DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12 August 2026 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the previous Specification objections. However, the Applicant’s amendments have provided new grounds for a Specification objection and a Drawing objection.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections. Accordingly, the 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12 August 2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the grounds of rejection under 35 USC § 102 and 103 still stand.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 12 August 2026, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-18 have been amended. Claims 6, 12, and 19-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-18 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “connection assembly” of claims 1 and 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
There is no mention in the Specification the “connection assembly” of claims 1 and 15.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Recommend amending the last line of claim 2 to recite: “for transmitting power and/or information.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are the following:
“heating element” in claims 1, 8, and 15. The generic placeholder is “element” and the functional limitation is “heating.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes a “heating coil.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parachini et al. (US-20190297688-A1).
Regarding claim 8, Parachini teaches a household appliance (cooktop assembly 10, fig. 1) further comprising:
a worktop (panel 90, fig. 5A);
a consumer load for consumption of electrical power (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 3; para 0031), wherein the consumer load comprises a heating element (coil inside coil former 50, fig. 7) arranged beneath the worktop (panel 90, fig. 5A; the panel is located above the foil 142 in fig. 7, para 0069);
a power board (circuit 46, fig. 7) for delivery of electrical power to the consumer load (para 0035);
a carrier plate (support beam 42, fig. 3) arranged beneath the consumer load and above the power board (circuit 46, fig. 7);
a first upper connector means arranged at the heating element (sheath 104, fig. 7; interpreted under 112f as a socket; sheath 104 in fig. 7 is construed as a socket);
a second upper connector means (central pin 122, fig. 7; interpreted under 112f as another socket; the pin 122 is construed as a socket) arranged on an upper side of the carrier plate, wherein the second upper connector means is electrically connectable to the first upper connector means (connectable through electrical conductive connections 106, fig. 6A); and
a lower connector means (interpreted under 112f as another socket; the connection fixture 62 is construed as a socket) arranged on a lower side of the carrier plate (fixture 62 is under the beam 42, fig. 7), which-wherein the second upper connector means and lower connector means are electrically connected or connectable (connections 106, fig. 7) with each other through a cut-out in the carrier plate (central aperture 132 of the beam 42, fig. 7).
Parachini, fig. 7
Regarding claim 9, Parachini teaches wherein the second upper connector means (pin 122, fig. 7) are coupled with the lower connector means (fixture 62, fig. 7) within the cut-out in the carrier plate (aperture 132, fig. 7), or the second upper connector means (central pin 122, fig. 7) penetrate or pass through the cut-out in the carrier plate (central aperture 132 of the beam 42, fig. 7) for a coupling with the lower connector means at the lower side of the carrier plate (the pin 122 penetrates through the beam 42 and connects with fixture 62, fig. 7), or the lower connector means penetrate or pass through the cut-out in the carrier plate for a coupling with the upper connector means at the upper side of the carrier plate (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 10, Parachini teaches wherein the cut-out (central aperture 132 of the beam 42, fig. 7) is covered by at least one of the second upper connector means (central pin 122, fig. 7) and the lower connector means (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 11, Parachini teaches wherein the second upper connector means (central pin 122, fig. 7) and the lower connector means (fixture 262, fig. 7) are connectable by snap elements or via bayonet connection elements (the pin 122 is construed as being a bayonet element, fig. 7), at least a part of the snap elements or the bayonet connection elements engaging with or penetrating the cut-out in the carrier plate (the pin 122 engages with and penetrates through the central aperture 132 in the beam 42, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Parachini teaches wherein the second upper connector means (central pin 122, fig. 7) and the lower connector means (fixture 62, fig. 7) form a push-in and/or snap-fit connector (construed as a push-in connector between the pin 122 and fixture 62 at the aperture 54, fig. 7) for the heating element (coil inside coil form 50, fig. 7), the push-in and/or snap-fit connector (construed as a push-in connector between the sheath 104 and the former 50, fig. 7) being provided for the first upper connector means (sheath 104, fig. 7) arranged at the heating element (coil inside the former 50, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Parachini teaches wherein the lower connector means (fixture 62, fig. 7) is connected to a connection line (conductive connections 106, fig. 7) for transmission of electrical power and/or information (“signals (e.g. a temperature signal),” para 0048), wherein the connection line for transmission of electrical power and/or information is coupled with or adapted to be coupled with the power board (circuit 46; the conductive connections 106 connect with the terminal 110, which is part of the circuit 46, fig. 7) and/or with the user interface (not explicitly disclosed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parachini et al. (US-20190297688-A1) in view of Kim et al. (US-20220039218-A1, effective filing date of 8 Feb 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Parachini teaches a household appliance (cooktop assembly 10, fig. 1), comprising:
