DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because not within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
There is no mention in the Specification the following limitations from claim 1: “….at least one connection means for electrical connection of at least two of: … the mains terminal block, the user interface…” and “….wherein at least one of: … the mains terminal block, the user interface; comprises a first connection means for electrical connection, which is connectable to a second connection means for electrical connection.”
There is no mention in the Specification the following limitation from claim 8: “the user interface is/are arranged at least partially beneath the carrier plate.”
There is no mention in the Specification of the following limitation from claim 14: “which connection line for transmission of electrical power and/or information is coupled with or adapted to be coupled with … the user interface.”
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 15, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Recommend amending line 6 of claim 1 to recite: “
Recommend amending line 9 of claim 1 to recite: “to the
Recommend inserting “and” at the end of lines 19, 24, 31, and 41 in claim 1.
Recommend amending line 2 of claim 3 to recite: “the power board.”
Recommend amending claim 3 to recite: “the assembly movement.”
Recommend amending line 29 of claim 15 to recite: “the assembly movement.
Recommend removing the periods from within the body of claims 15 and 18-20. Each claim should end with a period, and periods should not be used elsewhere in the claims except with abbreviations (MPEP 608.01.m).
In claim 18, recommend amending the new steps that are recited as “a step.” For example, line 4 would be: “….the mounting step c1. comprises a step of mounting…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are the following:
“heating element” in claims 1 and 15. The generic placeholder is “element” and the functional limitation is “heating.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes a “heating coil.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “….at least one connection means for electrical connection of at least two of: the consumer load, the power board for electrical power, the mains terminal block, the user interface…” The “at least one connection means” are interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being the “power cords” that are disclosed in the Specification. However, the Specification does not disclose connecting power cords for a “user interface” or a “mains terminal block” (it is unclear what structure is considered the “mains terminal block” in the Specification). As a result, the Specification fails to disclose any structure in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to readily understand what a “connection means” is for the “mains terminal block” or the “user interface” or that the inventor possessed the claim subject matter at the time of filing.
Claim 1 recites: “….wherein at least one of: the consumer load, the power board for electrical power, the mains terminal block, the user interface; comprises a first connection means for electrical connection, which is connectable to a second connection means for electrical connection..” The “first connection means” and the “second connection means” are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as being as being a bar 144 and a rail 146. Although the Specification discloses that there can be a bar 144 and a rail 146 between the power board 122 and the heating coil units 116, there is no disclosure in the Specification of a bar 144 and a rail 146 connecting the mains terminal block or the user interface. As a result, the Specification fails to disclose any structure in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to readily understand what a “first connection means” or a “second connection means” is for the “mains terminal block” or the “user interface” or that the inventor possessed the claim subject matter at the time of filing.
Claims 2-14 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim limitations “at least one connection means,” “first connection means,” and “second connection means” in claim 1 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The structure described in the specification does not perform the entire function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein at least one of: the consumer load, the power board for electrical power, the mains terminal block, the user interface; comprises a first connection means for electrical connection, which is connectable to a second connection means for electrical connection, the second connection means being arranged or having been arranged in the housing or installation case, in a connection movement, which points in a same direction as or complies with an assembly movement for assembling the at least one of: the consumer load, the power board for electrical power, the mains terminal block, the user interface; in the housing or installation case, which connection and/or assembly movement is a single movement.” A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the methods steps for using or arranging the apparatus is indefinite (MPEP 2173.05.p.II). Specifically, it is unclear how the “connection movement” and the “assembly movement” affect the structure of the claim and whether the claim is drawn to the structure of the household apparatus or the process for arranging the household apparatus according to a “connection movement” and an “assembly movement.” It is also unclear how movements are able to “point” in a “direction.” The Specification discloses these movements as processes for assembling the apparatus (pages 16-17 of the Specification). For the purpose of the examination, since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of the structural impact of the claimed “movements,” as best understood, if the prior art comprises structure that is assembled, then it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim 2 recites: “wherein the consumer load is arranged above or below the power board and is electrically connected to the power board.” However, the “consumer load” and the “power board” are recited as two alternative elements in claim 1. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitations of claim 2 are required. For example, if a “mains terminal block” and a “user interface” are taught in the prior art, are the limitations directed to the “consumer load” and the “power board” of claim 2 required elements? Recommend positively reciting that the household appliance includes the “consumer load” and the “power board” in claim 2.
