DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: “Independent claim 1 is amended to more precisely define the invention. Specifically, claim 1 requires that the display device is integrated into a dashboard of a motor vehicle …”
Examiner notes that the Mitra reference appears to teach integration of displays into a dashboard in the claimed manner. See updated reasons for rejection below.
Applicant argues: “Additionally, the illumination unit of amended claim 1 is distinct from Uchida, He, and Li. Claim 1 requires an illumination unit having "an opaque rear wall to which the light source and the plurality of films are fastened, and wherein the illumination unit is mounted on the structural component via the opaque rear wall."”
Examiner notes that this amended feature also appears to be ordinary in the mounted display assembly. See updated reasons for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Changes to the dimensions of prior art structures are considered obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular changes would produce non-obvious results. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) (the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device).
Also note: Changes to the shape of prior art structures are considered obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular changes would produce non-obvious results. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.); also see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 415, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 1, 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200017722 to Uchida (“Uchida”) in view of US 20180009697 to He “He,” in view of US 20230292442 to Li (Li), and in view of US 20220017413 to Mitra (“Mitra”)
Regarding Claim 1: “A display device integrated into a dashboard of a motor vehicle, comprising:
a display; (“The laminate of the present invention including a flexible component member for constituting an image display device (which may be hereinafter referred to as a "present laminate") has a structure including the present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet having the aforementioned characteristics and a flexible component member for constituting an image display device, which are laminated on each other.” Uchida, Paragraphs 232 and 240.)
a curved and at least partially transparent facade sheet having a front face and a rear face; (“PTL 2 describes a new transparent pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet” which has two faces. Uchida, Paragraph 6. Further, “The laminate of the present invention including … the present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet having the aforementioned characteristics … The present laminate preferably has a curved surface shape” each embodiment being a laminate with two faces. Uchida, Paragraphs 232 and 236. Also note that this element also reads on an optical film as in Paragraph 235.)
a structural component comprising a frame that at least partially frames the display and of which a front end face forms a bearing surface that receives the facade sheet, and (“The surface protective [end face] panel may have a printed step portion that is printed in a frame form on the outer periphery portion thereof.” Uchida, Paragraphs 94. “Preferred examples of the structure of the present laminate include configurations of … present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film), (surface protective panel)/(present double-sided pressure- sensitive adhesive sheet)” thus protective panel forms a bearing surface for the transparent adhesive sheets. Uchida, Paragraphs 235-236.)
an illumination unit mounted on the structural component, (See an organic electronic luminescent display panel where “the structure of the present laminate include configurations of (organic EL display panel [illumination unit])/(present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film) [mounting means], (surface protective panel [structural component])/(present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)” where EL stands for electronic luminescence, i.e. illumination unit. Uchida, Paragraphs 235, 9.)
Uchida, He and Li do not discuss fastening the display to a dashboard according to the claim language “wherein the structural component fastens the display and the facade sheet to the dashboard such that the facade sheet extends in a continuation of a front face of the dashboard.”
Mitra teaches the above feature in the context of display assembly and using curved displays: “Vehicle interior system 200 includes a frame, shown as dashboard base 210, with a curved surface 220 including a curved display 230. The dashboard base 210 typically includes an instrument panel 215 which may also include a curved display.” Mitra, Paragraph 24 and Figs. 1-2. As illustrated in Figs. 1, 7-9, the displays are mounted as a continuation of the dashboard surface.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supplement the teachings of Uchida, He and Li to use a frame as a means of fastening the display assembly to a dashboard of a vehicle such that “the structural component fastens the display and the facade sheet to the dashboard such that the facade sheet extends in a continuation of a front face of the dashboard,” as described in Mitra, such that “Vehicle interiors include curved surfaces and can incorporate displays in such curved surfaces.” See Mitra, Paragraph 3 and Figs. 1-2, 7-9.
Finally, in reviewing the present application, there does not seem to be objective evidence that the claim limitations are particularly directed to: addressing a particular problem which was recognized but unsolved in the art, producing unexpected results at the level of the ordinary skill in the art, or any other objective indicators of non-obviousness.
wherein the bearing surface is curved according to a curvature that is substantially defined by a mathematical function that has a hyperbolic cosine term, (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and ordinary skill in the art, a hyperbolic cosine function is also known as a catenary. See https://mathworld.wolfram.com/HyperbolicCosine.html. Also note that the substantially hyperbolic cosine curve is required to be differentiated from a cylindrical shape in order to produce the desired benefit. Specification, Paragraphs 12-13.
