DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3 recite acronyms that have not been defined in the claims.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “MW” recited in claims 2-3, which appears to refer to “molecular weight”, is not defined in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Mee (US 20180127567 A1) in view of CN 110290907 A (to Fahimi et al.) – translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claims 1 and 10, van der Mee teaches a composition comprising pellets of a glass fiber-reinforced thermoplastic polymer composition comprising a sheathed continuous multifilament strand (para. [0047]-[0048]) comprising a core that extends in the longitudinal direction and a polymer sheath which intimately surrounds said core (para. [0047]-[0048]), wherein the core comprises at least one continuous glass multifilament strand (para. [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054]), the polymer sheath consists of a thermoplastic polymer composition comprising a polyolefin (para. [0053]-[0054]) and having a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 5-50 g/10 min (para. [0030]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of at least 1.0 dg/min and less than 47 dg/min, wherein the length of the glass filaments in the pellets is substantially the same as the pellet length, and is 2-50 mm (para. [0053]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 10 to 55 mm.
Product-by-process limitations (i.e. melt-mixing) are not given weight in product claims.
Van der Mee teaches the instantly claimed pellets, as set forth above, but fails to teach wherein the composition comprises the instantly claimed pellets in combination with a further propylene-based polymer, and wherein the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as determined according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) less than 20 dg/min. Fahimi et al. teaches making pellets/granules comprising a glass core and a polymer shell/jacket (page 5, lines 15-30, page 6, lines 3-18), and teaches wherein the pellets/granules are combined with a filling agent/(propylene) during extrusion, by which the pellets are melt-mixed/(heated-mixed-and extruded) with propylene as an alternative to incorporating the latter into the shell/jacket (page 12, lines 1-34), in order to enhance the molding process. Fahimi further teaches wherein the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as determined according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of at least 20 g/10 min (page 6, lines 3-6), which touches the instantly claimed range of less than 20 dg/min.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the composition comprise the pellets of van der Mee in combination with a further propylene-based polymer, as taught by Fahimi, as an alternative to incorporating the propylene-based polymer into the shell/jacket in order to enhance the molding process.
With respect to claim 4, van der Mee teaches wherein the polyolefin comprises a propylene-based polymer and/or an elastomer of ethylene and an α-olefin comonomer having 4 to 8 carbon atoms, wherein the propylene-based polymer is at least one selected from the group consisting of a propylene homopolymer (para. [0029]), a propylene random copolymer and a heterophasic propylene copolymer (para. [0029]) and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 5, van der Mee teaches wherein the polyolefin comprises or consists of a propylene homopolymer (para. [0029]) having a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 5-50 g/10 min (para. [0030]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 25 to 50 dg/min, and a heterophasic propylene copolymer (para. [0029]) having a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133- 1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 5-50 g/10 min (para. [0030]), which touches the instantly claimed range of 0.1 to 5.0 dg/min.
With respect to claim 6, van der Mee teaches wherein the amount of the glass filaments is 10-40% (Table 3), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 20 to 70 wt% with respect to the sheathed continuous multifilament strand.
With respect to claim 7, van der Mee teaches wherein the thermoplastic polymer composition has a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 5-50 g/10 min (para. [0028]-[0030]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of at most 45 dg/min.
With respect to claim 8, van der Mee teaches wherein the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as determined according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 5-50 g/10 min (para. [0030]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range at least 0.1 dg/min and less than 20 dg/min.
With respect to claim 9, Fahimi further teaches wherein the mixture of the thermoplastic polymer composition of the polymer sheath of the pellets and the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as determined according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of at least 20 g/10 min (page 6, lines 3-6), which touches the instantly claimed range of at least 1 dg/min and less than 20 dg/min.
With respect to claim 11, van der Mee teaches a process for preparing an extruded article by extruding the composition according to claim 1 (para. [0102]-[0103]).
With respect to claim 12, van der Mee teaches wherein the article is a hollow article or a sheet (para. [0102]-[0103]).
With respect to claim 13, van der Mee teaches wherein the amount of the glass filaments is 10-40% (Table 3), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range 20 to 70 wt% with respect to the extruded article.
With respect to claim 14, van der Mee teaches process for preparing a thermoformed article, comprising the process according to claim 11 to obtain the extruded article, wherein the extruded article is a sheet, and thermoforming the sheet (para. [0102]).
With respect to claim 16, van der Mee teaches an extruded article comprising or made by extruding the composition according to 1 (para. [0102]).
With respect to claim 17, van der Mee teaches wherein the article/plaque is a multiwall article having a largest dimension of 10 cm (or 100 mm) (para. [0135]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of largest dimension of at most 425 mm, and a wall thickness of 3 mm (para. [0135]), which touches the instantly claimed range of at most 3 mm, wherein the melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of the thermoplastic polymer composition of the polymer sheath has the melt flow index of the polymer is 5-50 g/10 min (para. [0030]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 10 to 15 dg/min.
