DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 3, and 6-8 are pending. Claim 4 is cancelled. Claims 3 and 6 are the independent claims. Claims 3 and 6 have been amended. This office action is in response to the Amendments received on 04/14/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 04/14/2026, “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant's arguments according to the Applicant’s Remarks (see pages 7-8 “Claim Rejections-35 U.S.C § 103”), with respect to claims 3 and 6, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive in part.
With respect to claims 3 and 6 as currently amended, first, applicant argues that He ‘922 does not teach or suggest “displaying, on a first area of said indicator and on a second area of said indicator, a graduated scale of notches corresponding values of a vertical rate of descent”, and second, applicant argues that He ‘922 fails to disclose or suggest overlaying indicators with certain of the notches in the graduated scale of notches. Regarding the applicant’s first argument, according to paragraph [0020] of He ‘922 and Fig. 2, it is clear that the vertical speed indicator 54 includes vertical speed scale 56. The vertical speed scale 56 as shown in Fig. 4 includes notches that indicates the vertical speed scale and more precisely it has a pointer icon 61 that identified the current vertical speed on the vertical speed scale 56 and also it has a window 58 that provided an enlarged textual readout of the current aircraft speed. These all reads on a graduated scale of notches corresponding values of a vertical rate of descent, as recited in the claims 3 and 6.
Moreover, with regard to the applicant’s second argument about He’ 922’s failure to disclose or suggest overlaying indicators with certain of the notches in the graduated scale of notches, the applicant is referred to at least paragraphs [0014], and [0025], and Figs. 3 and 4 of He ‘922’s disclosure. In paragraph [0014], He ‘922 discloses:
“When determining that the vertical speed of the aircraft has surpassed a vertical speed alert threshold, a visual alert is produced on a graphical display generated on cockpit display device. More specifically, the excessive speed alert is preferably produced by alerting the appearance of a vertical speed indicator included in a PFD generated on the display device. […] The visual alert produced on the PFD can be, for example, any combination of changes in color, size, animation, symbology, and/or shape of the graphical elements included in the vertical speed indicator. It is further preferred that multiple excessive vertical speed thresholds are established such that a range of alerts can be generated, which are elevated in visual prominence should the excessive speed conditions become increasingly critical”
Accordingly, the vertical speed threshold alerts in He ‘922’s disclosure (associated with approach or occurrence of Vortex Ring State as addressed in Non-Final Office Action filed on 01/14/2026 and also Office Action below) overlays on the indicator of vertical speed that is displayed on a notches scale. Also, as stated in Non-final Office Action filed on 01/14/2026, the graphic 64 in Fig. 3 or Fig. 4 of He ‘922 (See also paragraph [0025]), is produced at a location adjacent precision readout window 58, which visually connects window 58 to pointer icon 60 and is also color coded to the warning color. Accordingly, the notches are overlapped by the indications (warning) associated with approaching or occurrence of the Vortex Ring state and reads on the claimed feature.
Further regarding the applicant’s Remark, the applicant’s argument with respect to Oltheten reference, is persuasive and Olthelen reference, which was previously relied upon as an alternative rejection for the limitation “overlapping said second indication…” and “overlapping said third indication…”, is removed from the rejection. According to Oltheten, Col 6 last paragraph, and Col 6 first paragraph, it is disclosed that:
“The warning band 300 may function as a rate-of-descent warning band on altitude indicator 106 to indicate when a current rate of descent exceeds predefined thresholds. For example, warning thresholds may be calculated for rate of descent values that are equal to or double the current altitude. Rate of descent warning band 300 can comprise a plurality of segments 301-303 that are color coded to indicate different rate of descent warning zones. The rate of descent warning zones may be based, for example, on current vertical speed for the rotorcraft.”.
Accordingly, although Olthlene discloses a rate-of-descent warning band/zone that is based on current vertical speed for the rotorcraft, however, Olthelen is silent about the vertical speed being associated with the approach or occurrence of the Vortex Ring State. Therefore, the alternative rejection over Olthelen for the teaching of the aforementioned features of claims 3 and 6, is withdrawn in office action below.