Claim 2 recites: a “first power” and a “second power” and various forces between these powers. However, it is unclear how powers (e.g,. a unit of measurement in kilowatts) can experience physical forces. Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of the term “first power” and “second power” as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim 2 recites an “information transmitting means” that is allocated to the “power board” (lines 7-8) and another “information transmitting means” that is allocated to the “consumer load” (line 9). However, the claim then refers to “information transmitting means” in lines 11, 14, 17, 19, and 21-22. The antecedent for these limitations is unclear—in these instances, is the claim referring to the “information transmitting means” that is allocated to the power board or the “information transmitting means” that is allocated to the consumer load? Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of the term “information transmitting means,” as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim 2 recites: “…at least one pair of connection means comprising a first power and/or information transmitting means allocated to the consumer load and a second power and/or information transmitting means allocated to the power board…” This limitation is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as being a pair of transmitting bars 144 and power transmitting rails 146 (two bars and two rails). However, claim 2 is dependent on claim 1, which recites: “a first connection means for electrical connection, which is connectable to a second connection means for electrical connection, the second connection means being arranged or having been arranged in the housing or installation case.” These limitations from claim 1 are also interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as being a bar 144 and a rail 146 (one bar and one rail). The scope of claim 2 is indefinite because it is unclear how many bars and rails are required within the scope of the claim—two bars / two rails or three bars/ three rails? For the purpose of the examination, claim 2 will be interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation as requiring at least two bars / two rails.
Claim 2 recites: “…based: on elastic force acting on or coupled into at least one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means, and/or on force of gravity acting on or coupled into an upper one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means, and/or on magnetic force acting between the first and second power and/or information transmitting means, and/or on force-fit and/or on form-fit and/or on frictionally engaged connection between the first and second power and/or information transmitting means.” It is unclear how all of the forces can coexist together (i.e., in the instance where “and/or” means “and”). For example, how can there be an “elastic force” at the same time that there is a “force-fit” and a “form-fit” force? For the purpose of the examination, these conjunctions “and/or” will be interpreted as meaning “or.”
Claim 3 recites: “wherein the electrical connection between the consumer load and the circuit board is performed or performable during an assembly movement mainly in a direction at least approximately orthogonally to a main surface of the power board.” It is unclear how an “electrical connection” is performed at the same time that there is an “assembly movement.” For example, is electrical current applied in order to form an “electrical connection” at the same time that the “assembly movement” is applied? It is also unclear how many “assembly movements” are required in claim 3. Claim 1 requires one “assembly movement.” In claim 3, are two “assembly movements” or one “assembly movement” required? Finally, it is unclear what angle is required to be in a direction that is “at least approximately orthogonal.” For example, ninety degrees is presumed to be “at least approximately orthogonal.” How about 85 degrees (“approximately” is not defined in the Specification)? Furthermore, would 120 degrees be “at least approximately orthogonal?” Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of these limitations, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claims 8-14 and 19-20 are directed to the “second embodiment” according to the Specification, which is shown in fig. 12. Meanwhile, claims 1-7 and 15-18 are directed to the “first embodiment” according to the Specification, which is shown in figs. 5-11. It is unclear how the claims for the second embodiment can coexist with the claims for the first embodiment. For example, figs. 5-6 show power cords 152 that connect the inductor coils through the bars 144 and rails 146. Figure 12 shows as alternative embodiment where instead of bars and rails, sockets 260 are used that connect to power cords 250, which “are provided for being connected to the power board” according to the Specification. Thus, the first embodiment (claims 1-7 and 15-18) is disclosed as being an alternative to the second embodiment (claims 8-14 and 19-20) for connecting the coils to power board, according to the Specification.
