DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/16/2023, 3/18/2024 and 11/5/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 requires removal of the independent claim topmost layer, which is improper. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2020146777 A) to Sato (hereinafter Sato).
Sato is directed toward a surface coated cutting tool. Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that it has multiple layers and that the total layer thickness is 0.5 to 8 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 1). Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that the top and bottom sublayers are alternated over each other that reads on Applicants requirement 2). Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that the following is an A layer:
The A layer above reads on Applicants composition for requirement 3).
Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that the following is an B layer:
The B layer above reads on Applicants composition for requirement 4).
Sato discloses at paragraph [0020] that the structure is cubic:
This reads on Applicants requirement of cubic structure for the crystals for requirements 5) and 6). Sato discloses each and every element as arranged in claim 1 that forms a prime facie case of obviousness.
8. Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2020146777 A) to Sato (hereinafter Sato) in view of (US 2023/0119858 A1) to Sato (hereinafter Sato2).
Sato is directed toward a surface coated cutting tool. Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that it has multiple layers and that the total layer thickness is 0.5 to 8 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 1). Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that the top and bottom sublayers are alternated over each other that reads on Applicants requirement 2). Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that the following is an A layer:
The A layer above reads on Applicants composition for requirement 3).
Sato discloses at paragraph [0017] that the following is an B layer:
The B layer above reads on Applicants composition for requirement 4).
Sato discloses at paragraph [0020] that the structure is cubic:
This reads on Applicants requirement of cubic structure for the crystals for requirements 5) and 6).
Sato2 is directed toward a surface coated cutting tool. Sato and Sato2 are both directed toward a surface coated cutting tool and therefore are analogous art. Sato2 teaches at paragraph [0044] a 3rd layer type, which provides motivation to combine by adding chipping and breaking resistance to the tool
Sato2 teaches at paragraph [0019] a W content of variation of 1 to 100 nm that follows the following relation:
Sato2 teaches at paragraph [0022] an intermediate layer:
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the of the disclosure of Sato in view of the teachings of Sato2 to modify the coating of the tool to improve resistance to chipping by adding an adhesive layer, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 2-6.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766