DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pat. 4,740,330) as evidenced by Schrader (US Pat. 4,394,496, incorporated by reference in US Pat. 4,740,330).
Considering Claims 1 and 5: Wang et al. teaches an allyl ether compound prepared by reacting an aromatic hydroxyl compound with an allyl halide (1:50-2:4), where the aromatic hydroxyl compound has the formula
, where X” is a hydroxyl group, and Z is hydrogen or a C1-6 alkyl group (2:8-3:7). Wang et al. teaches that the compounds of Schrader et al. can be used as the aromatic hydroxyl compound (3:36-39).
Schrader et al. teaches the compounds as most preferably being a 2,4’,4”-trihydroxy(triphenylmethane)/Z is hydrogen (4:44-50). Schrader et al. teaches that the phenyl groups can be substituted adjacent to the hydroxyl group (10:13-36; 10:53-11:6; Table 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have tried the claimed ortho substitution, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Wang et al. suggests, it is one of three identified options for the substitution. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. See MPEP § 2143.
Considering Claim 2: Wang et al. teaches the less than 0.03% phenolic groups following the reaction (Table I).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pat. 4,740,330) as evidenced by Schrader (US Pat. 4,394,496, incorporated by reference in US Pat. 4,740,330) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kokado et al. (Journal of Materials Chemistry, 2015, 3, 8504).
Considering Claim 3: Hefner Jr. et al. teaches the compound of claim 1 as set forth above.
Hefner Jr. et al. does not teach the reactive groups as being methacryloyloxy groups. However, Kokado et al. teaches a tetraphenol with methacryloyloxy groups as a polymerizable comonomer (Scheme 1). Hefner Jr. et al. and Kokado et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely tetraphenolic crosslinking agents. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the allyl group of Hefner Jr. et al. with the methacryloyloxy group of Kokado et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, they are functionally equivalent photopolymerizable groups.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pat. 4,740,330) as evidenced by Schrader (US Pat. 4,394,496, incorporated by reference in US Pat. 4,740,330) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Hefner Jr. et al. (US 2011/0009560).
Considering Claim 6: Wang et al. teaches the compound of claim 5 as shown above.
Wang et al. does not teach curing the composition. However, Hefner Jr. et al. teaches a thermosetting/curable resin comprising a polyallyl ether compound (¶0118). Wang et al. and Hefner Jr. et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyallyl ether compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a cured composition from the compound of Wang et al., as in Hefner et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, it is a known use for polyallyl compounds.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on March 24, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application 18/007,742 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5, and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767