Office Note: Due to applicant’s amendments, further claim rejections appear on the record as stated in the below Office Action.
It is the Office’ stance that all of applicant arguments have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al., US 20160288922 A1, hereinafter “He ‘922”, in view of Brand et al., US 20210197962 A1, hereinafter “Brand”, further in view of Certain, US 20090089006 A1, hereinafter “Certain” and further in view of Pratap et al., US 20180322792 A1, hereinafter “Pratap”.
Regarding claim 3, He ‘922 discloses A method for assisting performing a manoeuvre for an aircraft according to claim 1, and configured to be capable of hovering, comprising the steps of: i) detecting that said aircraft is in a real Vortex Ring State condition; (Abstract, [0001], [0013]-[0014]) and ii) displaying, on an indicator, a first indication associated to the a current value of vertical speed of said aircraft ([0004], “vertical speed indicator”, [0013]-[0014], [0019]-[0020]); iii) displaying, on a first area of said indicator and on a second area of said indicator, a graduated scale of notches corresponding values of a vertical rate of descent ([0020], “vertical speed scale 56”, Fig. 2) iv) detecting that said aircraft is approaching the real Vortex Ring State condition ([0025], “The vertical speed caution alert”, [0014], [0021]-[0023], and [0027], __the excessive vertical speed caution alert is associated to the approaching of the vortex ring state condition__); v) displaying, on the first area of said indicator, a second indication associated to the real Vortex Ring State condition being reached ([0013], “It is particularly desirable to enhance pilot awareness of any sudden increase in the vertical speed of the aircraft in a downward direction as this can be indicative of a Vortex Ring State (VRS) condition requiring the pilot's immediate attention.”, [0014], “provides excessive vertical speed alerts indicating when the vertical speed of a rotary wing aircraft exceeds one or more vertical speed alert thresholds.”, [0021], [0023], [0026], “Accordingly, a vertical speed warning alert is generated on PFD 30, [0027], __ providing the warning alert when there is a sudden and rapid/excessive increase in downward vertical speed, which is an indicative of the aircraft being in Vortex Ring State condition, reads on the limitation__ ); vi) displaying, on the second area of said indicator, a third indication associated to the fact that said aircraft (1) is approaching said real Vortex Ring State condition ([0025], “The vertical speed caution alert can be produced by changing the appearance of the vertical speed indicator 54 in any number of different manners.”, “ change to an alert color, such as amber ”, [0014], [0021]-[0023], and [0027], __the excessive vertical speed caution alert is associated to the approaching of the vortex ring state condition__); vii) overlapping said second indication to one or more of said corresponding to one or more first values of a vertical rate of descent, said first values being associated with the aircraft being in the real Vortex Ring State; ( [0014], “the vertical speed alert threshold(s) may also be adjusted or fine tuned based upon any number of secondary factors, which are further known to contribute to the potential occurrence of a VRS condition.”, [0026], “the vertical speed warning alert include changes in the color and/or appearance of precision readout window 58, pointer icon 60, and thermometer 64, all of which may be generated to have a more pronounced appearance (e.g., a larger size) and color coded to a predetermined warning color, such as red (represented in FIG. 4 by a third style of cross-hatching).”, __Note: according to at least the cited paragraph and also paragraph [0026], vertical speed warning alert threshold (which is associated with the aircraft being in VRS condition and shows the excessive vertical speed threshold), is generated on the aircraft PFD by a more pronounced appearance (e.g. larger size) and predetermined color coded or by a pointer icon 60 as shown in Fig. 4 which reads on the claimed limitation of second indication being overlapped to a first region of the first indication corresponding to first values of a descent vertical speed/vertical rate of descent (first value indicates a vertical speed threshold associated with the occurrence of a VRS condition) __); and viii) overlapping said third indication to one or more of said notches corresponding to one or more second values of said vertical rate of descent, said second values being associated with the aircraft approaching the real Vortex Ring State; ([0022], “ensures that an alert is triggered at a lower speed threshold to provide the pilot with greater time to take corrective actions”, __ speed threshold being alerted to provide greater time to the pilot for taking corrective actions, reads on second value of rate of descent being__ , and [0025]-[0026],and Fig. 4 element 64 and 60) said first values being greater as an absolute value than said second values ([0025]- [0026], and absolute values as shown as 58, 60 and 64 on the scale 56 in figure 4); ix) displaying said second indication in a first colour; and x) displaying said third indication in a second colour different from said second colour ([0025], “amber” , and [0026], “red”); xi) generating a first acoustic signal; said first acoustic signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition being reached ([0014], “audible alerts”, [0027], “aural alerts generated utilizing sound generator 18 (FIG. 1)”, “For example, when the high level vertical speed warning threshold has been surpassed, controller 14 of flight deck display system 10 can cause the following audible message to be annunciated via sound generator 18: “WARNING—EXCESSIVE VERTICAL SPEED.” ”); and xii) displaying a first and a second visual signal ([0006], “A visual alert is produced on the PFD by altering the appearance of the vertical speed indicator in a first predetermined manner if the current vertical speed of the rotary wing aircraft surpasses the first speed alert threshold.”, [0014], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0027], “generating visual feedback indicating when the vertical speed of a rotary wing aircraft exceeds one or more vertical speed alert thresholds ”__excessive speed alert is associated to the vortex being reached and/or approaching…__); said first visual signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition being reached and being displayed in said second colour ([0025], “If desired, additional graphics can also be produced on PFD 30 indicative of the vertical speed warning alert.”, “For example, a graphic 64 (referred to herein as a “thermometer”) can be produced at a location adjacent precision readout window 58, which visually connects window 58 to pointer icon 60. Thermometer 64 can also be color coded to the warning color.”, Para [0026], “predetermined warning color”); said second visual signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition approaching and being displayed in said first colour ([0025], “The vertical speed caution alert can be produced by changing the appearance of the vertical speed indicator 54”, “change to an alert color, such as amber”).
He ‘922 doesn’t disclose wherein the real Vortex Ring State condition is detected based on combinations of values of the vertical speed of the aircraft and an airspeed, such that for values of airspeed up to a first airspeed threshold the aircraft is in the real Vortex Ring condition if the vertical speed of the aircraft exceeds a first vertical speed threshold, at values of airspeed between the first airspeed threshold and a second airspeed higher than the first threshold, there is the real Vortex Ring condition at higher vertical speed in proportion to the airspeed, and at airspeeds beyond a third threshold there is no real Vortex Ring condition for any vertical speed of the aircraft;
However, Brand teaches wherein the real Vortex Ring State condition is detected based on combinations of values of the vertical speed of the aircraft and an airspeed (Fig. 9, the results of block 904 (vertical speed) and 906 (forward airspeed), Para [0042], [0047]), such that for values of airspeed up to a first airspeed threshold the aircraft is in the real Vortex Ring condition if the vertical speed of the aircraft exceeds a first vertical speed threshold ([0047], “ The need for VRS avoidance is based on the forward speed being below the forward speed safety threshold, and, in some embodiments, also based on the vertical speed exceeding the vertical speed safety threshold.") at values of airspeed between the first airspeed threshold and a second airspeed higher than the first threshold, there is the real Vortex Ring condition at higher vertical speed in proportion to the airspeed (Fig. 4 and [0030], “As the forward speed of rotorcraft 101 increases and VRS is no longer a concern, the threshold 401 of the vertical descent speed also increases.” [0044], “forwards speed safety threshold”) and at airspeeds beyond a third threshold there is no real Vortex Ring condition for any vertical speed of the aircraft ([0041], “The forward speed safety threshold 708B may be a speed at which VRS protection is not necessary, and may be at a greater forward speed than the edge of the VRS boundary 610, and may be a forward speed at which VRS protection is not needed.”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft for generating alerts indicative of a vortex ring state (VRS) condition as taught by He ‘922 to include a system and method for detecting and avoiding VRS by monitoring the aircraft vertical speed and airspeed by considering the safety thresholds for both aircraft vertical speed and airspeed as taught by Brand, with the motivation of increasing the safety of the aircraft.
