DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is based on the 18/267830 application originally filed June 16, 2023.
Amended claims 1-19, filed April 22, 2026, are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 13-19 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14, 16, 18 and 19 are unclear to component (A-1) a polybutadiene represented by the listed formula:
due to the formula fails to have any double bonds. Therefore, it is unclear how the formula is a polybutadiene. A polybutadiene is known in the are to be an organic compound that is a simple conjugated diene hydrocarbon (dienes have two carbon-carbon double bonds). Further clarification and/or amending of the claims is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2017/0321100) hereinafter “Zhang” in view of Duan et al. (WO 2018/068222 A1) hereinafter “Duan”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 13
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0001, thermal interface materials, and more particularly to thermal interface materials (TIM) including a phase change material.
Zhang further discloses in paragraph 0064, the TIM 22 comprises a polymer matrix material. In some exemplary embodiments, the polymer matrix material provides a matrix for incorporating the thermally conductive fillers, and provides flowability when pressed under heat and pressure.
Zhang discloses:
(see paragraph 0065) the polymer matrix material comprises a hydrocarbon rubber compound or a blend of rubber compounds. Exemplary materials include saturated and unsaturated rubber compounds. In some embodiments, saturated rubbers may be less sensitive to thermal oxidation degradation than unsaturated rubber compounds. Exemplary saturated rubber compounds include ethylene-propylene rubbers (EPR, EPDM), polyethylene/butylene, polyethylene-butylene-styrene, polyethylene-propylene-styrene, hydrogenated polyalkyldiene “mono-ols” (such as hydrogenated polybutadiene mono-ol, hydrogenated polypropadiene mono-ol, hydrogenated polypentadiene mono-ol), hydrogenated polyalkyldiene “diols” (such as hydrogenated polybutadiene diol, hydrogenated polypropadiene diol, hydrogenated polypentadiene diol) and hydrogenated polyisoprene, polyolefin elastomer, or any other suitable saturated rubber, or blends thereof.
(see paragraphs 0025-0027) the TIM 22 includes at least a first thermally conductive filler and a second thermally conductive filler. Exemplary thermally conductive fillers include metals, alloys, nonmetals, metal oxides, metal nitrides and ceramics, and combinations thereof. Exemplary metals include but are not limited to aluminum, copper, silver, zinc, nickel, tin, indium, lead, silver coated metals such as silver coated copper or silver coated aluminum, metal coated carbon fibers, and nickel coated fibers. Exemplary nonmetals include but are not limited to carbon, carbon black, graphite, carbon nanotubes, carbon fibers, graphene, powdered diamond, glass, silica, silicon nitride, and boron coated particles. Exemplary metal oxides, metal nitrides and ceramics include but are not limited to alumina, aluminum nitride, boron nitride, zinc oxide, and tin oxide. The TIM 22 may comprise the two or more thermally conductive fillers in an amount as little as 10 wt. %, 25 wt. %, 50 wt. %, 75 wt. %, 80 wt. %, 85 wt. %, as great as 90 wt. %, 92 wt. %, 95 wt. %, 97 wt. %, 98 wt. %, 99 wt. %, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the TIM 22.
(see paragraphs 0069 and 0070) the TIM 22 comprises one or more phase change materials. A phase change material is a material having a melting point or melting point range at or below the operating temperature of a portion of an electronic device in which the TIM 22 is to be used. An exemplary phase change material is a wax, such as paraffin wax. Paraffin waxes are a mixture of solid hydrocarbons having the general formula CnH2n+2 and having melting points in the range of about 20° C to 100° C. Polymer waxes include polyethylene waxes and polypropylene waxes, and typically have a range of melting points from about 40° C to 160° C. Other exemplary phase change materials include low melting alloys, such as Wood's metal, Field's metal, or a metal or alloy having a melting point between about 20° C. and 90° C. The TIM 22 may comprise the one or more phase change materials in an amount as little as 1 wt. %, 3 wt. %, 5 wt. %, 10 wt. %, as great as 15 wt. %, 25 wt. %, 50 wt. %, 75 wt. %, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the TIM 22.
