DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 6/15/2023, 1/26/2025 and 5/28/2025 have been received and made of record. Note the acknowledged form PTO-1449 enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3 (and thereby dependent claim 4), the phrase "the corrugated ring farthest from a distal end of the inner core tube in the intravascular stent is a distal corrugated ring" renders the claim(s) indefinite because it appears that either “the corrugated ring closest to a distal end of the inner core tube in the intravascular stent is a distal corrugated ring” or “the corrugated ring farthest from the proximal end of the inner core tube in the intravascular stent is a distal corrugated ring”, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It appears that a typographical error may be the cause of this claimed ambiguity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the maximum axial length" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the central angle" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Slazas et al. (US 2014/0277332).
Slazas discloses (see Figs. 6-7) a stent and delivery system comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 1) A delivery device, used for delivering an intravascular stent (10), the intravascular stent (10) comprising a plurality of corrugated rings (20a/20b); the delivery device comprising an inner core tube (54), the inner core tube (54) having a loading region (i.e., between 56 and 58) for loading the intravascular stent (10) (as shown in Figs. 6-7), wherein the delivery device further comprises at least one positioning member (62/68) arranged on the inner core tube (54); the positioning member (62/68) is located in the loading region (between 56 and 58); and during delivery or release of the intravascular stent (10) by the delivery device, the positioning member (62/68) axially interferes with at least one of the plurality of corrugated rings (20a/20b) (as shown in Fig. 7);
(claim 2) wherein the positioning member (62/68) is a rigid member (as shown in Figs. 6-7; [0031]);
(claim 3) wherein the corrugated ring (20b) that is closest to a proximal end of the inner core tube (54) in the intravascular stent (10) is a proximal corrugated ring (20b) (as shown in Figs. 6-7); the corrugated ring (20a) farthest from a distal end of the inner core tube (54) in the intravascular stent (10) is a distal corrugated ring (20a) (as shown in Figs. 6-7); a plurality of positioning members (62/68) are provided (as shown in Figs. 6-7); at least one of the plurality of positioning members (62) axially interferes with the distal corrugated ring (20a) (as shown between Figs. 6-7); and at least one of the plurality of positioning members (20b) axially interferes with the proximal corrugated ring (20b) (as shown in Fig. 7; see Abstract; [0025]; [0035]; allowing for retraction and recapturing of stent 10 for repositioning if so desired);
(claim 4) wherein at least one of the plurality of positioning members (62) is located on a proximal side of the distal corrugated ring (20a) and axially interferes with the distal corrugated ring (20a) (as shown between Figs. 6-7); and at least one of the plurality of positioning members (68) is located on a distal side of the proximal corrugated ring (20b) and axially interferes with the proximal corrugated ring (20b) (as shown in Fig. 7; see Abstract; [0025]; [0035]; allowing for retraction and recapturing of stent 10 for repositioning if so desired);
(claim 6) wherein a clearance is reserved between two adjacent corrugated rings (20a/20b) of the intravascular stent (10) (as shown in Figs. 6-7); the positioning member (62/68) is located between two adjacent corrugated rings (20a/20b) (as shown in Figs. 6-7); and the maximum axial length of the positioning member is equal to the clearance between the two adjacent corrugated rings, or the maximum axial length of the positioning member (62/68) is less than the clearance between the two adjacent corrugated rings (20a/20b) (as shown in Figs. 6-7); and
(claim 12) An intravascular stent system, comprising an intravascular stent (10) and the delivery device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein the delivery device delivers the intravascular stent (10) (as shown in Figs. 6-7, i.e., disposed within vasculature 52; [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slazas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nageswaran et al. (US 2019/0336312).
Slazas, as applied above, discloses a stent and delivery system comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the positioning member being a ring component having a plurality of concave structures disposed circumferentially around the outer surface and having a wall thickness between 0.05 mm to 0.8 mm.
