DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 should use, “overlapping”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the other surface" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the other side surface" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 11, 12 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO Publication 2021-201421, U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0302549 will be used as an English translation) in view of Ando (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0384585).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a battery module comprising: a battery cell stack 120 in which a plurality of pouch-type battery cells are stack, a module frame 200 for housing the battery cell stack, and a busbar frame 140 on front and read openings of the module frame, wherein the busbar frame comprises a busbar 141 and a terminal busbar 142, and wherein the busbars attach to electrode leads 111 and 112 protruding from the ends of the battery module (Paragraphs 0043, 0046, 0053, 0055). As to claims 2 and 12, Choi shows in Fig. 4 that the battery cells are bidirectional and shows in Fig. 3 that the module frame 200 is quadrangular and covers four surfaces of the battery stack 120, which includes two sides, an upper surface and a lower surface. Regarding claim 6, Choi shows in Fig. 3 that the busbar 141 comprises an opening in the center. As to claim 8, Choi teaches a terminal busbar 142 (Paragraph 0055), which is shown in Fig. 3 to extend upward toward the upper portion of the module frame. Regarding claims 16-18, Choi discloses that the battery modules 100a and 100b can be arranged in a pack frame 1100, which can include a support member formed between side surface parts of the module frame 200 and the pack frame 1100; and mounting parts 310 for coupling the battery modules to the pack frame (Paragraphs 0043, 0082 and Fig. 10). Choi also discloses that the battery pack can be used in an electric vehicle (Paragraph 0083).
Choi fails to disclose that a flame blocking member comprising a mesh net formed of a material with high rigidity and high heat resistance, such as copper or stainless steel, is integrally coupled to a body of the bus bar; and that the flame blocking member comprises a plurality of net structures.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 4, Ando discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of secondary batteries 11 within a module case comprising restraining plates and belts 102a, 102b, 102c; bus bars 104 connecting terminals of adjacent batteries; and first and second traps 12, 13 formed above and connected to the bus bars, wherein the traps are made of a mesh material (Paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0026, 0031, 0036, 0038, 0042). As to claim 11, Ando teaches that the mesh material can be copper or stainless steel (Paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the bus bars of Choi, including the openings in the middle, could be covered by a flame blocking mesh material because Ando teaches that this material traps sparks that exit the battery with exhaust gas and prevent fires from occurring. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the terminal bus bar of Choi could extend past the mesh material taught in Ando because Ando shows that the material does not need to extend to module covers as long as it covers the busbars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that multiple mesh nets could be used to cover the busbars because Ando teaches that this improves the protection from sparks created by the battery cells. Finally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the material of the mesh could be copper or stainless steel because Ando teaches that this material absorbs sparks created by the batteries.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO Publication 2021-201421, U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0302549 will be used as an English translation) in view of Ando (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0384585) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11, 12 and 16-18 above, and further in view of Hashimoto (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0331089).
The teachings of Choi and Ando have been discussed in paragraph 6 above.
Choi and Ando fail to disclose that the module cover comprises at least one venting hole in the upper cover portion.
Regarding claim 13, Hashimoto discloses a battery module comprising: a plurality of pouch cells 10, a housing member 20 holding the pouch cells, output terminals 12 extending out of the front and rear ends of the module from the cells, and an exhaust port 22 on the upper side of the housing member for discharging gas (Paragraphs 0024, 0031, 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the battery module of Choi could comprise a venting hole at the upper surface because Hashimoto teaches that this allows for gas rising off of the batteries to exit the battery module quickly.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO Publication 2021-201421, U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0302549 will be used as an English translation) in view of Ando (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0384585) and Hashimoto (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0331089) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0097192).
The teachings of Choi, Ando and Hashimoto have been discussed in paragraphs 6 and 7 above.
Choi, Ando and Hashimoto fail to disclose that the venting hole is covered by a flame arrestor mesh net.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a battery module 10 comprising: a battery cell 100 comprising a plurality of battery cells, a case frame 200 housing the battery cell, and a case cover 300 at the open ends of the case frame, wherein the case cover comprises a gas outlet that is covered by a mesh member 370 (Paragraphs 0032, 0038 and Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the venting hole discussed in Hashimoto could be covered by a mesh material because Kim teaches that this extends the path of the exiting gas to prevent flames.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 9, 10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722