(see paragraph 0072 and 0074) the TIM 22 comprises one or more coupling agents. In some exemplary embodiments, inclusion of a coupling agent may improve thermal properties, such as properties at relatively high temperatures. The TIM 22 may comprise the one or more coupling agents in an amount as little as 0.1 wt. %, 0.3 wt. %, 0.5 wt. %, as great as 1 wt. %, 2 wt. %, 3 wt. %, 5 wt. %, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the central layer.
It is to be noted, Zhang discloses in paragraph 0069 and 0070, the amount of phase change material can be used to can adjust the hardness of the TIM 22. The TIM 22 may comprise the one or more phase change materials in an amount as little as 1 wt. %, 3 wt. %, 5 wt. %, 10 wt. %, as great as 15 wt. %, 25 wt. %, 50 wt. %, 75 wt. %, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the TIM 22.
Zhang fails to specifically teach the claimed amount of phase change material of the presently claimed invention.
However, it is known in the art to for a thermal interface composition to comprise a phase change material in amount of 0.5 weight percent, as taught by Duan.
Duan discloses in the abstract, thermal interface materials that are useful in transferring heat from heat generating electronic devices, such as computer chips, to heat dissipating structures, such as heat spreaders and heat sinks. The thermal interface material also includes a coloring agent selected from the group consisting of: an iron based inorganic pigment; and an organic pigment.
Duan further discloses in paragraph 0093, in some exemplary embodiments, the TIM comprises one or more phase change materials. A phase change material is a material having a melting point or melting point range at or below the operating temperature of a portion of an electronic device in which the TIM is to be used. An exemplary phase change material is a wax. Other exemplary phase change materials include low melting alloys, such as Wood’s metal, Field’s metal, or a metal or alloy having a melting point between about 20℃ and 90℃.
Duan discloses in paragraph 0096, the TIM comprises the one or more phase change materials in an amount as little as 0.5 wt. %, 1 wt. %, 2 wt. %, 3 wt. %, 5 wt. %, 10 wt. %, as great as 20 wt. %, 25 wt. %, 50 wt. %, or greater, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the TIM.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the phase change materials in little amounts to a thermal interface material composition, as taught by Duan and Zhang. The motivation to do so is use the phase change materials in low amounts to maintain a liquid/gel phase and in high amounts to maintain the phase in solid form.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 2
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0065 the polymer matrix material comprises a hydrocarbon rubber compound or a blend of rubber compounds. Exemplary materials include saturated and unsaturated rubber compounds. In some embodiments, saturated rubbers may be less sensitive to thermal oxidation degradation than unsaturated rubber compounds. Exemplary saturated rubber compounds include ethylene-propylene rubbers (EPR, EPDM), polyethylene/butylene, polyethylene-butylene-styrene, polyethylene-propylene-styrene, hydrogenated polyalkyldiene “mono-ols” (such as hydrogenated polybutadiene mono-ol, hydrogenated polypropadiene mono-ol, hydrogenated polypentadiene mono-ol), hydrogenated polyalkyldiene “diols” (such as hydrogenated polybutadiene diol, hydrogenated polypropadiene diol, hydrogenated polypentadiene diol) and hydrogenated polyisoprene, polyolefin elastomer, or any other suitable saturated rubber, or blends thereof.
Regarding Claim 3
Zhang discloses in paragraphs 0025-0027, the TIM 22 includes at least a first thermally conductive filler and a second thermally conductive filler. Exemplary thermally conductive fillers include metals, alloys, nonmetals, metal oxides, metal nitrides and ceramics, and combinations thereof. Exemplary metals include but are not limited to aluminum, copper, silver, zinc, nickel, tin, indium, lead, silver coated metals such as silver coated copper or silver coated aluminum, metal coated carbon fibers, and nickel coated fibers. Exemplary nonmetals include but are not limited to carbon, carbon black, graphite, carbon nanotubes, carbon fibers, graphene, powdered diamond, glass, silica, silicon nitride, and boron coated particles. Exemplary metal oxides, metal nitrides and ceramics include but are not limited to alumina, aluminum nitride, boron nitride, zinc oxide, and tin oxide.
Regarding Claim 4
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0069, the TIM 22 comprises one or more phase change materials. A phase change material is a material having a melting point or melting point range at or below the operating temperature of a portion of an electronic device in which the TIM 22 is to be used. An exemplary phase change material is a wax, such as paraffin wax.