He ‘922 doesn’t disclose generating a second acoustic signal and said second acoustic signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition approaching;
However, Certain teaches generating a second acoustic signal and ([0001]-[0002], “detecting and signaling that a rotorcraft, in particular of the helicopter type, is approaching the vortex domain.”, [0114], “the fifth means comprise an audible or visible alarm, or any other equivalent means such as an indicator with appropriate symbology”, __fifth means comprise an audible alarm reads on second acoustic signal__, [0140]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft for generating alerts indicative of a vortex ring state (VRS) condition as taught by He ‘922 to include a sound generator to alert the pilot if the aircraft is approaching a VRS condition as taught by Certain, because it can help the pilots quickly recognize the onset of a vortex ring condition, enabling faster corrective action which reduce the risk of loss of control during critical flight phases like hover or descent.
He ‘922 doesn’t explicitly disclose an additional indicator comprising an area on which a fourth indication can be displayed that is associated to the attitude of said aircraft.
However, Pratap teaches an additional indicator comprising an area on which a fourth indication can be displayed that is associated to the attitude of said aircraft ([0030], “attitude indicator 206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft as taught by He ‘922 to include an indication associated to the attitude of the aircraft as taught by Pratap because there is a relation between the attitude of the aircraft and vortex ring state condition and having an attitude indicator enhance the pilot’s awareness about the potential occurrence of the vortex condition which improve the control of the aircraft.
Regarding claim 5, He ‘922 in view of prior arts relied upon teaches Method according to claim 3 (See rejection for claim 3), and He ‘922 teaches wherein the first colour is red and the second colour is yellow ([0025], “amber” , and [0026], “red”).
Regarding claim 6, He ‘922 discloses A method for assisting performing a manoeuvre for a tilt/rotor aircraft that is configured to be capable of hovering, comprising the steps of: i) detecting that said aircraft is in a real Vortex Ring State condition; (Abstract, [0001], [0002], “rotary wing aircraft”, [0013]-[0014]) ii) displaying on an indicator a first indication associated to the value of vertical speed of said aircraft ([0004], “vertical speed indicator”, [0013]-[0014], [0019]-[0020]); iii) displaying, on a first area of said indicator and on a second area of said indicator, a graduated scale of notches corresponding values of a vertical rate of descent ([0020], “vertical speed scale 56”, Fig. 2), iv) detecting that said aircraft is approaching the real Vortex Ring State condition ([0025], “The vertical speed caution alert”, [0014], [0021]-[0023], and [0027], __the excessive vertical speed caution alert is associated to the approaching of the vortex ring state condition__); v) displaying, on the first area of said indicator, a second indication associated to the real Vortex Ring State condition being reached ([0013], “It is particularly desirable to enhance pilot awareness of any sudden increase in the vertical speed of the aircraft in a downward direction as this can be indicative of a Vortex Ring State (VRS) condition requiring the pilot's immediate attention.”, [0014], “provides excessive vertical speed alerts indicating when the vertical speed of a rotary wing aircraft exceeds one or more vertical speed alert thresholds.”, [0021], [0023], [0026], “Accordingly, a vertical speed warning alert is generated on PFD 30, [0027], __ providing the warning alert when there is a sudden and rapid/excessive increase in downward vertical speed, which is an indicative of the aircraft being in Vortex Ring State condition, reads on the limitation__ ); vi) displaying, on the second area of said indicator, a third indication associated to the fact that said aircraft is approaching said real Vortex Ring State condition ([0025], “The vertical speed caution alert can be produced by changing the appearance of the vertical speed indicator 54 in any number of different manners.”, “ change to an alert color, such as amber ”, [0014], [0021]-[0023], and [0027], __the excessive vertical speed caution alert is associated to the approaching of the vortex ring state condition__); vii) overlapping said second indication to one or more of said notches on the first area of said indicator ([0026], “the vertical speed warning alert include changes in the color and/or appearance of precision readout window 58, pointer icon 60, and thermometer 64, all of which may be generated to have a more pronounced appearance (e.g., a larger size) and color coded to a predetermined warning color, such as red (represented in FIG. 4 by a third style of cross-hatching).”, __vertical speed warning alert (which is associated with the aircraft being in VRS condition) is generated on the aircraft PFD by a more pronounced appearance (e.g. larger size) and predetermined color coded which reads on second indication being overlapped to a first region of the first indication corresponding to first values of a descent vertical speed/vertical rate of descent __); and viii) overlapping said third indication to one or more of said notches on the second area of said indicator ([0025], "The vertical speed caution alert can be produced by changing the appearance of the vertical speed indicator 54 in any number of different