DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
Pending and under examination: claims 1-8
Withdrawn: claims 1-4 and 8
Rejected: claims 5-7
The amendment obviates the previous claim objection which is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Suzuki’s expression of a preference for ranges (see page 6 of arguments) are not found persuasive; disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments (MPEP 2123 I-II). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Applicants can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing the criticality of the range (MPEP 2144.05 III. A.).
The applicant’s arguments concerning “controlling center segregation …” (see page 7 of arguments) and the arguments concerning claims 6-7 (see pages 7-8 of arguments) are not found persuasive because they appear to assume that the rejection is based on composition alone, when to the contrary, the rejection is based on overlapping compositional ranges and the substantial similarity in processes of making. As discussed in the rejection below, once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V). Applicants have the burden of explaining proffered data (MPEP 716.02(b) II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20180230566 A1; cited in prior office action).
Regarding claim 1, with regard to the claimed steel wire composition for ultrahigh strength spring, Suzuki teaches overlapping compositional ranges as follows for a high strength spring steel:
[0014] (1) Spring steel for suspension containing, by mass %:
[0015] C: 0.40 to 0.70%;
[0016] Si: 0.80 to 2.20%;
[0017] Mn: 0.05 to 1.50%;
[0018] Cr: 0.05 to 1.00%;
[0019] P: limited to 0.020% or less;
[0020] S: limited to 0.020% or less, and
[0021] a balance of Fe and unavoidable impurities.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
With regard to the claimed tempered martensite being 90% or more, Suzuki teaches that the tempered martensite is 90% or more [0063].
With regard to the claimed “wherein a ratio of an area satisfying one or more of C>0.8%, Si>0.9%, Cr>0.8% and Mn>0.8%, in wt %, in an area of 1 mm2 of a center of a cross-section perpendicular to a longitudinal direction is 5% or less”, Suzuki does not explicitly teach this limitation, but does teach a similar composition and similar process to that in the instant invention, of:
hot rolling a wire rod [0036], which is analogous to the step in the instant invention of drawing a wire rod,
heating to a temperature of 950°C to 1150°C [0036], analogous to the step in the instant invention of heating at 900-1000°C within 10 seconds,
quenching [0037], which is analogous to the step in the instant invention of water cooling at high pressure
tempering at 350-550°C [0084] within 3 seconds (claim 10 of Suzuki), which is analogous to the step of tempering at 400-500°C within 10 seconds in the instant invention.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki is silent regarding the hardness, but as discussed in the rejection of claim 5 above, Suzuki teaches a similar composition and process of making. Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches that the steel has a tensile strength of at least 1800 MPa [0045], [0064], at an area reduction ratio of 40% or more [0045]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735