However, Nageswaran teaches (see Figs. 5A-7) a similar stent delivery system (500) comprising a positioning member (523) comprising a ring component having a plurality of concave structures (at recesses 559) disposed circumferentially around the outer surface (555) and having a wall thickness between 0.05 mm to 0.8 mm ([0122]). Accordingly, Nageswaran teaches that it is well-known that cylindrical positioning members and plate positioning members having circumferential recesses are elements that are functional equivalents for providing a mechanical interface with a stent allowing for effective pushing for deployment or pulling for recapture of the stent, as desired ([0122]-[0123]; [0127]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the plate positioning members taught by Nageswaran for the cylindrical positioning members of Slazas because both elements were known equivalents for providing a mechanical interface with a stent allowing for effective pushing for deployment or pulling for recapture of the stent, as desired, within the stent delivery art. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable results of providing a mechanical interface with a stent allowing for effective pushing for deployment or pulling for recapture of the stent, as desired, to the device of Slazas.
Regarding claim 5, Nageswaran expressly teaches the wall thickness (i.e., the radius that is equal to half of the diameter “D” shown in Fig. 6A) being between approximately 12.5 microns to 50 microns (equal to 0.125 mm to 0.05 mm) ([0122]). However, Nageswaran does not explicitly disclose the wall thickness being between 0.05 mm to 0.8 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wall thickness from being between 0.125 mm to 0.05 mm to between 0.05 mm to 0.8 mm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed ranges.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slazas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tatalovich et al. (US 2013/0204344).
Slazas, as applied above, discloses a stent and delivery system comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the positioning member being a ring component; and in a projection plane perpendicular to the central axis of the inner core tube, the central angle corresponding to a projection of a proximal end portion and/or a distal end portion of the positioning member is a, 180°<a<360°.
However, Tatalovich teaches (see Fig. 11A) a similar stent delivery system comprising a positioning member (327) being a ring component (as shown in Fig. 11A); and in a projection plane perpendicular to the central axis of the inner core tube (i.e., in a cross-section view), the central angle corresponding to a projection of a proximal end portion and/or a distal end portion of the positioning member is a, 180°<a<360° (as shown in Fig. 11A, the central angle is shown to be C-shaped approximately forming 270°). Accordingly, Tatalovich teaches that it is known that a solid cylindrical positioning member and a C-shaped positioning member are elements that are functional equivalents for providing attachment of a stent positioning member to the inner core tube. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the C-shaped positioning member taught by Tatalovich for the solid cylindrical positioning member of Slazas because both elements were known equivalents for providing attachment of a stent positioning member to the inner core tube within the stent delivery art. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable results of providing attachment of a stent positioning member to the inner core tube of the device of Slazas.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slazas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vo et al. (US 2012/0226343).
Slazas, as applied above, discloses a stent and delivery system comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the positioning member being spiral along an axial direction of the inner core tube; and the spiral width of the positioning member is H, and the clearance between two adjacent corrugated rings of the intravascular stent is A, H≤A.
However, Vo teaches (see Figs. 1-4A) a similar stent and delivery system (10) comprising a positioning member being spiral (38) along an axial direction of the inner core tube (30); and the spiral (38) width of the positioning member is H, and the clearance between two adjacent corrugated rings of the intravascular stent (of Slazas) is A, H≤A (i.e., the width/thickness of the coiling wire 38 of Vo is much smaller than the clearance of the stent of Slazas) in order to beneficially provide a positioning member structure that allows for perfusion channels permitting fluid to flow from an interior region of the sheath proximal of the frictional interfacing member to an interior region of the sheath distal of the frictional interfacing member (see Abstract; [0006]; [0008]; [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the delivery device of Slazas to have a positioning member being spiral along an axial direction of the inner core tube, and the spiral width of the positioning member is H, and the clearance between two adjacent corrugated rings of the intravascular stent is A, H≤A in order to beneficially provide a positioning member structure that allows for perfusion channels permitting fluid to flow from an interior region of the sheath proximal of the frictional interfacing member to an interior region of the sheath distal of the frictional interfacing member, as taught by Vo.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see Nishigishi (US 2016/0113793).
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771