RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 16-June-2023 has been entered.
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 24-November-2025 with respect to application 18/267,963 filed 16-June-2023.
Applicant has amended claim 15.
Claims 15-27 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 15-20, 22, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over by Ijima et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2017/0050478 A1), hereinafter Ijima, in view of Lafaure (United Stated Patent # US 6,998,973 B2), Davis et al. (United Stated Patent # US 7,228,210 B2), hereinafter Davis, and Mancosu et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2007/0095446 A1), hereinafter Mancosu.
Consider claim 15: An electronic member incorporated in a mounted assembly, the electronic member, Ijima discloses a tire air pressure detection device [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2;Para. 0002, 0007-0009, 0017-0018] comprising:
at least one movement sensor, a signal of which is sensitive to movement of the electronic member, or at least one proximity sensor, a signal of which is sensitive to a distance of the at least one proximity sensor from an object outside the electronic member; a transmitter (2a, 2b, 2c, 2d) (electronic member) comprising an acceleration sensor (21b) (movement sensor), mounted on a tire [Fig 2; Para. 0026];
a microprocessor coupled to the at least one movement sensor or to the at least one proximity sensor to create a data signal; a control portion (22) comprising a microcomputer having a CPU (microprocessor) [Fig. 2; Para. 0021];
a storage area connected to the microprocessor for storing at least one part of a data signal representative of the at least one movement sensor or the at least one proximity sensor and at least one identification information element; the control portion also comprising memory (ROM/REM) (storage area) in which identification information is stored [Para. 0021
an energy source; a battery (24) (energy source) [Fig, 2; Para. 0029]; and
a radio transmitter connected to the microprocessor, a radio wave transmission portion (23) [Fig. 2; Para. 0028],
wherein the microprocessor defines at least two states of the electronic member based on the at least one part of the data signal, wherein, based on the acceleration sensor signal the controller may determine if the vehicle is in a stopped state or running (motion) state [Para. 0025-0026], the predetermined change in state indicated by at least one of:
(1) a change of a rotation speed of the mounted assembly above or below a threshold value for the rotation speed, wherein the threshold value for the rotation speed does not indicate a change in state of the electronic member if only a single crossing of the threshold value is observed;
(2) a change in a periodic radial acceleration above a critical acceleration, the periodic radial acceleration corresponding to a rotation velocity of the mounted assembly; Ijima specifically discloses: “…a detection signal of the acceleration sensor (21b) during tire rotation fluctuates as is shown in FIG. 5. That is, acceleration increases instantaneously when the installation corresponding spot makes contact with a road surface and decreases instantaneously when the installation corresponding spot leaves the road surface. Hence, the control portion (22) determines that the vehicle is running, for example, when acceleration instantaneously takes a maximum value or a minimum value or when acceleration takes both of a maximum value and a minimum value within a predetermined time.” [Fig. 4, 5; Para. 0026-0027], and wherein, since a rotation of the tire represents a particular distance, the period of time between contact detections is indicative of a particular rotational velocity [Fig. 4-5; Para. 0026-0027]; wherein the data signal has an acceleration part, and an amplitude of the acceleration part is a function of the rotational velocity;
(3) a change in distance corresponding to the electronic member crossing a critical length threshold for a critical length, the critical length being between the electronic member and the object; and
(4) a change in velocity of the mounted assembly above a critical velocity, the change in velocity represented by an amplitude of an accelerometer first being below a curve corresponding to the critical velocity and then upwardly crossing the curve corresponding to the critical velocity,
wherein the storage area contains at least one predetermined change of state which is defined on a basis of the at least two states of the electronic member, wherein ID and sensed pressure information is stored, based on a programmed (stored) schedule at least when it is determined that the vehicle is in a running state [Fig. 6; Para. 0021, 0025; 0028, 0048];
wherein the microprocessor, after detecting the at least one predetermined change of state of the electronic member, causes the radio transmitter to transmit the at least one identification information element via a radiofrequency signal transmitted during a time interval ΔT beginning after detecting the at least one predetermined change of state of the electronic member and stops transmission of the radiofrequency signal at an end of the time interval ΔT, Ijima discloses the transmission of data on predetermined cycles and/or arbitrary intervals according to determined vehicle motion state and/or detected tire pressure, and to strop transmission when the vehicle is in a stopped state [Para. 0022, 0025, 0028, 0041, 0048-0049], the time interval ΔT of the transmission of the radiofrequency signal ending after between 20 seconds and 10 minutes, Ijima does not disclose a specific time interval for transmission. This was known in prior art, however, and for example:
Lafaure discloses a data transmission method for a vehicle tire pressure monitoring system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Col. 17-11, 29-40; Col. 2, 3-19; Claim 1] and particularly that the programmed time interval for transmission may be longer while in a stopped state, than for a running (moving) state, and wherein an exemplary time interval in a running state may be one minute [Fig. 2; Col. 3, 8-21].
