1 (pg. 135, lines 29-32). Pasteris also teaches that one skilled in the art can easily determine through simple experimentation the biologically effective amounts of active ingredients necessary for the desired spectrum of biological activity (pg. 135, lines 29-36).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of the ratio of a compound of Formula I (i.e., Cmpd. No. 316) and a fungicide (i.e., difenoconazole) have been taught by the prior art; as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum ratio via routine experimentation to achieve the desired spectrum of biological activity as taught by Pasteris at pg. 135, lines 29-36.
Applicant’s Declaration (12/16/2025)
Applicant argues that the Declaration of Dr. Nikita Gambhir demonstrates unexpected synergy activity of representative compositions comprising compound number 316 in combination with other active fungicides.
The Examiner has fully reviewed and considered the declaration filed 12/16/2025 setting forth a comparison between Cpmd 316 alone, active fungicides alone, and Cpmd 316 + additional active fungicides.
The results (pg. 5-7 of declaration) show a synergistic effect of Cmpd. 316 with the claimed fungicides difenoconazole, flutriafol, prothioconazole, tebuconazole, benzovindiflupyr, fluindapyr, fluxapyroxad, picoxystrobin, pyraclostrobin, fenpicoxamid, mancozeb, and chlorothalonil to varying degrees based on the fungicide, rate applied and ratio of Cmpd 316 to fungicide used.
However, these results do not appear to be unexpected over the prior art as Pasteris teaches the claimed Cmpd 316 and fungicides and teaches that compositions of the compound of the disclosure with other biologically active (particularly fungicidal) compounds results in a greater-than-additive (synergistic) effect (pg. 135-136).
The applicant argues in regards to the “unexpected” synergetic activity (pg. 12 of remarks) that Pasteris does not mention the fungicides mefentrifluconazole, ipfentrifluconazole, inpyrfluxam, pyrapropoyne, flubeneteram, isoflucypram, pydiflumetofen, pyraziflumid, or quinofumelin as claimed, however, (although difenoconazole is the sole elected fungicide), the Examiner notes that no results were shown in the Declaration with these fungicides and it would not be apparent from the results that a similar synergistic effect would be achieved with all fungicides. For example, Cpmd 316 with tebuconazole results in a pronounced synergistic effect (Table 2: row 1) while Cpmd 316 with prothioconazole has much less of an effect (Table 3: last row) even though tebuconazole and prothioconazole are both demethylation inhibitor fungicides.
Finally, assuming purely arguendo that unexpected results have been established, (the Examiner does not believe at this time that they have), the claims would still not be “commensurate in scope” with the showing. See MPEP § 716.02(d). The Applicant has allegedly demonstrated an “unexpected” synergistic effect, but even if this is so then it would only have been shown with the specific fungicides listed above, in specific ratios to Cmpd. 316, and in specific amounts. It is unclear that a comparative composition containing these specific fungicides and in these specific amounts would be reasonably representative of compositions containing additional fungicides and in differing amounts, falling within the broader scope currently claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 13, 18, and 20-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,358 in view of Pasteris et al. (WO 2018/187553 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite features instantly recited for the composition including the claimed compound of Formula I (claim 9) and a fungicide (claim 11). The claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,358 do not recite a specific fungicide recited in the instant claims, such as difenoconazole.
Pasteris discloses combinations of compounds of Formula I with fungicides such as difenoconazole (pg. 133, lines 21-24). Pasteris teaches that compounds of Formula I and fungicides such as difenoconazole are mixtures that are useful in seed treatment (pg. 136, lines 10-12).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include difenoconazole, within the claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the composition, as taught by Pasteris, to obtain mixtures that are useful in seed treatment (pg. 133, lines 21-24; pg. 136, lines 10-12).
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612