DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one parameter indicating element … for providing an indication of a use parameter of the medical device control system to a user” in claim 1, “a tactile indicating device arranged to provide a tactile feedback to a user in response to the at least one parameter indicating element being adjusted between the plurality of discrete positions” in claim 62, “at least one parameter indicating element … for providing an indication of a use parameter of the fluid pressure control system to a user” in claim 64, and “an indicating device … said indicating device being configured to provide an indication of a use parameter to a user based on the detected position of the parameter indicating element” of claim 65.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 49 is unclear for several reasons. Firstly, the wording of “A connector for a coupling assembly for connecting a medical device and a controller device in a medical device control system” is not clear as to what components are considered part of the medical device control system (e.g. if the coupling assembly, the medical device, and/or the controller device are all considered to be “in” the medical device control system or, for example, only the controller device). Secondly, it is also not clear whether “…for connecting…” applies to the connector or to the coupling assembly. Additionally, “the operation of the medical device” in line 3 lacks a proper antecedent basis. The examiner recommends using more line indentations and making it clearer what the function/purpose of each component is on its own line. The examiner also recommends making it clearer where the preamble ends by using a transitional phrase (see MPEP 2111.03) followed by a colon.
Claim 52 recites the limitation "the position of the at least one parameter indicating element" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 53 recites “the components of the medical device control system” in 6 instances. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 54 recites “the parameter indicating element” in line 2. This is inconsistent with “at least one parameter indicating element” mentioned earlier and is therefore unclear in scenarios where more than one parameter indicating element is present.
Claim 54 recites the limitation "the position of the at least one parameter indicating element" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 56 recites the limitation "the position of said at least one parameter indicating element" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 57 recites the limitation "the position of one of the at least one parameter indicating element" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 57 recites “the parameter indicating element” in line 4. This is inconsistent with “at least one parameter indicating element” mentioned earlier and is therefore unclear in scenarios where more than one parameter indicating element is present.
Claim 57 recites “the components of the medical device control system” in 2 instances. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 60 recites “the parameter indicating element” in 3 instances and “said parameter indicating element parameter indicating element” in 1 instance. These are each inconsistent with “at least one parameter indicating element” mentioned earlier and are therefore unclear in scenarios where more than one parameter indicating element is present.
Claim 60 recites the limitation "the length of the connector body" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 64 recites the limitation "the operation of the medical device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 64 recites the limitation "the fluid pressure control system" in the final line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since this term lacks antecedent basis, it will be assumed this was meant to refer to “A medical device control system” introduced earlier.
Claim 65 recites the limitation "the position of the parameter indicating element" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 65 recites “the parameter indicating element” in 3 instances. This is inconsistent with “at least one parameter indicating element” mentioned earlier and is therefore unclear in scenarios where more than one parameter indicating element is present.
Claim 66 recites “the parameter indicating element” in lines 2-3. This is inconsistent with “at least one parameter indicating element” mentioned earlier and is therefore unclear in scenarios where more than one parameter indicating element is present.
Claim 66 recites the limitation "the position of the parameter indicating element" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 66 recites the limitation "the operation of the medical device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 67 recites the limitation "the components of the medical device control system" in 2 instances. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 68 recites the limitation "the operation of the medical device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 68 recites the limitation "the fluid pressure control system" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since this term lacks antecedent basis, it will be assumed this was meant to refer to “a medical device control system” introduced earlier.
Claim 68 recites the limitation "the position of the at least one parameter indicating element" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 68 recites “the use parameter” in lines 13-14. This is unclear because the claim previously introduced “a use parameter” in two different instances.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 49-53, 56-59, and 64-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2015/0065956 A1, hereafter “Huang”).
As to claim 49, Huang discloses a connector (all parts of 86 except 18; see Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10) for a coupling assembly (all of 86) for connecting a medical device (catheter 80) and a controller device (injection device 82; though the examiner notes that these limitation merely constitute an intended use and the luer connections, as described in para 0040 & 0046, would be capable of connecting to various controller devices) in a medical device control system (system of Figs. 1, 3), said controller device being configured to control the operation of the medical device (“the operation” in this instance being interpreted as fluid moving through the catheter), the connector having a connector body (102) being connectable to a connecting member (18) of the coupling assembly for forming a connection (see Figs. 4, 5, 7, 9, 10), wherein the connector comprises at least one parameter indicating element (110; however 112 and 114 may also be interpreted as part of parameter indicating element) provided on the connector body, said at least one parameter indicating element being adjustable relative the connector body for providing an indication of a use parameter of the medical device control system to a user (see para 0050, 0051).
