DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/23/2025 (hereinafter “amendment”) has been accepted and entered. Claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 2-7, 10-14 and 16-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant argues that claim 14 should not be withdrawn because paragraph [0096] recites “In the case of Fig. 12 also, the cover 24 can be screwed onto the case 12 until the first and second snap-fit reliefs 23, 37 snap-fit.” This is not persuasive. The specification cites that it can not that is does, i.e., that it is a possible alternate embodiment. The elected species of Fig. 12 does not disclose any threads or structure to enable the cover to be screwed onto the case nor the relationship between such screwing structure and the snap fit structure. As such claim 14 remains withdrawn from consideration as it is not directed to the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “at least two slits passing through the thickness of a body in which it is formed”, this is unclear. The slits are actively passing through? Does this mean the slits move? Does the slit extent completely through the body? Does the slit have a variable depth so as to dip or pass along the body? What direction is considered the thickness of the body? This is generally unclear and further it is unclear if this is directed towards the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sequin FR 2565559 A1, herein after referred to as Sequin.
Regarding claim 1 Seguin discloses a packaging device (Figs. 1-5) for at least one cosmetic product, comprising:
a case (1 body) defining a housing, the case (1) having at least one first snap-fit relief (area below bead 7); and
a cover (3 lid) adapted to be fixed on the case (Figs. 1-2) to close the housing, wherein the cover (1) has at least one second snap-fit relief (area above bead 8), adapted to cooperate with the at least one first snap-fit relief (Fig. 2) to fix the cover (3) on the case (1),
wherein one of the at least one first snap-fit relief (area below 7) and the at least one second snap-fit relief (area above 8) is made of metal (English page 4, line 145) and comprises at least one clipping tab (8 bead) extending between at least two slits (Fig. 3A and 4A, there are slits at either end of 8)
Regarding claim 8 Seguin discloses the packaging device according to claim 1 and further discloses wherein the cover extends mainly along an axis, the two slits being parallel to the axis (Fig. 3A and 4A, the slits extend between the end of the clipping tabs 8 to the lug 11).
Regarding claim 9 Seguin discloses the packaging device according to claim 1 and further discloses in which the other one of the at least one first snap-fit relief (area below bead 7) and the at least one second snap-fit relief (area above bead 8) includes one of a groove (the first snap-fit relief is a groove below 7, Figs. 1-2), a rib, and at least one lug.
Regarding claim 15 Seguin discloses the packaging device according to claim 1 and further discloses which the case (1) is a bottle with an opening (covered by the stopper, Figs. 1 and 3B) through which the housing opens out.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that “Applicant respectfully disagrees as no slit can be seen at the end of the bead (8)”. The applicant gives a general statement and no reasons how the structures are different. As shown in at least Figs. 3A and 4A the clipping tab (8) extents between two slits as the slits are areas on the interior of the cover at either end of the clipping tab, which is a reduction in the thickness of the cover between the end of the clipping tab 8 and the lug 11 and as such is a slit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L KMET/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735