Regarding Claim 5
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0055, exemplary coupling agents the thermally conductive filler include silane coupling agents, titanate coupling agents, aluminate coupling agents, zirconate coupling agents, and stearate coupling agent. In some embodiments, the coupling agent for pre-treatment of the thermally conductive filler is selected from titanate coupling agents, aliphatic coupling agents, and silane coupling agents.
Zhang further discloses in paragraph 0073, the coupling agent is the same as the coupling agent for the pre-treatment of the thermally conductive filler. Zhang further discloses in paragraph 0072, the TIM 22 comprises one or more coupling agents. In some exemplary embodiments, inclusion of a coupling agent may improve thermal properties, such as properties at relatively high temperatures.
Regarding Claim 7
Zhang discloses in paragraphs 0076 and 0077, the TIM 22 comprises one or more additives. Exemplary additives include antioxidants, ion scavengers, and crosslinkers. Exemplary antioxidants include phenolic-type antioxidants, amine-type antioxidants, or any other suitable type of antioxidant or combinations thereof.
Regarding Claims 10 and 12
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0081, suitable solvents include pure solvents or mixtures of organic or inorganic solvents that are volatilized at a desired temperature, such as the critical temperature, or that can facilitate any of the above-mentioned design goals or needs, and that are compatible with the phase change materials, in that they will interact with the phase change materials to achieve the previously-mentioned goals. In some exemplary embodiments, the solvent or mixture of two or more solvents are selected from the hydrocarbon family of solvents. Hydrocarbon solvents comprise carbon and hydrogen. A majority of hydrocarbon solvents are non-polar; however, there are a few hydrocarbon solvents that are considered polar.
Regarding Claims 8, 9 and 11
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0052, in some exemplary embodiments, at least one of the thermally conductive fillers is pretreated with a coupling agent. In some exemplary embodiments, the thermally conductive fillers are not pretreated with a coupling agent. Without wishing to be bound by any theory, it is believed that the coupling agent reacts with both the filler and the polymer matrix material to form or promote a strong bond at the interface, which helps to break the filler particle aggregates and disperse the filler particles in to polymer matrix. The coupling agent is also believed to reduce or prevent separation of the polymer matrix polymer from filler, improving the stability of filler-polymer composite.
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0055, exemplary coupling agents the thermally conductive filler include silane coupling agents, titanate coupling agents, aluminate coupling agents, zirconate coupling agents, and stearate coupling agent. In some embodiments, the coupling agent for pre-treatment of the thermally conductive filler is selected from titanate coupling agents, aliphatic coupling agents, and silane coupling agents.
Zhang further discloses in paragraph 0073, the coupling agent is the same as the coupling agent for the pre-treatment of the thermally conductive filler. Zhang further discloses in paragraph 0072, the TIM 22 comprises one or more coupling agents. In some exemplary embodiments, inclusion of a coupling agent may improve thermal properties, such as properties at relatively high temperatures.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2017/0321100) hereinafter “Zhang” in view of Duan et al. (WO 2018/068222 A1) hereinafter “Duan” and further in view of Appukuttan et al. (US 2019/0292321) hereinafter “Appukuttan”.
Regarding Claim 6
Zhang discloses the thermal interface material comprising coupling agents but fails to further disclose the silicon-based coupling agent of claim 6 of the present invention.
However, it is known in the art to add a alkoxy silane or alkoxy siloxane to a thermal interface material composition in order to aid in improving the thermal conductivity while exhibiting phase change characteristics, as taught by Appukuttan.
Appukuttan discloses in paragraphs 0009-0023, phase change thermal interface silicone compositions were prepared by mixing silicone polymers, antioxidants, inhibitors, coupling agents and fillers.
Appukuttan discloses in paragraph 0156, the current phase change thermally conducting composition may contain a coupling agent as optional component. In one embodiment, provided is a composition of any previous embodiment, wherein the fillers are treated with a coupling agent chosen from an alkoxy silane, an alkoxy siloxane, an alkoxy cyclic siloxane, an alkoxy oragno-siloxane, an alkoxy cyclic oragno-siloxane, an alkacryloxy silane, a vinyl silane, a halo silane (e.g., a chlorosilane), a mercapto silane, a blocked mercaptosilane, a thiocarboxylate silane, titanate salts, zirconate salts, or a combination of two or more thereof.