Claim 8 recites: “the consumer load, which consumer load is electrically connected to the power board by the at least one connection means, wherein the power board and/or the user interface is/are arranged…. wherein the heating element…” The “heating element” is part of the “consumer load” according to claim 1. However, the “consumer load,” the “power board,” and the “user interface” are recited as being two possible alternative elements in claim 1. Therefore, it is unclear which limitations of claim 8 are required. For example, if a “mains terminal block” and a “user interface” are taught in the prior art, are the limitations directed to the “consumer load” and the “power board” of claim 8 required elements? Recommend positively reciting that the household appliance includes the “consumer load,” the “power board,” and the “user interface” in claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "thereof.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear what the antecedent is for “there” within “thereof.” Does “there” refer to the “cut-out,” the “upper connector means,” the “lower connector means,” or the “body?” Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of “thereof,” as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim 15 recites: “in a direction at least approximately orthogonally to a base area of the housing or the installation case or to a main surface of a support plate or a circuit board comprising the power board or the consumer load or the mains terminal block or the user interface.” It is unclear what angle is required to be in a direction that is “at least approximately orthogonal.” For example, ninety degrees is presumed to be “at least approximately orthogonal.” How about 85 degrees (“approximately” is not defined in the Specification)? Furthermore, would 120 degrees be “at least approximately orthogonal?” It is also unclear what the alternatives are in this limitation. For example, is the list of the alternatives considered to be the: (1) base area of the (1a) housing or the (1b) installation case or to a (2) main surface of a (2a) support plate or a (2b) circuit board comprising the (2ba) power board or the (2bb) consumer load or the (2bc) mains terminal block or the (2bd) user interface? Or perhaps instead, the “main surface” is permitted to be a “main surface” of a “user interface?” Or perhaps instead, there can be a “base area” of a “main surface” of a “support plate” that does not require the “power board,” the “consumer load,” the “mains terminal block” or the “user interface?” Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of these limitations, as best understood, if the prior art discloses an “assembly movement,” it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim 15 recites: “wherein during the second one of two consecutive mounting steps at least one first connection means for electrical connection is connected to at least one second connection means with a connection movement, which points in the same direction as or complies with the assembling movement of the second one of the two consecutive mounting movements.” This limitation appears to require that the “second one” of the mounting steps “points in the same direction” as the “second one” of the mounting steps. It is not clear how this limitation affects the scope of the claim (the “direction” will always be the same for the “second one” of the mounting steps). It is also unclear how a movement is able to “point” in a “direction.”
Claim 16 recites: ““wherein the at least two of the steps b. to e. are performed in either order and the connection movement and/or the assembly movement is/are a single movement / single movements.” Claim 16 is dependent on claim 15. Claim 15 in contrast recites: “wherein at least two of the steps b., c., d. and e. are consecutively performed.” It is unclear if the at least two steps are performed in “consecutive” order as required in claim 15 or in “either order” as a “single movement” as required in claim 16. Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of these limitations, as best understood, if the prior art discloses any order, then it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim 17 recites: “which coupling is supported by: elastic force and/or force of gravity and/or
magnetic force and/or force-fit and/or form-fit and/or frictionally engaged connection acting between the at least one first and second connection means.” It is unclear how all of the forces can coexist together (i.e., in the instance where “and/or” means “and”). For example, how can there be an “elastic force” at the same time that there is a “force-fit” and a “form-fit” force? For the purpose of the examination, these conjunctions “and/or” will be interpreted as meaning “or.”
Claim 20 recites alternatives that are joined by “and/or,” whereas claim 18 is joined by a conjunction that is joined by “either…or.” The construct of claim 20 causes confusion when “and” is used. For example, claim 20 could be interpreted as mounting a carrier plate to both bottom side and upper side of a carrier plate. Recommend dividing claims 18-20 into separate dependent claims (total of six claims instead of three claims) that recite two different species instead of combining these two species together within three claims.
Claims 4-7 and 18 are rejected based on their dependency to the independent claims.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 16 recites: “wherein the at least two of the steps b. to e. are performed in either order and the connection movement and/or the assembly movement is/are a single movement / single movements.” Claim 16 is dependent on claim 15. Claim 15 in contrast recites: “wherein at least two of the steps b., c., d. and e. are consecutively performed.” Thus, instead of including the “consecutive steps” of claim 15, claim 16 allows for steps “in either order,” which can be a “single movement.”
