DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 27: “based on at least” will be interpreted as the transitional term “comprising”, which is syn-onymous with “including,” “containing,” or “charac-terized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., >Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) [see MPEP 2111.03].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 27 recites the broad recitation 0.1% to 9% by mass of crumb rubber, and the claim also recites the content of crumb rubber is within a range of 0.5% to 7% by mass which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thuilliez et al. (US 2015/0353716) in view of Hayashi (WO 2019/239568).
Regarding claim 27: Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) discloses rubber compositions [abstract] for tire treads [0098], wherein Example M2 [M2; 0081-0085; Table 2, M2] contains 80 parts highly saturated diene elastomer A (EBR; ethylene/butadiene rubber (1,3-butadiene [0036-0037); 68 mol% ethylene units [0084]), 20 parts unsaturated diene 2 (natural rubber [0083]) {corresponding to 80 phr EBR}, 47.5 parts carbon black, 0.6 parts CBS (N-cyclohexyl-2-benzothiazolesulfenamide) and 1.5 parts sulfur [M2; 0081-0085; Table 2, M2]. Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) discloses additives [0063].
Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) does not disclose 0.1 to 9 mass% of crumb rubber. However, Hayashi (WO ‘568) discloses tire treads having rubber compositions comprising crumb rubber particles [abstract], wherein Example C-5 [C-5; 0118; 0123; Table 3, C-5] contains 8.4 mass% of crumb rubber particles having a D10 of 276 µm and a D50 of 550 µm {D10/D50 of 0.50} [C-5; 0118; 0123; Table 3, C-5]. Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716) and Hayashi (WO ‘568) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of rubber compositions for tire treads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined 8.4 mass% of crumb rubber particles having a D10 of 276 µm and a D50 of 550 µm {D10/D50 of 0.50}, as taught by Hayashi (WO ‘568) in the invention of Thuilliez et al. (US ‘716), and would have been motivated to do so since Hayashi (WO ‘568) suggests 8.4 mass% of crumb rubber particles having a D10 of 276 µm and a D50 of 550 µm {D10/D50 of 0.50} affords tires having improved snow grip and ice grip [0007; 0118; 0123-0124; Table 3, C-5; Table 4, T-5].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 and 23-26 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The combination of Thuilliez et al. (US 2015/0353716) and Hayashi (WO 2019/239568) does not disclose 0.1 to 9% by mass of crumb rubber having a D50 of 100 µm to 300 µm and D10/D50 of ≥ 0.50 with sufficient specificity. Such a reconstruction of the claims would be based on improper hindsight reasoning.
The combination of Thuilliez et al. (US 2015/0353716) in view of Thomasson et al. (WO 2018/115719) (Thomasson et al. (US 11,046,838) as English equivalent) does not disclose 0.1 to 9% by mass of crumb rubber having a D50 of 100 µm to 300 µm and D10/D50 of ≥ 0.50 with sufficient specificity. Such a reconstruction of the claims would be based on improper hindsight reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767