With respect to claim 18, van der Mee teaches thermoformed article made by thermoforming the extruded article according to claim 16 (para. [0102]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Mee (US 20180127567 A1) in view of CN 110290907 A (to Fahimi et al.), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ge et al. (US 20200248046 A1).
With respect to claim 2, van der Mee discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the sheathed continuous multifilament strand comprises a polyethylene wax/(impregnating agent can comprise polyethylene wax) (para. [0065]) having a melting point of 60-90° C (para. [0066]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of 50 to 100 °C, in an amount of 0.5-7% (para. [0057]), which touches the instantly claimed range of less than 0.50 wt%, with respect to the sheathed continuous multifilament strand. Van der Mee fails to teach wherein polyethylene wax has a MW of 5 to 10 kg/mol and a MWD of 5 to 10. Ge et al. teaches that polyethylene wax can have a molecular weight of 2000 g/mol to 20,000 g/mol (para. [0053]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 5-10 Kg/mol, and a polydispersity index (MWD) of 2-10 (para. [0053]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 5-10.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention that the polyethylene wax in van der Mee can have a MW of 5 to 10 kg/mol and a MWD of 5 to 10, as taught by Ge al..
With respect to claim 3, van der Mee discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the sheathed continuous multifilament strand comprises a polyethylene wax/(impregnating agent can comprise polyethylene wax) (para. [0065]) having MW of at most 10 kg/mol in an amount of 0.5-7% (para. [0057]), which touches the instantly claimed range of less than 0.50 wt%, with respect to the sheathed continuous multifilament strand. Van der Mee fails to teach wherein polyethylene wax has a MW of 5 to 10 kg/mol and a MWD of 5 to 10. Ge et al. teaches that polyethylene wax can have a molecular weight (MW) of 2000 g/mol to 20,000 g/mol (para. [0053]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of MW of at most 10 kg/mol.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention that the polyethylene wax in van der Mee can have a MW of at most 10 kg/mol as taught by Ge al..
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Mee (US 20180127567 A1) in view of CN 110290907 A (to Fahimi et al.), as applied to claims 14 and 18 above, and further in view of Gaffney et al. (US 20010052479 A1).
With respect to claims 15 and 19, van der Mee discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the thermoformed article is a top cover (para. [0102]); but fails to teach wherein the top cover is in an article for covering battery components in an automotive prime-mover battery pack, wherein the top cover has an outer major surface and an inner major surface that is shaped to conform to the battery components. Gaffney teaches making a housing using thermoplastic material (para. [0019]-[0020]) comprising a top cover (Figure 2, 24) for covering battery components (Figure 3, 38) in an automotive prime-mover battery pack, wherein the top cover (24) has an outer major surface and an inner major surface that is shaped to conform to the battery components (para. [0019]-[0020]) (as illustrated) in order to provide a compact light-weight housing for the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the top cover in van der Mee comprise a top cover in an article for covering battery components in an automotive prime-mover battery pack, wherein the top cover has an outer major surface and an inner major surface that is shaped to conform to the battery components, as taught by Gaffney, in order to provide a compact light-weight housing for a battery pack.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-12 and 15 of copending Application No. (18/703,594). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to claim 1, claims 1 & 9 of copending application teaches a composition made by melt-mixing pellets and a further propylene-based polymer, wherein the pellets are pellets of a glass fiber-reinforced thermoplastic polymer composition comprising a sheathed continuous multifilament strand comprising a core that extends in the longitudinal direction and a polymer sheath which intimately surrounds said core, wherein the core comprises at least one continuous glass multifilament strand, the polymer sheath consists of a thermoplastic polymer composition comprising a polyolefin and having a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of at least 1.0 dg/min and less than 47 dg/min, wherein the length of the glass filaments in the pellets is substantially the same as the pellet length, and is 10 to 55 mm (see claim 1), wherein the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as determined according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of less than 20 dg/min (see claim 9).
With respect to claim 3, claim 3 of copending application teaches wherein the sheathed continuous multifilament strand comprises a polyethylene wax having MW of at most 10 kg/mol in an amount of less than 0.50 wt%, with respect to the sheathed continuous multifilament strand.
With respect to claim 4, claim 4 of copending application teaches wherein the polyolefin comprises a propylene-based polymer and/or an elastomer of ethylene and an α-olefin comonomer having 4 to 8 carbon atoms, wherein the propylene-based polymer is at least one selected from the group consisting of a propylene homopolymer, a propylene random copolymer and a heterophasic propylene copolymer and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 5, claim 5 of copending application teaches wherein the polyolefin comprises or consists of a propylene homopolymer having a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 5-50 g/10 min, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 25 to 50 dg/min, and a heterophasic propylene copolymer having a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133- 1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 0.1 to 5.0 dg/min.
With respect to claim 6, claim 6 of copending application teaches wherein the amount of the glass filaments is 20 to 70 wt% with respect to the sheathed continuous multifilament strand.