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parachini et al. (US-20190297688-A1) in view of Kim et al. (US-20220039218-A1, effective filing date of 8 Feb 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Parachini teaches a household appliance (cooktop assembly 10, fig. 1), comprising:
a housing or an installation case (housing 28, fig. 1);
at least two of the following:
a consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 1) for consumption of electrical power (the “induction” provides “electric power” to “cookware,” para 0023), being or comprising heating element (induction coils 14, fig. 1),
a power board (electrical circuit 46, fig. 3; “PCB,” para 0035) for delivery of electrical power to the at least one consumer load (para 0035),
a mains terminal block (inverter assembly 70 includes female receptacles 74, which are construed as blocks, fig. 4A) for a connection of the household appliance to an electric power supply (inverter assemblies 70, fig. 4A; the inverter is construed as being a power supply),
a user interface (user interface 20, fig. 1) for appliance control and/or for user interaction (para 0024); and
at least one connection means (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power cord; conductive connections 106, fig. 7) for electrical connection of at least two of:
the consumer load (the wires 106 provide power for the sensors 76 that are in the coils, para 0047 and fig. 7),
the power board for electrical power (the connections 106 connect with the terminal 110, which is part of the circuit 46, fig. 7),
the mains terminal block (not explicitly disclosed),
the user interface (not explicitly disclosed);
wherein the at least two of:
the consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 1),
the power board for electrical power (electrical circuit 46, fig. 3),
the mains terminal block (inverter assembly 70, fig. 4A),
the user interface (user interface 20, fig. 1);
are arranged or arrangeable within the housing or installation case (housing 28, fig. 1) in superimposed levels (figs. 3, 4A, and 5A; the user interface 20 is construed as being located at the panel 90, fig. 5A; para 0069),
and wherein at least one of:
the consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 1),
the power board for electrical power (electrical circuit 46, fig. 3),
the mains terminal block,
the user interface;
comprises a first connection means (“conductive elements” through the pins 52, fig. 7 and para 0039; the “first connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting bar, which is not explicitly disclosed) for electrical connection, which is connectable to a second connection means (“conductive elements” through the pins 52, fig. 7 and para 0039; the “second connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting rail, which is not explicitly disclosed) for electrical connection (para 0073), the second connection means being arranged or having been arranged in the housing or installation case, in a connection movement (arrow 98, fig. 7; construed as a vertical movement), which points in a same direction as or complies with an assembly movement (arrow 98, fig. 5B; para 0049) for assembling the at least one of:
the consumer load (“induction coil 14,” para 0073; fig. 7),
the power board for electrical power (“electrical circuit 46,” para 0073; fig. 7),
the mains terminal block (not explicitly disclosed),
the user interface (not explicitly disclosed);
in the housing or installation case (housing 28, fig. 1), which connection (fig. 7) and/or assembly movement (fig. 5B) is a single movement (the connection movement in fig. 7 and the assembly movement in fig. 5B are each construed as being a “single movement”).
Parachini, fig. 7
Parachini does not explicitly disclose a first connection means and a second connection means (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a bar and a rail).
However, in the same field of endeavor of inductive heaters, Kim teaches a first connection means (free ends 289, fig. 3; construed as having a bar or rectangular shape) and a second connection means (rails 310, fig. 3).
Kim, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Parachini, in view of the teachings of Kim, by using a contact terminal 280, as taught by Kim, as the conductive elements in the pins 52, as taught by Parachini, that connect with rails 310, as taught by Kim, which are inserted onto the electrical circuit 46, as taught by Parachini, in order to provide an electrical connection that is movable on the rail, for the advantage of ensuring increased degree of freedom, permitting the heating coil to be moved downwards by a cooking vessel (Kim, paras 0010-0014) .
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Parachini in view of Kim as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 2.
Specifically, Parachini teaches wherein the consumer load (coils inside the coil formers 50, fig. 7) is arranged above or below the power board (above the electrical circuit 46, fig. 7) and is electrically connected to the power board by at least one pair of connection means (“conductive elements” through the pins 52, fig. 7 and para 0039).
