DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (claims 5-7) in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the last line of claim 5, there should be a comma immediately after “longitudinal direction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20180230566 A1; cited in prior office action).
Regarding claim 1, with regard to the claimed steel wire composition for ultrahigh strength spring, Suzuki teaches overlapping compositional ranges as follows for a high strength spring steel:
[0014] (1) Spring steel for suspension containing, by mass %:
[0015] C: 0.40 to 0.70%;
[0016] Si: 0.80 to 2.20%;
[0017] Mn: 0.05 to 1.50%;
[0018] Cr: 0.05 to 1.00%;
[0019] P: limited to 0.020% or less;
[0020] S: limited to 0.020% or less, and
[0021] a balance of Fe and unavoidable impurities.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
With regard to the claimed tempered martensite being 90% or more, Suzuki teaches that the tempered martensite is 90% or more [0063].
With regard to the claimed “wherein a ratio of an area satisfying one or more of C>0.8%, Si>0.9%, Cr>0.8% and Mn>0.8%, in wt %, in an area of 1 mm2 of a center of a cross-section perpendicular to a longitudinal direction is 5% or less”, Suzuki does not explicitly teach this limitation, but does teach a similar composition and similar process to that in the instant invention, of:
hot rolling a wire rod [0036], which is analogous to the step in the instant invention of drawing a wire rod,
heating to a temperature of 950°C to 1150°C [0036], analogous to the step in the instant invention of heating at 900-1000°C within 10 seconds,
quenching [0037], which is analogous to the step in the instant invention of water cooling at high pressure
tempering at 350-550°C [0084] within 3 seconds (claim 10 of Suzuki), which is analogous to the step of tempering at 400-500°C within 10 seconds in the instant invention.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki is silent regarding the hardness, but as discussed in the rejection of claim 5 above, Suzuki teaches a similar composition and process of making. Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches that the steel has a tensile strength of at least 1800 MPa [0045], [0064], at an area reduction ratio of 40% or more [0045]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735