manners."); ix) displaying said second indication in a first colour; and x) displaying said third indication in a second colour different from said first colour ([0025], “amber” , and [0026], “red”); xi) of generating a first acoustic signal; said first acoustic signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition being reached ([0014], “audible alerts”, [0027], “aural alerts generated utilizing sound generator 18 (FIG. 1)”, “For example, when the high level vertical speed warning threshold has been surpassed, controller 14 of flight deck display system 10 can cause the following audible message to be annunciated via sound generator 18: “WARNING—EXCESSIVE VERTICAL SPEED.” ”); xii) displaying a first and a second visual signal ([0006], “A visual alert is produced on the PFD by altering the appearance of the vertical speed indicator in a first predetermined manner if the current vertical speed of the rotary wing aircraft surpasses the first speed alert threshold.”, [0014], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0027], “generating visual feedback indicating when the vertical speed of a rotary wing aircraft exceeds one or more vertical speed alert thresholds ”__excessive speed alert is associated to the vortex being reached and/or approaching…__); said first visual signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition being reached and being displayed in said first colour ([0025], “If desired, additional graphics can also be produced on PFD 30 indicative of the vertical speed warning alert.”, “For example, a graphic 64 (referred to herein as a “thermometer”) can be produced at a location adjacent precision readout window 58, which visually connects window 58 to pointer icon 60. Thermometer 64 can also be color coded to the warning color.”, Para [0026], “predetermined warning color”); said second visual signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition approaching and being displayed in said second colour ([0025], “The vertical speed caution alert can be produced by changing the appearance of the vertical speed indicator 54”, “change to an alert color, such as amber”).
He ‘922 doesn’t disclose wherein the method further comprises the step of xiii) storing pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed, wherein the pairs of values include: a) first pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a first flight envelope of the tilt- rotor aircraft, said first flight envelope comprising a safe flight envelope; b) second pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a second flight envelope wherein the tilt-rotor aircraft is approaching a Vortex Ring State condition; c) third pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a third flight envelope wherein the tilt-rotor aircraft is in the Vortex Ring State condition; d) fourth pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a first boundary line between the first and second flight envelope; and e) fifth pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a second boundary line between the second and third flight envelopes; wherein the first boundary line comprises a first segment corresponding to a constant first rate of descent value and to increasing values of the airspeed comprised between zero and a first airspeed value; a second segment corresponding to increasing values of the rate of descent comprised between the first rate of descent value and a second rate of descent value, and increasing values of the airspeed comprised between the first airspeed value and a second airspeed value; and a third segment corresponding to increasing values of the rate of descent comprised between the second rate of descent value and a sixth rate of descent value, and constant values of the airspeed equal to the second airspeed value; wherein the second boundary line comprises a fourth segment corresponding to constant fourth rate of descent value and to increasing values of the airspeed comprised between zero and a fourth airspeed value; a fifth segment corresponding to increasing values comprised between the fourth rate of descent value and a fifth rate of descent value, and decreasing values of the airspeed comprised between the fourth airspeed value and a fifth airspeed value; and a sixth segment corresponding to increasing values of the rate of descent comprised between the fifth rate of descent value and the sixth rate of descent value, and constant values of the airspeed equal to the fifth airspeed value; wherein the first and fourth airspeed values are equal to one another and the second airspeed value is greater than the fifth airspeed value; wherein the sixth rate of descent value is greater than the fifth rate of descent value, which is in turn greater than the fourth rate of descent value; and wherein the sixth rate of descent value is greater than the third rate of descent value; wherein the stored pairs of values of the rate of descent and the airspeed are used to detect that said aircraft is in a real Vortex Ring State condition and to detect that said aircraft is approaching a real Vortex Ring State condition