Additionally, Kim teaches a first power and/or information transmitting means (pair of free ends 289, fig. 3; interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting bar; the free end 289 is construed as having a bar or rectangular shape) allocated to the consumer load (coil 210, fig. 2) and a second power and/or information transmitting means (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting rail; pair of rails 310, fig. 3) allocated to the power board (board under rail 310, fig. 3), wherein contact forces (“pressed downwards,” para 0069) between the first and second power and/or information transmitting means are based: on elastic force (“elastically contacts,” para 0067) acting on or coupled into at least one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means, or on force of gravity acting on or coupled into an upper one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means (free end 289 is above rail 310 in fig. 3; construed such that gravity presses free end 289 down towards rail 310, fig. 3), or on magnetic force acting between the first and second power or information transmitting means (not explicitly disclosed), or on force-fit or on form-fit or on frictionally engaged connection between the first and second power and/or information transmitting means (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 3, Parachini teaches wherein the electrical connection (connection made with the inverter, para 0049; fig. 5B) between the consumer load (coils inside the coil formers 50, fig. 7) and the circuit board (electrical circuit 46, fig. 7) is performed or performable during an assembly movement (fig. 5B) mainly in a direction at least approximately orthogonally to a main surface of the power board (the assembly movement is vertical in fig. 5B in the direction 98, which is construed as being perpendicular to the top surface of circuit 46, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Parachini in view of Kim as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 4. Specifically, Kim teaches wherein the first power and/or information transmitting means (free ends 289, fig. 3) extends downwards from a bottom side of the consumer load (bottom side of heating module 200, fig. 2) and the second power and/or information transmitting means (rails 310, fig. 3) extends upwards from a top side of the power board (board under rail 310, fig. 3), or the first power and/or information transmitting means extends upwards from a top side of the consumer load and the second power and/or information transmitting means extends downwards from a bottom side of the power board (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Parachini in view of Kim as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 5. Specifically, Kim teaches wherein a first one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means (rails 310, fig. 3) comprises a stationary contact face (the top of the rail 310 is construed as being a stationary face) and a second one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means (free ends 289, fig. 3) comprises a spring-loaded movable contact face (the bottom of the free end 289 “elastically contacts” the rail, para 0068) being a counter face to the stationary contact face (fig. 3), the movable contact face being movable orthogonally to a contact area between the stationary and movable contact faces (the free end 289 is elastic and is movable in a vertical direction, fig. 3; paras 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Parachini in view of Kim as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 7. Specifically, Kim teaches wherein the first and second power and/or information transmitting means (rails 310 and free ends 289, fig. 3) enable a spatial allocation (space occupied by the rail 310, fig. 3) between the consumer load (heating module 200, fig. 2) and the power board (board under rail 310, fig. 3) with a flexibility in one, two or three coordinate directions (vertical direction, paras 0022-0023).
Regarding claim 8, Parachini teaches further comprising a carrier plate (support beam 42, fig. 3) arranged beneath and supporting the consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 3; para 0031), which consumer load is electrically connected to the power board (circuit 46, fig. 7) by the at least one connection means (connections 106, fig. 7; para 0056), wherein the power board (circuit 46, fig. 7) and/or the user interface (not explicitly disclosed) is/are arranged at least partially beneath the carrier plate (support beam 42, fig. 7), wherein the electrical connection is established using an upper connector means (central pin 122 and sheath 104, fig. 7; interpreted under 112f as a socket; central pin 122 in fig. 7 is construed as a socket) arranged on an upper side of the carrier plate (central pin 122 is arranged on the upper side of the beam 42, fig. 6A) and a lower connector means (interpreted under 112f as another socket; the connection fixture 62 is construed as a socket) arranged on a lower side of the carrier plate (fixture 62 is under the beam 42, fig. 7), which upper connector means and lower connector means are electrically connected or connectable with each other (central pin 122 connects to the central aperture 132 in the fixture 62, fig. 7; electrical conductive connections 106 fit through this connection, fig. 6A; construed as being an electrical connection) through a cut-out in the carrier plate (central aperture 132 of the beam 42, fig. 7), and wherein the heating element (coil inside coil former 50, fig. 7) is arranged beneath a worktop (panel 90, fig. 5A; the panel is located above the foil 142 in fig. 7, para 0069) of the household appliance.
