DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 30 October 2025 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watabe et al. (JP2007-284748 – machine translation).
Considering claim 1, Watabe teaches a low yield point steel for a damper energy absorbing device in case of an earth quake (abstract) (i.e. a steel sheet for a seismic damper). The steel is a sheet (Paragraphs 26 and 32) and comprises a base steel with a composition by mass of C: 0.001-0.050%, Si: 0.80% or less, Mn: 0.1-2.0%, P: 0.020% or less, S: 0.015% or less, Al: 0.060% or less, N: 0.006% or less, Nb:0.01-0.60%, and Ti: 0.050% or less, balance Fe and inevitable impurities (Paragraph 8; Claim 2). Watabe does not specifically teach the claimed scale layer with FeO and Fe2SiO4. However, Watabe teaches where the steel is cast, reheated to 1000-1300 °C, finish rolled at 900 °C or higher, then allowed to cool to form a single ferrite phase (Paragraphs 9 and 30-31). This is substantially identical to that which applicant discloses as forming the claimed scale layer in Paragraphs 83, 87, and 92 of the originally filed specification. As such, one would reasonably expect the steel sheet of Watabe to possess the claimed scale layer and FeO and Fe2SiO4 content, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed steel sheet this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Watabe as this is considered a conventionally known steel for a damper and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the composition taught by Watabe overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Watabe teaches where the steel is a single structure of ferrite (Paragraph 6).
Considering claim 3, Watabe is silent regarding the claimed ferrite size. However, as outlined above, Watabe teaches a single phase ferrite microstructure for the steel sheet formed by a substantially identical process as that which applicant discloses as forming the claimed steel sheet and therefore the claimed ferrite size is expected to be present, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
Considering claim 4, Watabe teaches where the contents of C, Nb, Ti, and N overlap that which is claimed and therefore overlaps the claimed relational expressions 1 and 2. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 5-8 and 11, Watabe is silent regarding the claimed FeO content, Fe2SiO4 content, ratio thereof, thickness, and Charpy impact transition temperature. However, as outlined above, Watabe teaches a single phase ferrite microstructure for the steel sheet formed by a substantially identical process as that which applicant discloses as forming the claimed steel sheet and therefore these features are expected to be present, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
Considering claim 9, Watabe teaches examples of steel sheets having yield strengths of 207-237 MPa (Table 2) overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 10, Watabe teaches examples of steel sheets having tensile strengths of 306-375 MPa (Table 2) overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kuroda et al. (US 2009/0229710), Murakami et al. (US 2010/0040872), Matsuda et al. (US 2017/0292171), Oyagi et al. (US 2018/0245637), and Sakakibara et al. (US 2022/0251693) teach steel sheets demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784