a housing or an installation case (housing 28, fig. 1);
a consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 1) for consumption of electrical power (the “induction” provides “electric power” to “cookware,” para 0023), wherein the consumer load comprises a heating element (induction coils 14, fig. 1),
a power board (electrical circuit 46, fig. 3; “PCB,” para 0035) for delivery of electrical power to the consumer load (para 0035), wherein the consumer load (coils inside the coil formers 50, fig. 3) and power board (circuit 46, fig. 3) are arranged or arrangeable within the housing or installation case (“of the housing 28,” para 0031) in superimposed levels (as shown in fig. 3);
a connection assembly (conductive connections 106, peninsula 114, pins 124a & 124b, and terminal below pins 124a and 124b on the electrical circuit 46, fig. 7) configured for electrical connection of the consumer load and power board (paras 0060-0062), wherein the connection assembly comprises a first means for transmitting power and/or information (conductive connections 106, fig. 7; the “first connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting bar, which is not explicitly disclosed) that is allocated to one of the consumer load (“the electrically conductive connections 106 configured to extend from the sheath 104 and into the opening 102 formed in the coil former 50,” para 0060; the connections 106 is construed as being allocated to the claimed “consumer load” that is in the former 50) and the power board (“The conductive connections 106 further connect to the cantilevered spring 112 formed in the PCB of the electrical circuit 46,” para 0060; the connections 106 are also construed as being allocated to the claimed “board,” which is the circuit 46), and a second means (peninsula 114, fig. 7; the “second connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting rail; the peninsula 114 is construed as being a rail that transmits power through the terminal 110) for transmitting power (terminal 110, fig. 7; construed as being able to transmit power) and/or information (“temperature signal,” para 0048) that is allocated to the other of the consumer load (not explicitly disclosed) and the power board (the peninsula 114 is construed as being allocated to the circuit 46, fig. 7),
and the second means (peninsula 114, fig. 7) for transmitting power and/or information comprises a gutter-shaped (the peninsula 114 is construed as having a shape similar to a gutter relative to a roof, where the circuit 46 is similar to a roof) or trough-shaped contact element (not explicitly disclose), the elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element being adapted to move within the gutter-shaped or trough-shaped contact element with at least one degree of freedom (the connections 106 can move up or down while connected to the peninsula 114, fig. 7).
Parachini does not explicitly disclose wherein the first means for transmitting power and/or information comprises an elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a power transmitting bar; Parachini teaches a connections 106 but does not explicitly disclose a bar).
However, in the same field of endeavor of inductive heaters, Kim teaches wherein the first means for transmitting power and/or information comprises an elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element (free ends 289, fig. 3; construed as having a bar or rectangular shape).
Kim, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Parachini, in view of the teachings of Kim, by using a contact terminal 280, as taught by Kim, as the conductive elements in the pins 122, as taught by Parachini, that connect with rails 310, as taught by Kim, or the peninsula 114, as taught by Parachini, in order to provide an electrical connection that is movable, for the advantage of ensuring increased degree of freedom, permitting the heating coil to be moved downwards by a cooking vessel (Kim, paras 0010-0014).
Regarding claim 2, Parachini teaches wherein the first and second connection elements (conductive connections 106 and peninsula 114, fig. 7) are configured for transmitting power (“electrically conductive connections,” para 0056) and/or information (“temperature signal,” para 0048), further wherein contact forces between the first and second power connections elements are based on:
an elastic force (spring 112, fig. 7) acting on or coupled into at least one of the first and second means for transmitting power and/or information,
on a force of gravity acting on or coupled into an upper one of the first and second means (gravity acts on the connections 106, fig. 7) for transmitting power and/or information,
on a magnetic force (not explicitly disclosed) acting between the first and second means for transmitting power and/or information, or
frictionally engaged (friction at the terminal 110, fig. 7) connection between the first and second means for transmitting power.
