DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The continuation data should be listed on page 1 of the specification under the heading CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 14: “based on at least” will be interpreted as the transitional term “comprising”, which is syn-onymous with “including,” “containing,” or “charac-terized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., >Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) [see MPEP 2111.03].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17, 22 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thuilliez et al. (US 2015/0353716) in view of Hayashi (WO 2019/239568).
Regarding claims 14-17, 22 and 24-26: Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) discloses rubber compositions [abstract] for tire treads [0098], wherein Example M2 [M2; 0081-0085; Table 2, M2] contains 80 parts highly saturated diene elastomer A (EBR; ethylene/butadiene rubber (1,3-butadiene [0036-0037); 68 mol% ethylene units [0084]), 20 parts unsaturated diene 2 (natural rubber [0083]) {corresponding to 80 phr EBR}, 47.5 parts carbon black, 0.6 parts CBS (N-cyclohexyl-2-benzothiazolesulfenamide) and 1.5 parts sulfur [M2; 0081-0085; Table 2, M2]. Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) discloses additives [0063].
Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) does not disclose 0.1 to 9 mass% of crumb rubber. However, Hayashi (WO ‘568) discloses tire treads having rubber compositions comprising crumb rubber particles [abstract], wherein Example C-5 [C-5; 0118; 0123; Table 3, C-5] contains 8.4 mass% of crumb rubber particles having a D10 of 276 µm and a D50 of 550 µm {D10/D50 of 0.50} [C-5; 0118; 0123; Table 3, C-5]. Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) and Hayashi (WO ‘568) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of rubber compositions for tire treads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined 8.4 mass% of crumb rubber particles having a D10 of 276 µm and a D50 of 550 µm, as taught by Hayashi (WO ‘568) in the invention of Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716), and would have been motivated to do so since Hayashi (WO ‘568) suggests 8.4 mass% of crumb rubber particles having a D10 of 276 µm and a D50 of 550 µm affords tires having improved snow grip and ice grip [0007; 0118; 0123-0124; Table 3, C-5; Table 4, T-5].
Claim(s) 14-21 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thuilliez et al. (US 2015/0353716) in view of Thomasson et al. (WO 2018/115719). Thomasson et al. (US 11,046,838) as English equivalent of Thomasson et al. (WO 2018/115719).
Regarding claims 14-21 and 23-26: Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) discloses rubber compositions [abstract] for tire treads [0098], wherein Example M2 [M2; 0081-0085; Table 2, M2] contains 80 parts highly saturated diene elastomer A (EBR; ethylene/butadiene rubber (1,3-butadiene [0036-0037); 68 mol% ethylene units [0084]), 20 parts unsaturated diene 2 (natural rubber [0083]) {corresponding to 80 phr EBR}, 47.5 parts carbon black, 0.6 parts CBS (N-cyclohexyl-2-benzothiazolesulfenamide) and 1.5 parts sulfur [M2; 0081-0085; Table 2, M2]. Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) discloses additives [0063].
Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) does not disclose 0.1 to 9 mass% of crumb rubber. However, Thomasson et al. (US ‘838) discloses tire treads having rubber compositions comprising crumb rubber particles [abstract; 1:33-34], in an amount of 5 to 40 wt% [8:48-59]. Thomasson et al. (US ‘838) discloses crumb rubber P3 [P3; 12:43-13:13; Table 1; P3] has a D50 of 155 µm, an acetone extract of 4.6%, a chloroform extract of 6.3% {corresponding to a chloroform extract to acetone extract of 1.37} [P3; 12:43-13:13; Table 1; P3]. Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) and Thomasson et al. (US ‘838) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of rubber compositions for tire treads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined 5 to 9 wt% of crumb rubber P3 (instant claim 19); 5 to 7 wt% of crumb rubber P3 (instant claim 23), as taught by Thomasson et al. (US ‘838) in the invention of Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716), and would have been motivated to do so since Thomasson et al. (US ‘838) suggests 5 to 40 wt% crumb rubber P3 affords tires having improved wear resistance and tear strength [P3; 8:48-59; 13:14-59; Table 2-3; I]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767