Regarding claim 9, Parachini teaches wherein the upper connector means are coupled with the lower connector means within the cut-out in the carrier plate (not explicitly disclosed), or the upper connector means (central pin 122 and sheath 104, fig. 7) penetrate or pass through the cut-out in the carrier plate (central aperture 132 of the beam 42, fig. 7) for a coupling with the lower connector means at the lower side of the carrier plate (the pin 122 penetrates through the beam 42 and connects with fixture 62, fig. 7), or the lower connector means penetrate or pass through the cut-out in the carrier plate for a coupling with the upper connector means at the upper side of the carrier plate (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 10, Parachini teaches wherein the cut-out (central aperture 132 of the beam 42, fig. 7) is covered by at least one of the upper connector means (central pin 122 and sheath 104, fig. 7) and the lower connector means (not explicitly disclosed), by a body or casing part (contact surface 116, fig. 7) thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Parachini teaches wherein the upper connector means (central pin 122 and sheath 104, fig. 7) and the lower connector means (not explicitly disclosed) are connectable by snap elements or via bayonet connection elements (the pin 122 is construed as being a bayonet element, fig. 7), at least a part of the snap elements or the bayonet connection elements engaging with or penetrating the cut-out in the carrier plate (the pin 122 engages with and penetrates through the central aperture 132 in the beam 42, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Parachini teaches wherein the upper connector means (central pin 122 and sheath 104, fig. 7) comprises two parts with a first upper connector means (sheath 104, fig. 7), which is arranged at the heating element (the sheath 104 is in the coil former 50, fig. 7), and which is connectable to a second upper connector means (central pin 122, fig. 7), the second upper connector means being arranged or arrangeable at the carrier plate and directly connected or connectable to the lower connector means (central pin 122 connects with connection fixture 62, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Parachini teaches wherein the second upper connector means (central pin 122, fig. 7) and the lower connector means (fixture 62, fig. 7) form a push-in and/or snap-fit connector (construed as a push-in connector between the pin 122 and fixture 62 at the aperture 54, fig. 7) for the heating element (coil inside coil form 50, fig. 7), the push-in and/or snap-fit connector (construed as a push-in connector between the sheath 104 and the former 50, fig. 7) being provided for the first upper connector means (sheath 104, fig. 7) arranged at the heating element (coil inside the former 50, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Parachini teaches wherein the lower connector means (fixture 62, fig. 7) is connected to a connection line (conductive connections 106, fig. 7) for transmission of electrical power and/or information (“signals (e.g. a temperature signal),” para 0048), which connection line for transmission of electrical power and/or information is coupled with or adapted to be coupled with the power board (circuit 46; the conductive connections 106 connect with the terminal 110, which is part of the circuit 46, fig. 7) and/or with the user interface (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 15, Parachini teaches a method for assembling a household appliance (“manufacturing the cooktop assembly 10,” para 0048), comprising the steps of:
a. providing a housing or an installation case (housing 28, fig. 1; provided as shown in fig. 1),
and at least two of the following steps:
b. mounting of a power board (electrical circuit 46, fig. 3; “PCB,” para 0035) for delivery of electrical power (para 0035) to a consumer load (coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 1; mounted to the coils via the support beam 42, para 0042) into the housing or the installation case (the support beam 42 mounts to the housing 28, fig. 5B and para 0031);
c. mounting the consumer load into the housing or the installation case (the coil assemblies 26 are mounted to the housing 28 via the support beam 42, para 0031 and fig. 5B), the consumer load comprising a heating element;
d. mounting (para 0049) of a mains terminal block (inverter assembly 70 includes female receptacles 74, which are construed as blocks, fig. 4A) for a connection of the household appliance to an electric power supply (inverter assemblies 70, fig. 4A; the inverter is construed as being a power supply) into or on the housing or the installation case (para 0049); and
e. mounting of a user interface (user interface 20, fig. 1) for appliance control (para 0025) and/or for user interaction (para 0026) into or on the housing or the installation case (the user interface 20 is mounted onto the housing 28, fig. 1);