As to claim 50, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the medical device is an inflatable/deflatable article (the examiner notes that the medical device is not positively recited in the claim; due to the structure of the connector and the recitation of the medical device being an inflatable/deflatable being purely functional, Huang is interpreted to satisfy this limitation as the connector would behave the same if the medical device included an inflatable/deflatable article, for example a balloon catheter) and the controller device is a pump (injection device 82 depicted as a syringe, which is a form of a pump).
As to claim 51, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable between a plurality of discrete positions relative the connector body (adjustable in the sense that pressure in the connector would cause the spring 112 to compress and thus valve stem to move between a plurality of discrete positions – see para 0049, 0052).
As to claim 52, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable relative the connector body such that the position of the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable to provide a user with a use value associated with the use parameter, wherein the use value relates to a performed use event of the use parameter (see para 0050, 0051; in this instance a “use value” corresponds to the optical sensor detecting a difference in light intensity).
As to claim 53, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 52, wherein the performed use event is uses of any one of the components of the medical device control system (an open valve representing use of the injection device 82 – see at least para 0040, 0041, 0049).
As to claim 56, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49, further comprising an actuation element (spring 112; in this instance the valve stem 110 is the only part being interpreted as the at least one parameter indicating element) movable relative the connector body, said actuation element being coupled to one of the at least one parameter indicating elements such that movement of said actuation element causes adjustment of the position of said at least one parameter indicating element (para 0049, 0052).
As to claim 57, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the position of one of the at least one parameter indicating element is detectable by means of a sensing arrangement (120) of the medical device control system such that an indication is provided based on a detected position of the parameter indicating element obtained by the sensing arrangement (para 0050-0053), and wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is in the form of an identification component, said identification component being adapted to generate a characteristic response associated with any one of the components (in this instance the “any one of the components” being interpreted as the injection device 82) of the medical device control system (in this instance the “characteristic response” is an opening of the valve in response to pressure), said characteristic response being detectable by means of the sensing arrangement for identifying said one of the components of the medical device control system (see para 0050-0053; identifies the injection device as being present since fluid pressure would open the valve and be sensed by the sensing arrangement).
As to claim 58, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the at least one parameter indicating element comprises any one of ferrite, brass or steel (spring 112 can comprise steel; see para 0048).
As to claim 59, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is arranged inside the connector body (102) (see Figs. 4, 5, 7, 9, 10).
As to claim 64, Huang discloses a medical device control system (system of Figs. 1, 3) comprising a medical device (catheter 80 and/or injection device 82) and a controller device (16) configured to control the operation of the medical device (para 0041), the medical device control system further comprising a coupling assembly (86) for connecting the medical device and the controller device (see Figs. 1, 3),
wherein the coupling assembly comprises a connector (all parts of 86 except 18; see Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10) and a connecting member (18), the connector having a connector body (102) connectable to the connecting member for forming a connection (see Figs. 4, 5, 7, 9, 10), and
wherein the connector comprises at least one parameter indicating element (110; however 112 and 114 may also be interpreted as part of parameter indicating element) provided on the connector body (102), said at least one parameter indicating element being adjustable relative the connector body for providing an indication of a use parameter of the fluid pressure control system to a user (see para 0050, 0051).
As to claim 65, Huang discloses the medical device control system according to claim 64, further comprising: a sensing arrangement (120) operatively connected to a control unit (32) of the controller device (para 0055), said sensing arrangement being configured to detect the position of the parameter indicating element (para 0051, 0053-0055), whereby the indication of the use parameter is provided to a user based on a detected position of the parameter indicating element obtained by the sensing arrangement (para 0051, 0053-0055), and an indicating device (display 42 and/or speaker 44) operatively connected to the control unit, said indicating device being configured to provide an indication of a use parameter to a user based on the detected position of the parameter indicating element (para 0070-0072, 0074).