Appukuttan further discloses in paragraph 0157, in the composition, the coupling agent may be present in an amount of up to 20 wt % based on the total weight of composition.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the alkoxy silane or alkoxy siloxane of Appukuttan as a coupling agent in the thermal interface material of Zhang. The motivation to do so is to use known coupling agents in order to aid in improving the thermal conductivity while exhibiting phase change characteristics.
Claim(s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2017/0321100) hereinafter “Zhang” in view of Duan et al. (WO 2018/068222 A1) hereinafter “Duan” and further in view of Hartmann et al. (US 20160212841) hereinafter “Hartmann”.
Regarding claims 14-19
Zhang discloses in paragraph 0001, thermal interface materials, and more particularly to thermal interface materials (TIM) including a phase change material.
Zhang further discloses in paragraph 0064, the TIM 22 comprises a polymer matrix material. In some exemplary embodiments, the polymer matrix material provides a matrix for incorporating the thermally conductive fillers, and provides flowability when pressed under heat and pressure.
Zhang discloses:
(see paragraph 0065) the polymer matrix material comprises a hydrocarbon rubber compound or a blend of rubber compounds. Exemplary materials include saturated and unsaturated rubber compounds. In some embodiments, saturated rubbers may be less sensitive to thermal oxidation degradation than unsaturated rubber compounds. Exemplary saturated rubber compounds include ethylene-propylene rubbers (EPR, EPDM), polyethylene/butylene, polyethylene-butylene-styrene, polyethylene-propylene-styrene, hydrogenated polyalkyldiene “mono-ols” (such as hydrogenated polybutadiene mono-ol, hydrogenated polypropadiene mono-ol, hydrogenated polypentadiene mono-ol), hydrogenated polyalkyldiene “diols” (such as hydrogenated polybutadiene diol, hydrogenated polypropadiene diol, hydrogenated polypentadiene diol) and hydrogenated polyisoprene, polyolefin elastomer, or any other suitable saturated rubber, or blends thereof.
(see paragraphs 0069 and 0070) the TIM 22 comprises one or more phase change materials. A phase change material is a material having a melting point or melting point range at or below the operating temperature of a portion of an electronic device in which the TIM 22 is to be used. An exemplary phase change material is a wax, such as paraffin wax. Paraffin waxes are a mixture of solid hydrocarbons having the general formula CnH2n+2 and having melting points in the range of about 20° C to 100° C. Polymer waxes include polyethylene waxes and polypropylene waxes, and typically have a range of melting points from about 40° C to 160° C. Other exemplary phase change materials include low melting alloys, such as Wood's metal, Field's metal, or a metal or alloy having a melting point between about 20° C. and 90° C. The TIM 22 may comprise the one or more phase change materials in an amount as little as 1 wt. %, 3 wt. %, 5 wt. %, 10 wt. %, as great as 15 wt. %, 25 wt. %, 50 wt. %, 75 wt. %, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the TIM 22.
It is to be noted, Zhang discloses in paragraph 0069 and 0070, the amount of phase change material can be used to can adjust the hardness of the TIM 22. The TIM 22 may comprise the one or more phase change materials in an amount as little as 1 wt. %, 3 wt. %, 5 wt. %, 10 wt. %, as great as 15 wt. %, 25 wt. %, 50 wt. %, 75 wt. %, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the TIM 22.
Zhang fails to specifically teach the claimed amount of phase change material of the presently claimed invention.
However, it is known in the art to for a thermal interface composition to comprise a phase change material in amount of 0.5 weight percent, as taught by Duan.
Duan discloses in the abstract, thermal interface materials that are useful in transferring heat from heat generating electronic devices, such as computer chips, to heat dissipating structures, such as heat spreaders and heat sinks. The thermal interface material also includes a coloring agent selected from the group consisting of: an iron based inorganic pigment; and an organic pigment.
