DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed 10/08/2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1, 4 and 6 have been amended. Claims 3 and 15 have been canceled.
Upon review and reconsideration HIV-1 Nef (SEQ ID NO: 13) will be rejoined with HCMV US11 (SEQ ID NO: 1) for examination.
3. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 12, 17-19, 21-22, 27, 29-30, 35, 39-40 and 44-45 are pending in the application. Claims 18-19, 21-22, 27, 30, 35, 39-40 and 44-45 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/30/2026.
4. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 12, 17 and 29 have been examined.
Grounds of Objection and Rejection Withdrawn
5. Unless specifically reiterated below, Applicant’s amendment and/or arguments have obviated or rendered moot the grounds of objection and rejection set forth in the previous Office action mailed 06/08/2026.
Grounds of Rejection Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 12, 17 and 29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a “written description” rejection.
The considerations that are made in determining whether a claimed invention is supported by an adequate written description are outlined by the published Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 1, ``Written Description'' Requirement (Federal Register; Vol. 66, No. 4, January 5, 2001; The 2015 Written Description Workshop materials; hereinafter “Guidelines”).
These guidelines state that rejection of a claim for lack of written description, where the claim recites the language of an original claim should be rare. Nevertheless, these guidelines further state, “the issue of a lack of written description may arise even for an original claim when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the applicant has possession of the claimed invention” (Id. at 1105). The “Guidelines” continue:
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described if the claims require an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art or known to one of ordinary skill in the art. This problem may arise where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art-recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. A lack of adequate written description issue also arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process.
With further regard to the proposition that, as original claims, the claims themselves provide in haec verba support sufficient to satisfy the written description requirement, the Federal Circuit has explained that in ipsis verbis support for the claims in the specification does not per se establish compliance with the written description requirement:
Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement. The disclosure must allow one skilled in the art to visualize or recognize the identity of the subject matter purportedly described. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also: University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 69 USPQ2d 1886 1892 (CA FC 2004).
Thus, an original claim may provide written description for itself, but it must still be an adequate written description, which establishes that the inventor was in possession of the invention.
In this instance, claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 12, 17 and 29 are drawn to a sequence having at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17 or 43.
Claim 6 is drawn to a sequence having at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 19, 21, 23, or 42.
Specification teaches anti-CD3 scFv-US11 fusion protein, anti-CD19 CAR-US11 fusion protein, anti-CD3 scFv-E19 fusion protein and anti-CD3 VHH-US11 fusion protein; see Examples 1-4. Specification teaches SEQ ID NOs: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17, 19,21,23 and 42-43; see pages 6-11 and 14-16.
Thus, the claims are drawn to a genus of sequences having at least 80% or 90% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17, 19,21,23 and 42-43.
Although the specification teaches anti-CD3 scFv-US11 fusion protein, anti-CD19 CAR-US11 fusion protein, anti-CD3 scFv-E19 fusion protein and anti-CD3 VHH-US11 fusion protein, and SEQ ID NOs: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17, 19, 21,23 and 43. However, the specification does not teach a genus of sequences having at least 80% or 90% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17, 19,21,23 and 42-43 would have the same activity as said SEQ ID NOs.
Given the fact that the claims are drawn to a genus of sequences having at least 80% or 90% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17, 19,21,23 and 42-43, which have no particular function or activity, there is no correlation between any one particularly identifying structural feature and any one particularly identifying functional feature. Consequently, it is submitted that the skilled artisan could not immediately envision, recognize or distinguish at least a substantial number of sequences to which the claims are directed.
Although the specification teaches the SEQ ID NOs, the SEQ ID NOs are not reasonably representative of the plurality of sequences having at least 80% or 90% identical to the SEQ ID NOs. This is largely because each sequence has substantially varied structure and need not have any particular function or activity.