However, Brand teaches wherein the method further comprises the step of xiii) storing pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed (at least [0006], “monitoring, by a computer system of a rotorcraft, a vertical descent rate and a forward speed of the rotorcraft,”, “the vertical descent rate and the forward airspeed of the rotorcraft”, [0029]), wherein the pairs of values include: a) first pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a first flight envelope of the tilt- rotor aircraft, said first flight envelope comprising a safe flight envelope (at least Figs. 6, 7A, 7B and 8, [0032], [0036]-[0038], [0041], “safe flight envelope 700”, [0042], [0044]); b) second pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a second flight envelope wherein the tilt-rotor aircraft is approaching a Vortex Ring State condition (at least [0040], Figs, 6, 7A, 7B and 8, and ); c) third pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a third flight envelope wherein the tilt-rotor aircraft is in the Vortex Ring State condition (Fig. 6, [0038], “restricted flight region 608”, “The forward airspeed 602 and vertical speed 604 define the flight envelope 600”, “The chart shows an example of a restricted flight region 608 of forward airspeed 602 and descent rate or vertical speed 604 where vortex ring state (VRS) exists.”, “The restricted flight region 608 may be a region defined by forward airspeed and vertical speed or vertical descent rate, at which a rotorcraft [] may experience VRS.”); d) fourth pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a first boundary line between the first and second flight envelope (at least Fig. 8, flight VRS boundaries 810A and 810 B, [0043]); and e) fifth pairs of values of rate of descent and airspeed corresponding to a second boundary line between the second and third flight envelopes; wherein the first boundary line comprises a first segment corresponding to a constant first rate of descent value and to increasing values of the airspeed comprised between zero and a first airspeed value (at least Fig 7B, and [0042], “a safe flight envelope threshold 754 may have a constant vertical speed safety threshold 758A and a forward speed safety threshold 758B and may define a safe flight region 752.”); a second segment corresponding to increasing values of the rate of descent comprised between the first rate of descent value and a second rate of descent value, and increasing values of the airspeed comprised between the first airspeed value and a second value (at least Fig. 8 and associated paragraphs, __segment between the different vertical speed ft/min (which reads on first rate of descent and second rate of descent recited in the claim) and different values of airspeed (which reads on first airspeed value and second airspeed value recited in the claim) has been shown in the figure); and a third segment corresponding to increasing values of the rate of descent comprised between the second rate of descent value and a sixth rate of descent value and constant values of the airspeed equal to the second airspeed value (Fig. 8 covers this limitation, segments along the vertical lines (airspeed) between different flight envelops reads on the segments between the different rate of descent values); wherein the second boundary line comprises a fourth segment corresponding to a constant fourth rate of descent value and to increasing values of the airspeed comprised between zero and a fourth airspeed value (at least Fig 8, segment between horizontal lines ex. 814A and 814B and airspeed from 0 to another value as shown in the figure); a fifth segment corresponding to increasing values of the rate of descent comprised between the fourth rate of descent value and a fifth rate of descent value, and decreasing values of the airspeed comprised between the fourth airspeed value and a fifth airspeed value (at least Fig 8 shows segments between two different vertical speed while decreasing the values of airspeed); and a sixth segment corresponding to increasing values of the rate of descent comprised between the fifth rate of speed value and the sixth rate of speed value, and constant values of the airspeed equal to the fifth airspeed value (at least Fig. 8, at least for example vertical grid line associated with constant values 10 of airspeeds and increasing values of rate of descent);wherein the first and fourth airspeed values are equal to one another (at least Fig. 8 and associated paragraphs, at least for example vertical grid line associated with constant values 10 of airspeed) and the second airspeed value is greater than the fifth airspeed value (at least Fig. 8); wherein the sixth rate of descent value is greater than the fifth rate of descent value, which is in turn greater than the fourth rate of descent value; and wherein the sixth rate of descent value is greater than the third rate of descent value (at least Fig. 8);wherein the stored pairs of values of the rate of descent and the airspeed are used to detect that said aircraft is in a real Vortex Ring State condition (at least [0004]-[0006], [0030], [0038], “The chart shows an example of a restricted flight region 608 of forward airspeed 602 and descent rate or vertical speed 604 where vortex ring state (VRS) exists”, “The restricted flight region”, [0039], e.g., claims 1 and 7) and to detect that said aircraft is approaching a real Vortex Ring State condition (at least [0004]-[0006], “determining, by the computer system, whether to perform vortex ring state (VRS) avoidance according to the vertical descent rate and the forward airspeed of the rotorcraft,”, [0047], “determines whether VRS avoidance is needed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft for generating alerts indicative of a vortex ring state (VRS) condition as taught by He ‘922 to include a system and method for detecting and avoiding VRS by using the sored data of the aircraft vertical speed (rate of decent) and airspeed by considering the safety thresholds for both aircraft vertical speed and airspeed as taught by Brand, with the motivation of increasing the safety of the aircraft.