Duan further discloses in paragraph 0093, in some exemplary embodiments, the TIM comprises one or more phase change materials. A phase change material is a material having a melting point or melting point range at or below the operating temperature of a portion of an electronic device in which the TIM is to be used. An exemplary phase change material is a wax. Other exemplary phase change materials include low melting alloys, such as Wood’s metal, Field’s metal, or a metal or alloy having a melting point between about 20℃ and 90℃.
Duan discloses in paragraph 0096, the TIM comprises the one or more phase change materials in an amount as little as 0.5 wt. %, 1 wt. %, 2 wt. %, 3 wt. %, 5 wt. %, 10 wt. %, as great as 20 wt. %, 25 wt. %, 50 wt. %, or greater, or within any range defined between any two of the foregoing values, based on the total weight of the TIM.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the phase change materials in little amounts to a thermal interface material composition, as taught by Duan and Zhang. The motivation to do so is use the phase change materials in low amounts to maintain a liquid/gel phase and in high amounts to maintain the phase in solid form.
Zhang modified by Duan discloses the claimed polymer and phase change materials but fails to further disclose the molecular weight of the claimed polymers and the claimed phase change materials.
Hartmann discloses in the abstract, an electronic device having one or more components that generate heat during operation includes a structure for temperature management and heat dissipation. The structure for temperature management and heat dissipation comprises a heat transfer substrate having a surface that is in thermal communication with the ambient environment and a temperature management material in physical contact with at least a portion of the one or more components of the electronic device and at least a portion of the heat transfer substrate.
Hartmann further discloses in paragraph 0089, paraffinic PCMs may be a paraffinic hydrocarbons, that is, hydrocarbons represented by the formula CnHn+2, where n can range from about 10 to about 44 carbon atoms. PCMs useful in the invention include paraffinic hydrocarbons having 13 to 30 carbon atoms. For example, the melting point of a homologous series of paraffin hydrocarbons is directly related to the number of carbon atoms, including n-octadecane.
Hartmann further discloses in paragraphs 0047 and 0048, polymers are added to the thermal interface material composition, including examples of polymers (including those polymers used for crosslinkers and binders) include polyhydroxyalkonates, polyamides, polyamines, polyimides, polyacrylics (e.g., polyacrylamide, polyacrylonitrile, and esters of methacrylic acid and acrylic acid), polycarbonates (e.g., polybisphenol A carbonate and polypropylene carbonate), polydienes (e.g., polybutadiene, polyisoprene, and polynorbornene). As can be appreciated, a polymer can be provided in a variety of forms having different molecular weights, since a molecular weight of the polymer can be dependent upon processing conditions used for forming the polymer. Accordingly, a polymer can be referred to as having a specific molecular weight or a range of molecular weights. As used herein with reference to a polymer, the term “molecular weight” can refer to a number average molecular weight, a weight average molecular weight, or a melt index of the polymer. Hartmann further discloses in paragraph 0137, the overall polymer molecular weight (n) is between 100-10,000,000, in various embodiments.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the n-octadecane phase change material of Hartmann and polymers of the overall molecular weight of Hartmann in the thermal interface material composition of Zhang. The motivation to do so is use the phase change materials and polymers in a thermal interface material composition that aids in temperature management and heat dissipation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments directed to the newly submitted claimed amendments, filed April 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 under Zhang et al. (US 2017/0321100) hereinafter “Zhang” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0321100) hereinafter “Zhang” in view of Duan et al. (WO 2018/068222 A1) hereinafter “Duan”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weiser et al. (US 2008/0291634) discloses in the abstract, thermal interface materials are disclosed that include at least one matrix material component, at least one high conductivity filler component, at least one solder material; and at least one material modification agent, wherein the at least one material modification agent improves the thermal performance, compatibility, physical quality or a combination thereof of the thermal interface material. Methods of forming thermal interface materials are also disclosed that include providing each of the at least one matrix material component, at least one high conductivity filler, at least one solder material and at least one material modification agent, blending the components; and optionally curing the components pre- or post-application of the thermal interface material to the surface, substrate or component. Also, thermal interface materials are disclosed that include at least one matrix material component, at least one high conductivity filler component, at least one solder material; and at least one material modification agent, wherein the at least one material modification agent at least one modified thermal filler profile.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771