wherein at least two of the steps b., c., d. and e. are consecutively performed (step d of mounting the inverter is construed as happening before steps b and c, when the coil beam assemblies are mounted, para 0049) in an assembly movement (fig. 5B; para 0049) in a direction at least approximately orthogonally to a base area of the housing or the installation case or to a main surface of a support plate or a circuit board comprising the power board or the consumer load or the mains terminal block or the user interface (the mounting of the beam 42 and the inverter 70 to the housing 28 construed as being done vertically, fig. 5A; this vertical mounting is perpendicular to the area of the board 46, coils 26, and inverter 70, figs. 3-4A as well as the user interface 20, fig. 1),
wherein during the second one (steps b and c; fig. 5B; “mount,” para 0049) of two consecutive mounting steps at least one first connection means (“conductive elements” through the pins 52, fig. 7 and para 0039; the “first connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting bar, which is not explicitly disclosed) for electrical connection (para 0073) is connected to at least one second connection means (“conductive elements” through the pins 52, fig. 7 and para 0039; the “second connection means” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a power transmitting rail, which is not explicitly disclosed) with a connection movement (arrow 98, fig. 7; “assembled,” para 0060; construed as a vertical movement), which points in the same direction as or complies with the assembling movement (arrow 98, fig. 5B; para 0049) of the second one (fig. 5B) of the two consecutive mounting movements.
Parachini does not explicitly disclose a first connection means and a second connection means (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a bar and a rail).
However, in the same field of endeavor of inductive heaters, Kim teaches a first connection means (free ends 289, fig. 3; construed as having a bar or rectangular shape) and a second connection means (rails 310, fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Parachini, in view of the teachings of Kim, by using a contact terminal 280, as taught by Kim, as the conductive elements in the pins 52, as taught by Parachini, that connect with rails 310, as taught by Kim, which are inserted onto the electrical circuit 46, as taught by Parachini, in order to provide an electrical connection that is movable on the rail, for the advantage of ensuring increased degree of freedom, permitting the heating coil to be moved downwards by a cooking vessel (Kim, paras 0010-0014) .
Regarding claim 16, Parachini teaches wherein the at least two of the steps b. to e. (steps b and c are construed as being done in fig. 5B, which shows the mounting of the assembly of the circuit board 46 and the coil assemblies 26 that are connected to the beam 42 in fig. 7, being mounted to the housing 28) are performed in either order and the connection movement (fig. 7 is construed as a simultaneous order)) and/or the assembly movement is/are a single movement/single movements (“the end portions 42 a and 42 b of the beam assembly 42 may rest on the spring elements 96, which may further be supported by the peripheral rim 94 and the corresponding first wall 28 a and the second wall 28 b of the housing 28,” para 0054; mounting the beam 42 to the housing 28 as shown in fig. 5B is construed as a single movement).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Parachini in view of Kim as set forth above regarding claim 15 teaches the invention of claim 17. Specifically, Kim teaches wherein during the connection movement the at least one first connection means (free ends 289, fig. 3) couples to the at least one second connection means (rail 310, fig. 3), which coupling is supported by:
elastic force (“elastically contacts,” para 0067) or
force of gravity free end 289 is above rail 310 in fig. 3; construed such that gravity presses free end 289 down towards rail 310, fig. 3) or
magnetic force (not explicitly disclosed) or
force-fit or form-fit or frictionally engaged connection acting between the at least one first and second connection means (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 18, Parachini teaches comprising at least the steps a. to c.(please see rejection above), wherein the mounting step c. (the coil assemblies 26 are mounted to the housing 28 via the support beam 42, para 0031 and fig. 5B) includes either mounting steps c1. (fig. 7; “assembled,” para 0060) and c2. (fig. 5B; para 0031) or mounting steps c1′. and c2′. (not explicitly disclosed), wherein:
the mounting step c1. (fig. 7) comprises the step of mounting a carrier plate (support beam 42, fig. 7) to a bottom side of the consumer load (bottom side of coil beam assemblies 26, fig. 7; para 0031), and