Prior art teaches a range of such curves: “a surface protective panel having an arc-like shape, a catenary shape, a parabolic shape, a Bezier curve shape, a spline curve shape, a deflection curve shape, or other curved surface shapes.” Uchida, Paragraph 236. Also note that Uchida indicates that the curved shape is substitutable for other open curve function rather than closed curve functions such as a circle.)
To the extent necessary, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a substantive hyperbolic cosine shape of the display laminate for segments of similar open-ended curves such as a catenary or a parabolic shape as described in Uchida and confirmed in He, Paragraph 16, because the substantially similar open-ended curve segments exhibit substantially similar stress and adhesion parameters in a curved laminate structure. See, Uchida, Paragraph 236 which corresponds to Specification, Paragraphs 13-15.
Finally, in reviewing the present application, there does not seem to be objective evidence that the claim limitations are particularly directed to: addressing a particular problem which was recognized but unsolved in the art, producing unexpected results at the level of the ordinary skill in the art, or any other objective indicators of non-obviousness.
wherein the rear face of the facade sheet and the bearing surface have the same curvature, and (“an image display device (which may be hereinafter referred to as a "present laminate") has a structure including the present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet having the aforementioned characteristics and a flexible component member for constituting an image display device, which are laminated on each other,” and thus sharing the same curvature where “the laminate that has a surface protective panel having an arc-like shape, a catenary shape, a parabolic shape, …” See Uchida, Paragraphs 232, 236.)
wherein the bearing surface is discontinuous and delimits a plurality of cutouts, wherein at least one cutout forms a passage for an electric cable
Uchida and He do not discuss electrical cables; however it is well known that electrical cables are used in making electronic displays for conducting power and data to the electronic parts.
Li particularly discusses this feature in the context of curved laminated displays that are supported by “The side plate 12 is formed with wiring holes 125 through which the light bar connectors 52 are wired out, so that lamp wires of the light bar connectors 52 may conveniently pass through the wiring holes and be connected to corresponding circuit boards.” Li, Paragraphs 162-164 and Figs. 41-49. Here note that “the side plate 12 includes a support part 120 and a circuit board fixing part 13. The support part 120 is formed at an outer periphery of the bottom plate 11, the support part 120 may surround the bottom plate 11, and the support part 120 and the bottom plate 11 together define the accommodating space 10. … the support part 120, a double-wall structure is formed at the outer side of the back plate 1, so that a part of the structure of the backlight assembly may be installed and fixed on an inner wall (i.e., a part of the support part 120,” Li, Paragraph 126-127 and Figs. 13, 15 and zoom details in 10-11.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supplement the teachings of Uchida and He to the bearing surface is discontinuous and delimits at least one cutout that forms a passage for an electrical cable or for a means for fastening a cover, as taught in li, in order to provide wiring to the electronic circuits in the laminate display, such as the light bars. See Li, Paragraphs 162-164.
Finally, in reviewing the present application, there does not seem to be objective evidence that the claim limitations are particularly directed to: addressing a particular problem which was recognized but unsolved in the art, producing unexpected results at the level of the ordinary skill in the art, or any other objective indicators of non-obviousness.
and at least one cutout extends inward to accommodate a means for fastening a protective cover thereto,” (As noted above, “the support part 120 may serve as a bearing structure for a part of the structure …the support part 120, a double-wall structure is formed at the outer side of the back plate 1, so that a part of the structure of the backlight assembly may be installed and fixed on an inner wall (i.e., a part of the support part 120,” Li, Paragraph 126-127 and Figs. 13, 15 and zoom details in 9-11. “At least a part of the first protective cap 22 is arranged at the outer side of the side plate 12 and covers the display panel circuit board 21. … Where the side plate 12 includes the support part 120” Li, Paragraphs 139-140 and the nature of the cutout structures in Figs. 9-11. Therefore, it appears to be known or obvious to have a support part with sufficient cutouts to enable fastening of a protective cover to it. See statement of motivation above.)
wherein there is a section plane of the structural component in which the line of said bearing surface is a curve, and (“a surface protective panel having an arc-like shape, a catenary shape, a parabolic shape, a Bezier curve shape, a spline curve shape, a deflection curve shape, or other curved surface shapes,” thus having at least one section plane that exhibits the curve according to the function. See Uchida, Paragraph 236.)