Davis disclosed a fuel pump monitoring system and method for monitoring a component associated with a vehicle (in particular an aircraft, and where communication of data is based at least in part on vehicle state as determined by motion sensors [Tile; Abstract; Fig. 1-7; Col. 4, 48 to Col. 5, 8; Col. 10, 30-56] and particularly that a controller may use a detected event to determine whether or not the monitoring device begin transmitting the fuel pump data. The controller can cause the monitoring device to begin transmitting fuel pump data when the aircraft begins to move, stop transmitting after a predetermined period of time, begin transmitting again when the aircraft experiences turbulence, stop transmitting again after a predetermined period of time, begin transmitting again when the aircraft stops moving, and stop transmitting when all the stored fuel pump data is transmitted. [Col. 16, 9-23].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to transmit sensed vehicle device data based on a moving status of the vehicle (moving or stopped) and where the transmission may occur over a predetermined interval after which time transmission stops (until another event occurs) as taught by Davis, and where intervals may be one minute as taught by Lafaure, and applied to a tire air pressure detection device and monitoring method as taught by Ijima, in order to automatically monitor vehicle equipment when in use, while limiting power consumption and preventing needless communication.
Ijima does not specifically disclose that the mounted assembly data signal has an acceleration part, wherein an amplitude of the acceleration part is a function of the rotational velocity. This would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, however, and is taught in analogous prior art; for example:
Mancosu discloses a tire revolution counter [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0001-0002] and particularly that “the radial acceleration sensed by the accelerometer has a level related to the rotational speed of the rolling tire, the higher the speed, the higher the acceleration” with examples shown of rotational speeds equivalent to 40, 60, 80 and 100 km/h. [Fig. 6; Para. 0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that an acceleration level sensed by an accelerometer placed in the liner of a rotating tire would be related to the rotational speed of the tire and similarly to the speed of the vehicle, as taught by Mancosu, applied to a tire air pressure detection device and monitoring method as taught by Ijima, and modified by Lafaure and Davis, where the data from such an accelerometer and placement thereof, comprises data relating to both rotational speed, and ground contact.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15: The electronic member according to claim 15, wherein, an amplitude of the at least one part of the data signal constituting an information element for determining a state of the electronic member, each state of the electronic member being limited, in the at least one part of the data signal, by at least a first limit value, and the electronic member being in a given state, the crossing of the at least a first limit value by at least one value of the at least one part of the data signal characterizes the change of state of the electronic member. Ijima discloses that the acceleration sensor data signal provides a beginning indication of road surface contact at a particular point on the tire based on a maximum signal value, and an ending indication of contact by a minimum signal value, when the maximum and minimum values occur within a predetermined period (step 100) [Fig. 5-6; Para. 0041], and where movement and/or a stopped state may be determined based on a time period between road contact instances greater or less than a predetermined time (step 130, 150) [Fig. 6; Para. 0045-0047].
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 16: The electronic member according to claim 16, wherein the at least a first limit value is a value defined on a basis of at least the critical distance the critical velocity or the critical acceleration. Ijima discloses a threshold time period between consecutive road contacts as critical value for determining a stopped or running state, and where this time corresponds to a particular velocity (wherein the tire has a particular/constant circumference) [Fig. 6; Para. 0045-0047].
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 15: The electronic member according to claim 15, wherein, repetition of a pattern in the at least one part of the data signal constituting an information element for determining a state of the electronic member, and the electronic member being in a given state, exceeding a number N of patterns observed during a period ΔT’ in the at least one part of the data signal characterizes a change of state of the electronic member. Ijima discloses that the acceleration sensor data signal provides a beginning indication of road surface contact at a particular point on the tire based on a maximum signal value, and an ending indication of contact by a minimum signal value, when the maximum and minimum values occur within a predetermined period (step 100) [Fig. 5-6; Para. 0041], and where movement and/or a stopped state may be determined based on a time period between road contact instances (N=1) greater or less than a predetermined time (ΔT’) (step 130, 150) [Fig. 6; Para. 0045-0047].
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 18: The electronic member according to claim 18, wherein the period ΔT ' is proportional to an inverse of a second critical velocity of the electronic member. Ijima discloses a threshold time period between consecutive road contacts as critical value for determining a stopped or running state, and where this time is inversely proportional to a particular velocity (wherein the tire has a particular/constant circumference) [Fig. 6; Para. 0045-0047].