Guidelines states, “[p]ossession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing the invention was ‘ready for patenting’ such as by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention” (Id. at 1104). “Guidelines” further states, “[f]or inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus” (Id. at 1106); accordingly, it follows that an adequate written description of a genus cannot be achieved in the absence of a disclosure of at least one species within the genus. Moreover, because the claims encompass a genus of sequences having at least 80% or 90% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17, 19,21,23 and 42-43, which vary both structurally and functionally, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. In this instance, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; Applicant has not shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; and Applicant has not described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Thus, it is submitted that the instant claims, and the disclosure describing the claimed subject matter, fails to satisfy the written description requirement set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph.
The Applicant’s arguments:
Amended claim 1 specifies: wherein the first domain comprises a sequence having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 3, SEQ ID NO: 5, SEQ ID NO: 7, SEQ ID NO: 9, SEQ ID NO: 11, SEQ ID NO: 13, SEQ ID NO: 15, SEQ ID NO: 17, SEQ ID NO: 43.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Although claim 1 has been amended as “a sequence having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 3, SEQ ID NO: 5, SEQ ID NO: 7, SEQ ID NO: 9, SEQ ID NO: 11, SEQ ID NO: 13, SEQ ID NO: 15, SEQ ID NO: 17, SEQ ID NO: 43”; however, as set forth above a genus of sequences having at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17 and 43 would have no particular function or activity. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banchereau et al. (WO 2010/009346, published on 21 January 2010, IDS).
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17 and 29 are herein drawn a polypeptide comprising:(i) a first domain which is capable of downregulating cell surface expression of an MHC class I molecule; and(ii) a second domain which is capable of binding a component of T-cell receptor (TCR)/CD3 complex, wherein the first domain comprises a sequence having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 13, wherein the second domain is an antibody or a fragment thereof.
Banchereau et al. teach an engineered HIV Nef antigen (SEQ ID NO: 10) is attached to an anti-CD3 antibody via a linker to form an antibody-antigen complex; see entire document, e.g., page 4-lines 3-25, page 22-lines 19-36, claims 13, 22, 32 and 40.
SEQ ID NO: 10 of Banchereau et al. is 91.7% identical with the instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 13; see below sequence alignment-1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banchereau et al. (WO 2010/009346, published on 21 January 2010, IDS) in view of Jennifer et al. (WO 2020102709, published on 05/22/2020) (of record).
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17 and 29 are herein drawn a polypeptide comprising:(i) a first domain which is capable of downregulating cell surface expression of an MHC class I molecule; and(ii) a second domain which is capable of binding a component of T-cell receptor (TCR)/CD3 complex, wherein the first domain comprises a sequence having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 13, wherein the second domain is an antibody or a fragment thereof.
Banchereau et al. teach an engineered HIV Nef antigen (SEQ ID NO: 10) is attached to an anti-CD3 antibody via a linker to form an antibody-antigen complex; see entire document, e.g., page 4-lines 3-25, page 22-lines 19-36, claims 13, 22, 32 and 40.
SEQ ID NO: 10 of Banchereau et al. is 91.7% identical with the instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 13; see below sequence alignment-1.
Banchereau et al. do not teach the virus antigen is HCMV US11 (SEQ ID NO: 1).
However, this deficiency is remedied by Jennifer et al.
Jennifer et al. teach MHC class I antigen presentation pathway inhibitor polypeptides include HCMV US11, HCMV US2, HCMV US3, E19, Nef, KSHV K3, KSHV K5, and HBV; see entire document, e.g., pages 35-40, 48-50.
Jennifer et al. teach US 11 polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 962; see page 37. SEQ ID NO: 962 of Jennifer et al. is 99.6% identical to instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 1; see below sequence alignment-2.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the references so as to have a polypeptide comprises a first domain comprising US11 and a second domain binds to CD3. One would have been motivated to do so because Banchereau et al. teach an engineered HIV Nef antigen (SEQ ID NO: 10) is attached to an anti-CD3 antibody via a linker to form an antibody-antigen complex; Jennifer et al. teach MHC class I antigen presentation pathway inhibitor polypeptides include HCMV US11, HCMV US2, HCMV US3, E19, Nef, KSHV K3, KSHV K5, and HBV. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that by combining the teachings of the references so as to substitute HIV Nef of Banchereau et al. for another virus e.g., HCMV US11 of Jennifer et al. to arrive the instant claimed invention, because simple substitution of HIV Nef virus of Banchereau et al. for another virus e.g., HCMV US11 of Jennifer et al. would obtain predictable results.
