Status of the Application
Claims 4-16 are pending, of which 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 4-8 are under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Newly submitted claim 16 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claim 16 is drawn to catalyst having structure different from the claims that are originally presented.
Since applicants have received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 16 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 6-8 are in an improper dependent form because:
According to claim 4, Y
and according to substituents, it cannot be perfluoro [1,1’-biphenyl]-2yl. Claims 6-8, dependent on claim 4, are therefore improper and broader than claim 4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshimoto (JACS, 2018, 140, 7292-7300; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 03/25/2024).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Hoshimoto discloses triarylborane compounds:
X=X’=Y=phenyl; para substituent on rings X, X’ is (i.e., R4 and R4’) H; rest of the 4 substituents on rings X, X’ are F (R1-R3, R1’-R3’, R5 and R5’) and ring Y, R6-R9=H and R10=CF3, alkyl substituted with halogen (entire article, especially page7293). Further, the cited prior art teaches compound B(2,6-Cl2C6H3) (p-HC6F4)2, i.e., compound 5 in the cited prior art. Compound 5 is closely similar to the elected species with same substitutions on rings X and X’ and halogen substitution at both positions 2 and 6 of ring Y with a difference that both halogens on ring Y of the cited prior art are Cl vs elected species one halogen is F and the other halogen is Br. The cited prior art further teaches superior catalytic activity of compound 5 in reductive alkylation of amine.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Hoshimoto discloses triarylborane compounds, such as Compound 5, closely similar to the elected species with same substitutions on rings X and X’ and halogen substitution at both positions 2 and 6 of ring Y with a difference that both halogens on ring Y of the cited prior art are Cl vs elected species one halogen is F and the other halogen is Br.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference, Hoshimoto discloses triarylborane compounds, such as Compound 5, closely similar to the elected species with same substitutions on rings X and X’ and halogen substitution at both positions 2 and 6 of ring Y with a difference that both halogens on ring Y of the cited prior art are Cl vs elected species one halogen is F and the other halogen is Br. The cited prior art further teaches superior catalytic activity of compound 5 in reductive alkylation of amine. Since the cited prior art teaches halogen, specifically Cl, at both 2 and 6 positions of ring Y and halogen genus contains a small number of members, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that Cl at position 2 and 6 may be replaced with other halogen, such as F, Br and I. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try other halogens at these positions based on prior art teaching of superior catalytic activity of the compound.
Since the cited prior art teaches halogen, specifically Cl, at both 2 and 6 positions of ring Y and halogen genus contains a small number of members that, when considered in light of the totality of the circumstances, “one skilled in [the] art would... envisage each member” of the genus. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962).
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the combination of teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ compound.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Hoshimoto discloses triarylborane compounds, same as in the instant claims 1 and 3 and compound 5, closely similar to the elected species with same substitutions on rings X and X’ and halogen substitution at both positions 2 and 6 of ring Y.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that 2 and 6 position halogens of compound 5 of the cited prior art may be replaced with other halogen and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and making the instantly claimed compound with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying such parameters is prima facie obvious because an ordinary artisan would be motivated to develop an alternative compound for economic reasons or convenient purposes from a known individual compound, and to arrive at applicant’s compound with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks and amendments, as filed on 08/13/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant argued that Hoshimoto provides no sufficient reason to modify compound 5 to compound of claim 4 as Hoshimoto’s other compounds do not provide good yield. Applicant argued that modification of compound 5 of the cited prior art would change into asymmetric compound and the cited prior art provides no SAR. Applicant argued that based on Hoshimoto and In re Petering, it is not obvious to try. Applicant argued that claims 5-8 are further removed from Hoshimoto. Applicant argued over catalytic process chemistry of Hoshimoto. Applicant argued over unpredictability based on ring C.
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims stand rejected. This is because (1) if Hoshimoto has provided elected species of the instant claims, the rejection would have been anticipation; (2) Hoshimoto discloses triarylborane compounds, such as Compound 5, closely similar to the elected species with same substitutions on rings X and X’ and halogen substitution at both positions 2 and 6 of ring Y with a difference that both halogens on ring Y of the cited prior art are Cl vs elected species one halogen is F and the other halogen is Br. The cited prior art further teaches superior catalytic activity of compound 5 in reductive alkylation of amine. Since the cited prior art teaches halogen, specifically Cl, at both 2 and 6 positions of ring Y and halogen genus contains a small number of members, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that Cl at position 2 and 6 may be replaced with other halogen, such as F, Br and I. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try other halogens at these positions based on prior art teaching of superior catalytic activity of the compound.
Since the cited prior art teaches halogen, specifically Cl, at both 2 and 6 positions of ring Y and halogen genus contains a small number of members that, when considered in light of the totality of the circumstances, “one skilled in [the] art would... envisage each member” of the genus. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962); (3) Since Hoshimoto’s other compounds didn’t provide good yield, as agreed by the applicant, this in fact gives motivation to start with compound 5, which gave good yield; (3) Substituting one halogen with another might change symmetry, however, the cited prior art doesn’t says that a small change in symmetry may affect the activity. Since the cited prior art teaches halogen, specifically Cl, at both 2 and 6 positions of ring Y and halogen genus contains a small number of members that, when considered in light of the totality of the circumstances, “one skilled in [the] art would... envisage each member” of the genus. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962); (4) If the cited prior art would have provided entire SAR, the rejection would have been anticipation; (5) applicant only argued but provided no experimental evidence on changing halogen with another halogen and effect on yield and SAR; (6) Claims 5-8 includes elected species and is not removed from claim 4; (7) the instant claims are drawn to a compound and not to a catalytic process, thus, applicant is arguing over a limitation not recited in the instant claims; (8) the instant claims are not reciting only ring C, thus applicant’s argument over only ring C is not persuasive; (9) applicant is suggested to provide true comparative data that substitution of halogen with another halogen of compound 5 results unpredictable result.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623