As to claim 66, Huang discloses the medical device control system according to claim 65, wherein the control unit is configured to control the operation of the medical device based on the position of the parameter indicating element (see para 0041 teaching the injection device 82 may include a drive mechanism, such as a motor, which may be controlled by the injection device 82 and/or another medical device, such as the monitor 16 (the monitor 16 including the processor 32); also see para 0055, 0056).
As to claim 67, Huang discloses the medical device control system according to claim 65, whereby the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable relative the connector body such that a position of the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable to provide a user with a use value associated with the use parameter (see para 0050, 0051; in this instance a “use value” corresponds to the optical sensor detecting a difference in light intensity), wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is in the form of an identification component, said identification component being configured to generate a characteristic response associated with any one of the components of the medical device control system (in this instance the “any one of the components” being interpreted as the injection device 82), the sensing arrangement being configured to detect said characteristic response for identifying said any one of the components of the medical device control system (see para 0050-0053; identifies the injection device as being present since fluid pressure would open the valve and be sensed by the sensing arrangement).
As to claim 68, Huang discloses a method of providing a user with an indication of a use parameter of a medical device control system (system of Figs. 1, 3) comprising a medical device (catheter 80 and/or injection device 82) and a controller device (16) configured to control the operation of the medical device (para 0041), the medical device control system further comprising a coupling assembly (86) for connecting the medical device and the controller device (86 includes 18 which communicates with 16), wherein the coupling assembly comprises a connector (all parts of 86 except 18; see Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10) and a connecting member (18), the connector having a connector body (102) connectable to the connecting member for forming a connection (see Figs. 4, 5, 7, 9, 10), and wherein the connector comprises at least one parameter indicating element (110; however 112 and 114 may also be interpreted as part of parameter indicating element) provided on the connector body, said at least one parameter indicating element being adjustable relative the connector body for providing an indication of a use parameter of the fluid pressure control system to a user (see para 0050, 0051), the method comprising: adjusting the position of the at least one parameter indicating element relative the connector body in response to a performed use event associated with the use parameter (position is adjusted based on fluid pressure from injection device 82 – see para 0050, 0051).
Claim(s) 49-54, 64, and 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ravikumar et al. (WO 2018/052676 A1, provided by applicant on 7/3/23 and hereafter “Ravikumar”).
As to claim 49, Ravikumar discloses a connector (all parts from 830 to 805 as seen in Fig. 32A; i.e. all parts connecting bulb 700 and tube 811; see at least Figs. 1, 32A & 33) for a coupling assembly for connecting a medical device (tube 811 and/or bladder 402) and a controller device (bulb 700) in a medical device control system (system of Fig. 1), said controller device being configured to control the operation of the medical device (bulb 700 used to control inflation of bladder 402, which is connected via tube 811; see para 0041, 0042), the connector having a connector body (820) being connectable to a connecting member (830 or 805) of the coupling assembly for forming a connection (see Fig. 32A),
wherein the connector comprises at least one parameter indicating element (818) provided on the connector body, said at least one parameter indicating element being adjustable relative the connector body for providing an indication of a use parameter (use parameter in this instance is a pressure value) of the medical device control system to a user (para 0046).
As to claim 50, Ravikumar discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the medical device is an inflatable/deflatable article (para 0041, 0042) and the controller device is a pump (bulb 700 is a form of a pump).
As to claim 51, Ravikumar discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable between a plurality of discrete positions relative the connector body (dial is between a plurality of positions between a min/max of the dial; para 0046, Fig. 32A).
As to claim 52, Ravikumar discloses the connector according to claim 49, wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable relative the connector body such that the position of the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable to provide a user with a use value associated with the use parameter, wherein the use value relates to a performed use event of the use parameter (para 0046, Fig. 32A).
As to claim 53, Ravikumar discloses the connector according to claim 52, wherein the performed use event is any one of the group: uses of any one of the components of the medical device control system (a pressure value appearing on the dial is an indication of a use of the bulb 700; see para 0046, Figs. 32A, 33).
As to claim 54, Ravikumar discloses the connector according to claim 52, wherein the use value indicates a counter value (pressure value is essentially a counter of an amount of pressure) and the parameter indicating element is adapted to provide a user an indication in response to the counter value exceeding a predefined counter value (indication being the dial on the counter exceeding a specific value), and wherein the position of the at least one parameter indicating element is arranged to be adjusted in response to the connector engaging the connecting member (once connected, the position of dial is adjusted based on pressure from bulb 700; see para 0046, Figs. 32A, 33).