With respect to claim 7, claim 10 of copending application teaches wherein the thermoplastic polymer composition has a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of at most 45 dg/min.
With respect to claim 8, claim 11 of copending application teaches wherein the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as determined according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of at least 0.1 dg/min and less than 20 dg/min.
With respect to claim 9, claim 12 of copending application teaches wherein the mixture of the thermoplastic polymer composition of the polymer sheath of the pellets and the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as determined according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of 5-50 g/10 min of at least 1 dg/min and less than 20 dg/min.
With respect to claim 10, claim 15 of copending application teaches a process for making a composition, comprising a process for preparing pellets of a glass fiber-reinforced thermoplastic polymer composition comprising a sheathed continuous multifilament strand comprising a core that extends in the longitudinal direction and a polymer sheath which intimately surrounds said core, comprising the sequential steps of: b) applying the polymer sheath of a thermoplastic polymer composition comprising a polyolefin around the at least one continuous glass multifilament strand to form a sheathed continuous multifilament strand, wherein the thermoplastic polymer composition has a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of at least 1.0 dg/min and less than 47 dg/min and c) cutting the sheathed continuous glass multifilament strand to obtain the pellets, wherein the length of the glass filaments in the pellets is substantially the same as the pellet length, and is 10 to 55 mm, preferably 10 to 40 mm, more preferably 10 to 30 mm and most preferably from 10 to 20 mm, and melt-mixing the pellets and a further propylene-based polymer to obtain the composition, wherein the further propylene-based polymer has a melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of less than 20 dg/min.
With respect to claim 11, claim 15 of copending application teaches process for preparing an extruded article by extruding the composition according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 12, claim 7 of copending application teaches wherein the article is a hollow article or a sheet.
With respect to claim 13, claim 8 of copending application teaches wherein the amount of the glass filaments is 20 to 70 wt% with respect to the extruded article.
With respect to claim 14, claim 15 of copending application teaches a process for preparing a thermoformed article, comprising the process according to claim 1 to obtain the extruded article, wherein the extruded article is a sheet, and thermoforming the sheet.
With respect to claim 15, claim 7 of copending application teaches wherein the thermoformed article is a top cover in an article for covering battery components in an automotive prime-mover battery pack, wherein the top cover has an outer major surface and an inner major surface that is shaped to conform to the battery components.
With respect to claim 16, claim 1 of copending application teaches an extruded article comprising or made by extruding the composition according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 18, claim 1 of copending application teaches a thermoformed article made by thermoforming the extruded article according to claim 16.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-12 and 15 of copending Application No. (18/703,594), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of van der Mee (US 20180127567 A1).
With respect to claim 17, copending claims fails to teach wherein the article is a multiwall article having a largest dimension of at most 425 mm and a wall thickness of at most 3 mm, wherein the melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of the thermoplastic polymer composition of the polymer sheath has the melt flow index of the polymer is 10 to 15 dg/min.
Van der Mee teaches instant claim 1 as set forth in section 9 above and further teaches wherein the article/plaque is a multiwall article having a largest dimension of 10 cm (or 100 mm) (para. [0135]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of largest dimension of at most 425 mm, and a wall thickness of 3 mm (para. [0135]), which touches the instantly claimed range of at most 3 mm, wherein the melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of the thermoplastic polymer composition of the polymer sheath has the melt flow index of the polymer is 5-50 g/10 min (para. [0030]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 10 to 15 dg/min in order to provide a durable article.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to form an article using the instant pellets wherein the article is a multiwall article having a largest dimension of at most 425 mm and a wall thickness of at most 3 mm, wherein the melt flow index as measured according to ISO1133-1:2011 (2.16kg/230°C) of the thermoplastic polymer composition of the polymer sheath has the melt flow index of the polymer is 10 to 15 dg/min, as taught by van der Mee, in order to provide a durable article.
Claim 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-12 and 15 of copending Application No. (18/703,594), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Gaffney et al. (US 20010052479 A1).
With respect to claim 19, claim 1 of copending application discloses all claim limitations as set forth above; but fails to teach wherein the thermoformed article is a top cover for covering battery components in an automotive prime-mover battery pack, wherein the top cover has an outer major surface and an inner major surface that is shaped to conform to the battery components. Gaffney teaches making a housing using thermoplastic material (para. [0019]-[0020]) comprising a top cover (Figure 2, 24) for covering battery components (Figure 3, 38) in an automotive prime-mover battery pack, wherein the top cover (24) has an outer major surface and an inner major surface that is shaped to conform to the battery components (para. [0019]-[0020]) (as illustrated) in order to provide a compact light-weight housing for the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the article in copending application comprise a top cover in an article for covering battery components in an automotive prime-mover battery pack, wherein the top cover has an outer major surface and an inner major surface that is shaped to conform to the battery components, as taught by Gaffney, in order to provide a compact light-weight housing for a battery pack.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 3/4/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725