Given the examination guidelines for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the Supreme Court decision in KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) and the Examination Guidelines set forth in the Federal Register (Vol. 72, No. 195, October 10, 2007) and incorporated recently into the MPEP (Revision 9, March 2014), the following rationales to support rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are noted:
A) Combining prior art elements according known methods to yield predictable results.
B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
D) Applying known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
E) “Obvious to try” --- choosing form a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
G) Some teachings, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would lead to one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
In this case, simple substitution of HIV Nef virus of Banchereau et al. for another virus e.g., HCMV US11 of Jennifer et al. would obtain predictable results.
Obviousness is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. See KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Conclusion
14. No claim is allowed.
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of objection/rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642
Sequence alignment-1
AXV47450
ID AXV47450 standard; protein; 690 AA.
XX
AC AXV47450;
XX
DT 15-APR-2010 (first entry)
XX
DE Antibody heavy chain-HIV nef antigen fusion protein, SEQ ID NO: 10.
XX
KW Nef protein; anti-hiv; antibody; antigen; fusion protein; heavy chain;
KW hiv infection; immune stimulation; vaccine, antiviral.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
OS Human immunodeficiency virus.
OS Synthetic.
OS Unidentified.
XX
FH Key Location/Qualifiers
FT Region 454..455
FT /note= "Linking restriction site region"
FT Region 456..482
FT /note= "Flexible linker"
FT Region 483..484
FT /note= "Linking restriction site region"
FT Region 485..690
FT /note= "Nef consensus clade B region"
XX
CC PN WO2010009346-A2.
XX
CC PD 21-JAN-2010.
XX
CC PF 16-JUL-2009; 2009WO-US050903.
XX
PR 16-JUL-2008; 2008US-0081234P.
XX
CC PA (BAYU ) BAYLOR RES INST.
XX
CC PI Banchereau JF, Cobb A, Flamar A, Mead H, Montes M, Zurawski G;
XX
DR WPI; 2010-A90746/08.
XX
CC PT Increasing the effectiveness of antigen presentation by an antigen
CC PT presenting cell by contacting the antigen presenting cell under
CC PT conditions where an antibody-antigen complex is processed and presented
CC PT for T cell recognition.
XX
CC PS Claim 11; SEQ ID NO 10; 70pp; English.
XX
CC The invention relates to a novel method of increasing the effectiveness
CC of antigen presentation by an antigen presenting cell. The method
CC comprises: isolating and purifying a dendritic cell (DC) specific
CC antibody or its fragment to which an engineered Gag or Nef antigen is
CC attached to form an antibody-antigen complex; and contacting the antigen
CC presenting cell under conditions where the antibody-antigen complex is
CC processed and presented for T cell recognition. Also claimed is a vaccine
CC comprising: a DC-specific antibody or its fragment to which an engineered
CC Cyclin D1 or Gag antigen is attached; a method for increasing the
CC effectiveness of dendritic cells; an isolated and purified nucleic acid
CC that encodes a polypeptide selected from any one of fully defined
CC sequences selected from (AXV47441-AXV47445, AXV47447-AXV47463, AXV47471,
CC or AXV47472) given in the specification.