Regarding claim 3, Parachini teaches wherein the consumer load (coils inside the coil formers 50, fig. 7) and the power board (electrical circuit 46, fig. 7) are configured to be electrically connected (para 0046) during an assembly movement (fig. 5B; para 0051) mainly in a direction at least approximately orthogonally to a main surface of the power board (the assembly movement is vertical in fig. 5B in the direction 98, which is construed as being perpendicular to the top surface of circuit 46, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Parachini teaches wherein the first means for transmitting power and/or information extends downwards from a bottom side of the consumer load and the second means for transmitting power and/or information extends upwards from a top side of the power board (not explicitly disclosed), or
the first means for transmitting power and/or information extends upwards from a top side of the consumer load (sensor body 108 extends upwards from a top side and surface of the central pin 122, fig. 7) and the second means for transmitting power and/or information extends downwards from a bottom side of the power board (peninsula 114 extends downwards from board 46, fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 5, Parachini teaches wherein a first one (connections 106, fig. 7) of the first and second means for transmitting power and/or information comprises a stationary contact face (face at the bottom of pin 122, fig. 7; pin 122 is stationary when it is inserted into the fixture 62, para 0063) and a second one (peninsula 114, fig. 7) of the first and second means for transmitting power and/or information transmitting means comprises a spring-loaded (spring 112, fig. 7) movable contact face (top face of peninsula 114, fig. 7) being a counter face to the stationary contact face (the bottom face of pin 122 is counter to that of the top face of peninsula 114, fig. 7), the movable contact face being movable orthogonally to a contact area between the stationary and movable contact faces (the peninsula 114 is movable vertically, which is orthogonal to the horizontal surface of the peninsula, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Parachini teaches wherein the first and second means (connections 106 and peninsula 114, fig. 7) for transmitting power and/or information enable a spatial allocation between the consumer load (former 50, fig. 7) and the power board (circuit 46, fig. 7) with a flexibility in one, two or three coordinate directions (vertical coordinate direction, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 15, Parachini teaches a method for assembling a household appliance (“manufacturing the cooktop assembly 10,” para 0048), comprising the steps of:
a. providing: a housing or an installation case (housing 28, fig. 1; provided as shown in fig. 1),
a consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 1), the consumer load comprising a heating element (induction coils 14, fig. 1),
a power board (electrical circuit 46, fig. 3; “PCB,” para 0035) for delivery of electrical power (para 0035) to the consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 1; mounted to the coils via the support beam 42, para 0042), and
a connection assembly (conductive connections 106, peninsula 114, pins 124a & 124b, and terminal below pins 124a and 124b on the electrical circuit 46, fig. 7) for electrically connection of the consumer load and power board (paras 0060-0062), wherein the connection assembly comprises a first means for transmitting power and/or information (conductive connections 106, fig. 7; the “first connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting bar, which is not explicitly disclosed) that is allocated to one of the consumer load (“the electrically conductive connections 106 configured to extend from the sheath 104 and into the opening 102 formed in the coil former 50,” para 0060; the connections 106 is construed as being allocated to the claimed “consumer load” that is in the former 50) and the power board (“The conductive connections 106 further connect to the cantilevered spring 112 formed in the PCB of the electrical circuit 46,” para 0060; the connections 106 are also construed as being allocated to the claimed “board,” which is the circuit 46), and a second means (peninsula 114, fig. 7; the “second connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting rail; the peninsula 114 is construed as being a rail that transmits power through the terminal 110) for transmitting power (terminal 110, fig. 7; construed as being able to transmit power) and/or information (“temperature signal,” para 0048) that is allocated to the other of the consumer load (not explicitly disclosed) and the power board (the peninsula 114 is construed as being allocated to the circuit 46, fig. 7),
and the second means (peninsula 114, fig. 7) for transmitting power and/or information comprises a gutter-shaped (the peninsula 114 is construed as having a shape similar to a gutter relative to a roof, where the circuit 46 is similar to a roof) or trough-shaped contact element (not explicitly disclose), the elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element being adapted to move within the gutter-shaped or trough-shaped contact element with at least one degree of freedom (the connections 106 can move up or down while connected to the peninsula 114, fig. 7)
b. mounting (fig. 4B; “inserted,” para 0044) the power board (electrical circuit 46, fig. 3; “PCB,” para 0035) into the housing or the installation case (the support beam 42 mounts to the housing 28, fig. 5B and para 0031);
c. mounting (fig. 5A; “rest,” para 0052) the consumer load into the housing or the installation case (the coil assemblies 26 are mounted to the housing 28 via the support beam 42, paras 0031 and 0052 and fig. 5B)
wherein at least two of the steps b and c are consecutively performed in either order (the step shown in fig. 4B is construed as happening before the step shown in fig. 5A) in an assembly movement (figs. 4B and 5A) in a direction that is orthogonal to a base area of the housing, a based area of the installation case, a main surface of the power board, or a main surface of the consumer load (the mounting of the beam 42 and the inverter 70 to the housing 28 construed as being done vertically, figs. 4B and 5A; this vertical mounting is perpendicular to the area of the board 46, coils 26, and inverter 70, figs. 3-4A), and
wherein during the second one (fig. 5B; “mount,” para 0049) of the two consecutive mounting steps, the first means for transmitting power and/or information (connections 106, fig. 7) is connected to the second means for transmitting power and/or information (peninsula 114, fig. 7) with a connection movement (arrow 98, fig. 7; “assembled,” para 0060; construed as a vertical movement), which points in the same direction as the assembling movement (arrow 98, fig. 5B; para 0049).
Parachini does not explicitly disclose wherein the first means for transmitting power and/or information comprises an elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element (Parachini teaches a connections 106 but does not explicitly disclose a bar).
