DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 1 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the second to last line of claim 1, the phrases “a polymer” are unclear because they do not refer specifically to a polymer previously recited. Therefore, it is unclear to what polymer this refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0231717 (“Kim”).
As to claims 1 and 2, Kim teaches an olefin based polymer (abstract). Example 1-1 (table 5) discloses an example having density of 914.5 kg/cm3, which is within the recited range of claims 1 and 2 when rounded to the same digits as recited, a melt index at 2.16 kg of 0.9 g/10 min, within the range of claims 1 and 2, and a polydispersity index of 4.34, which is within the range recited by claims 1 and 2. Referring to Fig. 2, showing TREF of Example 1-1, is estimated to disclose C65-C45 of approximately 36 wt %, within the range of claim 1.
As to claim 3, it is noted that the limitation of claim 3 is a product by process limitation, for which patentability is determined by the end product. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the end product, as discussed with respect to claim 1 is the same olefin polymer. Since the catalyst taught by Kim is heterogeneous, the end product is presumed to be identical.
In addition, Kim teaches example 1-1 uses a first catalyst of (n-PrCp)2HfCl2, and a second compound of compound A. The compound (n-PrCp)2HfCl2 meets Chemical Formula I where M1 is Hf, X is Cl, R1 is n-propyl, R2-R5 are hydrogen. Compound A is (pentamethylcyclopentadienyl)(indenyl)zirconium dichloride (paras. 0084, 0085; note that while the compound listing of para. 0085 doesn’t show the indenyl group, it is clear that the indenyl moiety is present in compound A from the synthesis and the general formula 2; see also para. 0046 listing the compound correctly). This second compound meets Chemical Formula 3 where M2 is Zr which is different from M1, X is Cl, R1-R5 are methyl, R6 and R7 are connected one another to form a C6 aromatic ring, and R8-R10 are hydrogen.
As to claims 4 and 5, as discussed with respect to claim 3, M1 and M2 are Zr and Hf, and X is halogen. While Kim does not teach that R1-R10 are all the recited species, it is noted that the limitation of claims 4 and 5 are a product by process limitation, for which patentability is determined by the end product. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the end product, as discussed with respect to claim 1 is the same olefin polymer. Since the catalyst taught by Kim is heterogeneous, the end product is presumed to be identical to one produced using the recited catalyst.
As to claim 6, Kim does not teach the two transition metal compounds as recited; however, it is noted that the limitation of claim 6 is a product by process limitation, for which patentability is determined by the end product. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the end product, as discussed with respect to claim 1 is the same olefin polymer. Since the catalyst taught by Kim is heterogeneous, the end product is presumed to be identical to one produced using the recited catalyst.
As to claim 7, it is noted that the limitation of claim 3 is a product by process limitation, for which patentability is determined by the end product. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the end product, as discussed with respect to claim 1 is the same olefin polymer. Since the catalyst taught by Kim is heterogeneous, the end product is presumed to be identical. In addition, Kim teaches the use of 53 mg of the first compound, and 11.8 mg of the second compound, such that the ratio of these two compounds is in the recited range.
As to claim 8, it is noted that the limitation of claim 3 is a product by process limitation, for which patentability is determined by the end product. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the end product, as discussed with respect to claim 1 is the same olefin polymer. Since the catalyst taught by Kim is heterogeneous, the end product is presumed to be identical.
Furthermore, Example 1 includes methylaluminoxane (MAO),which has the general formula 4 (para. 0047).
As to claims 9 and 10, it is noted that the limitation of claim 3 is a product by process limitation, for which patentability is determined by the end product. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the end product, as discussed with respect to claim 1 is the same olefin polymer. Since the catalyst taught by Kim is heterogeneous, the end product is presumed to be identical.
Furthermore, Kim teaches forming the catalyst on a silica carrier (para. 0096).
As to claim 11, it is noted that the limitation of claim 3 is a product by process limitation, for which patentability is determined by the end product. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the end product, as discussed with respect to claim 1 is the same olefin polymer. Since the catalyst taught by Kim is heterogeneous, the end product is presumed to be identical.
In addition, Kim teaches the aluminum (cocatalyst) is present in 10 to 16.5 wt % (para. 0096), which is calculated as providing approximately 3.7 to 6.1 mmol per g of carrier. Kim further reaches the molar ratio of aluminum to metal of 230 to 650, which suggests approximately .006 to 0.027 mmol of transition metal catalyst per 1 of carrier (para. 0096).
As to claims 12-14, Kim teaches the polymer of Example 1-1 is a copolymer of ethylene and 1-hexene as required by claims 12 and 13. Moreover, Kim teaches the invention is an improvement over conventional mLLDPE, and thus can be considered an LLDPE, especially given that it has the same properties as recited.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764