XX
SQ Sequence 690 AA;
Query Match 91.7%; Score 1035; Length 690;
Best Local Similarity 88.3%;
Matches 182; Conservative 15; Mismatches 9; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGGKWSKSSVIGWPTVRERMRRAEPAADRVGAASRDLEKHGAITSSNTAATNAACAWLEA 60
||||||| ||:||||||||||||||||| ||| ||||||||||||||||| || ||||||
Db 485 MGGKWSKRSVVGWPTVRERMRRAEPAADGVGAVSRDLEKHGAITSSNTAANNADCAWLEA 544
Qy 61 QEEEEVGFPVTPQVPLRPMTYKAAVDLSHFLKEKGGLEGLIHSQRRQDILDLWIYHTQGY 120
|||||||||| ||||||||||| |:||||||||||||||||:||:||||||||:||||||
Db 545 QEEEEVGFPVRPQVPLRPMTYKGALDLSHFLKEKGGLEGLIYSQKRQDILDLWVYHTQGY 604
Qy 121 FPDWQNYTPGPGVRYPLTFGWCYKLVPVEPDKIEEANKGENTSLLHPVSLHGMDDPEREV 180
||||||||||||:|||||||||:|||||||:|:||||:||| |||||:||||||||||||
Db 605 FPDWQNYTPGPGIRYPLTFGWCFKLVPVEPEKVEEANEGENNSLLHPMSLHGMDDPEREV 664
Qy 181 LEWRFDSRLAFHHVARELHPEYFKNC 206
| |:|||||||||:||||||||:|:|
Db 665 LVWKFDSRLAFHHMARELHPEYYKDC 690
Sequence alignment-2
BHU77556
ID BHU77556 standard; protein; 215 AA.
XX
AC BHU77556;
XX
DT 09-JUL-2020 (first entry)
XX
DE Therapeutic polypeptide delivering US11 polypeptide, SEQ ID 962.
XX
KW CRISPR-Cas system; US11 protein; genome editing; virus-like particle.
XX
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN WO2020102709-A1.
XX
CC PD 22-MAY-2020.
XX
CC PF 15-NOV-2019; 2019WO-US061778.
XX
PR 16-NOV-2018; 2018US-0768508P.
PR 03-MAY-2019; 2019US-0843139P.
PR 21-AUG-2019; 2019US-0889867P.
XX
CC PA (REGC ) UNIV CALIFORNIA.
XX
CC PI Doudna JA, Hamilton JR;
XX
DR WPI; 2020-439275/046.
DR GENBANK; APG57339.
XX
CC PT New nucleic acid comprising nucleotide sequence encoding virus-like
CC PT particle comprising fusion polypeptide, therapeutic polypeptide, and
CC PT heterologous protease cleavage sites, used to make virus-like particle.
XX
CC PS Disclosure; SEQ ID NO 962; 323pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a method for making a virus-like
CC particle (VLP). The VLP comprising a therapeutic polypeptide. The
CC invention further relates to: a nucleic acid comprising a nucleotide
CC sequence encoding a VLP comprising a fusion polypeptide; a system; a
CC eukaryotic cell; and a method for delivering a therapeutic polypeptide to
CC a target cell. The fusion polypeptide comprises a retroviral GAG
CC polyprotein, a therapeutic polypeptide and heterologous protease cleavage
CC sites corresponds to SEQ ID NOs: 854, 883-890 (see BHU77448, BHU77477-
CC BHU77484). The invention also relate to compositions and methods for
CC delivering CRISPR/Cas effector polypeptides and CRISPR/Cas system useful
CC for genome editing.
XX
SQ Sequence 215 AA;
Query Match 99.6%; Score 1163; Length 215;
Best Local Similarity 99.5%;
Matches 214; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MNLVMLILALWAPVAGSMPELSLTLFDEPPPLVETEPLPPLSDVSEYRVEYSEARCVLRS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MNLVMLILALWAPVAGSMPELSLTLFDEPPPLVETEPLPPLPDVSEYRVEYSEARCVLRS 60
Qy 61 GGRLEALWTLRGNLSVPTPTPRVYYQTLEGYADRVPTPVEDVSESLVAKRYWLRDYRVPQ 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GGRLEALWTLRGNLSVPTPTPRVYYQTLEGYADRVPTPVEDVSESLVAKRYWLRDYRVPQ 120
Qy 121 RTKLVLFYFSPCHQCQTYYVECEPRCLVPWVPLWSSLEDIERLLFEDRRLMAYYALTIKS 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 RTKLVLFYFSPCHQCQTYYVECEPRCLVPWVPLWSSLEDIERLLFEDRRLMAYYALTIKS 180
Qy 181 AQYTLMMVAVIQVFWGLYVKGWLHRHFPWMFSDQW 215
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 AQYTLMMVAVIQVFWGLYVKGWLHRHFPWMFSDQW 215