Further, He ‘922 doesn’t disclose generating a second acoustic signal and said second acoustic signal being associated to said Vortex Ring State condition approaching;
However, Certain teaches generating a second acoustic signal and ([0001]-[0002], “detecting and signaling that a rotorcraft, in particular of the helicopter type, is approaching the vortex domain.”, [0114], “the fifth means comprise an audible or visible alarm, or any other equivalent means such as an indicator with appropriate symbology”, __fifth means comprise an audible alarm reads on second acoustic signal__, [0140]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft for generating alerts indicative of a vortex ring state (VRS) condition as taught by He ‘922 to include a sound generator to alert the pilot if the aircraft is approaching a VRS condition as taught by Certain, because it can help the pilots quickly recognize the onset of a vortex ring condition, enabling faster corrective action which reduce the risk of loss of control during critical flight phases like hover or descent.
Further, He ‘922 doesn’t explicitly disclose an additional indicator comprising an area on which a fourth indication can be displayed that is associated to the attitude of said aircraft.
However, Pratap teaches an additional indicator comprising an area on which a fourth indication can be displayed that is associated to the attitude of said aircraft ([0030], “attitude indicator 206”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft as taught by He ‘922 to include an indication associated to the attitude of the aircraft as taught by Pratap because there is a relation between the attitude of the aircraft and vortex ring state condition and having an attitude indicator enhance the pilot’s awareness about the potential occurrence of the vortex condition which improve the control of the aircraft.
Regarding claim 7, He ‘922 in view of prior arts relied upon teaches the method according to claim 6, however, He ‘922 doesn’t teach wherein the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth segments are segments of a straight line.
However, Brand teaches wherein the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth segments are segments of a straight line (at least Fig. 7B and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft for generating alerts indicative of a vortex ring state (VRS) condition as taught by He ‘922 to include a system and method for detecting and avoiding VRS by using the sored data of the aircraft vertical speed (rate of decent) and airspeed by considering the safety thresholds and also different segments (including constant rate of decent or constant airspeed) as taught by Brand, with the motivation of increasing the safety of the aircraft by monitoring the safety chart indicating of the safe regions and VRS regions according to the different values of aircraft’s airspeed and rate of decent.
Regarding claim 8, He ‘922 in view of prior arts relied upon teaches the method according to claim 6, however, He ‘922 doesn’t teach wherein the first and forth segments are parallel; the second and firth segments are parallel; and the third and sixth segments are parallel.
However, Brand teaches wherein the first and forth segments are parallel; the second and firth segments are parallel; and the third and sixth segments are parallel (at least Fig. 7A and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flight deck display system onboard a rotary wing aircraft for generating alerts indicative of a vortex ring state (VRS) condition as taught by He ‘922 to include a system and method for detecting and avoiding VRS by using the sored data of the aircraft vertical speed (rate of decent) and airspeed by considering the safety thresholds and also different segments parallel to each other (including constant rate of decent or constant airspeed or decreasing/increasing rate of decent and airspeed) as taught by Brand, with the motivation of increasing the safety of the aircraft by monitoring the safety chart indicating of the safe regions and VRS regions according to the different values of aircraft’s airspeed and rate of decent.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669