As to claim 64, Ravikumar discloses a medical device control system (see at least Figs. 1, 32A & 33) comprising a medical device (tube 811 and/or bladder 402) and a controller device (bulb 700) configured to control the operation of the medical device (bulb 700 used to control inflation of bladder 402, which is connected via tube 811; see para 0041, 0042), the medical device control system further comprising a coupling assembly for connecting the medical device and the controller device,
wherein the coupling assembly comprises a connector (830+820; see at least Figs. 1, 32A & 33) and a connecting member (805), the connector having a connector body (820) connectable to the connecting member for forming a connection (Figs. 32A, 33), and
wherein the connector comprises at least one parameter indicating element (818) provided on the connector body, said at least one parameter indicating element being adjustable relative the connector body for providing an indication of a use parameter (in this instance the indication is the dial moving) of the fluid pressure control system to a user (para 0046, Figs. 32A, 33).
As to claim 68, Ravikumar discloses a method of providing a user with an indication of a use parameter (in this instance the use parameter is a pressure value) of a medical device control system (see at least Figs. 1, 32A & 33) comprising a medical device (tube 811 and/or bladder 402) and a controller device (bulb 700) configured to control the operation of the medical device (bulb 700 used to control inflation of bladder 402, which is connected via tube 811; see para 0041, 0042), the medical device control system further comprising a coupling assembly for connecting the medical device and the controller device, wherein the coupling assembly comprises a connector (830+820; see at least Figs. 1, 32A & 33) and a connecting member (805), the connector having a connector body (820) connectable to the connecting member for forming a connection (Figs. 32A, 33), and wherein the connector comprises at least one parameter indicating element (818) provided on the connector body, said at least one parameter indicating element being adjustable relative the connector body for providing an indication of a use parameter (in this instance the indication is in the form of the dial moving) of the fluid pressure control system to a user (para 0046, Figs. 32A, 33), the method comprising:
adjusting the position of the at least one parameter indicating element (818) relative the connector body in response to a performed use event associated with the use parameter (para 0046, Figs. 32A, 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Vischer et al. (US 2011/0196291 A1, hereafter “Vischer”).
As to claim 63, Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49 as described above, but is silent to a data storage device, said data storage device containing data associated with the medical device or the controller device.
Vischer discloses a connector (63; see Fig. 4), including a data storage device (66), said data storage device containing data associated with the medical device (tubing 61 or 62) (see para 0048).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to have included a data storage device, said data storage device containing data associated with the medical device or the controller device. One would have been motivated to do so for the purposing of storing data related to the medical device or the controller device (see para 0048 of Vischer).
Allowable Subject Matter
No claims are currently allowed.
Claims 55, 60, 61, 62 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 55, while both Huang and Ravikumar disclose the connector according to claim 49, each are silent to wherein the at least one parameter indicating element is adjustable only in one direction in combination with the limitations of claim 49.
As to claim 60, while Huang discloses the connector according to claim 49 as described above, Huang is silent to retention ribs protruding from the connector body and being adapted to adjustably retain the parameter indicating element inside said connector body, wherein the retention ribs are arranged in an angle relative the parameter indicating element and the length of the connector body such that adjustment of the parameter indicating element in one direction causes a gradually increasing compressive force for retaining said parameter indicating element parameter indicating element in combination with the limitations of claim 49.
As to claim 61, while Ravikumar discloses the connector according to claim 49 as described above, and further wherein one of the at least one parameter indicating element is adapted to provide a visual indication to a user on the connector (dial 818 providing visual indication on the connector), Ravikumar is silent to wherein the at least one parameter indicating element comprises a collar adjustably mounted to the connector body.
As to claim 62, while both Huang and Ravikumar disclose the connector according to claim 49 as described above, each are silent to a tactile indicating device arranged to provide a tactile feedback to a user in response to the at least one parameter indicating element being adjusted between the plurality of discrete positions, and component retention means, wherein the plurality of discrete positions includes an end position, and wherein said component retention means are arranged to engage the parameter indicating element when the parameter indicating element reaches said end position such that further adjustment of the parameter indicating element is prevented in combination.
Conclusion
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783