[wherein the bearing surface is curved according to a curvature that is substantially defined by a mathematical function] … there is an orthonormal reference system (0, X, Y) situated in the section plane in which the mathematical function of the curve is expressed by the following equation: y(x)=b.cosh(x/a)+c, with: y the value of the ordinate, x the value of the abscissa, a, b and c predetermined constants, (Note that this element describes that when a cross section is taken in one direction the curve of the section plane is a hyperbolic cosine function (cosh) which can be embodied in a catenary shape. Prior art teaches this shape: “a surface protective panel having an arc-like shape, a catenary shape, … or other curved surface shapes,” thus having at least one section plane that exhibits a catenary shape. See Uchida, Paragraph 236. The presence of a, b, c variables indicates that the equation covers any such shape.)
wherein the illumination unit comprises a light source, a plurality of films, (As note above, Uchida teaches a plurality of films including: “Preferred examples of the structure of the present laminate include configurations of ( organic EL display panel [light source])/(present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film), (surface protective panel)/(present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film), and (optical film)/(present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film).” Uchida, Paragraphs 233-235.
and an opaque rear wall to which the light source and the plurality of films are fastened, and wherein the illumination unit is mounted on the structural component via the opaque rear wall.” (Mitra teaches “frames 12 made of metal” and thus opaque. Mitre, Paragraph 41. Mitra further teaches: “FIGS. 7-9 depict embodiments of a curved frame 12 … the display is disposed in the flat section 44 of the frame 12.” Mitra, Paragraph 45 and Figs. 1, 7-9. As noted above, the display comprises the illumination unit followed by other layers, thus mounting the display according to Mitre would mount the illumination unit of the display to the opaque rear frame. See statement of motivation above.)
Regarding Claim 3: “The display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein there is at least one other section plane (P2) of the structural component ( 180) in which the line of said bearing surface is rectilinear.” (Note that this element describes that when a cross section is taken in another direction the section plane rectilinear, meaning that the structural component is only curved in one dimension. Prior art teaches this in the context of laminated display structures: “An essentially one-dimensional curvature hereby refers to a curvature in one surface direction and essentially no curvature in a direction perpendicular to the surface direction of the curvature as it is e.g. the case in a surface section of an e.g. circular, hyperbolic, parabolic, or arbitrarily shaped cylinder.” He, Paragraph 16. See statement of motivation in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 4: “The display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the display presses on the sheet, and is bonded to the sheet.” (“Preferred examples of the structure of the present laminate include configurations of … ( organic EL display panel)/present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film), (surface protective panel)” thus the display presses on the adhesive sheet that presses on the protective panel. Uchida, Paragraphs 235-236.)
Regarding Claim 5: “The display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sheet is bonded to the end face of the frame.” (“Preferred examples of the structure of the present laminate include configurations of … present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film), (surface protective panel)/(present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet)/(release film),” Uchida, Paragraphs 235-236. As noted above, “The surface protective [end face] panel may have a printed step portion that is printed in a frame form on the outer periphery portion thereof.” Uchida, Paragraphs 94. Thus, an adhesive sheet is bonded on the protective panel on both sides including the side with a frame form.)
Regarding Claim 6: “The display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame has four branches, including two opposite first branches of lengths greater than the other two branches, the average width of the two first branches being at least two times smaller than the average width of the other two branches.” (“FIG. 3 shows a shaped ultrathin glass article 1 (hereinafter referred to "glass article 1 ") according to the invention as it can be obtained from a rectangular flat glass sheet with a length L, a width W and a thickness t.” Further, Fig. 5b illustrates that the length of the laminate (and the included frame) along L dimension can be much longer than the width of the laminate in another dimension. He, Paragraph 101 and Figs 3 and 5b. Thus, it appears that under the prior art technology the laminate can be manufactured to any length / width specification including a laminate in which the frame in the laminate is at least two times smaller in the width dimension than the length dimension. See statement of motivation in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 7: “The display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sheet has a constant thickness.” (“The present double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet has a thickness of 10 μm or more and 150 μm or less.” Uchida, Paragraphs 214-216. Also note that the process is directed to produce a specific constant thickness in this range: “produce a multilayer double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet 16 (thickness: 100 μm).” Uchida, Paragraph 324.)
Regarding Claim 8: “The display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sheet is made of glass.” (“The flexible component member for constituting an image display device may be particularly the flexible component members described above … each having a substrate formed of a resin film, glass, or the like capable of being flexed or curved.” Uchida, Paragraph 240.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIKHAIL ITSKOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483