However, in the same field of endeavor of inductive heaters, Kim teaches wherein the first means for transmitting power and/or information comprises an elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element (free ends 289, fig. 3; construed as having a bar or rectangular shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Parachini, in view of the teachings of Kim, by using a contact terminal 280, as taught by Kim, as the conductive elements in the pins 122, as taught by Parachini, that connect with rails 310, as taught by Kim, or the peninsula 114, as taught by Parachini, in order to provide an electrical connection that is movable, for the advantage of ensuring increased degree of freedom, permitting the heating coil to be moved downwards by a cooking vessel (Kim, paras 0010-0014).
Regarding claim 16, Parachini teaches wherein the connection movement (fig. 7 is construed as a simultaneous order) and/or the assembly movement (figs. 4B and 5A) is/are a single movement/single movements (the “insertion” taught in para 0044, the “resting” taught in para 0052, and ”assembling” taught in para 0060 are construed as being a single movement).
Regarding claim 17, Parachini teaches wherein during the connection movement the first means for transmitting power and/or information couples to the second means for transmitting power and/or information (conductive connections 106 and peninsula 114, fig. 7), which coupling is supported by:
an elastic force (spring 112, fig. 7),
a force of gravity (gravity acts on the connections 106 and peninsula 114, fig. 7),
a magnetic force (not explicitly disclosed), or
a frictionally engaged connection (friction at the terminal 110, fig. 7) acting between the first and second means for transmitting power and/or information.
Regarding claim 18, Parachini teaches wherein the mounting step c (fig. 5A; the coil assemblies 26 are mounted to the housing 28 via the support beam 42, para 0031 and fig. 5B) includes mounting steps c1 (figs. 3 and 7; “assembled,” para 0060) and c2 (fig. 5B; para 0031) or mounting steps c1′ and c2′ (not explicitly disclosed), wherein:
the mounting step c1 (figs. 3 and 7) comprises mounting a carrier plate (support beam 42, fig. 7) to a bottom side of the consumer load (bottom side of coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 7; para 0031), and
the mounting step c2 (fig. 5B) comprises mounting the consumer load together with said carrier plate into the housing or the installation case (the coil assemblies 26 are mounted to the housing 28 via the support beam 42, paras 0031 and 0055);
the mounting step c1′ comprises mounting the carrier plate into the housing or the installation case, and
the mounting step c2′ comprises mounting the consumer load into the housing or the installation case on an upper side of the carrier plate (not explicitly disclosed).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 12 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections – 35 USC § 103
I. Independent Claims 1 and 15
The examiner agrees with the Applicant’s argument on page 14 that in the previous Office action, neither the Parachini reference (US-20190297688-A1) nor the Kim reference (US-20220039218-A1) could teach the claimed “gutter-shaped or trough-shaped contact element.” However, this rejection was based on the Claims filed 15 June 2023. In the Claims that were filed on 12 August 2026, much of the structure that was previously in the independent claims has since been removed. As a result, the scope of the independent Claims has broadened providing flexibility. This flexibility has enabled the Parachini reference and the Kim reference to still teach claims 1 and 15.
Pages 14-15 of the arguments state that the Keller’s rail 111 and Kim’s power-transmitting rail 310 are “not analogous structures” because the two rails “serve different functions.”
The examiner did not find this argument persuasive because both Keller and Kim were in the “same field of endeavor of inductive heaters” (pages 19 and 30 of the Office action filed 12 May 2026). The examiner made this field-of-endeavor determination based on the Instant Application which discloses that: “The present invention relates to household appliance, particularly a cooking appliance, more particularly a cooking hob, even more particularly an induction cooking hob.” In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(a), if a reference is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, then the reference is considered to be an analogous reference. Although the Applicant suggests that a determination of analogous prior art is made based on certain features having the same function, this determination is actually based on whether the reference is in the same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the same problem as that disclosed in the Instant Application.
II. Independent Claim 8
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 8 do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
On page 16, the Applicant suggests that the Parachini reference does not teach “wherein the first upper connector means is arranged at the heating element 26, the second upper connector means is arranged on an upper side of the carrier plate 42, and the second upper connector means is electrically connectable to the first upper connector means.” However, explained in the rejection above, Parachini teaches a first upper connector means (sheath 104, fig. 7) is arranged at the heating element (coil former 50, fig. 7), the second upper connector means (pin 122, fig. 7) is arranged on an upper side of the carrier plate (central pin 122 is arranged on the upper side of the beam 42, fig. 6A), and the second upper connector means is electrically connectable to the first upper connector means (electrical connections 106 connect the sheath 104 with the central pin 122, fig. 7).
For the above reasons, rejections to the pending claims are respectfully sustained by the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 5/7/2026