the mounting step c2. (fig. 5B) comprises the step of mounting the consumer load together with said carrier plate into the housing or the installation case (the coil assemblies 26 are mounted to the housing 28 via the support beam 42, para 0031);
the mounting step c1′. comprises the step of mounting the carrier plate into the housing or the installation case, and
the mounting step c2′. comprises the step of mounting the consumer load into the housing or the installation case on an upper side of the carrier plate (not explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 19, Parachini teaches wherein:
a cut-out (central aperture 132 of the beam 42, fig. 7) is implemented in the carrier plate (support beam 42, fig. 7) prior to mounting step c1. (fig. 7; the central aperture 132 is construed as being formed in the beam 42 prior to the assembly shown in fig. 7) or prior to mounting step c1′. (not explicitly disclosed),
an upper connector means (central pin 122 and sheath 104, fig. 7; interpreted under 112f as a socket; central pin 122 in fig. 7 is construed as a socket) is arranged at an upper side of the cut-out (central pin 122 is arranged on the upper side of the beam 42, fig. 6A) and a lower connector means (interpreted under 112f as another socket; the connection fixture 62 is construed as a socket) is arranged at a lower side of the cut-out (fixture 62 is under the beam 42, fig. 7), and
an electrical connection is established by coupling electrical contacts arranged in the upper and lower connector means (central pin 122 connects via the central aperture 132 to the fixture 62, fig. 7; electrical conductive connections 106 fit through this connection, fig. 6A; construed as being an electrical connection).
Regarding claim 20, Parachini teaches wherein the lower connection means (fixture 62, fig.7) is connected to the power board (circuit 46, fig. 7) prior to or during the mounting step c2. (fig. 5B; the assembly in fig. 7 is construed as taking place prior to the mounting to the housing 28 shown in fig. 5B and described in para 0031) or prior to or during the mounting step c1′.(not explicitly disclosed),
and/or
the upper connection means (central pin 122 and sheath 104, fig. 7) is connected to the consumer load (coil inside the coil formers 50, fig. 7) during the mounting step c1. (connected during the assembly shown in fig. 7) or during the mounting step c2′ (not explicitly disclosed).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parachini et al. (US-20190297688-A1) in view of Kim et al. (US-20220039218-A1, effective filing date of 8 Feb 2018) as applied to claims 1-2 above and further in view of Keller et al. (EP-2931006-B1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
The combination of Parachini in view of Kim as set forth above regarding claim 1 partially teaches the invention of claim 6. Specifically, Kim teaches wherein a first one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means (free ends 289, fig. 3) comprises an elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element (the free end 289 is construed as being elongated from the contact terminal 280, fig. 3) and a second one of the first and second power and/or information transmitting means (rails 310, fig. 3), the elongated and/or stamp-shaped contact element being adapted to move around within the gutter-shaped or trough-shaped contact element (the free end 289 is “elastically” connected, paras 0067; construed such that free end 289 is able to “move around” by moving up and down relative to the rails 310, fig. 3) with at least one degree of freedom (para 0022).
Parachini/ Kim do not explicitly disclose a gutter-shaped or trough-shaped contact element (although Kim teaches a rail 310, Kim does not teach that the rail has a gutter or trough shape).
However, in the same field of endeavor of inductive heaters, Keller teaches a gutter-shaped or trough-shaped contact element (the rail 111 is construed as having a “gutter” or “trough” shape because of the groove 150, fig. 2).
Keller, fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Parachini/Kim, in view of the teachings of Keller, by placing a grove, as taught by Keller, at the top of the rail 310, as taught by Kim, in order to use a screw that can tighten into the groove to fasten the free end to rail, which ensures easy positioning and fastening of the free end to the rail, for the advantage of stabilizing the assembly during movement and positioning (Keller, para 0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lomp et al. (US-20160366726-A1) teach a plug-type contact for an electrical connection between the coils and the circuit board.
Neukamm et al. (US-20190162419-A1) teach springs for electrical connections.
Parachini et al. (US-20190297680-A1) teach an invention similar to US-20190297688-A1.
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 5/7/2026