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 15: The electronic member according to claim 15, wherein the at least one movement sensor is selected from the group consisting of inertial sensors and angular sensors.
Ijima discloses the use of an acceleration sensor to detect vehicle tire or vehicle movement, but not specifically an inertial, angular or IMU sensor. This was known in analogous prior art however, and for example:
Mancosu discloses a tire revolution counter [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0001-0002] and particularly the use of an inertial switch to sense tire position and movement Fig. 5; Para. 0014, 0037, 0045; Claim 17, 20, 23].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to use an inertial switch as a sensor to monitor tire position and movement as taught by Mancosu applied to a tire air pressure detection device and monitoring method as taught by Ijima, and modified by Lafaure, Davis and Mancosu where such sensors are available, economical, reliable, and do not require a power source.
Consider claim 22 and as applied to claim 15: The electronic member according to claim 15, wherein transmission of the radiofrequency signal during the time interval ΔT takes place periodically over a period T, the period T being between 0.5 seconds and 1 minute. Lafaure discloses transmission at a 1 minute periodic rate when a driving state is detected [Col. 3, 8-21, 28-35].
Consider claim 23 and as applied to claim 22: The electronic member according to claim 22, wherein the period T is defined according to a state of the electronic member. Lafaure discloses that the e minute periodic state occurs [only] when the vehicle is in the driving state.
Consider claim 25 and as applied to claim 15: A tire casing comprising the electronic member according to claim 15 mounted integrally on the tire casing, wherein the at least one identification information element is selected from the group consisting of a serial number of the tire casing, an identity of the tire casing, a serial number of the electronic member, and an identity of the electronic member.
Ijima discloses the transmitter (2) is attached to a back side of tread of a tire (77 attached to a wheel (5) of the vehicle [Fig. 1-2, 4; Para. 0019], and wherein ID information including transmitter-specific identification information to identify the own transmitter 2a, 2b, 2c, or 2d (i.e., serial number of the electronic member) and vehicle-specific identification information to identify the own vehicle is stored in an internal memory of the control portion [Fig. 2; Para. 0021].
Lafaure, moreover, discloses that a wheel unit (electronic member) (12), is placed in each wheel, positioned on the rim inside the wheel. Each wheel unit has an identifier that is specific to it [Fig. 1; Col. 2, 62 to Col. 3, 2]; and
Davis discloses a monitoring device (12) typically stores the monitoring device serial number [Col. 10, 57 to Col. 11, 22].
Allowable Subject Matter
Objection is made to claims 21, 24, 26 and 27 as dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 24-November-2025 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claims 15-19, 22, 23 and 25 under 35 USC §103 over Ijima (US 2017/0050478 A1), Lafaure (US 6,998,973 B2) and Davis (US 7,228,210 B2) [Remarks: page 8-11]:
Regarding independent claim 15: Arguments presented, are in summary, that Ijima, Lafaure and Davis fail to teach that the mounted assembly data signal has an acceleration part, wherein an amplitude of the acceleration part is a function of the rotational velocity as recited in the presently amended claim. This argument has been considered, but is moot based on a new rejection of the claim under 35 USC §103 over Ijima, Lafaure, Davis and Mancosu (US 2007/0095446 A1), where Mancosu teaches an analogous acceleration sensor applied to an interior portion of a car tire and wherein Mancosu specifically discloses that the measured acceleration varies (at least in part) based on the tire rotational velocity, and by extension, vehicle velocity.
Regarding claims 16-19, 22, 23 and 25: No amendments have been made to these claims, and no specific or additional arguments have been presented; allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of base claim 15. These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 over Ijima, Lafaure, Davis and Mancosu, based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the particular citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claim 20 under 35 USC §103 over Ijima, Lafaure, Davis and Mancosu [Remarks: page 8, 11]: No specific or additional arguments have been made to this claim, allowability asserted based o or the alleged allowability of base claim 15. This claim remains rejected under 35 USC §103 over Ijima, Lafaure, Davis and Mancosu, based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the particular citations and analysis presented in this Office action.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC §103 over Ijima, Lafaure, Davis and Breed (US 2002/0095980 A1) [Remarks: page 8, 11]: Arguments with respect to this claim are moot; the claim has been determined to be allowable if presented in independent form.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claim 24 under 35 USC §103 over Ijima, Lafaure, Davis and Hardman (US 2002/0126005 A1) [Remarks: page 8, 11]: Arguments with respect to this claim are moot; the claim has been determined to be allowable if presented in independent form.
Consider claims 26 and 27: These claims have been previously indicated to be allowable if presented in independent form.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2020/0031183 A1) disclosing a systematized multi-point sensor unit for tires.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached on (571)270-73283114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2685